Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #13907

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Add to your SmartBlue® and SmartPink® collection with our fabulous SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Turnout Blankets.

Favorite Features

  • Tough 1200 denier waterproof polyester outer with a polyester lining
  • Thinsulate lining provides the equivalent of 220g of fill without the weight
  • Polished stainless steel hardware, double buckle front closure
  • Elastic leg straps
  • Tail flap
  • Shoulder gussets
  • Dual belly surcingles
  • Fleece at the wither. 

Imported

Sizing It Up
SmartBlue® or SmartPink® Plaid w/black trim. Sizes 51 - 84.

For turnout blankets, we recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout is rated 4.6543 out of 5 by 188.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Bought Two More! I recently bought two of these blankets for my two horses. My shoulders aren't what they used to be, and the light-weight thinsulate caught my eye. This turnout is so much easier on my shoulders going on and off. A week after they arrived, winter storm Jonas dumped two feet of snow on my farm. My horses were able to go into their paddocks from their stalls if they chose, and they chose to stand out in the wind and snow during most of the storm. I kept checking to see if they were wet under the blankets--they stayed bone dry, and the blankets never shifted. No more changing saturated, heavy blankets in the middle of a snow storm. I'm back to buy two more.
    Date published: 2016-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from light weight, but medium warmth I really like the look and feel of the thinsulate turnout blanket- the gussets give my warm blood room to move. Overall I am satisfied with the blanket- with one exception, the stitching is coming loose in spots. I am able to stitch it up, however...should not have to with a new blanket!
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I love this blanket! Great weight for in between temps, and also works well layering. Holds up to daily rolls and romps! I have one for each of my horses.
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket, not for wide horses I loved this blanket, beautiful and nice quality. However my 16.2 TB mare was too buff in the shoulders. Length 82 fit, but there was zero room for her withers or shoulders. So sad I have to return it
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Go-To Blanket! This is my second Smartpak Thinsulate blanket purchase. My 29-year-old quarter horse gelding is still using the original (solid blue) purchased in 2013. He and I both love it so much I wanted to have a back-up as I like to be prepared. Also, the first one I purchased was a 75 and while it fits o.k. it will ride up on his butt without the leg straps. In his younger days he wore a 74-Rambo. This time I tried the 78 and it fits perfect! The original has proved to be durable but what I love the most is how such a light weight blanket can keep my horse toasty warm in frigid temps but not leave him sweating when temps push the upper 40's and low 50's. This is a perfect blanket for areas where temperatures fluctuate a lot (like the mid-Atlantic region).
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute & lightweight! I bought it a few weeks ago and besides being the cutest blanket I have ever seen, it is light and not cumbersome like most medium weight blankets. I love it!
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this for my OTTB about a month ago, and he looks adorable in it! Keeps him very warm! I would highly recommend this blanket!
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks Great! I bought a size 75 pink one for my 20 yo 14.2 Quarter Horse mare and like the fit so far although she has not officially worn it yet. I let her grow a coat but have had to keep a blanket on hand for her as 2 yrs back she started shivering when the temps drop below the 20's. So far weather hasn't dipped enough to use but it fits her great and I like that it's not as bulky as a Tough 1 brand blanket we had and is 1200 denier to stand up to pasture play. The tail flap offers great coverage as well which I like. Based on how well hers fit I just ordered a 78 blue version for my 7 yo 15.2 Qtr horse gelding. Since I don't know how they will wear yet I only 4 starred quality as it appears great but only time and real wear will tell.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! Purchased 4 of these blankets. Love how light weight they are. My horses are turned out most of the time and are allowed to grow winter coats so I didn't want anything too heavy for them, but needed another option to the lite blankets I have. I love the color and fit. I only gave a 4 star rating as the weather here in Virginia has been mild and I have not had a chance to try them out yet. Will update review once they have been worn a few times.
    Date published: 2015-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof and warm I have a thin skinned OTTB and needed a blanket for rainy days in Wisconsin when the temps drop suddenly. This blanket not only fit perfectly but kept my gelding warm and dry during a cold and rainy spell. I love it--highly recommend this product for the quality, looks, and performance.
    Date published: 2015-12-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT waterproof, but GREAT customer service! This blanket has been used in total for about a month, and when I put it on my pony recently for a cold rain storm, it leaks clear through! it was a heavy sopping mess. Fortunately smartpak stands behind their guarantee and is replacing it for me. Hopefully the next one will be truly waterproof.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Looks great, fits great, can't wait to use it on my horse!!
    Date published: 2015-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket I've ever owned I bought this blanket when it first came out (i don't remember the exact year) and used it up until i retired my mare a couple years ago. its a truly amazing blanket and managed to keep my TB mare (who doesn't know how to grow a coat at all) warm and for all her boarded winters. I paired this with the smart blue stable sheet and while the stable sheet didn't last quite as long this top layer held up perfectly. The long tail flap really kept the cold out on those bitter nights and the velcro made sure her chest was always toasty. I still have this blanket and even in storage its held up perfectly. If the retirement place would have allowed me to choose she would still be wearing this to this day.
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product and looks great! I bought these,blankets for my horses and love everything about them!
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made! I bought this blanket because it came highly recommended by a friend! I am happy I bought one for my horse and love the quality!
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Blanket ever! I had a Thinsulate SmartPak turnout sheet for my last horse, and couldn't wait to get another one for my current horse. This blanket is not only very durable but very versatile and comfortable for the horse in a wide range of temperatures, as well as when temps change suddenly from colder to warmer. My horse didn't overheat in this blanket when a sudden warming occurred and I couldn't get out to the barn to change his blanket. Adding an underlayer made this blanket suitable for the coldest Midwestern temps, as well.
    Date published: 2015-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Fit I go through so many guesses on what brand to purchase and I admit I usually buy when on clearance. I loved the look of the Pink blanket and purchased it for my yearling quarter horse. I was amazed on how well the fit was on her and how durable the buckles and hardware were! Great product, awesome fit, and you can't go wrong with Pink!
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the money. I bought this blanket for my pony for next year, so I can't speak to it's deribility yet, but I am very happy with the cut and quality as well as how light weight it is for a medium warmth blanket!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not durable Purchased this blanket in high hopes that the Smartpak brand would bring a higher quality product. The blanket has not held up - ripped several times. Very disappointing.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmth without the bulk!!! This is the 3rd Thinsulate bkanket I have bought from Smartpack. I love the fit and the warmth it gives my horses without killing my shoulder taking them on and off.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very cute blanket! Just got this blanket yesterday and so far I like it. I was skeptical about it at first because it's so light but it was well below freezing outside last night and he felt nice and warm under the blanket. It looks super cute on my guy and I'm glad I went with a 75 it fits him perfectly. He is close to 17hh but he has a short body so the 78 would've been too long. I can't give it too many stars yet I'll have to see how it holds up to his pasture buddy, I hope it's tough enough.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pony and I love this blanket! My mom bought this blanket for my new Welsh Pony. I got it because my trainers have them for their horses. It keeps my pony warm even though it does not weigh a lot.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket for the price. I bought this blanket for my Friesian/Warmblood filly. It fits her well, it is very lightweight, and I think it runs true to size. It also looks great. I haven't had it long enough to comment on it's durability, but it seems to be well-made. The only thing that would make it better at this point would be front snaps instead of buckles and elastic rather than web belly surcingles. I really do like the thinsulate weight for my climate, plus it makes dealing with a size 87 blanket much easier.
    Date published: 2015-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turn out Blanket This is my 3rd Thinsulate Turnout Blanket. I love that these keep the horses warm with out the heavy weight of a regular turnout blanket. I also love the gussets in the shoulders so there is no drag on the shoulder points as the horse moves. Plus they come with a tail flap. No other Thinsulate on the market offers such features as these. These are perfect for single digit temps. I think below zero I'd probably pull out the super heavy turnout blankets I have. These keep the horse warm but if the temps warm up they don't tend to sweat in them like a heavy bulky blanket. If I get a tear I patch easily with a stick on patch for clothes. Also, I like the cut of these blankets.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Pink Blanket For Kima Marie I purchased the blanket about three weeks ago. I love the Smart Pink Color! The material is strong and durable. I had no issues we love the lightweight feel of the thinsilate material. I would recommend 2 sizes smaller than your measurement. I have had her in a 78 before and it's usually spot on this blanket was allot longer than anticipated. I kept it because the fit won't cause any issue for her.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket My mare is in individual turnout so I can't say how this would hold up to rough turnout, but two months later this is holding up to burrs, rolling, and rubbing. Washes up great and keeps her dry even in a downpour. Also fits her large draft shoulders and butt well! Would buy again.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy and light! Excellent value and stylish. Blanket is warm, lightweight but with a cozy feel. Pony is a Welsh/Arab 14.1. The 69" fits well, on the longer side.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE This Blanket! I have had these SmartPink and SmartBlue thinsulate blankets for about 7 years now. One blanket started to fray a little at 5 years (my horses are rough in the pasture at night) but probably could have gone another year or two. Because that one is for my older horse, I didn't want to risk her getting cold and replaced it.Because I travel with my horses to events, I love that these blankets aren't as bulky as traditional blankets and don't take up as much space. This is a great mid-weight blanket, and my horses have been toasty warm in them as low as the 20s. They may be warmer in even colder temperatures, but that's as cold as it's gotten in Florida.The blankets fit great, but if you have a pudgy or stocky horse, go up one size. My youngest mare is a bit chubby and sized 75, but that was too snug on her, so I had to step up to a 78 on her.If you wash these blankets at the laundromat, wash them in the gentle cycle and cold water and do not dry them or you risk ruining the thinsulate properties. Hang them on a fence for day or two to dry completely. They wash beautifully.The back leg straps are the only downside to these blankets. They stretch out within a month or two, so be prepared to buy a replacement set. The blanket is such great quality that I'm still rating this a 5.Please also see my similar review for the solid blue thinsulate blanket. Love SmartPak thinsulate blankets!!
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for a narrow horse I have a 16.2 hand TB/WB cross with very high withers, narrow shoulders, and a slender neck. He's long and lean, so by the time a blanket is large enough to cover his rump, it's hanging off his shoulders and rubbing the hair off. The SmartBlue Thinsulate turnout (size 81) fit him perfectly right out of the bag, and stayed dry after several damp, miserable days. Great blanket for the price!
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last My filly managed to wiggle out of this blanket and rip it on day three
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    • 2016-02-05T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_177
    • loc_en_US, sid_3907, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.