Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover

SmartPak
- Item #21423
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
Please call 1-800-461-8898 to order this product.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!
 
The SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is an effective and cost-conscious solution to frozen water buckets. The cover insulates the water's original temperature, helping to ward off the formation of ice. It will extend the length of time the water takes to freeze (although please note that the length of time can vary depending on sun exposure and  the temperature of the air and water.) 

Imported.

Favorite Features
  • Encourages your horse's hydration during winter months
  • Ends the ice breaking madness
  • Eliminates the need for heated water buckets, saving you money 
  • Durable waterproof fabric
  • Constructed from 600D waterproof fabric with 600g fill  

Sizing

Fits standard 5 gallon buckets
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "These pails are the perfect space saver for ...
    Description:
    "These pails are the perfect space saver for farm and home use. Exceptionally lightweight pails, under 1 lb. Features a low wide shape with an extra wide top. Made in the USA"
    "This heavy wall large capacity corner container is ...
    Description:
    "This heavy wall large capacity corner container is what by all standards can be called a real smart choice. Its one-piece construction makes an excellent stall feeder or waterer and also makes it easy to clean. Made in the USA" ...
    "Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, ...
    Description:
    "Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, the Nose-It!® A Toy with Purpose™ works with your horse's natural grazing instincts, controlling the amount of food intake at any given time. No more waste or inhaling of food-stuffs. Your horse ...
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, ...
    Description:
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, the EquiFit CleanBucket minimizes bucket slime! Testing shows that one to two months can lapse in between bucket scrubbings. Horses prefer the taste of CleanBucket water to that of traditional water buckets. ...
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use ...
    Description:
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber. Made in the USA"
    "Excellent all around Muck Bucket. Large, 70 quart, ...
    Description:
    "Excellent all around Muck Bucket. Large, 70 quart, capacity with extra heavy wall construction. This handy Muck Bucket is ideal for both stable and household use. Blue, Green or Black. Made in the USA"
    "Stop lugging around that heavy muck bucket! The ...
    Description:
    "Stop lugging around that heavy muck bucket! The much Bucket Cart has adjustable handle means no stooping over or struggling. Holds up to a 70 quart muck bucket. Easy to assemble nut and bolt connections. Muck Bucket Cart is made ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 142.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features, but didn't work for my horse. I only tried this product for 3 evenings, but my horse who was recovering from a bout with ulcers would only drink a partial bucket of water with the insulated cover on the bucket. The third evening I put a second bucket without the insulated cover. He drank that one, plus a portion of the bucket with the cover, so I know he wasn't getting enough water the first two nights. I have electric buckets but wanted to try these to save electricity, but couldn't take a chance that Connor wasn't drinking enough water. It was a very thought-out and well-made product. It just wasn't worth taking a chance on my horse's health to continue using it instead of the electric water buckets.
    Date published: 2016-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no ice here!! I bought this cover earlier this month and for the first time in many winters I haven't had to chip ice from the stall buckets every day. Only once when the water was really low did it freeze over. I am very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2016-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this not knowing how well it works. Had some day at -23 degrees and the water didn't freeze. Need to buy more.
    Date published: 2016-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says, great design. I was worried my horse wouldn't stick his nose in after placing this on his water bucket, but no problems. And it really does insulate against freezing much more than just having a plain bucket hanging. I live in southern central PA, so it's not Alaska, by any means, but this bucket cover does the trick around here. It's December and the water still hasn't frozen. Easy to use, well designed, and makes life better for the people who clean stalls at my boarding farm, so I'm happy to help keep them happy! It also seems to resist dirt well, with its nylon smooth type covering. So it still looks new, even after weeks of use.
    Date published: 2016-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and very effective! I bought this to get away from the heated buckets at the barn. We have been using the insulated bucket cover for about a week now and we love it! We have 2 miniatures and it keeps the water perfect for them to drink on the below freezing temperatures of Ohio! I am definitely going to be ordering one for my Walking horse too! Thank you SmartPak, I am very impressed!
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! My horse in inside, but doesn't have access to a plug for a heated bucket. I bought one of these, and with a little hot water to top off her bucket at night, it has kept her bucket from freezing! We had negative temps at night and there was only a tiny, thin layer of ice on the bucket. A little hot water in the morning took care of that. I'm so happy to not have a frozen solid bucket of water to contend with!
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulated Bucket Covers These bucket covers are wonderful. The temps have been in the single digits and teens at night and there is just a film of ice on the leftover water whereas without the cover the bucket would be solid ice. I know my horses have water longer before freezing over. I cannot use electric in the stalls due to 2 of my horses being mischievious!
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works! I bought two of these to try when they were on sale. I use one in each of my horses stall. They also have a second bucket with no cover. These insulated covers work surprisingly well! On the coldest nights, there may be a little bit of icing but for the most part, the buckets are ice free in the morning. The uncovered buckets are completely covered with ice. On sale, they are definitely worth buying!
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work well These seem to be able to do a fairly good job. Saves a little money on electricity, but I am not sure how they will do when it gets down near zero.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love this! I was a bit skeptical on this insulated cover but I decided to try it anyways. I have not had a frozen water bucket yet and it has been cold here in Michigan. The most ice I've had was a thin layer. If I didn't have this cover on it it would be frozen solid by morning. Great product!
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed This is way better quality than the similar bucket wraps. It's thicker, stays on the bucket better and has a slighter wider and easier to use top flap to let the horse drink. I will buy all my replacement insulated bucket wraps from SmartPak now on.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These work great We get temps below freezing and the outside buckets ice over, these liners are keeping the water in the stalls a nice even temp and no ice
