PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Winter Overpant

SmartPak
- Item #20729
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Winter Overpants will be your workhorse all winter long! Waterproof and channel insulated to keep you warm in the saddle or around the barn.   

Imported

Favorite Features 

  • Synthetic suede full seat will keeping you secure in the saddle and the elastic jods to keep the legs from riding up.
  • Two-way zippers allow for you to easily put the SmartPak Winter Overpants on over layers.
  • Elasticized waistband is flexible to accommodate how ever many layers you're wearing!
  • Belt loops and front pockets.
  • Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Jacket for the ultimate in winter warmth!

 

Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: 100% Polyester
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Pull-on
  • Rise: High rise

Sizing

Waist Measurements:
XS - 32"
S - 34"
M - 36"
L - 38"
XL - 42"
2XL - 44" 

Please note that measurements should be taken at natural waist.

Inseam 29.5".
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Breech Material 100% Polyester
Patch or Seat Material Synthetic suede
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Pull-on
Rise High rise
Ankle Closure Elastic foot straps
Pockets No
Insulation 100% fiberfill
Special Features Synthetic full set, two way zippers on each side, elasticized waist band, waterproof
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Asmar All Weather Rider Coat combines practicality ...
    Description:
    "The Asmar All Weather Rider Coat combines practicality and fashion. A hidden zipper hides a front and hind skirt that fits over your saddle, for all weather conditions. This jacket features a zippered chest and side pockets for a cell ...
    "The Blundstone Thermal Chelsea Boot will keep you ...
    Description:
    "The Blundstone Thermal Chelsea Boot will keep you warm through the cool months. Made with premium waterproof leather. Fully waterproof boot with waterproof elastic and latexed seams. Lined with Thinsulate insulation. Polyurethane midsole for comfort. XRD® Technology in the heel ...
    "The FITS All Season Original Full Seat Pull ...
    Description:
    "The FITS All Season Original Full Seat Pull On Breeches are FITS most popular breech and for good reason. FITS patented PerforMAX™ full seat technology gives you the most comfort and best performance ever offered in a full seat breech. ...
    "The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for riding in the coldest weather conditions. The Extreme Winter glove is made with all waterproof materials, 3M Thinsulate® insulation and Polar Fleece liner making this one of the warmest riding gloves available! ...
    "Show Mother Nature you're not afraid with the ...
    Description:
    "Show Mother Nature you're not afraid with the Mountain Horse Snowy Parka! This Unisex parka features waterproof and breathable fabric that will keep you warm on those long days at the barn and around town. Snap pockets on the front ...
    "Personalize your warmth! This wind & water-resistant jacket ...
    Description:
    "Personalize your warmth! This wind & water-resistant jacket is made of Alterra Dobby Taslan Nylon and features a nylon lining quilted with Thinsulate™ insulation to keep you dry and warm. The fitted styling and princess seams of the Personalized Women's ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Winter Overpant is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 128.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I bought these for a friend who was having trouble finding a pair to fit, if they fit in the waist, they were too long. These were just right. Because of the elastic waist, the medium fit, and the length was perfect. She has been wearing them in this frigid weather, and states they are warm and comfortable. Even rode in them and loved them!
    Date published: 2018-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST THING EVER! I bought these for barn chores not expecting them to be the best purchase I’ve made in a long time! I was out working in -6*f with the wind chill it was -20*f and i was so warm! They are honestly the best and i can’t say enough good things about them other than BUY THEM!
    Date published: 2018-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly warm I haven't worn them to ride bit I've been wearing them to clean the barn in the negative temps and there amazing. Now make some gloves to go with them and I'm complete
    Date published: 2018-01-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too bulky. I couldn’t imagine trying to ride in these pants. I had bought them to put over my breeches while I did barn chores, then take them off and ride. They had good ideas with the zippers placed where you could do it easily. But just too bulky. Michelin man! I wear a size M and that was true to size in the waist, etc.
    Date published: 2018-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them ... nice and warm for frigid Ohio highly recommend
    Date published: 2018-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy and warm I am really happy with these pants for the price. They run a little big in the legs but I don't mind because it's no problem to wear jeans underneath. They have kept me nice and warm and dry. I haven't worn them while riding yet but I can tell I will have no problems because I can easily maneuver in them.
    Date published: 2018-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in every way I live in the cold tundra and these are fab. Big enough To go over my clothes and boots but fitted enough to ride. I love that I don’t have to take my boots off just unzip and put them on.
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very cozy Here in the wild north winter came fast. I wanted something for trails and to help warm me up to school my three horses. I don't have an indoor and my barn is very drafty- these will be perfect. I do tend to warm up as I go, so I love the full length zippers so I can peel these off easily in the saddle before I start to sweat, and get even colder later! These would also be super for those of you just feeling cold and miserable tacking up. Only concern is how the zippers will hold up, but I guess that's true for and zipper around horses!
    Date published: 2017-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit perfect . Stable is cold in Pittsburgh, but I was cozy warm
    Date published: 2017-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Practical! Love these waterproof, very warm winter riding overpants! Easy on and off with the elastic waist band as well, if needed, the side zippers. I really do not use the zippers unless I'm tucking in a sweatshirt to boot. The legs have great freedom and not binding making it easy to swing a leg over into the saddle.
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well made, but... I sadly had to return these because of the waist. There are no tabs to hold the highly elastacised waist together while you zip up each side, so that in itself is a challenge. Plus, although the sizing chart indicated a medium should fit very well in the waist, it was considerably smaller because of the strong elastic. Figure on ordering up a size . They were well made and I wish they would have fit.
    Date published: 2017-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality These pants are very warm, and so far durable (good zippers). The only thing I don't like about them is that I will not ride in them. I guess if you're going on a trail ride, they'd be fine. They are way too bulky to do serious riding in. In fact, they are kinda bulky to just walk in (feel like diapers). I kept mine because they are very warm. I wasn't sure when I ordered them, but the zippers go all the way up and down - so you can completely unzip them without having to slide your boot through any part. I have worn mine over my winter breeches/boots, them zipped them off right before mounting.
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Over Stuffed I bought this product and tried it on and immediately returned it! It is not crafted for a serious rider. The insulation is very thick and cumbersome. It would make a suitable snowsuit for frosty the snowman.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pants are HUGE and bulky. Huge and bulky although I purchased the same size I would for breeches. They may be suitable for extremely cold, rough weather but bulky for riding. Returning before wearing.
    Date published: 2017-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These are amazing I bought these right before a snowstorm hit, thinking they would be good work pants. They kept me very warm, with just one layer of winter breeches underneath, but are easy to move around in and are easy to get on and off over winter boots. I'm not sure I would claim I could ride effectively in them, as they are somewhat slippery, but I would feel fine hacking out in them or doing walk only work (on a normally upper level dressage horse...on one where the slightly deadened aids wouldn't matter I might get away with more).
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm! These pants are very warm. I only need regular or summer weight breeches under them as it has not been cold enough yet (7deg F) for winter weight breeches underneath yet. Fit well but picture makes it seem they look trimmer than they do in real life. Overall I love them
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pants work! I am using these pants over jeans or sweat pants to keep me dry as I run outside in the rain to do barn and pasture chores. They work fine. Now, because I am not using for riding, I think better to cut off the elastic foot straps as they get all muddy. I may like the waistband to have slightly more give considering I am using them over jeans or whatever I have on (note, I have a very small waist) while I run around reaching, lifting, bending, climbing on and off a small tractor, etc. Overall a great product!
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Warm, but could be easier to put on and off When I saw the description of these pants, I didn't quite get it, BUT now I do. Instead of fully opening on both sides, the zippers can just open up the sides above and below the tabs. This requires that I put my pants on and off with dirty winter boots going through the pants. This has to be some design mistake. Wam, yes. Not as good as other company's pair I had before, which opened up completely on both sides.
    Date published: 2017-01-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice pants, but way too bulky. I bought these to wear doing barn chores and riding and or driving my horses..unfortunately, way too bulky to move in..can't imagine trudging through snow while wearing them, or climbing into my carriage. Sending them back.
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice overlayer pant Not the most elegant of looks and a bit short in length, otherwise they are handy, warm, and comfy! No problems mounting and they do not poof when mounted so while a bit bulky you don't look like an over-inflated balloon.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good @ -20 Going back & forth to the barn I am in & out of these pants quite a bit over the last several winters. These pants keep me warm & are easy to get in & out of. The picture in the catalog is a little misleading in that they do not make you look as trim as she appears. The 2 way zippers are great for getting into & out of boots the bottom pulls work even with heavily mittened hands. Because my zipper is getting on the edge of one too many zips I ordered another pair in large but they were way too large compared to my mediums. I have sewn velcro tabs onto the left waistband which has helped a lot with my zipper problem. I can layer up or down in these pants depending on how minus the weather is. The internal wind flaps by the zipper work similar to those in sleeping bags in that sometimes become caught in the zipper but come apart like sleeping bags zippers.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Great fit. Very warm. Fit allows for me to wear leggings under with no problem. Highly recommend these to anyone needing cold weather pants.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these super comfy Overpants! I bought these about a month ago, just before we had some really frigid weather. I slip them on over my longjohns and stay warm and cozy while doing my barn chores. I have yet to ride in them, the weather has been too rotten, but I think they are one of the best things I have bought this year for the warmth and comfort they provide. I love, love, love them!
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So warm! I love these pants, especially since i can step into them without getting the inside of them dirty with my boots.
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good quality. I bought these pants to ride in. Unfortunately, they are extremely long. Due to zippers in legs, they cannot be shortened without replacing the zippers. Wish they were made in a short length, because the quality is excellent.
    Date published: 2016-12-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm but huge! Very warm but were way too big everywhere! I tried them on over jeans and I looked like the Michelin man. Legs were really wide, I could have put both legs down one leg and the waist was massive. Bought size XS. Had to return them.
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't Work I was super excited for these to arrive as it can get pretty cold in Virginia. I received the pants and lord are they big. I couldn't even get my leg up high enough to even get on the horse. I am 5'3 and not super short but I was restricted in these. Had to send back.
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around winter pant This pant does exactly what we hoped it would do. We can pull them on, do farm chores in them, ride in them (a bit bulky if you are looking for a performance fit) and stay warm! They fit true to size and accomodate without feeling saggy a range of people at our place. But no one is very good at sharing these so eventually we ended up with several pair. To date they are extremely durable.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Bulky I purchased these to wear in the barn and while riding for the winter. I watched the smartpak video and followed the suggestion to size up. I am normally a small so I got the medium. The pants looked to be nice and warm but when I tried them on, they were huge! I dont even think an extra small would have fit. The biggest problem was the leg. It was very wide and bulky. If I had sized down, they may have been ok for barn work but not for riding. It would have been like riding in snow pants. I like to have a close feel on my horse so I sent them back.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed to not hate winter I live in the upper(ish) Midwest and every single year I am cold and unhappy at the barn from December-February. This year I bought these pants on a whim and they are my most favorite thing! I'm usually a size 6 in pants and the medium is perfect. They are so so warm. I did barn chores for 3 hours on a morning with temps at -10* and I was HOT! (though also wearing appropriate base layers up top) The only bummer is that they are hard to ride in. Walking is fine, but posting the trot is a challenge because they are a bit slippery and thick. However, I've still managed and eventually decided to only wear them if I'm going to stick to walking, because anything more makes butt sweat anyway! Highly recommend if you spend time at the barn in winter while not riding!
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_124
    • loc_en_US, sid_10729, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders