Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Winter Overpant

Item #20729
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Winter Overpants will be your workhorse all winter long! Waterproof and channel insulated to keep you warm in the saddle or around the barn.   

Imported

Favorite Features 

  • Synthetic suede full seat will keeping you secure in the saddle and the elastic jods to keep the legs from riding up.
  • Two-way zippers allow for you to easily put the SmartPak Winter Overpants on over layers.
  • Elasticized waistband is flexible to accommodate how ever many layers you're wearing!
  • Belt loops and front pockets.
  • Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Jacket for the ultimate in winter warmth!

 

Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: 100% Polyester
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Pull-on
  • Rise: High rise

Sizing

Waist Measurements:
XS - 32"
S - 34"
M - 36"
L - 38"
XL - 42"
2XL - 44" 

Please note that measurements should be taken at natural waist.

Inseam 29.5".
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Breech Material 100% Polyester
Patch or Seat Material Synthetic suede
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Pull-on
Rise High rise
Ankle Closure Elastic foot straps
Pockets No
Insulation 100% fiberfill
Special Features Synthetic full set, two way zippers on each side, elasticized waist band, waterproof
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Mountain Horse Amber Jacket is a new ...
    Description:
    "The Mountain Horse Amber Jacket is a new updated version of the Mountain Horse most loved classic riding jacket. Combines an attractive fit with functional features in a fully taped, waterproof and breathable jacket. Imported"
    "The Baker Classic Vest is sure to be ...
    Description:
    "The Baker Classic Vest is sure to be your new favorite. Lined with the original Baker plaid and featuring elegant brass button closures, this vest is a statement piece. 100% polyester."
    "The Asmar Rider Jacket fits perfectly as a ...
    Description:
    "The Asmar Rider Jacket fits perfectly as a layering piece into anyone's closet. It's a fitted jacket that's appropriate for everyday use, but also designated for the equestrian. Practicality is built into this jacket with 3M safety piping on the ...
    "Personalize your warmth! This wind & water-resistant jacket ...
    Description:
    "Personalize your warmth! This wind & water-resistant jacket is made of Alterra Dobby Taslan Nylon and features a nylon lining quilted with Thinsulate™ insulation to keep you dry and warm. The fitted styling and princess seams of the Personalized Women's ...
    "The latest in technical fabrics, this sporty soft ...
    Description:
    "The latest in technical fabrics, this sporty soft shell goes from corporate to casual with ease, so you can show off your SmartPak pride wherever you go! Get warmth without the bulk in all types of weather. Imported."
    "The Helly Hansen Aidan Long Insulated Jacket is ...
    Description:
    "The Helly Hansen Aidan Long Insulated Jacket is the ultimate jacket to protect yourself from whatever mother nature throws your way! A best seller for Helly Hansen for several seasons. Waterproof, breathable and windproof with fully sealed seams to protect ...
    "The Asmar All Weather Rider Coat combines practicality ...
    Description:
    "The Asmar All Weather Rider Coat combines practicality and fashion. A hidden zipper hides a front and hind skirt that fits over your saddle, for all weather conditions. This jacket features a zippered chest and side pockets for a cell ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Winter Overpant is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 107.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice overlayer pant Not the most elegant of looks and a bit short in length, otherwise they are handy, warm, and comfy! No problems mounting and they do not poof when mounted so while a bit bulky you don't look like an over-inflated balloon.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good @ -20 Going back & forth to the barn I am in & out of these pants quite a bit over the last several winters. These pants keep me warm & are easy to get in & out of. The picture in the catalog is a little misleading in that they do not make you look as trim as she appears. The 2 way zippers are great for getting into & out of boots the bottom pulls work even with heavily mittened hands. Because my zipper is getting on the edge of one too many zips I ordered another pair in large but they were way too large compared to my mediums. I have sewn velcro tabs onto the left waistband which has helped a lot with my zipper problem. I can layer up or down in these pants depending on how minus the weather is. The internal wind flaps by the zipper work similar to those in sleeping bags in that sometimes become caught in the zipper but come apart like sleeping bags zippers.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Great fit. Very warm. Fit allows for me to wear leggings under with no problem. Highly recommend these to anyone needing cold weather pants.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these super comfy Overpants! I bought these about a month ago, just before we had some really frigid weather. I slip them on over my longjohns and stay warm and cozy while doing my barn chores. I have yet to ride in them, the weather has been too rotten, but I think they are one of the best things I have bought this year for the warmth and comfort they provide. I love, love, love them!
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So warm! I love these pants, especially since i can step into them without getting the inside of them dirty with my boots.
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good quality. I bought these pants to ride in. Unfortunately, they are extremely long. Due to zippers in legs, they cannot be shortened without replacing the zippers. Wish they were made in a short length, because the quality is excellent.
    Date published: 2016-12-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm but huge! Very warm but were way too big everywhere! I tried them on over jeans and I looked like the Michelin man. Legs were really wide, I could have put both legs down one leg and the waist was massive. Bought size XS. Had to return them.
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't Work I was super excited for these to arrive as it can get pretty cold in Virginia. I received the pants and lord are they big. I couldn't even get my leg up high enough to even get on the horse. I am 5'3 and not super short but I was restricted in these. Had to send back.
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around winter pant This pant does exactly what we hoped it would do. We can pull them on, do farm chores in them, ride in them (a bit bulky if you are looking for a performance fit) and stay warm! They fit true to size and accomodate without feeling saggy a range of people at our place. But no one is very good at sharing these so eventually we ended up with several pair. To date they are extremely durable.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Bulky I purchased these to wear in the barn and while riding for the winter. I watched the smartpak video and followed the suggestion to size up. I am normally a small so I got the medium. The pants looked to be nice and warm but when I tried them on, they were huge! I dont even think an extra small would have fit. The biggest problem was the leg. It was very wide and bulky. If I had sized down, they may have been ok for barn work but not for riding. It would have been like riding in snow pants. I like to have a close feel on my horse so I sent them back.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed to not hate winter I live in the upper(ish) Midwest and every single year I am cold and unhappy at the barn from December-February. This year I bought these pants on a whim and they are my most favorite thing! I'm usually a size 6 in pants and the medium is perfect. They are so so warm. I did barn chores for 3 hours on a morning with temps at -10* and I was HOT! (though also wearing appropriate base layers up top) The only bummer is that they are hard to ride in. Walking is fine, but posting the trot is a challenge because they are a bit slippery and thick. However, I've still managed and eventually decided to only wear them if I'm going to stick to walking, because anything more makes butt sweat anyway!Highly recommend if you spend time at the barn in winter while not riding!
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm These are very warm and cozy. I feel that sizing options should be greater. I usually wear size 8 or 10 long pants. I ordered medium, which I would not want any tighter at the waist, but they have a big bubble of emptiness in the belly area when I sit/ ride. They are a bit short on me...thank goodness for the elastic straps.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Pants but too long I'm 5'2" and these were much too long. Would give 5 stars if they came in petite
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I recently purchased these at normal price and a few days later they went on sale. I called up customer service and was able to get the sale price with no hassel. I was super excited and will have to say customer service is top notch! I love these pants! They keep me warm on the cold and especially windy days. They fit wonderfully over my jeans and winter tall boots. Only draw back, hence 4 stars, is they are not fitted for riding. You have to crank them up and if you get on from the ground, I can see it being very difficult.
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready for WI winter! I bought these during the 25 Days of Christmas specials, and pulled them out of the box as soon as they arrived. We are experiencing an arctic blast, so it was a perfect time to try them out. I got the medium for my 5'3' 135lb body. They zipped on easily in the tack room over blue jeans and kept me comfortable and warm in the 20mph winds for bringing in the horses. LOVE the full-length zippers on the sides! Appreciate the full-seat on them in case it warms up enough to ride!
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Run very, very big I watched the video that said to size up. These swim on me--even with two layers underneath! I haven't the patience to go through the return process. Otherwise, good product. All the zippers make getting them on & off easy. Just wish they weren't so huge...
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WAY TOOOOOOO BIG! Was so looking forward to these for this winter, as live at 9200' in Colorado so have some serious cold. I am 5'2" and weight 115#, and the XS were HUGE. they came up under my armpits, and dragged on the floor. Had to send them back. Very disappointed as Smartpak stuff is well made and was looking forward to warm comfort as I horsed around this winter. If they fit you, I would recommend them!
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design Have not had a need to wear yet, but like the quality
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm and comfortable! Purchased these to stay warm while doing chores and teaching lessons. I love these pants, keep me very warm so far in this NY winter season. I have not ridden in them yet. They do run kind of large, I ordered a size smaller than normal.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't wait to wear in the cold! I can't wait to wear these things! I also tried the mountain horse version of these and the waist was cut kind of weird for my body shape. These fit perfect! Yes, they are big and bulky but I'm only anticipating having to wear them for a short period of time during the coldest part of the winter. It's great that they have a full seat and stirrups that go under your shoes. They run well and big. They are not just a shell. I feel I can wear them alone in the pretty cold weather and then put some breeches under them for the extreme cold. They seem to be good quality and are very comfortable. I'm ready for the cold!!!
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yahhhsss!! Had a Smartpak box in the garage when I went out to feed tonight. Figured it was the supplements I ordered at Equine Affaire;but, no, it was these pants, and hallelujah! Slipped them on right over my dirty boots in the aisleway, which is possible because of the zippers that come from both the top and the bottom so you can have them meet halfway, and never get the pants dirty from your dirty boots . I had to get on the tractor to deliver some hay out to the field, in cold driving rain under a new moon of utter blackness the day after the super moon . They were plenty roomy enough for me to throw my leg high to climb up the bucket, but unlike many pants, the crotch was not so low as to impede my movement. I stayed warm, dry,and cozy, but without sweating, like you do in so many winter things that just trap the heat & sweat so you come in from the barn wishing you could wrap yourself in a cooler so the sweat doesn't freeze on you.
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on And Off, Excellent warmth. Bought these with my Smart pack Over Jacket, the fit is a little large but they are exceptionally warm and easy to get on and off! I have not ridden in them yet, they are a little bulky so we shall see how that goes. Overall for what i bought them for, water and wind protection they are amazing.
    Date published: 2016-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Warm I initially ordered this item in a size Large since I am curvy, weighing 168 and only 5'2.5 in". Way too big!!! Customer Service was awesome with the exchange to Medium. The Medium is minimally snug at the waist but still comfortable even over jeans. Still a little bulky and long in the legs (I roll them up) but the pants are so warm in temperatures with below zero wind chills - I will take the warmth over looks!!! I gave it a 4 star because it would be nice to have something in a petite size.
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Being warm > looking good If looking good is really important to you, these pants will not be your thing. They are quite puffy and not remotely flattering. I try to avoid mirrors whenever I wear them. BUT, I have no thyroid and cold weather on the farm can be debilitating for me. When I wear these pants, I cannot feel one bit of wind or cold. They keep me incredibly warm, and I can move in them surprisingly well. We recently had a huge snowstorm with 36" of snow, and these pants made all the difference. I was able to wade through the snow to get to the barn. The handy straps on the bottom kept the snow from getting into my winter paddock boots. I'm not sure what I would have done without them!Some people mentioned concerns about the zippers. I actually don't use the zippers at all. The pants have a very forgiving elastic waistband, and they pull right up without having to fool with the zippers at all. Surprisingly, the forgiving elastic waistband holds its place really well. The high waist design prevents the pants from riding down. It's almost like you have the stability of bib overalls without the pressure of straps on your shoulders.All that being said, I have not ridden in these yet. Usually if it's that cold, I don't ride. I'm excited about the idea of being able to sliding these on post riding on chilly days so I don't get too cold as I cool down.For sizing purposes, I'm 5'3" and 150 pounds. The medium is a perfect fit for my hourglass shape.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE the full seat Winter Overpant Love the full seat over pant!!!! Very comfortable and warm!!!!A friend of mine had a pair, I tried hers on and I HAD to get my own.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Warmth I asked for these for Christmas because it gets pretty cold here in Ohio (last year we were riding in 13 degree weather), however, this winter has been very mild. I wore them for the first time two weeks ago and they kept me very warm in the saddle and out. Really glad I had them. I bought the size (large) I would normally wear and based on some of the reviews. They were way to big and sent them back for a medium, which is perfect.
    Date published: 2016-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WARM Really happy with these pants. Bought them for work and they look great and keep me warm riding outside the indoor
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from smartpak winter overpant I bought these to ride in, but they were so bulky you could fit 2 legs in each leg. they need to rethink the design. Looked like the were made ok but sent them back.
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I love these Pants. They totaly keep me warm in good old vermont winter weather.
    Date published: 2016-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_105
    • loc_en_US, sid_10729, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders