Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SoloComb

Item #11626
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.

Favorite Features

  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle ...
    Description:
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle Brushis great for dusting off and removing dander. Varnished wood back is 3/4 sized to fit comfortably in your hand. Have this brush Laser Engraved with text up to 8 letters long! ...
    The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential ...
    Description:
    The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential part of your grooming routine! This safe and soft microfiber product is perfect for wiping down your horse both before and after workouts. Microfiber is suitable for even the most sensitive areas ...
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual ...
    Description:
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual use Vac n'Blo Pro does all the work for you. Used as a vacuum, the super suction gets down deep to remove dirt, dandruff, loose hair, and parasites. Used as a blower, ...
    Great for bathing (especially the legs) or everday ...
    Description:
    Great for bathing (especially the legs) or everday currying. The Rubber Grooming Mitt is offered in fun colors too!
    ShowSheen Hair Polish - North America's #1 selling ...
    Description:
    ShowSheen Hair Polish - North America's #1 selling hair polish. Produces a show ring shine that accentuates body tone and definition and coats each hair shaft keeping manes and tails tangle free, reducing grooming time by as much as 80%. ...
    This little gadget is amazing and it really ...
    Description:
    This little gadget is amazing and it really works! If you get wriggly noses when trying to trim whiskers, then despair no more - ditch the scissors/clippers and use the Horse Shave Razor! The Horse Shave is a very quick ...
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of ...
    Description:
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of top quality 100% Australian Sheepskin. Watch as it effortlessly absorbs and removes dust from horses, boots, saddles/ tack, and even your show coat! This mitt can be used wet or dry and ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.3429 out of 5 by 140.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works great...while it works SmarkPak came through as always with quick shipping. Due to a health condition that prevents me from pulling manes by hand, I was so excited to get this. I got about halfway done with my mare's mane, and the SoloComb was doing a great job. The look was natural and lovely. Then - alas - the comb broke. The part that holds the blade in simply popped off, broken. I could still use the comb, but had to hold it so that the blade wouldn't fall out. VERY disappointing and frustrating! This is a great idea, but the concept needs to be further developed into a tougher product.
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE I cannot give this enough stars. I will never go back to pulling another mane! I was a little worried because my trainer is super picky about manes looking like they've been cut, but my new mare was not going to let me pull her mane. I gave it a go, and you can't even tell! It looks exactly the same, horses who were running backwards when I pulled their mane are now standing still, and it takes half the time! The mane in the picture is pretty thin, but it was super long, and it only took me 30 minutes to do. I have only used it on thin manes, so I can't say how it does with thick manes, but I've used it 5 times and I'm just now noticing the blade becoming duller. Worth it to me. I'm happier and my horses are a million times happier. Best invention ever.
    Date published: 2015-11-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Breaks Ive used this maybe four times and it broke. I only got to change the blades one time. They get dull very quickly and really arnt worth the price to pay every time you need to pull a mane. My horse hates getting pulled but I'm definatly going to find another alternative to this. It does work okay with brand new blades when it's not broken, but it doesn't last.
    Date published: 2015-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Mane looks like it had been pulled. Perfect for those horses who will not tolerate their mane being pulled.
    Date published: 2015-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does its job I'm not a fan of these types of combs, I prefer the classic metal ones, but when I can't find the metal one, I use this. It's good quality. I've used other combs that make me feel like the plastic comb will fall off, but this one is really sturdy. The blades get dull, yes, but they can be replaced. I also use this before I start to just thin the mane out, combing the mane like you would just comb it, and squeeze the handle to thin the mane out a little easier (it's easier on my hands).The only thing that really bugs me is that the hair gets stuck in between the blades, making them a little harder to squeeze than normal.
    Date published: 2015-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful! As someone who doesn't have much experience pulling/trimming manes, this comb made my job pretty easy. I've used it twice now for lengthy periods of time and found the blades intact and functioning fine. I was nervous about it breaking, but so far so good! My boy hates having his mane pulled, so this item is a great alternative.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes thinning easier! I have a horse with a very thick mane that was really becoming unruly. Since not showing this year, decided to use this instead of pulling. Worked great, took very little time. Not sure how it'll look when it all grows out, but I'm happy with the results right now!
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love it but it broke I've used SoloCombs over the years and have always gotten a nice finish on my horses' manes. But the most recent one I bought (the red one) broke within 3 uses. I do not mean it got dull, they always do that and you have to replace the blade, but this one physically broke on only the 3rd mane. I'm hesitant to buy another.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke the first time I used it. Very disappointed. Didn't even make it through one mane. Blades broke off leaving my horses mane uneven and chopped. Had to finish with a clipper blade. Wrote to customer service, emailed pictures, never heard back. Disappointed, will be returning ASAP.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Concept - Quality Seems to Be Declining I've been using SoloComb for years now, and I think it's a great product for horses that object to pulling or have thin manes. I think it works better on thin manes than on thick ones.One thing I have noticed is that the quality of the blade has declined over time. A SoloComb used to last me quite a few mane "pulls" without getting dull. Now I maybe get 2 or 3 pulls, and I have to replace the blade. I have multiple horses that I use this on, so it gets annoying having to replace it so often. I would start with a relatively clean mane to make sure that you don't dull the blade even faster.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful tool I bought one of the original Solocombs about 16 years ago. I thought I'd break my Morgan colt into having his mane pulled by going slowly and taking a few hairs at a time when he was really young, but he wouldn't tolerate pulling at all. I bought the comb and have never been disappointed with the results. It works easily and looks like a pulled mane without any discomfort to my horse. He stand quietly and we have a nicely kept mane. I had to buy a new one last month, but I think 16 years is a good long time for something I use a lot, to last. I like that the blades can be replaced and SmartPak carries the replacements, also. Great product.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding has a Fresian-thickness mane... and does NOT tolerate traditional pulling without heavy sedation (picture enough sedation to do a complex tooth extraction...anything less and he's unmanageable). He'll stand all day, sound asleep, for the solo comb. I just did his super long and thick mane yesterday, after letting it grow for about a year because an injury took us out of riding. It took about as much time as pulling would, but my arms were less tired and my gelding was much happier. Final result looks the same as pulled, and I'm VERY pleased. I recommend this to everyone I know!
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite what I expected If you need to do touch-ups on a mane or you're working with fine hair, this product will do its job. But if you're looking to use it in place of pulling a mane with any thickness to it, it doesn't work nearly as well as I expected based on things I've heard about it.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a hard job easier! Love the ease of using this...so does my horse. A tip....go slow...follow the directions. Small pieces at a time. Really does a nice job.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally one that works! I have gone through several similar combs, but they never worked (and so always had to resort to the regular pulling comb). This one actually feels sturdy and substantial in your hand, and the blade actually cuts through the hair like it's supposed to! As long as you cut only the amount of hair you would pull at one time, it gives the overall finished look of a pulled mane. If you try to cut a chunk of mane at one time, obviously it will look choppy. I have a Paint who has the thinnest, most straggly mane you have ever seen, and using this I was able to make it look presentable in 10 minutes. I also have a pony with a mane that was all one length, and I was able to shorten it and make it look like a regular pulled mane with this. I used it on an opinionated 4 year old OTTB who until now would have to be twitched to pull his mane (and he would still try to rear). After he realized that there wasn't going to be a yank following the back-pull, he stood patiently in the crossties and let me finish. I will never use anything but this to pull manes ever again.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Painless mane pulling Very easy to use. Thins and pulls mane without ripping or pulling hair out. Makes it easier and faster to do without upsetting my horse.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful I like that this product makes pulling the mane unnecessary and it works pretty well as long as you follow the directions and don't try to clip too much hair at once. I was disappointed thought that the bristles feel really cheaply made, I can't imagine this would hold up under heavy use or for more than a year or two.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect alternative! My mare hates having her mane pulled, this comb is the perfect alternative :) it does a great job and I have a horse with a neat and tidy mane
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to handle and operate I bought this comb so I didn't have to hassle with pulling my mare's mane.Overall, it does an adequate job of thinning the mane. It doesn't look like a handpulled mane when done, but it does the bulk of the work without causing pain to my sensitive mare. I think over time I will be able to get more of the desired results,but for the first time use I think it went pretty good.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SoloComb I bought this to help shape my mare's mane as she did not like it when Ipulled it. I have to tell you that I love it and so did my mare. I would highlyrecommend this product.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this 1 month ago. It is simple and easy to use. Most importantly, it is pain free. This is the only way I will shorten my horse's mane in the future.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Used this once and got 3/4 of the way done with my horses mane and it stopped working. I have read only a couple other reviews that went the same way. Very strange. It was awesome at first. Trust me, I didn't do anything stupid or forceful with it to cause it sto stop working. I would not recommend this product for the cost. If it was even $20 I might invest in a possible failure, but not the $30-something I spent on this. So bummed. Maybe those few of us received a faulty product. I should contact smartpak about replacing it for another one.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work well I have used a similar product and it worked great. This one would not cut the hair. Totally defeated it's purpose.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good! I was kind of skeptical using the Solo Comb as I have always been told it doesn't make a mane look like one that's been pulled. I have to say I was wrong, this really works. And it also works to keep a pulled mane tidy through the season. I also hate pulling manes and this works.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for pulling manes on sensitive horses. I have a couple of jorses that are very sensitive about having their manes pulled, one almost to the point of violence if pullrd with a standard comb. Ive used Solo combs for years and love it, pulling takes less time and makes a sensitive horse happier about having their mane pulled.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, long lasting! Great tool, keeps the pain away and is very durable, I assumed I would need a new blade for its 2nd season, but no, its still sharp as it was (and I don't wash manes before using) it does not really save time if you want the pulled look, but saves your fingers, and horses tolerance, I use it while he is eating his grain every evening until it gets to the right length, he doesn't care one bit! watch youtube so you use it right, or you'll end up with a chopped up mane like scissors. ~ thank you smartpak! ~
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great My mare has always hated having her mane pulled so I tried the solo comb and it worked great! Her mane looks like it was pulled and she wasn't irritated while I was doing it.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative to pulling manes Ok, no it does not provide a perfectly pulled mane look; HOWEVER, it does a really good job of mimicking a pulled mane in a fraction of time. (watch youtube videos for tips on how to make it achieve a more pulled look- basically, use small sections). My two geldings greatly oppose the idea of getting their manes pulled- this is something I have worked on them for a couple years now, and it is just never work the fight. Both geldings would allow a blindfolded monkey clip their ears with no objection, but the notion of the little metal comb sends them batty. Totally not worth it and I can no longer afford the amount of carrots it took to get through two thick manes. Highly recommend! 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Product Love it, love it, love it. No more pulling = happy horse and happy me!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver!! I will never pull a mane like I used to. What normally would have taken 2-3 hours took less than 30 minutes. My horse has a thick mane but it was no match for the solo comb!! He usually hates to have me pulling near his head but he did not even notice me! Love it!
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    • 2016-04-29T16:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_130
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders