Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover

SmartPak
- Item #21423
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!
 
The SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is an effective and cost-conscious solution to frozen water buckets. The cover insulates the water's original temperature, helping to ward off the formation of ice. It will extend the length of time the water takes to freeze (although please note that the length of time can vary depending on sun exposure and  the temperature of the air and water.) 

Favorite Features

  • Encourages your horse's hydration during winter months
  • Ends the ice breaking madness
  • Eliminates the need for heated water buckets, saving you money 
  • Durable waterproof fabric
  • Constructed from 600D waterproof fabric with 600g fill

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Fits standard 5 gallon buckets

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is rated 4.587 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well constructed I wish I had known about this product last winter! So far, the weather has not been as severe as last year, but there have been enough cold nights to get a sense that this bucket cover will perform well in zero degree conditions with warm water added. I've had no ice formation whatsoever using just cold water so far. My horse is stabled in a shed stall which is a typically colder environment than a barn. The bucket cover is very thickly padded with insulation, like a high quality ski parka, and very easy to put on and remove from a five gallon bucket. I wondered whether my very inquisitive horse would try to tear it off, but he hasn't!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help with freezing pails I bought 2 of these covers for my water pails in the barn. I tried it on 1 pail to start with. The temps were down in the teens overnight. Both of the water pails in the barn had equal amounts of ice on each, even the one with the cover. It was too costly for shipping charges to return the 2nd one so I am keeping it as well. Hoping they help a little with busting frozen pails the rest of the winter.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use! Just put 9 in my barn. Easy to install. No ice yet. We will see what the winter brings!
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very pleased! I bought this insulated water bucket about a month ago. So far i am very pleased with this product. My mare is a shire and i am able to adjust the lid to make a wider opening for her mouth. She does not hesitate to drink out of the bucket. She prefers it to her heated bucket. There is still ice in the bucket in the morning but i have not had to chop ice yet. We live outside of buffalo n.y. and we have had a snowy season already and winter starts this weekend! Also i can't say enough about the great customer service at smartpak!!
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulated water bucket cover Love this product, this is my second one. The first lasted a few years before it was too ripped to stay on. It helps keep the bucket from freezing and it's durable.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from as described Very happy with this product. It is as described and I received it right away.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind ! When the weather turned, the buckets started to freeze, making both me and my horse very unhappy . Enter this wonderful product ! I had seen it before and decided to try it for my TB...and it works great ! Keeps ice to a bare minimum, if any, and provides peace of mind, assurance that my guy is getting fresh water all of the time. Thanks !
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feature as a back up in barn!! Bought this about a month ago and very happy with it. It comes in handy when the power goes out.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Insulated Water bucket cover Recently bought it and my horse tore it up. She ripped it off the bucket 2x. Will use it only on really cold days and when i can get to barn to take it off. I like the idea, on another horse, probably would have worked.
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from insulated water bucket cover I received this a month ago and love it . Only a fine layer of ice will sit on the top in the coldest weather and the horses can easily break through it
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product! Bought this to help slow my horses water bucket from freezing. So far it hasn't been super cold but when it got pretty cold the horse next to mine had some ice forming and mine had none yet..so, so far so good! Not looking forward to a freeze but curious to see how it holds up..I'm very happy, wish I could have an electric heater but my barn doesn't allow it so this is a nice alternative.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Use these for my donkeys whose buckets are close to the ground and always froze. Since using these bucket covers...not even a hint of ice. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from working well Bought this last month when our temps were in the teens overnight. Kept the water from freezing in the stalls. I was impressed! I have not used the cover on it yet. Thought it would be easier to introduce to my Arab open first- : > Will put the cover on next cold blast that we get. Love not having to have something plugged in to keep the water from freezing overnight! Don't forget to tie it to the bucket handle- I forgot first night and it was on the ground.....
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Water bucket cozy I bought 2 of these and so far no frozen water although it hasn't been cold enough for it to freeze in the barn yet...only downfall is she won't drink out of it with the top cover piece on.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bravo "Burr" Buckets! I live in the Northwest and we can get weeks at a time of freezing in our barns. My husband a DVM said... "These wont work" But they really DO work! I start with warm to hot water and they work very well up here!! Very tough fabric, very thick, hey we aren't Buffalo cold up here... but they will really help till morning in the under- 32* and lower temps. I recommend these -bought 4 so far, one horse a "two bucket drinker a night" and 2 others 1 horse, and pony, a one bucket a night drinkers. Thanks SmartPak, Smart Design!!
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartpak thinks of everything! I am once again so very impressed with the construction and quality of smartpak products. The design of the bucket insulator is excellent- down to little velcro straps that go around the handle to ensure it will not slip off even if you aren't using the removable top portion. They really have put some thought into this excellent design and it shows! Because this is an insulator and not an electric heater, you will get some minimal ice in cold enough temps, but wayyyy better then what you would have without this. And personally, I feel much safer using these than risking electric water heaters. I just add warm water to my buckets the night before and that is plenty to help the insulators keep the ice away. As I always am- a very satisfied smartpak customer!
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far So Good We haven't had much cold weather but the one night that it was like 15* the bucket had a small amount of ice in it per barn manager. I was nervous that my horse would be afraid of it honestly, but I gave him the option of a bucket with and a bucket without and after about a week he was using both again. We'll see how it goes but I'm planning on getting another one! It's definitely worth a shot.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great!! It worked great in recent cold snap with temps around 20!!!
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought these to help avoid having to turn on the heated water buckets. So far they have worked very well. When the temp drops very low (<15 degrees) there is some ice on the remaining water in the am, but the buckets are almost empty so I know the horses still had access to water through the night. When the temp is below freezing but not ultra low, there is no ice. Worth the investment to avoid turning on heated buckets. Have only used them for about a month so can't speak to durability but so far they seem ready to last at least the winter season, which is long enough given the price. They look a bit dusty very quickly because of the color, but since they are in a barn, that seems a small complaint.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps my buckets from needing a heater! This is my first winter with my horses on my own property. Having boarded at many facilities, I've been exposed to the pros and cons of heaters in the water buckets. I decided to give these a try in my northern Illinois barn. The cover fit perfectly over my water buckets, although one of the tie straps broke right away. Due to the strong Velcro on the top piece, though, I didn't feel it was necessary to return the cover and have been using it just fine since. I fill these full from my well pump each night around 7:30, not bothering to heat the water at all. The past week, we have had many nights with temperatures in the single digits, and only once was one covered with a thin layer of ice by 6:00 the next morning. My horses usually are not big drinkers in their stalls at night, and on that particular morning, one had been exceptionally thirsty, so the water had started to freeze because it had gotten low in the bucket. If I'm ever concerned with the freezing, I feel confident that heating the water beforehand would work extremely well. I am very pleased with these covers!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulated water bucket cover Works great to keep the water from freezing. In single digit temperatures there was only a thin layer of ice,
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better than other bucket "cozies"! I have been a long time user of insulated bucket covers since our barn doesn't have a good set up for electric heated buckets. I ALWAYS check SmartPak before shopping anywhere else and when I needed to replace my old bucket "cozies" I found that not only were SmartPak's a better value but also fit better as well! Just another reason I love SmartPak :)
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freeze no More I purchased an insulated water bucket cover last year and loved it. Kept water from freezing even in the lowest Maine temp. My horse did not like the top cover and would not drink with it on, however he was fine with the rest.
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm water is used to fill my horse's buckets and these covers help to keep it from getting too cold between refills. They've been great this very cold winter!
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well!  Impressed that bucket has stayed ice free at 0 degs while one next to it is frozen solid. 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It helps! I got these for my two horses since my barn doesn't let us use electric buckets (and knowing one of my horses, he'd break it). I was hoping these would at least reduce the amount of ice formation and save my buckets from being banged on. Had one of the feeders tell me that she only had to take out a tiny bit of ice off the top instead of having to fight with a frozen bucket. Glad it was worth the price!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps water from freezing I needed something to make sure that my horse's water in turnout wouldn't freeze in the winter. This definitely does the trick! I've found that if I fill it the night before with warm water, it will stay liquid for the next day. I compared it with a standard bucket with no insulated cover, which has a layer of ice over it by the end of the day. It's not going to keep the bucket warm, but will at least keep the water from freezing.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did fit buckets I'm not happy I bought this product. Insulated bucket did not work in cold temp froze to stall wall had to peal off
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Option We are experiencing more temps below freezing and needed a non-electrical option for keeping our horse into drinking water. This is a great option!!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well! Great idea for my busy horse that would otherwise chew a cord on a heated bucket. This keeps the water from freezing and him safe from the cord.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    • 2015-08-26T13:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_11423, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.