PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug

- Item #21211
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with our toughest new neck rug, SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug.
1050D Nylon Cordura HTY

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched anywhere other than the surcingle straps, as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.


Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)
SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket (Fill: 220g, 360g)

Favorite Features 

  • Medium weight provides 220g of poly-fill keeps your horse warm and comfortable
  • Light provides premium waterproof protection without fill
  • 1050 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Sturdy snap attachment with two additional VELCRO® brand closures lets you easily attach the rug to your turnout, keeping it secure so that it can work efficiently 
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1050D
  • Fabric: Nylon
  • Fill: 0g, 220g
  • Closure Style: Hook and loop


Denier 1050D
Fabric Nylon
Fill 0g, 220g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Closure Style Hook and loop
Neck Style High neck
Neck Rug/Hood Yes
Customizable No
Manufacturer Warranty 10 Year Warranty
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Amigo Jersey Cooler is made of brushed ...
    "The Amigo Jersey Cooler is made of brushed polyester giving it high wicking properties and breathability. The Amigo® Jersey Cooler is our classic cut cooler which effectively wicks away moisture from your horse whilst keeping it warm. Features of this ...
    "The Amigo Stable Sheet - Enhanced Wicking is ...
    "The Amigo Stable Sheet - Enhanced Wicking is made from a ring spun brushed polyester. This versatile sheet acts as a stable sheet, cooler or travel rug, with moisture management technology to give it a high wicking factor. This sheet ...
    "Made to the same high standards as the ...
    "Made to the same high standards as the All American Blanket , this nine panel hood will provide a perfect contoured fit over your horse's head and neck. Features a 420 denier nylon shell, Big D show coat lining, and ...
    "For horses that need a bit of extra ...
    "For horses that need a bit of extra protection, in custom color style, we recommend the Big D Custom Kodiak stable blanket. It combines protection, exceptional warmth, and a great custom look!"
    "This nine panel hood will provide a perfect ...
    "This nine panel hood will provide a perfect contoured fit over your horse's head and neck. Features a 420 denier nylon shell, Big D show coat lining, and 300 gram fiber fill. Coordinates with the Big D Kodiak Blanket for ...
    "The Kensington All Around 1200D Neck Rug offers ...
    "The Kensington All Around 1200D Neck Rug offers a 1200 Denier Ripstop outer that provides waterproof, windproof and breathable protection from the elements. Cozy 180g of hollow fiberfill insulation with a 80 Denier nylon liner keeps your horse comfortable while ...
    "A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, ...
    "A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, and protection against cold and weather. Designed for horses with a narrower build, the seamless design helps prevent mane rubbing and is perfect for thin-skinned horses. Made in Ireland"


    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
    • Competitor:


    SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 85.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have both the medium and heavy weight of this rug - both are incredibly warm. Have been using the medium for 2 months and has held up well - no rips, tears, etc.
    Date published: 2017-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven’t had to use it much because the weather has been warm, but it fits great and love the warranty it has.
    Date published: 2017-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Neck Cover I have purchased four of these neck covers. They are great! Plenty of room allowed for the neck to stretch and bend. Attaches easily to the blankets.
    Date published: 2017-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on well I bought this a couple of weeks ago to protect my show hunter after he’s clipped. It works really well stays in place
    Date published: 2017-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Neck Rug! Fits really well, and is easy to put on and take off.
    Date published: 2017-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my hanoverian gelding great! Largest size fits my guy great. He wears an 84. High quality product- I am very happy with it!
    Date published: 2017-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I own I smartpak blankets and I LOVE them. I own 4 smartpak ultimate blankets and 2 hoods to keep both my horses fully outfitted during the winter. I have very little problems with them, but when I do smartpak is quick to help out with an exchange no questions asked. So happy with all of these products.
    Date published: 2017-10-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I wanted to love this neck cover but when grazing the part but the withers flips up leaving the area exposed and opening it up for rain to get in there and run down the neck. Completely defeats the use of a neck cover for me.
    Date published: 2017-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Matches the turnout bundle I bought this along with the Ultimate Turnout bundle. It is a midweight neck cover that works with the bundle.
    Date published: 2017-04-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works great if your horse doesn't roll I have the ultimate heavyweight and sheet and love them, so I decided to get the neck rug. My horse likes to roll, and as a result the neck twists and the part on his withers flips up, so I have to keep fixing it throughout the day. I'd like to see the tabs that keep it on be shorter, wider, and closer to the edge so that it stays in place better and if it flips up, not as much would flip up.
    Date published: 2017-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Fabric and Construction! I bought this about a month ago and have been happy with the performance. I wish it had come in XL because the Large is right on the edge of being big enough. My horse generally wears an 80-81" blanket and this neck cover advertizes up to 84" butcI am not sure it would fit a horse that wears and 84". Having said that, I will say it is working so far.
    Date published: 2017-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! My horse is HARD on his clothing! This is the most durable hood and not even his field-mates can destroy this!
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps the horse dry This neck cover is easy to attach to the Smartpak ultimate turnout sheet and blanket that I bought for my gray mare who loves to stand in the rain, sleet, and roll in the mud! It's easy to put on and take off, stays in place all day even though she is a bucking, rolling fool, and easy to fold and store on nice days. She seems comfortable in it and it provides good protection from precipitation so I can count on having a dry horse when I bring her into the barn at night.
    Date published: 2017-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I absolutely love the Ultimate Turnout Blankets. Clipped my horse's neck this year so I bought a medium fill neck rug as an addition. It has done well over the winter so far, however, my main complaint is how the neck cover attaches to the blanket. The dorsal midline attachment is a clip, the other two are velcro straps. While this seemed good in theory to allow stretching, while removing the neck rug one of the velcro strips pulled right off its strap by about 50%. I have used a braiding band to secure it for the rest of the season but do plan to exchange it for a new rug. I would rather all of the attachments be made with clips. Otherwise I absolutely love this neck rug. I also wish they had a heavy weight in addition to a no fill and medium.
    Date published: 2017-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage and secure fit. The hood length is generous and very adjustable. I like that the hood doesn't twist or flip up.
    Date published: 2017-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good materials, except the Velcro I give it a four, because the outer and inner fabric is good, the clips seem decent quality as well, however the Velcro that attaches to the blanket is subpar. The little piece of Velcro is not seen on very well and this is a problem because my horse just peels it off after that. I went through three, with a wear time of between 4 hours and a night out. I gave up after three and got a combo blanket for the cold nights. So if your horse peels clothes off or has a friend that likes to help, this might be a gamble. SMARTPAK CUSTOMER SERVICE ROCKS AND LAUGHED WITH ME! Everything but the Velcro is great.
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and fits well. I ordered this to go with the matching waterproof turn out sheet. It fits perfectly. I will say that the Velcro is really hard to deal with, though it does keep the rug in place.
    Date published: 2017-02-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could attach more securely Although I haven't found the hood flapping off in the wind, I will say that the hood runs large and it could attach more securely than 2 stretch tabs and a clip. My arab has a size 72'' Ultimate Sheet and I ordered the Medium hood, which looks fine when I first put it on, but normally I find him with his neck half-dirty because the hood has slid down his neck. Going to exchange it if I can for a small hood.
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from really functional I have used this for about a month and I really like it. So far no problems with durability and it's easy to attach. I got a medium for my 15.3 TB who ears a 75 blanket and it is fine, glad I didn't get the large since he is on the cusp of the sizing.
    Date published: 2017-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality I bought a blanket to match this. The blanket wet totally through on the first night my horse wore it. The blanket and the hoods were sold as water resistant. I will NEVER buy a blanket or hood from Smartpak.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't Stay On I love smartpak and they have great customer service that helped a ton with this issue, but I cannot give a high rating for this hood. I got a new hood for this winter, I didn't have any issues with the older design. This new however will not stay closed, I find it nearly everyday flapping around barely clinging to the blanket. It all culminated when the hood fell completely off, ripping the D ring off the blanket and tearing the velcro attachments. After uttering a few choice words, I threw the blanket and hood in the wash and shipped it back to smartpak. They gladly took it back and exchanged it for a high neck medium weight. I am very happy with the fit of the high neck, I think it actually fits better than the blanket on my girl.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great I ordered this hood to go along with the matching blanket. I am pleased with purchase. It attaches snugly to the blanket and the Velcro closure secures hood well around neck. So far it has held up great to the abuse of my 4yo and keeps him warm when it temps dip
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As usual, very tuff stuff! Recently purchased the neck rug to match Casino's Ultimate, heavy blanket. Now he is mostly protected from the winter elements and is hopefully comfortable and that makes me feel comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Blanket!!! Fits great and very durable. Great leg straps to withstand the test of time. Surcingle straps are built to allow for movement and stretching. Bought this for my daughter's hard to fit Pont and loved it so much I bought the matching hood!
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The small fits my TWH perfect Love the fit, wasn't sure it would fit him but the small fits my three year old walking horse perfect. Quality is awesome. Thank u smartpak
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's worked really well since I bought it. It keeps my horse warm and dry in all weather
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit with the Ultimate Turnout I purchased the neck cover to go with an 87" Ultimate Turnout blanket. The neck cover is a size large(the biggest option) and it is a bit small for my horse. I wish it was a little longer and wider, but it covers part of his neck. His Thoroughbred toddler-friend can get the attachments off, so it has been destroyed once but thanks to SmartPak's warranty system, I got a new one at no cost. The reason why I got the Ultimate Turnout and neck cover is because of Smartpak's great customer service and 10-year warranty.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, Fits great, easy to attach I bought a large medium weight hood to use with a size 78 medium and heavy ultimate TO. Fits perfectly. My guy is a 16.1 h 1200 lb TB/clydesdale. Sturdy construction and quality materials. Couldnt be happier with the set. It is replacing a Smartpak Classic set that was beat to pieces in 2 winters. Quality and construction of the Ultimate set is far better.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality and love the 10 year warranty. Fits my ZIPPO great and he looks so handsome and seems to keep him toasty warm. Love the velcro straps to attach the hood to the blanket to the hood or visa versa. So far, so good.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features: 1000 denier nylon, 220 polyfill Needed to replace my missing neck rug. Matches blanket and fits perfectly. SmartPak makes a quality product.
    Date published: 2016-11-17
    • y_2018, m_3, d_16, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_81
    • loc_en_US, sid_11211, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders