Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SoloComb

Item #11626

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.

Favorite Features

  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle ...
    Description:
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle Brush is great for dusting off and removing dander.  Varnished wood back is 3/4 sized to fit comfortably in your hand. Have this brush Laser Engraved with text up to 8 letters long! ...
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual ...
    Description:
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual use Vac n'Blo Pro does all the work for you. Used as a vacuum, the super suction gets down deep to remove dirt, dandruff, loose hair, and parasites. Used as a blower, ...
    Effol Hair Root Liquid is an effective product ...
    Description:
    Effol Hair Root Liquid is an effective product that is unique to the market. Caffeine is the main active ingredient, which is of particular value in hair products due to it's amazing regeneration abilities! By going straight to the source ...
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of ...
    Description:
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of top quality 100% Australian Sheepskin. Watch as it effortlessly absorbs and removes dust from horses, boots, saddles/ tack, and even your show coat! This mitt can be used wet or dry and ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.3897 out of 5 by 136.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great invention. Thank you! Wish I'd discovered this sooner. Works just like it promises, and keeps manes tidy without the stress of pulling. Happy horse = happy me.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Mane Tool Love this product. The replacement blades were so expensive I purchased a 2nd comb but found the newer model to not hold up as well. I ended up removing the blades from the new one and using them in my old comb which has been going strong for about 5 years. I am happy to see the replacement blade price has decreased somewhat. I use it on 4-6 horses every summer.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to be more durable I love this product I received it for Christmas and it works easily on the areas the horses don't like pulled like near the poll and withers, or on an already thin mane. But the durability is terrible. I used mine twice, once on a very very thin mane just to shorten it, and once near the poll on a horse who wouldn't let me pull up there. The plastic teeth popped off and the end busted. I was able to slip it back in and finish the touch ups, but it was a pain because I had to keep putting the teeth back in. For the money it needs to hold up better. In the summer I do a lot of mane pulling I was hoping this would be a good easy method for the few hard to pull horses I do, including my own with a mane too thin to pull. I expected it to last several sessions since it costs nearly what I get paid for one mane job.
    Date published: 2013-05-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does an OK Job I bought this product to use on a horse that hates to have his mane pulled. The SoloComb does a decent job, but I do prefer a pulled mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good concept.. This tool works well for a mane that doesn't need a lot of thinning. I do regularly use it on one mare's mane because hers only really needs to be shortened and not thinned. You can definitely get a thick mane thinned out using this tool, but it's going to look terrible once the mane starts to grow out. I made the mistake of using it on my colt, who has a very thick mane. I used it just as the instructions say, trimming small sections at a time and back combing just like you would with a regular pulling comb. The mane looked decent when I was done, and I finished the job quickly. However, 2 months later all the hair that I had "pulled" started growing back and was sticking straight up through the top layer of hair. Luckily I only used it for one show at the end of the show season, so I've had time to let my colt's mane grow out and it is finally trained to lay flat again. I will not be using this to thin his mane this year, rather I'm sticking with the old fashioned method. I've yet to find something that works as well as pulling a mane the old fashioned way.. However, I do like this product for touch ups and for shortening an already thin mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane pulling this comb works great and I can do my horse's mane in less than 15 minutes.....LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy mane pulling this is a great tool for thinning a mane - especially a thick one... It is my second one as i have 2 horses at 2 barns - so one at each barn.... It is a much easier way for me to pull the mane...
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Mane Tool! The SoloComb is perfect for getting that tamed, thinned, and shorter mane I need for braiding and overall grooming. No harsh pulling/ripping out of hair, its very gentle. Just hold the hair, tease it up only (not up and down) then clip. I love that it makes the mane look very natural and neat, it doesn't give that "scissor cut" look when you're done. Perfect addition to my grooming tote.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane pullinge made easy I've been using the solo comb for years. My mare hates having her mane pulled, I've tried using thining blades, sissors and several other methods but couldn't get the results I was looking for. I had to replace the blade on my first solo comb after a couple of years but it was very easy to do. Unfortunately I dropped my first one too many times and it broke apart. I will be more carefull with the new one. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Good to be True I hate pulling mane. When I saw this product, I was so excited to give it a try. Of course, it was too good to be true. While it was easy to use, it definitely did not give my horse's mane a natural look as advertised. It is essentially a fancy-looking pair of scissors. I hate to send things back but I had to because I just don't see myself using it ever again. Back to the convention mane comb it is!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great Love my new SoloComb. Works great, unfortunately it doesn't work so well for left handers. I had to hold it in my right hand which was a bit awkward for me since I am left handed and have always held the pulling comb in my left hand.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am sold on the SoloComb! I have tried literally every other mane-pulling/trimming gimmick on the market for my OTTB who HATES having his mane pulled. The SoloComb is the most expensive one out there, so after all the others didn't work, I wasn't going to spend more money one something else that didn't work. Today I borrowed a friend's SoloComb at her insistence when I mentioned pulling my horse's mane. His is ridiculously thick and coarse, so all the other trimming methods yield the equine afro look. But, with the SoloComb, I was able to trim his mane to the desired length, leaving enough long hairs to pull in order to thin it somewhat. The reduced amount of mane pulling was fairly tolerable in Johnny's opinion (with minimal head-tossing), and instead of 2 hours, blisters, and blood, I spent less than an hour with NO blisters or bloody fingers! His mane looks great, and while it's not as thin as it would've been if I'd pulled it, it's braidable without the 'fro look! I'm buying my own SoloComb before I have to do his mane again.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mane puling tool! I pulled my horse's mane for the first time last week. I found this tool to be very easy to use! It only took me 15 minutes. :)
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! My horse is AWFUL when it comes to mane pulling. She will rear and side-step and do everything in her power to keep from having her mane pulled. It used to take me about an hour to an hour and a half to pull her mane due to these antics, but not anymore! This comb works better than any other comb I have used! I absolutely love it...and so does my horse! When I first used it my mare started freaking out as usual and then when the horrible hair pulling never occurred she calmed down and I was done in 10-15 minutes! Amazing! It jammed up once, but my horses mane was pretty dirty and it was insanely easy to clean so it wasn't a real problem! I also love that I can get replacement blades for it so I don't have to buy a new comb every time! I would recommend this to any of my friends! I love it!
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable for the horse This is my second solo comb and a must have for my barn. My first one's spring broke after about a year of use. If that happens you can still use it but you must manually life the handle. My horse hates having his mane pulled so this is perfect. He can also be braided beautifully after using the solo comb. It shortens the mane wonderfully but won't thin as much as traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this tool I know technically it's cheating, but this tool is amazing. It gives a natural pulled look but in record time and no discomfort to your horse. I highly recommend this in your bag of tricks.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for thick manes This was easy to use but you can't get close enough to root with a thick mane. As a result, there are lots of short hairs sticking up when you are finished. Don't like that look. I still use it because I like the handle which makes it easier to use for traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works I have an extremely head shy horse so I wanted to try something new. Ususally pulling his mane involves having someone hold him, while he throws his head up and tries to back away. I can't even cross tie him because he will panic and break them. The SoloComb made the process so much easier! Its very simple to use and the horse doesn't feel a thing. It doesn't "pull" the mane in any way so if you are looking to thin the mane out this doesn't do that. But since my horse has a thick mane, I used the Solo Comb to get the desired length and then pulled a little out as well just to thin things out. This saved my horse and I so much time and stress. I've only used it once, so I can't comment on how long the blades last though. But with a head shy horse it is well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well! You get the pulled look without the pain! The SoloComb helps to speed up the pulling process with my big 17h horse and he likes it alot better too! Although I still have to use a pulling comb to thin the mane it works great to shorten it and get it even.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Youngsters Looks like a pulled mane without the pain. I've used this for years on my young horses (and the cranky ones) and it works great for all of us. I only wish the product were more durable - I have gone through a number of them. But then, it would be more expensive so...
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from solocomb, i love you I purchased the solocomb for my daughter's horse who WILL NOT allow his mane to be pulled, It was thick and wild from us cutting it and nearly impossible to braid. The solocomb trims and thins in one easy motion without putting any pressure or pulling on the horse. Its been like a godsent for us. My daughter did it by herself and when she turned him around so i could see her work i couldn't believe it!! Cocoa's mane was neat and tidy and laid flat against his neck. This is a MUST HAVE item for anyone whose horse doesn't like pulling.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse! I love this product! I have a horse that HATES having his mane pulled. A friend at the barn recommended this product after using it on her horse and I have to say that it has been a dream! I have only used it once to "pull" a medium length mane to short and it did a fantastic job! My horse was so relaxed that he fell asleep in the crossties. I will never pull another mane again and I am glad that I made my horse happy also with this product!
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good but not a pulling substitute This is great for a quick touch up. Very easy. Very fast. My horse didn't seem to even know I was doing it. But it's not really a substitute for pulling - results are a bit like trimming with scissors. Finishing up with an abbreviated pull seems to have better results.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from solo comb very easy to use, comes apart too easily but very happy with overall results
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed The first time I used the Solo Comb it worked great. The second mane I tried I could not use it at all!! It would not cut. This is my second Solo Comb the 1st one I used about 6 times and then got replacement blades 2 sets and could not get it to work with either set. I thought I would try it again, so I bought a new one and now I am disappointed. It cost $26.00 and only got 1 use.
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neat product Definitely a quick way to shorten a mane without pulling. The proof will be in the braiding! I didn't feel that I was able to get as close to the base of the mane as I would have liked. But, maybe I just need practice!
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Fingers Arthritic fingers and a new horse are not a good combination to achieve a neat mane. However the SoloComb really made it ridiculously easy. The caveat-- follow the directions and only back-comb a small amount of mane, as you would to actually pull the mane. The result is a nice neat pulled look with fingers and horse none the worse for the experience. A handy and well made addition to my grooming box.
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy! I have a tb with a fairly thick mane and i was really struggling to pull it and he was starting to get quite fussy. So a friend recommended this product and i fell in love! It was so quick and easy i was able to make his mane look fabulous in about 15 min. Then i just went back over it and pulled some of the areas to give it a more tidy actually pulled look.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must have around the barn! Most everybody at my barn carries these and they are so helpful. They are easy to use and the horses don't mind them at all! My horse was still antsy the first time I used it, thinking I was going to pull his mane out and was really surprised when he couldn't feel anything! It still produces a really nice, natural look too.
    Date published: 2012-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy to use! I was able to trim my OTTB's mane in no time. Following the natural curve of his mane/neck, just back comb and trim; nice sharp blade. Very easy to cut too short so start with the longer strands first and then make a second path as needed.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    • 2016-02-06T14:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_127
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.