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Answer to our prayers I purchased 4 insulalated covers. I use bucket heaters but when it's real cold the water still freezes by morning. I was recently diagnosed with cancer and as a result my husband and daughter are assuming all my barn chores. This product has made their life so much easier and no frozen buckets in the morning! I would recommend these bucket insulators to anyone who doesn't have electric watering systems in their barn. Thank you Smartpak.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I was skeptical, but the water never froze at zero degrees.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value We bought this to try to help with frozen water buckets during the frigid northeast winters. We've had a couple of cold nights so far and it seems to help but it will not prevent freezing. The thing ice film was much easier to break through though. With that being said, it is a pain to keep clean so I can only imagine what it is going to look like come summer.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic - why did I wait so long to get it???? I bought this a couple of months ago, only put it on about a month ago and my horses water is always open. We've had some cold days & nights, but last night was the real test, -10 - air temperature. I went ito the barn @ 4 am & there was only a thin layer of ice on top. Added hot water & they're good until it needs refilled. I am beyond happy with these, sorry I didn't get them last year. Won't be without them again!!
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Well!! Happy !! Ordered two of these in a hurry as the weather was getting frigid. They arrived in a blink of an eye (thank you Smartpak Equine!). I put them on two buckets (5Gal) and we had a 16 degree night. Headed to the barn in the morning and found that they worked very well! My mares never bothered the material...drank through the opening and there was only a very thin film of ice on the top. Normally the buckets would of been frozen by morning!! Yes, they work, Yes, I am pleased and Yes, I would recommend them!! Thank You!
    Date published: 2016-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! What a great product I dont usually endorse products but these insulated bucket covers are great! I purchased 2. 1 for an outside paddock and one for a little barn. After a frigid night with 30+ mph winds the outside bucket had a thin layer of ice (easily broken with a nose) and the inside bucket was unfrozen. I had filled each and topped them off with warm water and hoped for the best. Very happy my little guys were able to drink all night.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! From Northeast Ohio in the snow belt, this is a great help. I have an older pony, and no electricity in my barn. It's a constant struggle to keep drinkable water available to her, every day I used to have a full 5 gallon bucket of frozen water twice a day (three actually but the other two are still like that because they don't have covers). I used this outside (I'm here buying one for her walk in stall now), because I'm lucky and my pony doesn't mess with things too much I was able to put it on the ground in a corner so it had some protection from the wind. In order to keep it dry (this is huge, once it gets wet it doesn't work as well) I wrapped the bottom part in a bag from the shavings for her stall. If you don't have those bags, trash bags would work well. I found they're a bit big for grain bags though. We take out hot water in the morning and in the evening I usually completely clean out the bucket (flip it over, hot water on the bottom, out comes the ice) and refill half way with hot water, in the morning we add enough water so that it's 3/4 of the way full. Once I put hot water in I would feed, pick her feet, anything else I need to do and then put the top on the bucket cover. The steam that rises will soak the top making it heavy and less effective, so I left that off until I was heading in. It doesn't completely eliminate ice from the buckets but there was so much less ice and the ice that we did have was less solid, and way easier to get rid. I do wish they had a 2.5 gallon cover though.
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be without it When the temps drop this bucket cover does the job!! No more frozen buckets.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well! I bought four of these bucket covers last winter. They worked great and are still in perfect shape! I do use warm water as well but there was no ice ever. Just bought three more for my new stall for this year.
    Date published: 2016-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big time saver in winter! I was worried my horse might chew up the top part of the cover, but she left it alone and the cover did its job. While other buckets had two inches of ice coated around the whole interior, mine had just a thin layer of ice on top if anything. Saved me time and effort, and ensured that my girl had water available to her all night!
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product A friend used these during our freezing spells this winter and she was the only one in the barn who didn't have to chip ice! The quality is excellent and its super easy to use.
    Date published: 2016-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job I bought this to help keep my horse's water bucket a little less frozen during these freezing new England winters and it definitely helps. She is drinking more water over night now.
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Choice! Recently ordered three insulated bucket covers and they arrived just prior to a big temperature drop. They went on easily and water had very light ice on it the next morning. I was very pleased at how well they worked. I did have to take the top part off one of the buckets as this horse is more nervous and was not drinking with the top on. It still provided added protection and slowed the freeze time of thewater.
    Date published: 2016-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this water bucket cover! Great product, easy to put on and great quality. I ended up buying 4 so that I could have 2 in each stall. Helped a lot this winter.
    Date published: 2016-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I've been using the Smartpak insulated water bucket cover for several weeks. It has kept ice from forming and allows water to be available to my horse. On one particularly cold morning(about 5*) even the small amount of water was still liquid. So far I'm impressed! I purchased this product because others at my barn have it and it has held up well.
    Date published: 2016-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps I bought this to use with my gelding's meals of soaked hay cubes in the really cold weather. Haven't used the top piece yet. I have to place the covered bucket inside a 10 gallon tub to keep it from tipping over(he eats at ground level). It has kept his soaked cubes warm enough that he finishes them before they get too cold for his liking and freeze.
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Definitely helps keep water from freezing as quickly in cold temps. Easy to use.
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    • y_2017, m_1, d_5, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_135
    • loc_en_US, sid_11423, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders