Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SoloComb

Item #11626
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.
Favorite Features
  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

Sizing

6 ½” X 3”
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Start with a clean, tangle free mane and tail. It is recommended that you start at the withers and work your way up the mane. Then prepare the mane as you would with a pulling comb. Steps: 1. Back comb into the mane the holding the hair (under tension) with one hand, comb in the other and push top hairs back until the desired amount of under hairs to be removed is in the teeth of the comb. 2. At this point DO NOT PULL THE COMB DOWN; raise the hair held in your hand up into the blades so that the hair is under tension. Then press the lever down on the handle and the hair will be clipped. (For medium/thick manes go closer to the roots). 3. Comb out the tangles for the next cut. When the desired length is reached you may want to pinch or nip off ends of the hairs with your fingers to complete the look. Cleaning the comb: 1. Remove the two fixing screws and lift off the blade cover. 2. Remove the blade fixing. 3. Lift blades off the mounting pins and clean off debris. 4. Separate blades and rinse with water. 5. Dry with cloth and spray sparingly with WB40. To replace the blades: 1. Follow steps 1 & 2 under cleaning instructions. 2. Lift blades off mounting pins. 3. Insert new blades. 4. Replace blade fixing plate. 5. Replace blade cover and screws.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Equiderma Sheath Cleaner provides easy and comfortable cleaning. ...
    Description:
    "Equiderma Sheath Cleaner provides easy and comfortable cleaning. This cleanser contains, Neem, Arnica, Chamomile, Basil, Pine Bark and Cherry Bark. Each ingredient brings its own benefit to making your horse more comfortable."
    "The GroomTex drying towel is made from super ...
    Description:
    "The GroomTex drying towel is made from super absorbent 350 g per square meter dual pile microfiber. The towel absorbs up to 7 times its weight in water and wicks away moisture drawing it from your horse or dog into ...
    "The ultimate hoof pick! This hoof pick was ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate hoof pick! This hoof pick was designed to remove even the hardest elements that become compacted in horses' hooves. The strong end square edged metal pick drives easily into hard elements such as clay, snow, and mud. It ...
    "Natural ingredients like marigold, carrot and St. John‘s ...
    Description:
    "Natural ingredients like marigold, carrot and St. John‘s wort regenerate and restore damaged skin areas and stimulate hair growth on bold spots. Bio-sulphurous fluid soothes bothersome itching and rubbing tendencies with lasting effect. Made In Germany."
    "The Oster® Turbo A5 clipper utilizes a faster ...
    Description:
    "The Oster® Turbo A5 clipper utilizes a faster motor setting than the traditional A5 clipper. The resulting power allows owners to go through the hair faster making quick work of a difficult job. The Turbo version of the A5 clipper ...
    "Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded ...
    Description:
    "Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded strap for easier grooming. Green. Rubber Hand Groomer effectively lifts out dirt and breaks up clumps of mud to deep clean. Imported."
    "Smegma, see you later – get rid of ...
    Description:
    "Smegma, see you later – get rid of gunk andbuild-up with Smeg-U-Later. Thisformula is made with Organic Hemp Oil,Vegetable Glycerin, gentle and effectiveCoconut derived cleansers and soothingHoneysuckle. They have also addedEssential Oil of Lavender, known for itscalming properties. Let’s face ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 155.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Painless mane pulling Very easy to use. Thins and pulls mane without ripping or pulling hair out. Makes it easier and faster to do without upsetting my horse.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful I like that this product makes pulling the mane unnecessary and it works pretty well as long as you follow the directions and don't try to clip too much hair at once. I was disappointed thought that the bristles feel really cheaply made, I can't imagine this would hold up under heavy use or for more than a year or two.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect alternative! My mare hates having her mane pulled, this comb is the perfect alternative :) it does a great job and I have a horse with a neat and tidy mane
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to handle and operate I bought this comb so I didn't have to hassle with pulling my mare's mane. Overall, it does an adequate job of thinning the mane. It doesn't look like a hand pulled mane when done, but it does the bulk of the work without causing pain to my sensitive mare. I think over time I will be able to get more of the desired results, but for the first time use I think it went pretty good.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SoloComb I bought this to help shape my mare's mane as she did not like it when I pulled it. I have to tell you that I love it and so did my mare. I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this 1 month ago. It is simple and easy to use. Most importantly, it is pain free. This is the only way I will shorten my horse's mane in the future.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Used this once and got 3/4 of the way done with my horses mane and it stopped working. I have read only a couple other reviews that went the same way. Very strange. It was awesome at first. Trust me, I didn't do anything stupid or forceful with it to cause it sto stop working. I would not recommend this product for the cost. If it was even $20 I might invest in a possible failure, but not the $30-something I spent on this. So bummed. Maybe those few of us received a faulty product. I should contact smartpak about replacing it for another one.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work well I have used a similar product and it worked great. This one would not cut the hair. Totally defeated it's purpose.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good! I was kind of skeptical using the Solo Comb as I have always been told it doesn't make a mane look like one that's been pulled. I have to say I was wrong, this really works. And it also works to keep a pulled mane tidy through the season. I also hate pulling manes and this works.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for pulling manes on sensitive horses. I have a couple of jorses that are very sensitive about having their manes pulled, one almost to the point of violence if pullrd with a standard comb. Ive used Solo combs for years and love it, pulling takes less time and makes a sensitive horse happier about having their mane pulled.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, long lasting! Great tool, keeps the pain away and is very durable, I assumed I would need a new blade for its 2nd season, but no, its still sharp as it was (and I don't wash manes before using) it does not really save time if you want the pulled look, but saves your fingers, and horses tolerance, I use it while he is eating his grain every evening until it gets to the right length, he doesn't care one bit! watch youtube so you use it right, or you'll end up with a chopped up mane like scissors. ~ thank you smartpak! ~
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great My mare has always hated having her mane pulled so I tried the solo comb and it worked great! Her mane looks like it was pulled and she wasn't irritated while I was doing it.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative to pulling manes Ok, no it does not provide a perfectly pulled mane look; HOWEVER, it does a really good job of mimicking a pulled mane in a fraction of time. (watch youtube videos for tips on how to make it achieve a more pulled look- basically, use small sections). My two geldings greatly oppose the idea of getting their manes pulled- this is something I have worked on them for a couple years now, and it is just never work the fight. Both geldings would allow a blindfolded monkey clip their ears with no objection, but the notion of the little metal comb sends them batty. Totally not worth it and I can no longer afford the amount of carrots it took to get through two thick manes. Highly recommend! 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Product Love it, love it, love it. No more pulling = happy horse and happy me!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver!! I will never pull a mane like I used to. What normally would have taken 2-3 hours took less than 30 minutes. My horse has a thick mane but it was no match for the solo comb!! He usually hates to have me pulling near his head but he did not even notice me! Love it!
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC!! Great tool! watch youtube for how to best use it. I don't feel it makes "pulling" much faster because you want to do little bits at a time to avoid the choppy look, however its pain free and it is a little faster, the horse doesn't mind at all so i did it while he ate his evening grain (10 minutes max a night, took about 2 weeks to go from western long to eventer short). Highly recommend this for anyone sick of pulling and that feels bad about yanking their ponies manes out! FYI my tool is still working great and i never washed his mane before using it, but i would use a little cowboy magic and brush really well so its easier to work with. have regular comb in hand and only use the solocomb for cutting don't expect to be able to actually "comb" the hair with it.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the Perfect Mane This is a handy little option to have as part of your grooming essentials. I watched a few videos on using this first and saw that it is extremely easy to use. I also noticed that it can produce a "choppy" look if you overuse it so I was careful not to do the whole mane with it. I did a little pulling of the mane first to thin it, and then I used this to create that perfect flat, trimmed mane look that is even and clean looking. Also, a friend at my barn has a horse that absolutely hates having his mane pulled and she borrowed this and she said it was magic, so it's definitely ideal for finicky horses. I love this product and would highly recommend it for anyone that is into grooming and keeping their horses looking sharp and handsome.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best I bought this hoping for a better way to trim my horse's mane and avoid pulling. I like the look of a pulled mane but my horse really hates me doing it. Don't bother with the solo comb If you want the look of a pulled mane because you won't get it. Yes it is super easy to use and it only took about 5 minutes to trim her mane, but it looks like I used scissors - yuck! Good thing I don't have a show coming up because I am embarrassed at how it looks. It was difficult to get each section the same length so it looks like a bad scissor job at that. Take the time to pull your horses mane correctly since this comb really is too good to be true. I will be returning mine.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great invention. Thank you! Wish I'd discovered this sooner. Works just like it promises, and keeps manes tidy without the stress of pulling. Happy horse = happy me.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Mane Tool Love this product. The replacement blades were so expensive I purchased a 2nd comb but found the newer model to not hold up as well. I ended up removing the blades from the new one and using them in my old comb which has been going strong for about 5 years. I am happy to see the replacement blade price has decreased somewhat. I use it on 4-6 horses every summer.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to be more durable I love this product I received it for Christmas and it works easily on the areas the horses don't like pulled like near the poll and withers, or on an already thin mane. But the durability is terrible. I used mine twice, once on a very very thin mane just to shorten it, and once near the poll on a horse who wouldn't let me pull up there. The plastic teeth popped off and the end busted. I was able to slip it back in and finish the touch ups, but it was a pain because I had to keep putting the teeth back in. For the money it needs to hold up better. In the summer I do a lot of mane pulling I was hoping this would be a good easy method for the few hard to pull horses I do, including my own with a mane too thin to pull. I expected it to last several sessions since it costs nearly what I get paid for one mane job.
    Date published: 2013-05-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does an OK Job I bought this product to use on a horse that hates to have his mane pulled. The SoloComb does a decent job, but I do prefer a pulled mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good concept.. This tool works well for a mane that doesn't need a lot of thinning. I do regularly use it on one mare's mane because hers only really needs to be shortened and not thinned. You can definitely get a thick mane thinned out using this tool, but it's going to look terrible once the mane starts to grow out. I made the mistake of using it on my colt, who has a very thick mane. I used it just as the instructions say, trimming small sections at a time and back combing just like you would with a regular pulling comb. The mane looked decent when I was done, and I finished the job quickly. However, 2 months later all the hair that I had "pulled" started growing back and was sticking straight up through the top layer of hair. Luckily I only used it for one show at the end of the show season, so I've had time to let my colt's mane grow out and it is finally trained to lay flat again. I will not be using this to thin his mane this year, rather I'm sticking with the old fashioned method. I've yet to find something that works as well as pulling a mane the old fashioned way.. However, I do like this product for touch ups and for shortening an already thin mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane pulling this comb works great and I can do my horse's mane in less than 15 minutes.....LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy mane pulling this is a great tool for thinning a mane - especially a thick one... It is my second one as i have 2 horses at 2 barns - so one at each barn.... It is a much easier way for me to pull the mane...
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Mane Tool! The SoloComb is perfect for getting that tamed, thinned, and shorter mane I need for braiding and overall grooming. No harsh pulling/ripping out of hair, its very gentle. Just hold the hair, tease it up only (not up and down) then clip. I love that it makes the mane look very natural and neat, it doesn't give that "scissor cut" look when you're done. Perfect addition to my grooming tote.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane pullinge made easy I've been using the solo comb for years. My mare hates having her mane pulled, I've tried using thining blades, sissors and several other methods but couldn't get the results I was looking for. I had to replace the blade on my first solo comb after a couple of years but it was very easy to do. Unfortunately I dropped my first one too many times and it broke apart. I will be more carefull with the new one. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Good to be True I hate pulling mane. When I saw this product, I was so excited to give it a try. Of course, it was too good to be true. While it was easy to use, it definitely did not give my horse's mane a natural look as advertised. It is essentially a fancy-looking pair of scissors. I hate to send things back but I had to because I just don't see myself using it ever again. Back to the convention mane comb it is!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great Love my new SoloComb. Works great, unfortunately it doesn't work so well for left handers. I had to hold it in my right hand which was a bit awkward for me since I am left handed and have always held the pulling comb in my left hand.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am sold on the SoloComb! I have tried literally every other mane-pulling/trimming gimmick on the market for my OTTB who HATES having his mane pulled. The SoloComb is the most expensive one out there, so after all the others didn't work, I wasn't going to spend more money one something else that didn't work. Today I borrowed a friend's SoloComb at her insistence when I mentioned pulling my horse's mane. His is ridiculously thick and coarse, so all the other trimming methods yield the equine afro look. But, with the SoloComb, I was able to trim his mane to the desired length, leaving enough long hairs to pull in order to thin it somewhat. The reduced amount of mane pulling was fairly tolerable in Johnny's opinion (with minimal head-tossing), and instead of 2 hours, blisters, and blood, I spent less than an hour with NO blisters or bloody fingers! His mane looks great, and while it's not as thin as it would've been if I'd pulled it, it's braidable without the 'fro look! I'm buying my own SoloComb before I have to do his mane again.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_145
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders