Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SoloComb

Item #11626
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.

Favorite Features

  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.4444 out of 5 by 126.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! My horse is AWFUL when it comes to mane pulling. She will rear and side-step and do everything in her power to keep from having her mane pulled. It used to take me about an hour to an hour and a half to pull her mane due to these antics, but not anymore! This comb works better than any other comb I have used! I absolutely love it...and so does my horse! When I first used it my mare started freaking out as usual and then when the horrible hair pulling never occurred she calmed down and I was done in 10-15 minutes! Amazing! It jammed up once, but my horses mane was pretty dirty and it was insanely easy to clean so it wasn't a real problem! I also love that I can get replacement blades for it so I don't have to buy a new comb every time! I would recommend this to any of my friends! I love it!
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable for the horse This is my second solo comb and a must have for my barn. My first one's spring broke after about a year of use. If that happens you can still use it but you must manually life the handle. My horse hates having his mane pulled so this is perfect. He can also be braided beautifully after using the solo comb. It shortens the mane wonderfully but won't thin as much as traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this tool I know technically it's cheating, but this tool is amazing. It gives a natural pulled look but in record time and no discomfort to your horse. I highly recommend this in your bag of tricks.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for thick manes This was easy to use but you can't get close enough to root with a thick mane. As a result, there are lots of short hairs sticking up when you are finished. Don't like that look. I still use it because I like the handle which makes it easier to use for traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works I have an extremely head shy horse so I wanted to try something new. Ususally pulling his mane involves having someone hold him, while he throws his head up and tries to back away. I can't even cross tie him because he will panic and break them. The SoloComb made the process so much easier! Its very simple to use and the horse doesn't feel a thing. It doesn't "pull" the mane in any way so if you are looking to thin the mane out this doesn't do that. But since my horse has a thick mane, I used the Solo Comb to get the desired length and then pulled a little out as well just to thin things out. This saved my horse and I so much time and stress. I've only used it once, so I can't comment on how long the blades last though. But with a head shy horse it is well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well! You get the pulled look without the pain! The SoloComb helps to speed up the pulling process with my big 17h horse and he likes it alot better too! Although I still have to use a pulling comb to thin the mane it works great to shorten it and get it even.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Youngsters Looks like a pulled mane without the pain. I've used this for years on my young horses (and the cranky ones) and it works great for all of us. I only wish the product were more durable - I have gone through a number of them. But then, it would be more expensive so...
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from solocomb, i love you I purchased the solocomb for my daughter's horse who WILL NOT allow his mane to be pulled, It was thick and wild from us cutting it and nearly impossible to braid. The solocomb trims and thins in one easy motion without putting any pressure or pulling on the horse. Its been like a godsent for us. My daughter did it by herself and when she turned him around so i could see her work i couldn't believe it!! Cocoa's mane was neat and tidy and laid flat against his neck. This is a MUST HAVE item for anyone whose horse doesn't like pulling.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse! I love this product! I have a horse that HATES having his mane pulled. A friend at the barn recommended this product after using it on her horse and I have to say that it has been a dream! I have only used it once to "pull" a medium length mane to short and it did a fantastic job! My horse was so relaxed that he fell asleep in the crossties. I will never pull another mane again and I am glad that I made my horse happy also with this product!
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good but not a pulling substitute This is great for a quick touch up. Very easy. Very fast. My horse didn't seem to even know I was doing it. But it's not really a substitute for pulling - results are a bit like trimming with scissors. Finishing up with an abbreviated pull seems to have better results.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from solo comb very easy to use, comes apart too easily but very happy with overall results
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed The first time I used the Solo Comb it worked great. The second mane I tried I could not use it at all!! It would not cut. This is my second Solo Comb the 1st one I used about 6 times and then got replacement blades 2 sets and could not get it to work with either set. I thought I would try it again, so I bought a new one and now I am disappointed. It cost $26.00 and only got 1 use.
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neat product Definitely a quick way to shorten a mane without pulling. The proof will be in the braiding! I didn't feel that I was able to get as close to the base of the mane as I would have liked. But, maybe I just need practice!
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My Fingers Arthritic fingers and a new horse are not a good combination to achieve a neat mane. However the SoloComb really made it ridiculously easy. The caveat-- follow the directions and only back-comb a small amount of mane, as you would to actually pull the mane. The result is a nice neat pulled look with fingers and horse none the worse for the experience. A handy and well made addition to my grooming box.
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy! I have a tb with a fairly thick mane and i was really struggling to pull it and he was starting to get quite fussy. So a friend recommended this product and i fell in love! It was so quick and easy i was able to make his mane look fabulous in about 15 min. Then i just went back over it and pulled some of the areas to give it a more tidy actually pulled look.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must have around the barn! Most everybody at my barn carries these and they are so helpful. They are easy to use and the horses don't mind them at all! My horse was still antsy the first time I used it, thinking I was going to pull his mane out and was really surprised when he couldn't feel anything! It still produces a really nice, natural look too.
    Date published: 2012-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy to use! I was able to trim my OTTB's mane in no time. Following the natural curve of his mane/neck, just back comb and trim; nice sharp blade. Very easy to cut too short so start with the longer strands first and then make a second path as needed.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than pulling for SOME horses Easy to use, except in very thick manes - where you end up cutting not quite close enough to the crest. Still prefer to pull in horses that don't mind, but ended the battles with one of mine.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works My horse has a thick mane, this product helps thin it out before my arms die.
    Date published: 2012-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I expected Not a bad tool. Doesn't work exactly how it is supposed to but having used them before this was no surprise. Wish the comb lock was a bit stronger. I'll always use this for pulling. It's easier on the horse and hands.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Specific Horses Only I first used this on my horse who has a very thin mane and it worked great. Very easy and efficient. I then tried to use on my horse who has a much thicker mane. It worked for about two small inches and then completely failed to work at all. It won't cut anything now. Very disappointed. I don't think I was overdoing the amount of hair in it for the second horse so not worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my life so much easier! I bought this comb after reading other reviews and decided to try it. I have a very sensitive young Thoroughbred who hated having his mane pulled and had a melt down each time I tried! I used this comb for the first time last week and not only was it easy and quick to use but, his mane looks fantastic! I wish I had found this sooner!
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works I do not like the idea of pulling a mane but still wanted a cleaner look and the comb really worked
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thing Since Sliced Bread LOVE LOVE LOVE this invention. I had an original of these from years ago that vanished at a trainer's and it took me way to long to order another. I could use one all day. The pain of pulling manes is gone for good for both me and my horses!
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS THING!! this is the best main comb ever! like the other reviewer i too like more of the natural true pulled main look, however with my mares main thats next to impossible. Her main is SOOOO THICK that in order to "pull" it, it would take several days and by the end of it my arms hurt and my mare would get quite annoyed with the whole ordeal. Also her main if not done right will go in 7 different directions so i figured id give this a try after another person brought it up. its a true life saver! it gives a really nice look to the main just like if you pulled it and I'm now able to do my mares main in recored time. it also works as a main trimer to shorten the main. you can easily lop off the ends to trim it up between pulls or if you have a thin maned horse that just needs it shortened with out pulling, but it gives that same natural look rather than cutting. I will never be with out it...at least while i own this mare. the blades to last a reasonable time and its not too hard to find replacement blads...smartpak carries them as do quite a few tack stores.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Staple Item I finally decided to try this item out on my mare. Even though I am a fan of the look of a true pulled mane, my horse was not a fan of the experience. I decided to try this as an alternative to a fight with her. I was very shocked at how nice you can get the mane to look with this tool. If you use it right you can definitely get a great look.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didnt someone think of this earlier? What an easy concept...love it! Pony loves it as well.
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SoloComb is great! My daughter and I were at the point of almost pulling our hair out when we pulled her gelding's mane. This boy is super sensitive! So, instead of pulling his mane we cut it aproximately to length with thinning shears and then used the SoloComb by back combing and cutting. It looks great and turned a miserable job into something quick and easy. I have to say this product is pricey, but I think if you have a "sensitive boy" like ours then go for it. It will pay off by saving your nerves and your hair!
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does work, & it's easy Having done a lot of braiding, I resisted buying this for years. Then I bought a horse that I'd have to drug every time I want to pull her mane. After suffering thru pulling her mane the hard way 3x(she bordered on dangerous to herself & me), I got one of these. First time I used it she never moved. Never even noticed I was doing anything to her at all. So I'm a convert. Yes, she's a jumper & unlikely to be braided. Not sure I'd use it on a hunter mane or not, but it surely has its place for a difficult horse. Rather expensive, have to see how the blade holds up with repeated use. If you've got a really tough horse, I'd say it's worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Pulling My TB gelinding hated my pulling his mane. With the Solo Comb I can acheive almost exactly the same effect with no pain for my horse or for me. The first few times I used it he still shook his head as he was expecting me to pull his mane. Once he realized I wasn't going to, he settled right in.The only thing I find with the comb is that you need to keep it oiled. I use the oil for clippers. Otherwise the blade sticks and you accidentally cut hairs you didn't want to as well as it doesn't work smoothly.
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    • 2015-05-25T10:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.