Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover

SmartPak
- Item #21423
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
Please call 1-800-461-8898 to order this product.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!
 
The SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is an effective and cost-conscious solution to frozen water buckets. The cover insulates the water's original temperature, helping to ward off the formation of ice. It will extend the length of time the water takes to freeze (although please note that the length of time can vary depending on sun exposure and  the temperature of the air and water.) 

Imported.

Heated flatback bucket.

Favorite Features
  • Encourages your horse's hydration during winter months
  • Ends the ice breaking madness
  • Eliminates the need for heated water buckets, saving you money 
  • Durable waterproof fabric
  • Constructed from 600D waterproof fabric with 600g fill  

Sizing

Fits standard 5 gallon buckets
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only ...
    Description:
    "Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only water but your supplies too! Recessed handles for carrying and compartment storage area with lid strong enough to stand on. Molded-in spray bottle or beverage holders on top. 3 year warranty Natural ...
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, ...
    Description:
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, the EquiFit CleanBucket minimizes bucket slime! Testing shows that one to two months can lapse in between bucket scrubbings. Horses prefer the taste of CleanBucket water to that of traditional water buckets. ...
    "A simple, effective, automatic replacement for your “tank ...
    Description:
    "A simple, effective, automatic replacement for your “tank and float.” EZ Fount combines the benefits of automatic watering with the versatility of several portable or permanent mounting options. Heavy-duty polyethylene construction is strong enough to last for years, and smooth ...
    Why We Love This Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber. Made in the USA Favorite ...
    "This heavy wall large capacity corner container is ...
    Description:
    "This heavy wall large capacity corner container is what by all standards can be called a real smart choice. Its one-piece construction makes an excellent stall feeder or waterer and also makes it easy to clean. Made in the USA" ...
    "The Heated Pet Bowl is great for in ...
    Description:
    "The Heated Pet Bowl is great for in the cold barn to keep dogs and cats hydrated in frigid weather! Thermostatically controlled to operate only when necessary, sturdy twin wall anti-tip construction and heavy duty anti-chew cord protector make for ...
    "Horse Hydrator is a easily attachabletwo stage water ...
    Description:
    "Horse Hydrator is a easily attachabletwo stage water filtration system thatwill rid water of foul tastes and smells.Horse Hydrator is a natural way toincrease the amount of water yourhorse drinks no matter where you are."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 221.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great way to keep water thawed during winter Bought 2 of these a couple months ago and never once had any ice at all in my buckets, even on the coldest of mornings. Ended up buying 2 more I loved them so much. Decent quality and well worth the money. Wish the exterior was more durable but my horses cannot kill them. Easy to install. Wish they came in smaller sizes for the buckets for my barn cats.
    Date published: 2018-01-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yeah not so much! I had such high hopes for the insulated water bucket cover. I live in Pennsylvania where the temperature can dip down to 7 degrees at night and they did not work for me. I do not have running water in my barn so I had such high hopes for these based on other review. I also didn't like the configuration on the bottom. I realize that a lot of insulation is necessary, but the bottom of the cover is rounded so the bucket tips over easily dumping the water.
    Date published: 2018-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 out of the 5 ordered were good I purchased five of these insulated bucket covers. They worked very well in the subzero Iowa weather with a slightly heated barn. I was disappointed in the quality of one of the covers as the seam at the top split open after only a week of use. The other four are holding up very well so that one must have been defective as SmartPak products are usually very good products. Even though I had problems with one of them, I am very happy I bought them as other stalls without the covers had buckets of water that was frozen solid. Mine remained unfrozen throughout the frigid temperatures.
    Date published: 2018-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! We purchased two of these because our horses shed doesn't have electricity so heated buckets are not an option. It took a couple of days to get the kink's figured out but they were well worth the money. I did find that I needed to wrap bubble wrap around the buckets and put drinkable hot water in them to keep them thawed out overnight but that is far better than having to go out in the middle of the night to exchange buckets. Our tempatures were well below 0. I definitley would purchase these again.
    Date published: 2018-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than insulated buckets! I've been using this for 3 weeks thru this cold snap in NJ (night temps down to below zero some days). My mare is in a shed-row (so can't use electric heated buckets), with one bucket with this cover, and also has two of the High Country insulated buckets (what can I say, she's a heavy drinker...!). This bucket cover is doing as good a job, if not slightly better, than the insulated buckets that are 2-3x the price. Granted some nights they all froze but heck, it was extra cold. Plus, much easier to lift a regular bucket onto/off it's hook than lifting in and out of the insulated (High Country) holders. I'm bummed they're sold out as I was going to get a couple more!
    Date published: 2018-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works very well! The covers are in use (in the stall) for 3 weeks now and make a huge difference compared to uncovered buckets. No ice during the whole cold period here in New Jersey with outdoor temperatures at 0-10F and below! My horse has the first stall in the barn, so less insulation from other horses. The covers keep warm water warm for many hours. Love them! The only disadvantage: They are not waterproof (reason for 4 stars out of 5). The filling gets soaked from spilled water and freezes in the cover. They still do their job though!
    Date published: 2018-01-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not work . I am in New Jersey and the weather is in the 20s and the bucket of water was completely frozen in outside stall with this on it. It's a shame because I was really hoping it would work
    Date published: 2018-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Works great!! Has been working awesome in these frigid MD temps we have been getting. Only thin layer of ice on water!
    Date published: 2018-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lifesaver I bought 4 of these for my 4 horse stalls in October thinking it was just a precaution. We seldom have trouble with freezing water but with the artic blast we have experienced in coastal North Carolina over the last 2 weeks it's been a horse of another color. The buckets did not freeze and the horses kept hydrated
    Date published: 2018-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulated water bucket I have used this bucket for 3 weeks. I have been impressed with how it performs! It generally has been 15 degrees or under with very little ice then wind chill got 25 below and overnight did freeze bucket 1 inch. I am happy with product. The covering got wet one day, I threw it in dryer and is awesome again!
    Date published: 2018-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in Kentucky Temps! I got this expecting to still have an ice filled bucket in the morning. Heated water buckets- even plugged into GFI outlets- freak me out. Well we have had some below 0 nights, which is strange in Kentucky and this does a decent job of keeping my horses water drinkable! Still had a thin layer of ice in the morning, but nothing she couldn’t break through. Also, she can be spooky about odd things, and this did not scare her- drank out of it the first night in her stall. Now I don’t think it will be a miracle worker for truly Arctic places like Canada or upper east coast. But for us in the mid south area where things get a little cold from time to time, it’s great!
    Date published: 2018-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bucket covers arrived in time for a 3week run of sub zero weather. Even after a -10 degree night with a high of 2 degrees no ice was formed. I love this product!
    Date published: 2018-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use I bought this as a Christmas present for my daughters horse at the suggestion of her trainer. It fit easily on his bucket and the temperatures have been so low here it was the perfect gift. He does get a bit of ice in his water still, but we definately aren’t using a hammer in the morning to get ice out!
    Date published: 2018-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable I bought these this December. It has benn below zero for many days and nights. Is there ice yes but in buckets I did not have the cover on it was soldid ice 4 to 6 inches thick. The buckets with a cover I bang on the side and everything loosens up. I am so thankful I spent the money. Thank you
    Date published: 2018-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buying Another! I bought this to see how it would work, as I wanted to make sure my horse was drinking enough but do not like using electric heated buckets when my horse is unsupervised in her stall overnight. I felt like a crazy horse mom trying it, but boy does it work! Lastnight was a low of 5F and the bucket with this insulator only had a very thin sheet of ice- without having the top cover attached, and her bare bucket had thick ice on top as well as ice on the sides and bottom. This product works and I will be buying another and telling everyone at the barn about it!
    Date published: 2018-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Wonderful product would recommend to all my horse friends.
    Date published: 2017-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I love these! I’m in northern CT, and we are experiencing very cold weather right now! I have had mine for over a month, and the water still doesn’t freeze in the unheated barn(even down into the negatives). There can be a thin sheet of ice on top when it gets that cold, but easily broken by the horse’s nose or my finger. I even put them outside for my guy, and they still don’t freeze even when it’s 10F or below! I feel a lot better using these than anything electric. Would recommend to anyone!
    Date published: 2017-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing I have three horses on my property and a very small barn that does not accommodate heated water buckets. I live in MA and we are experiencing an extreme cold snip. I drove to the retail store to pick up three of these bucket insulators in desperation. I used them for the first time last night and let me say...they are amazing. I filled the buckets with warm water at 6pm and at 6am the buckets were completely ice free. I will be buying three more for their other buckets. If you can't or don't want electric buckets in your barn then these are what you need! If you sign up for auto ship or smartpaks then you can get 10% off which makes them very affordable. I am hoping these will hold up for a few winters to come but can not speak to their durability as I've only used them for less than 24 hours.
    Date published: 2017-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use This bucket cover went on smoothly and stayed secure. It kept the water above freezing temperature overnight. Now all I have to do is convince my horse that it's OK to drink from his bucket when the cover is on!
    Date published: 2017-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved us (or our horses) in our first deep freeze! I run a nonprofit equine rescue, Silent Wave Horse Rescue, in the Pacific NW. We have a new facility in Eastern Oregon and didn't have electricity to our rescue pens yet before the first bitter cold (9 degrees) hit. A supporter of our rescue org donated 2 SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Covers to us and THOSE SIMPLE THINGS SAVED US! I was breaking ice 2-3 times throughout the nights and was exhausted. The insulated water bucket covers allowed me a full nights sleep, they are amazing. I ended up ordering 3 more in order to have one in each pen of our 5 pens, before we were able to connect electric trough heaters. Now I have these 5 water bucket covers on emergency standby. They are really incredible.
    Date published: 2017-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep ice away! 2nd winter with these insulators. Totally worth the investment. They slow down the freezing, just like a thermos.
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulated bucket Love it saves time watering in the barn. Don't freeze
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed We are having one of the coldest Decembers I can remember here in Maine, well into the negatives at night and only single digits and teens during the day. I do not like the idea of electricity and water together so I was looking for an alternative. I was very sceptical of this doing much, but it really works. As others have said, on the coldest mornings there will be a thin layer of ice on the top of the water but it really helps keep ice from forming on the sides and bottom of the bucket. My very good drinker can finish her bucket every night! I think the results would be even better if warm water was used to fill up.
    Date published: 2017-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! Ive been using these for the past 2 winters now. They work great. I've always been afraid of using plug in electric buckets, so these are the best alternative! And they wash great too.
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bucket Cover Purchased about a month ago, and it actually helps.
    Date published: 2017-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I have been using this product for 3 weeks and it does the job. I have two buckets in my horses stall. The one with the insulated cover did not freeze but the one withou it did. True test and it passed!!
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The rest of the barn is jealous! I put these insulators on my buckets before the last freeze, and my horse’s buckets only had a film of ice on the top. The rest of the barns buckets were frozen solid. I didn’t use the top covers as they were bulky and not really necessary.
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe I have had the bucket blanket for 2 weeks and so far no ice, will see how it works in the cold snap coming this weekend
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this water bucket insulater !! Very nicely made + easy to apply. Safer for horse + barn as there is no electricity involved...no cord for a horse to chew. I have found that the electric buckets do not last + sometimes barn personnel forget to plug in. I've only had the insulater for 2 weeks but it seems to be doing the job in preventing water from freezing. I recommend it !
    Date published: 2017-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slows freezing Has kept water accessible down to 15 degrees even without the top cover. Will probably have to switch to heated bucket if we get a long term cold snap
    Date published: 2017-12-14
    • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_211
    • loc_en_US, sid_11423, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 46ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders