Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover

SmartPak
- Item #21423

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!
 
The SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is an effective and cost-conscious solution to frozen water buckets. The cover insulates the water's original temperature, helping to ward off the formation of ice. It will extend the length of time the water takes to freeze (although please note that the length of time can vary depending on sun exposure and  the temperature of the air and water.) 

Favorite Features

  • Encourages your horse's hydration during winter months
  • Ends the ice breaking madness
  • Eliminates the need for heated water buckets, saving you money 
  • Durable waterproof fabric
  • Constructed from 600D waterproof fabric with 600g fill

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Fits standard 5 gallon buckets

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is rated 4.5806 out of 5 by 93.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New England winter must have! The easiest way to make sure your horse has water available to him at all times!
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best thing since sliced bread I love this. I just bought a few acres and for the first time in my life I have my horse in my backyard. I keep a bucket with this cover on it in his run in shelter and he always drinks it before his cold water from the stock tank. I can also sleep better at night knowing his bucket won't freeze when his stock tank does. So happy it is helping keep my horse hydrated this winter!
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Insulated Water Bucket Works! When the cold weather hit us here in PA, I decided to try the SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover. The electric buckets I have are very heavy and need to be dumped and scrubbed too often since my horses dunk their hay. The covers fit nicely around my flat backed buckets and secured with velcro. There is a cover at the top with an opening for the horse to drink through. My horses adjusted to them immediately and drank without hesitation, which I was glad to see. I hang them in their stalls by the door which opens to a paddock, and I leave the door open unless it is extremely windy. The first morning it was 17 degrees when I went down to feed. There was a small amount of ice around the edges, but the water was still drinkable and not frozen in the middle of the bucket. Amazing! I find them to be lighter than the electric buckets, with the added bonus of not heating up any food or hay dropped in them and getting the water fowl smelling. In the morning I dump and scrub them without removing the cover and they are ready for refill. I am very glad I tried these Insulated water bucket covers. They appear to be well-made and although I have used them only 3-4 weeks, I am sure they will hold up for future winters. Good job, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME product! If you cannot use heated buckets this is truly the next best thing! Electric heating options aren't available to us. We had near zero temps the last few weeks and the water in the buckets with these covers rarely froze or only got a small layer on top while the others were frozen completely through. I hope SMARTPAK starts making them for outside troughs!
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No frozen water! Tried these at the recommendation of a friend and they are awesome!! Even in single digits They did not freeze!
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My winter savior!! I LOVE this thing! Even in the teens outdoors my buckets have minimal ice on them that can easily be broken by my horse. Some morning there is no ice at all if it fill it with hot water, which is the key to success with these things! Buy a gas can to transport hot water from home and viola!! I also put the buckets side by side to minimize exposure and I put them in direct sunlight because the black absorbs A LOT of heat. If I put my hand between the bucket and cozy it actually feels warm! Again, I love these things. They have made my electricity-less winter more bearable!! Thank you!
    Date published: 2016-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bucket 'Cozy' really works I bought this thinking that an insulated water bucket cover like this could never really work. I have tried others in the past with no success, but this works very well.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Money Turned into an expense play toy for my horse. She ripped it apart within minutes.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A product that really works I bought one of these last season and two this year. I broke them out for the first time last night. It was 15 degrees with real feel of minus 6. Admittedly it was somewhat warmer in the barn, but on a night like that typically the naked bucket would be frozen solid by morning. With the cosy on, the buckets that were fairly full had no ice and the one that was drunk down had the thinnest sheet of ice. A MAJOR difference. Well worth the price! It did seem like there was a mid-season re-design, the 2 newer ones were easier to put on and covered more of the top of the bucket. I highly recommend this product, well worth the price!
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Only really works above 15 degrees with no wind, if it gets below that it freezes!
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Money This became an expensive play toy for my horse. Within minutes, she ripped it apart and knocked over the water bucket.
    Date published: 2016-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works surprisingly well I bought two of these last year for horses who are outside 24/7. Last winter in New England was TOUGH and keeping water available was a continuous problem with the temps we had. These two horses are housed far from electricity so heated water is simply not an option. I didn't have high hopes for these bucket insulators, thinking they would only help to stave off freezing for a while, BUT, they worked MUCH better than I expected. Lifesaver! By placing these in the run-in shelter out of the wind, and bringing some hot water to mix in twice daily, we kept the water nearly ice-free even in single digits. On the -20 nights of course there was ice, but the buckets were still not frozen solid as they would have been without the "bucket cozies", as we call them! The horses had no issue drinking out them from day one. I came back to write a review in the spring and couldn't find the item and was afraid they were no longer for sale but Smartpak assured me they were a seasonal item and would be back. Thank goodness, because I'm here to order more! Thanks Smartpak for a great product!
    Date published: 2016-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Just received this and put it on both my horses buckets which are flat backed buckets and they fit perfectly! They stay on nicely and my horse had no problem drinking from it right away! I decided not to use the lid cover though since it doesn't get that extreme of cold in the barn. Very pleased though!
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well keeps water from freezing. Am thinking of getting another one. Very happy with product
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service and products Wow I did not expect such great quality plus it works! I ordered twoAnd have not had to break ice one time!I have two different personality horsesOne plays (pain in butt) picks etc but she leaves the insulators alone!! And drinks moreMy other horse is just all around good and drinks from it great also!I just have a pole barn that's not insulated but wind does not get in , my buckets do great!100%recomend this productI hope I can always get thisWe used up till last year heated electric bucket but last year one bucket started in fire right in front of me, if I had not been there we would have lost the animals and barn.This product saved me!
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulated bucket cover Buzz loves his insulated bucket cover, or "bucket coozie" as we call it! Great product and easy to use and clean. Thanks Smart Pak!!!
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working well We've had a few cold nights in New England and so far this insulator has done a good job keeping the water from freezing.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and no ice! Have been using during recent below freezing temps. My horse's bucket was the only one without a layer of ice on top in the morning!
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, super easy to put on bucket I live in Texas so we don't get extreme weather here but I bought this for my guys for that time the weather does go a little crazy. Peace of mind is why I give it 5 stars!!
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd one I bought I just got another one because the first one I got 3 years ago is great!
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works! Each of our two horses has two water buckets in their stall. I put one of these on one of the four buckets. There have been several mornings that the bucket with the cover was ice free and the other three had a layer of ice on top! I'm really impressed and definitely plan on ordering more. I was worried that my TB would either be scared to drink out of the bucket with the cover or would rip it up, but he seems to prefer drinking out of it and hasn't messed with it. Definitely a winner in my book.
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really works! The horses love the warm water! Keeps them drinking in the coldest of weather. Also, no problems with horses ripping or chewing on the covers. Great solution with no electricity needed. I highly recommend these.
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best idea going! Frozen buckets - not now! Have wanted non-electric "something" to keep my water buckets from freezing for years, but most types are so pricey, and you can't get a feel if they would work. However since they were on sale, I decided to try them. They are the perfect solution! Light weight, thick, and easily wrapped around the buckets, leaving just enough space for deep drinking. AND, yes,they work! Seeing frozen buckets outside and only water in the stalls tells me this is true. Haven't got to zero yet, but at 20 degrees they are the answer. Since the insulation makes them roly-poly, I just fill them partially and then hang 'em in the stalls to finish filling them. These insulated bucket covers have made my life easier!
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Opening Too Small For My Warmbloods This is a great concept and probably would work well, but the insulator covers about a third of the bucket and I doubt my horses would drink the whole bucket with it rubbing on their faces. My gelding is also a dunker so these covers world probably get very messy. I bought these for my extra buckets; my other buckets are in built in insulators so I returned these without even trying them with my horses. I gave them 4 stars because they seem to be well constructed and a good value if your horses will use them.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I bought these, hoping to decrease the frozen bucket situation, but mostly to help maintain a comfortable drinking temperature of the water for my horses. Before purchasing, I did ask if they were fitting for flatback buckets. The answer was "no" but the insulators are clearly designed with a flatback bucket in mind. They fit great! My horses having been drinking more water at night. We had one night down to 20 degrees ( this has been a mild winter)....no ice on the buckets!
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from These are extremely delicious "Chewable and delicious!" -Twist the Horse"I'd rave about it, but I'm too busy eating it!" -Applejack the foalDon't buy these. I'm getting ready to return the three that I just bought since apparently my horses enjoy playing with them.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality I bought this product and another offered by a competitor to see which one was better. This bucket cover is a lot heavier and of better quality by far. The only problem with the bucket cover is that my horse would not drink out of it with the cover on and reduced his water consumption by 1/2 without the cover. I waited a few weeks to see if that would change but it didn't which kind of defeats the purpose. I am not currently using the cover. I think this is a great product and I would recommend it if your horse is not as sensitive and opinionated as mine.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from water bucket cover I bought this not to long ago and I'm hoping to use it in the near future, winter so far has been mild so no need for it yet, it's a bit pricey for a cover but it is a cheaper way than most products.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works I bought this during a cold spell to keep the bucket of water for my goats from freezing. It did the trick, was easy to put on, and is of good quality. Very pleased with this product. So far it has worked for weather into the low 20s.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is well made. I like this product. It is easy to put around a bucket. I have not used it yet so can't comment on how well it works. On the down side, it went on sale after I purchased it at the regular price.
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    • 2016-02-08T14:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_89
    • loc_en_US, sid_11423, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.