Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SoloComb

Item #11626
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.
Favorite Features
  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

Sizing

6 ½” X 3”
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Start with a clean, tangle free mane and tail. It is recommended that you start at the withers and work your way up the mane. Then prepare the mane as you would with a pulling comb. Steps: 1. Back comb into the mane the holding the hair (under tension) with one hand, comb in the other and push top hairs back until the desired amount of under hairs to be removed is in the teeth of the comb. 2. At this point DO NOT PULL THE COMB DOWN; raise the hair held in your hand up into the blades so that the hair is under tension. Then press the lever down on the handle and the hair will be clipped. (For medium/thick manes go closer to the roots). 3. Comb out the tangles for the next cut. When the desired length is reached you may want to pinch or nip off ends of the hairs with your fingers to complete the look. Cleaning the comb: 1. Remove the two fixing screws and lift off the blade cover. 2. Remove the blade fixing. 3. Lift blades off the mounting pins and clean off debris. 4. Separate blades and rinse with water. 5. Dry with cloth and spray sparingly with WB40. To replace the blades: 1. Follow steps 1 & 2 under cleaning instructions. 2. Lift blades off mounting pins. 3. Insert new blades. 4. Replace blade fixing plate. 5. Replace blade cover and screws.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "#21641 extra-wide, med. cut, 3/32"" - 2.5 mm. ...
    Description:
    "#21641 extra-wide, med. cut, 3/32"" - 2.5 mm. Blades fit all Andis, AG, AGC, AGR, MBG and Oster A-5 Models. Made in the U.S.A. Clipping Tips"
    "Cut your grooming time in half! The dual ...
    Description:
    "Cut your grooming time in half! The dual use Vac n'Blo Pro does all the work for you. Used as a vacuum, the super suction gets down deep to remove dirt, dandruff, loose hair, and parasites. Used as a blower, ...
    "The Oster® PRO3000i Lithium Ion Clipper offers great ...
    Description:
    "The Oster® PRO3000i Lithium Ion Clipper offers great power and balance in a heavy duty clipper. It provides 3,000 SPM thanks to its compact drive system and efficient motor. The Li-Ion detachable battery runs up to 2 hours on a ...
    "Smegma, see you later – get rid of ...
    Description:
    "Smegma, see you later – get rid of gunk andbuild-up with Smeg-U-Later. Thisformula is made with Organic Hemp Oil,Vegetable Glycerin, gentle and effectiveCoconut derived cleansers and soothingHoneysuckle. They have also addedEssential Oil of Lavender, known for itscalming properties. Let’s face ...
    "Andis Cool Care Plus cleans, cools, lubricates, and ...
    Description:
    "Andis Cool Care Plus cleans, cools, lubricates, and disinfects clipper blades in one easy step without removing them from the clipper. High pressure nozzle sprays hair out of blade teeth. Country Fresh scent. Made in USA. Andis Clipper Care Andis ...
    "For clippers that get a workout all day ...
    Description:
    "For clippers that get a workout all day long, consider Andis Ceramicedge blades. Our advanced formula ceramic cutter stays up to 75% cooler than steel and provides increased durability and a long-lasting edge."
    Why We Love This For a dependable, long-life ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This For a dependable, long-life blade, look no further than Andis Ultraedge blades. Our exclusive hardening process keeps blades sharper for a longer time. Add a special chrome finish that inhibits corrosion and you have cutting solutions ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 148.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Used this once and got 3/4 of the way done with my horses mane and it stopped working. I have read only a couple other reviews that went the same way. Very strange. It was awesome at first. Trust me, I didn't do anything stupid or forceful with it to cause it sto stop working. I would not recommend this product for the cost. If it was even $20 I might invest in a possible failure, but not the $30-something I spent on this. So bummed. Maybe those few of us received a faulty product. I should contact smartpak about replacing it for another one.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work well I have used a similar product and it worked great. This one would not cut the hair. Totally defeated it's purpose.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good! I was kind of skeptical using the Solo Comb as I have always been told it doesn't make a mane look like one that's been pulled. I have to say I was wrong, this really works. And it also works to keep a pulled mane tidy through the season. I also hate pulling manes and this works.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for pulling manes on sensitive horses. I have a couple of jorses that are very sensitive about having their manes pulled, one almost to the point of violence if pullrd with a standard comb. Ive used Solo combs for years and love it, pulling takes less time and makes a sensitive horse happier about having their mane pulled.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, long lasting! Great tool, keeps the pain away and is very durable, I assumed I would need a new blade for its 2nd season, but no, its still sharp as it was (and I don't wash manes before using) it does not really save time if you want the pulled look, but saves your fingers, and horses tolerance, I use it while he is eating his grain every evening until it gets to the right length, he doesn't care one bit! watch youtube so you use it right, or you'll end up with a chopped up mane like scissors. ~ thank you smartpak! ~
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great My mare has always hated having her mane pulled so I tried the solo comb and it worked great! Her mane looks like it was pulled and she wasn't irritated while I was doing it.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative to pulling manes Ok, no it does not provide a perfectly pulled mane look; HOWEVER, it does a really good job of mimicking a pulled mane in a fraction of time. (watch youtube videos for tips on how to make it achieve a more pulled look- basically, use small sections). My two geldings greatly oppose the idea of getting their manes pulled- this is something I have worked on them for a couple years now, and it is just never work the fight. Both geldings would allow a blindfolded monkey clip their ears with no objection, but the notion of the little metal comb sends them batty. Totally not worth it and I can no longer afford the amount of carrots it took to get through two thick manes. Highly recommend! 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Product Love it, love it, love it. No more pulling = happy horse and happy me!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver!! I will never pull a mane like I used to. What normally would have taken 2-3 hours took less than 30 minutes. My horse has a thick mane but it was no match for the solo comb!! He usually hates to have me pulling near his head but he did not even notice me! Love it!
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC!! Great tool! watch youtube for how to best use it. I don't feel it makes "pulling" much faster because you want to do little bits at a time to avoid the choppy look, however its pain free and it is a little faster, the horse doesn't mind at all so i did it while he ate his evening grain (10 minutes max a night, took about 2 weeks to go from western long to eventer short). Highly recommend this for anyone sick of pulling and that feels bad about yanking their ponies manes out! FYI my tool is still working great and i never washed his mane before using it, but i would use a little cowboy magic and brush really well so its easier to work with. have regular comb in hand and only use the solocomb for cutting don't expect to be able to actually "comb" the hair with it.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the Perfect Mane This is a handy little option to have as part of your grooming essentials. I watched a few videos on using this first and saw that it is extremely easy to use. I also noticed that it can produce a "choppy" look if you overuse it so I was careful not to do the whole mane with it. I did a little pulling of the mane first to thin it, and then I used this to create that perfect flat, trimmed mane look that is even and clean looking. Also, a friend at my barn has a horse that absolutely hates having his mane pulled and she borrowed this and she said it was magic, so it's definitely ideal for finicky horses. I love this product and would highly recommend it for anyone that is into grooming and keeping their horses looking sharp and handsome.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best I bought this hoping for a better way to trim my horse's mane and avoid pulling. I like the look of a pulled mane but my horse really hates me doing it. Don't bother with the solo comb If you want the look of a pulled mane because you won't get it. Yes it is super easy to use and it only took about 5 minutes to trim her mane, but it looks like I used scissors - yuck! Good thing I don't have a show coming up because I am embarrassed at how it looks. It was difficult to get each section the same length so it looks like a bad scissor job at that. Take the time to pull your horses mane correctly since this comb really is too good to be true. I will be returning mine.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great invention. Thank you! Wish I'd discovered this sooner. Works just like it promises, and keeps manes tidy without the stress of pulling. Happy horse = happy me.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Mane Tool Love this product. The replacement blades were so expensive I purchased a 2nd comb but found the newer model to not hold up as well. I ended up removing the blades from the new one and using them in my old comb which has been going strong for about 5 years. I am happy to see the replacement blade price has decreased somewhat. I use it on 4-6 horses every summer.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to be more durable I love this product I received it for Christmas and it works easily on the areas the horses don't like pulled like near the poll and withers, or on an already thin mane. But the durability is terrible. I used mine twice, once on a very very thin mane just to shorten it, and once near the poll on a horse who wouldn't let me pull up there. The plastic teeth popped off and the end busted. I was able to slip it back in and finish the touch ups, but it was a pain because I had to keep putting the teeth back in. For the money it needs to hold up better. In the summer I do a lot of mane pulling I was hoping this would be a good easy method for the few hard to pull horses I do, including my own with a mane too thin to pull. I expected it to last several sessions since it costs nearly what I get paid for one mane job.
    Date published: 2013-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does an OK Job I bought this product to use on a horse that hates to have his mane pulled. The SoloComb does a decent job, but I do prefer a pulled mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good concept.. This tool works well for a mane that doesn't need a lot of thinning. I do regularly use it on one mare's mane because hers only really needs to be shortened and not thinned. You can definitely get a thick mane thinned out using this tool, but it's going to look terrible once the mane starts to grow out. I made the mistake of using it on my colt, who has a very thick mane. I used it just as the instructions say, trimming small sections at a time and back combing just like you would with a regular pulling comb. The mane looked decent when I was done, and I finished the job quickly. However, 2 months later all the hair that I had "pulled" started growing back and was sticking straight up through the top layer of hair. Luckily I only used it for one show at the end of the show season, so I've had time to let my colt's mane grow out and it is finally trained to lay flat again. I will not be using this to thin his mane this year, rather I'm sticking with the old fashioned method. I've yet to find something that works as well as pulling a mane the old fashioned way.. However, I do like this product for touch ups and for shortening an already thin mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane pulling this comb works great and I can do my horse's mane in less than 15 minutes.....LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy mane pulling this is a great tool for thinning a mane - especially a thick one... It is my second one as i have 2 horses at 2 barns - so one at each barn.... It is a much easier way for me to pull the mane...
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Mane Tool! The SoloComb is perfect for getting that tamed, thinned, and shorter mane I need for braiding and overall grooming. No harsh pulling/ripping out of hair, its very gentle. Just hold the hair, tease it up only (not up and down) then clip. I love that it makes the mane look very natural and neat, it doesn't give that "scissor cut" look when you're done. Perfect addition to my grooming tote.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane pullinge made easy I've been using the solo comb for years. My mare hates having her mane pulled, I've tried using thining blades, sissors and several other methods but couldn't get the results I was looking for. I had to replace the blade on my first solo comb after a couple of years but it was very easy to do. Unfortunately I dropped my first one too many times and it broke apart. I will be more carefull with the new one. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Good to be True I hate pulling mane. When I saw this product, I was so excited to give it a try. Of course, it was too good to be true. While it was easy to use, it definitely did not give my horse's mane a natural look as advertised. It is essentially a fancy-looking pair of scissors. I hate to send things back but I had to because I just don't see myself using it ever again. Back to the convention mane comb it is!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great Love my new SoloComb. Works great, unfortunately it doesn't work so well for left handers. I had to hold it in my right hand which was a bit awkward for me since I am left handed and have always held the pulling comb in my left hand.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am sold on the SoloComb! I have tried literally every other mane-pulling/trimming gimmick on the market for my OTTB who HATES having his mane pulled. The SoloComb is the most expensive one out there, so after all the others didn't work, I wasn't going to spend more money one something else that didn't work. Today I borrowed a friend's SoloComb at her insistence when I mentioned pulling my horse's mane. His is ridiculously thick and coarse, so all the other trimming methods yield the equine afro look. But, with the SoloComb, I was able to trim his mane to the desired length, leaving enough long hairs to pull in order to thin it somewhat. The reduced amount of mane pulling was fairly tolerable in Johnny's opinion (with minimal head-tossing), and instead of 2 hours, blisters, and blood, I spent less than an hour with NO blisters or bloody fingers! His mane looks great, and while it's not as thin as it would've been if I'd pulled it, it's braidable without the 'fro look! I'm buying my own SoloComb before I have to do his mane again.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mane puling tool! I pulled my horse's mane for the first time last week. I found this tool to be very easy to use! It only took me 15 minutes. :)
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! My horse is AWFUL when it comes to mane pulling. She will rear and side-step and do everything in her power to keep from having her mane pulled. It used to take me about an hour to an hour and a half to pull her mane due to these antics, but not anymore! This comb works better than any other comb I have used! I absolutely love it...and so does my horse! When I first used it my mare started freaking out as usual and then when the horrible hair pulling never occurred she calmed down and I was done in 10-15 minutes! Amazing! It jammed up once, but my horses mane was pretty dirty and it was insanely easy to clean so it wasn't a real problem! I also love that I can get replacement blades for it so I don't have to buy a new comb every time! I would recommend this to any of my friends! I love it!
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable for the horse This is my second solo comb and a must have for my barn. My first one's spring broke after about a year of use. If that happens you can still use it but you must manually life the handle. My horse hates having his mane pulled so this is perfect. He can also be braided beautifully after using the solo comb. It shortens the mane wonderfully but won't thin as much as traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this tool I know technically it's cheating, but this tool is amazing. It gives a natural pulled look but in record time and no discomfort to your horse. I highly recommend this in your bag of tricks.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for thick manes This was easy to use but you can't get close enough to root with a thick mane. As a result, there are lots of short hairs sticking up when you are finished. Don't like that look. I still use it because I like the handle which makes it easier to use for traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_18
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_138
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders