Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #13907
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Add to your SmartBlue® and SmartPink® collection with our fabulous SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Turnout Blankets.

Favorite Features

  • Tough 1200 denier waterproof polyester outer with a polyester lining
  • Thinsulate lining provides the equivalent of 220g of fill without the weight
  • Polished stainless steel hardware, double buckle front closure
  • Elastic leg straps
  • Tail flap
  • Shoulder gussets
  • Dual belly surcingles
  • Fleece at the wither. 

Imported

Sizing It Up
SmartBlue® or SmartPink® Plaid w/black trim. Sizes 51 - 84.

For turnout blankets, we recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.697 out of 5 by 165.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pony and I love this blanket! My mom bought this blanket for my new Welsh Pony. I got it because my trainers have them for their horses. It keeps my pony warm even though it does not weigh a lot.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket for the price. I bought this blanket for my Friesian/Warmblood filly. It fits her well, it is very lightweight, and I think it runs true to size. It also looks great. I haven't had it long enough to comment on it's durability, but it seems to be well-made. The only thing that would make it better at this point would be front snaps instead of buckles and elastic rather than web belly surcingles. I really do like the thinsulate weight for my climate, plus it makes dealing with a size 87 blanket much easier.
    Date published: 2015-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turn out Blanket This is my 3rd Thinsulate Turnout Blanket. I love that these keep the horses warm with out the heavy weight of a regular turnout blanket. I also love the gussets in the shoulders so there is no drag on the shoulder points as the horse moves. Plus they come with a tail flap. No other Thinsulate on the market offers such features as these. These are perfect for single digit temps. I think below zero I'd probably pull out the super heavy turnout blankets I have. These keep the horse warm but if the temps warm up they don't tend to sweat in them like a heavy bulky blanket. If I get a tear I patch easily with a stick on patch for clothes. Also, I like the cut of these blankets.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Pink Blanket For Kima Marie I purchased the blanket about three weeks ago. I love the Smart Pink Color! The material is strong and durable. I had no issues we love the lightweight feel of the thinsilate material. I would recommend 2 sizes smaller than your measurement. I have had her in a 78 before and it's usually spot on this blanket was allot longer than anticipated. I kept it because the fit won't cause any issue for her.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket My mare is in individual turnout so I can't say how this would hold up to rough turnout, but two months later this is holding up to burrs, rolling, and rubbing. Washes up great and keeps her dry even in a downpour. Also fits her large draft shoulders and butt well! Would buy again.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy and light! Excellent value and stylish. Blanket is warm, lightweight but with a cozy feel. Pony is a Welsh/Arab 14.1. The 69" fits well, on the longer side.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE This Blanket! I have had these SmartPink and SmartBlue thinsulate blankets for about 7 years now. One blanket started to fray a little at 5 years (my horses are rough in the pasture at night) but probably could have gone another year or two. Because that one is for my older horse, I didn't want to risk her getting cold and replaced it.Because I travel with my horses to events, I love that these blankets aren't as bulky as traditional blankets and don't take up as much space. This is a great mid-weight blanket, and my horses have been toasty warm in them as low as the 20s. They may be warmer in even colder temperatures, but that's as cold as it's gotten in Florida.The blankets fit great, but if you have a pudgy or stocky horse, go up one size. My youngest mare is a bit chubby and sized 75, but that was too snug on her, so I had to step up to a 78 on her.If you wash these blankets at the laundromat, wash them in the gentle cycle and cold water and do not dry them or you risk ruining the thinsulate properties. Hang them on a fence for day or two to dry completely. They wash beautifully.The back leg straps are the only downside to these blankets. They stretch out within a month or two, so be prepared to buy a replacement set. The blanket is such great quality that I'm still rating this a 5.Please also see my similar review for the solid blue thinsulate blanket. Love SmartPak thinsulate blankets!!
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for a narrow horse I have a 16.2 hand TB/WB cross with very high withers, narrow shoulders, and a slender neck. He's long and lean, so by the time a blanket is large enough to cover his rump, it's hanging off his shoulders and rubbing the hair off. The SmartBlue Thinsulate turnout (size 81) fit him perfectly right out of the bag, and stayed dry after several damp, miserable days. Great blanket for the price!
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last My filly managed to wiggle out of this blanket and rip it on day three
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good blanket Good quality - I have ordered this before for another horse so I knew what I was getting would be good. Lasts in the wash.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good weight, just okay fit Purchased this blanket and have had it on my horse for a few weeks. It seems to provide adequate warmth for a mid-weight blanket and is also pretty cute. I almost sent it back, though, as I was not 100% sold on the fit. I have a 15.0h Morgan that wears a 74", so I bought the 75". Fits okay for her in the chest, but I'm not sure how it would be for a wider horse. The back end is what bothers me. Maybe it's just an inch or two too long, but it somehow isn't as nice as my other blanket. The leg straps are longer than I'd like but still don't seem to allow the best movement. It's just a minor design thing. I think it might fit better on a taller horse or one with wider hind quarters...not sure.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I purchased this for my 15.0hh quarter horse, and the 75" fits her perfectly! She's a stout horse, but the shoulders were wide enough. If you have a smaller framed horse I would recommend ordering one size smaller. Very durable, warm, and beautiful!
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it ! I finally got to use this blanket and I am so happy with the way it holds up!I started using it on the chillier days inMarch, since my horse has a very thickWinter coat. Now that he's shedding(Very badly I must add) it's getting aBit more use. He has worn it in his stalland in the paddock and it stays ingreat shape even with all his playfulturnout buddies!
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my horse perfectly. Stays is place. No issues.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous ! I bought this blanket for my 14'2 hand quarter horse/draft. He wears a 72 and it fits perfect! I couldn't be happier with the fit.The blue looks amazing on his orange coat color. I haven't got a chance touse it yet but sure feels like it will hold up! Worth getting :)
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too narrow! I bought this blanket and was terribly excited to get it on my horse! The smart pink pattern is so cute! But sadley my American Warmblood is too broad in the chest and shoulders and it wouldn't fit correctly! The blanket had to be half up her neck to even close the front. Needless to say I was really disappointed and had to return it for a wider blanket, which is really a shame because she looked super cute in it! If they ever decide to make a wider version I would by it in a heartbeat!
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing durability Bought this just before Christmas and have used it for 3 times for cold snaps, and I have had to repair it twice. There have been several tears on both the lining and outside - easily repairable, but disappointed that I have to do it so soon!Love the fit and look of the blanket. Weight is perfect for my 11 yr old daughter tohandle herself, but would hope that the quality and durability improves.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a perfect blanket! I bought this for my standardbred because I noticed with this cold snap, she was having some issues with keeping weight on. After I put this blanket on her, she started to gain some weight back, and I'm very glad. It's the only blanket I've ever put on her that will actually stay on and shes not fighting to get it off. I think she likes it as well! Fits her very very well too. She's a narrow horse and this blanket was just the right size for her. I got it in a 69 since in reality she's about a 68 and it was just big enough to give her plenty of warmth without the baggage.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! This is the 3rd blanket I've tried and it couldn't be better. The other 2 ended up torn and with broken snaps within 2 weeks, not to mention they drowned my horse in size.Winter literally hit overnight and didn't gI've my Tennessee Walker a chance to grow her winter coat so I was forced to use a blanket for the first time ever. She is fit but slender and has a short back. She measured to be a 64. The 63 was a little short so I exchanged for a 66 and it fit perfect.I use it without the leg straps...it hasn't moved, torn, and the buckles aren't broken. It's light, easy to fold away, and keeps her warm without sweating and as an added bonus, it's attractive and cleans easy.I highly recommend this blanket! I don't have a picture of her with the blanket but maybe this will help viewers compare for size.
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around blanket! I bought this a month ago to put on my pony that lives outside to keep her dry, and I love it! Completely waterproof, and fits great for my small stocky hard to fit pony.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous and indestructible ! I bought this more than a month ago and after use and abuse it looks as good as it did the day I took it out of the package. My rough and tough 5 year old Appy has given it a run for its money and it looks like new! The fit and features are super!
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a nice looking, affordable blanket! I was looking for an affordable new mid weight for my gelding. He goes out with the turnout bandits, so 1200 denier was a must, as I needed a blanket which can withstand being tugged at and group turnout. I was surprised at how handsome and classic this blanket was, and liked it EVEN more once I tried it on my horse.My horse is notoriously hard to fit, and I've kept him in 75/76" blankets but due to many review suggestions, sized down to a 72". I am very glad I did! The cut of the blanket is quite flattering, and generous and I was pleased at how lightweight the turnout is due to the Thinsulate material inside.I am still waiting to see how durable this blanket actually is, so may write a followup review, but the cut, look and weight are awesome for my horse so far. I even got this on sale which made things even sweeter!Please definitely size down, enjoy that you are also supporting Breast Cancer Research with your purchase and enjoy this wonderfully attractive turnout blanket!
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Turnout Blanket I bought this for my paint mare...and it is a great fit for her.  I needed a turnout that sat a bit high up on her neck and yet long enough in the body.  It is all that and then some...
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I got the SmartPink for my chestnut QH mare. She is very very stocky with a big hind end and muscled chest, all in less than 15.3H. I was a little worried this item may not fit, but I was pleasantly surprised! It isn't too big on her at all and doesn't restrict her. It fits everywhere it needs to. She hasn't sweated on warmer days up into the 60's and is nice and warm during our cold snap right now (down to the 20's in Northern California!). She seems much happier than the other horses and I am pleased with the quality. Plus, the pink plaid is a very nice bonus.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Good Blanket This blanket I think is a good quality blanket. It fits pretty well and it's warm. During the cold weather we've been having in North Carolina, when I put my hand under the blanket to feel his temperature he seems quite cozy! But it doesn't seem to get too hot either when it's sunny or not as cold outside. Of course I wouldn't put it on over 30 or 35 degrees. My horse is a 15h Morgan/QH cross, so he's very stocky with very broad, square shoulders. I felt like this blanket was a little tight in the withers and shoulders, but it fit him well everywhere else (I included pictures, not very good quality). A lot of reviews said to go down a size from what you would usually order because this blanket runs a little big, but I think if you have a stockier horse you can probably get away with the normal size you usually get. This blanket has withstood my horse who is turned out 24/7 with a group of 5 other geldings, two of which are young and like to play, and he really enjoys rolling. Thought it doesn't fit my horse perfectly, I think it is a good quality blanket and worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blanket This is a very cute blanket and it looks adorable on my daughter's pony! It seems well made and the fit was perfect. I wish that it had clips on the front because trying to do up the buckles in the freezing cold is not fun, but other than that I really like all the features. I'm hoping it holds up really well. It seems quite sturdy, but only time will tell!
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Love the color, we have one of each: SmartPink plaid, and SmartBlue plaid. Our horses have free choice access to shelter 24/7 year round. If weather gets extreme is the only time they are stalled. These blankets keep them dry is torrential rains and warm in cold weather and warm and dry when the weather is cold and wet. 2 of the three blankets we have had and used for 5 years, and still going strong. They stay in place very well and fit great.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! But still waiting for a matching neckrug! Love this blanket set, the pink plaid looks lovely on my palomino mare. I am getting ready to order the blue plaid for my palomino gelding. I just really wish SmartPak would make matching neck covers for these blankets!
    Date published: 2013-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnouts I have been ordering these turnouts for my horses for many years. They are perfect for temps from 20 degrees to 55 degrees. You can go higher if the horses are not in the sun.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time favorite blanket! Bought the blanket for a small-ish WB in size 78 and couldn't be happier. She has a strong, solid build but is not super-tall, and this fits her frame perfectly. And the rose-grey plaid on my grey mare looks custom made for her! She has a mouthy gelding barnmate who has yet to rip the outer shell, despite a full season of trying. Great quality, perfect weight (for northern CA), durable, easy on-off, spectacular looks, good price. I'd buy another in a heartbeat.
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    • 2015-08-26T13:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_156
    • loc_en_US, sid_3907, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.