Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Winter Overpant

JPC India
- Item #20729
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SmartPak Winter Overpants will be your workhorse all winter long! Waterproof and channel insulated to keep you warm in the saddle or around the barn. Synthetic suede full seat will keep you secure in the saddle and the elastic jods will keep the legs from riding up. Two-way zippers allow for you to easily put the SmartPak Winter Overpants on over layers. Elasticized waistband is flexible to accomodate how ever many layers you're wearing! Belt loops and front pockets. Imported.

Waist Measurements: XS - 32", S - 34", M - 36", L - 38", XL - 42", 2XL - 44" (note, measurements should be taken at natural waist. Inseam 29.5".

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Winter Overpant is rated 4.375 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can't believe I have ridden without these I bought these a year ago because I was so tired of my legs freezing. I almost didnt becausr the only review I read said that they worked in 40 degree weather.I almost laughed Because that would be considered a heat wave here. I live in upstate NY so winters here are BRUTAL. I would come in from the barn with frozen toes and hands and windchapped legs year after year.These are fantastic. The suede seat is grippy. If I wear them over sweats my legs are fine in 20 degree or below weather. I have worn them out hiking in 10 degree weather and been fine. AND my feet don't get cold now. I haven't used toasty toes all winter. I just need heavy socks and I'm fine. Even my hands seem to be warmer. My face is the only thing I can't figure out how to keep warm yet.The down side is that they run a bit small. I am a size 8 and I can't zip them up over my hip on one side. I would order a size up next time. I found the boot straps more of a hindrance than a bonus and they tore off after a season anyway. I don't miss them. They got muddy and torn in hard weather. I can't recommend a pair of these enough if you are in really hard weather. I look like a skier but I am warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Warm, Love them Wanted something to slip over my pj's when I went to the barn to keep me warm. These totally fit the bill. Easy on and off and warmer than I thought. Purchased them to do barn chores in but with the full seat I do think I'm going to try riding with them. Great product for the money.
    Date published: 2015-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They fit I bought these to be warm when I go to the barn to see my horses or ride. I have a 16" blood clot and need to keep my leg warm. I wanted something not overly bulky, so I van move and stay in the saddle w/o slipping and sliding around. These work great..
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and well-designed I bought these pants for my daughter. She is tall and thin, but the small was long enough for her and fits comfortably. I love the zippers on the side! My daughter wore the pants today in wind chill below 10 degrees, and she stayed nice and warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy and Warm I purchased this item for my daughter as a gift. She loves them and says that they are very warm and comfortable. She rides a OTTB who can be "active" on cool days. She says the " full seat" is a great idea!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Riding These winter over pants with full seat suede are terrific for winter riding. I wear them over running tights. Perfect.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review revisited Wrote earlier review when I initially received them. We are now in minus degrees even during the day & must rave about these pants. I stay warm while doing barn chores. The zippers make it very easy to get serious winter boots on & off. I love these pants for serious winter temperatures!
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great paints I haven't had time the use them yet waiting on it the get cold out side
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing chart not quite right, at least for me I went by the sizing chart, and ordered a size small. They arrived and did not fit. Sent them back - thanks for the free return shipping! - and ordered a medium. They arrived a few days ago. Tried them on with jeans, and they fit much better. I figured that if they fit over jeans, they will fit over my breeches. Bought them to use at shows before and after riding.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stitching/Thread First time I tried (with tags still on) Right pocket tore around stitching. Maybe needs industrial thread or reinforced stitching. I have not removed tags nor returned due to holiday season and I trust SmartPak to refund or replace. I appreciate other reviews of this product and need something in this price range that is waterproof, windproof, and warm. I am not sure I can recommend this product yet but I must answer the questionnaire.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ladies Over pants These are for my wife. She is happy with the quality and the weight. Getting the correct size proved to be difficult. The staff was great and worked with her on the exchange. I don't know if we would have pulled it off without their positive attitude.These are over pants and if anything they should run to the large side. They run small and rather inconsistently. Also the zippers are on the sides but there is no snap/hook to secure the waist. There is only the zipper. She added a hook and eye to both sides. That seemed to fix the problem.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and dry winter riding!!! I have wanted these pants for a while now but at 20% off I decided to take the plunge. They are great! Warm and waterproof with just enough passing to be comfortable bareback and not slippery like ski pants because of the fill seat. I highly recommend them to anyone who rides outdoors in the winter!
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from very warm and snuggy The medium was a little long for me and the waist snug. Had they been more fitted, I would have kept them. Two things that I'd like to see are removable jodphur straps and a snap flap over the top of the zipper on each side. The "sueded" full seat is quite a nice feature.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truely keeps me toasty! I always dread, and suffer through the cold winter days. This year after a early cold snap I ordered these pants...they are super! they turn bitter cold days of frozen feet and hands into enjoyable days! I use them over my riding pants while I am grooming and tacking up then can just unzip, easy off to ride. I work hard enough to get hot when riding so I haven't tried riding in them.I am 5' 4", 120lbs, I wear size 28 pikeurs, first I ordered a Small because I planned to wear them over my breeches and boots but exchanged them for Extra Small and they are perfect! Highly recommend! Will probably buy a second pair.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WARM! Have not ridden with these yet, but I almost look forward to a really cold day to try them out.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WINTER OVERPANT THE FIT IS GREAT. THEY WILL BE GREAT TO FEED IN & RIDE IN ON THE COLD DAYS IN CO.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Bulky These pants were just a bit too bulky around the legs. I would have liked them more narrow through the legs. Otherwise they were really nice.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Pants, but cut way too small. I was so excited to order these pants, but was sad to discover that they were cut really small. I ordered my size according the size guide, but they were at least two sizes to small. I have since returned them. They looked like good quality, warm winter pants.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Pant I was hesitant to buy these because I thought they'd feel bulky while riding. I am SO glad I bought them. They are similar to a snow pant, but with the tacky seat and leg that goes all the way to the ankle. They are warm enough to only wear long underwear or a thin pant under them. I rode in them outside today in 22 degree temp with a little wind to boot, and was warm and toasty the entire hour of riding. Love them! Was able to trot comfortably in them. Much cheaper than other brands and well worth every penny. Thank you again Smartpak for such a great product!
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great warmth Glad I bought . Warm and toasty for chores and riding
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2 Way Zippers Make These Awesome We received these about 6 weeks ago and my daughter has ridden in them 4 times so far. We primarily purchased them to wear BEFORE IEA events to stay warm and CLEAN until time to ride. We had some cold days and she actually rode in them during class and felt they gave her a good seat. She had to take them off halfway thru one session because she got too warm. The quality is very good and most importantly, the zippers move easily and can be zipped UP from the cuffs and DOWN from the waist to put them off and on without taking off her tall boots. I recommend avoiding unzipping them completely, the zippers required a few minutes of concentration to get them situated correctly again--and I don't think a dark cold barn would be a good place to attempt it.SIZE: My Daughter is a 16 in girls or a Size 0 in Juniors and the XS is a bit bulky, but not bad and the waist & length are working for her.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 Way Zippers Make These Awesome We received these about 6 weeks ago and my daughter has ridden in them 4 times so far. We primarily purchased them to wear BEFORE IEA events to stay warm and CLEAN until time to ride. We had some cold days and she actually rode in them during class and felt they gave her a good seat. She had to take them off halfway thru one session because she got too warm.The quality is very good and most importantly, the zippers move easily and can be zipped UP from the cuffs and DOWN from the waist to put them off an on without taking off her tall boots.I recommend avoiding unzipping them completely, the zippers required a few minutes of concentration to get them situated correctly again--and I don't think a dark cold barn would be a good place to attempt it.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for winter trail riding! My mom and I both bought a pair of these to wear this winter. On really cold and snowy days I used to wear my shotgun chaps (which are looser than English chaps, so they bunch up when I post), or my Carhartt overalls (which are really bulky and slippery in the saddle). These overpants are a huge improvement. The full seat is not slippery at all--thoroughly tested by my frisky bucking pony. The fabric is windproof and waterproof without being too bulky. I wore long underwear underneath and was comfortable in 20 degree weather. I have really long legs, and the pants are a little short for me once my feet are in the stirrups, but the elastic around the bottom works very effectively to keep the pants from riding up without restricting my movement. The full length zipper on each leg is awesome for getting in and out of them easily. I'm excited to go out and do a ton of riding this winter without freezing!
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't feel a thing! 12degrees & -3 wind chill, thought it would be a good day to test these pants . Not one whisp of a breeze, felt warm & toasty, definitely I am keeping these. Easy on & off. I will be wearing these for the next several days!
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from warm breeches I bought these for winter and though I have not ridden in them yet, these are comfortable and easy to move in when wearing.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable Although I have not yet had the opportunity to use these pants (not yet winter time in NC) I look forward to having the option so I can continue to ride through rough/chilly weather. They are comfortable and easy to don and remove. For the price you can't beat them, for me it was between these and mountain horse, the price was the deciding factor. I am oly giving three stars because I have not had the opportunity to ride in inclement weather.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm! These overpants are very warm and waterproof. The zipper gets stuck sometimes and they're a little bulky.The fit is generous in the leg.Great for barn chores.Have not ridden in them yet.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE PANTS I bought these pants because it is so cold this winter & standing around the barn w/thefarrier or vet is so could even in fleece lined britches. But when I put them on, the rise was very short, I am 5'2" - every thing else fit fine. But they were not comfortable, so I returned them . I did not keep them so I can't rate the quality
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pants!!! These pants are really warm, very well made, and feel like they will hold up for years to come! I live in the Northeast and have worn these on some single digit days. On slightly warmer days I wear them with only long underwear on underneath. If you live where it is cold in the winter... you need a pair of these!
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm Overpants I received these pants just in time for the cold weather. They are very warm, easy to put on and take off, and wash well too.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    • 2015-05-25T10:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_47
    • loc_en_US, sid_10729, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.