Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover

SmartPak
- Item #21423
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
Please call 1-800-461-8898 to order this product.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Encourage wintertime drinking while saving time and money!
 
The SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is an effective and cost-conscious solution to frozen water buckets. The cover insulates the water's original temperature, helping to ward off the formation of ice. It will extend the length of time the water takes to freeze (although please note that the length of time can vary depending on sun exposure and  the temperature of the air and water.) 

Imported.

Favorite Features
  • Encourages your horse's hydration during winter months
  • Ends the ice breaking madness
  • Eliminates the need for heated water buckets, saving you money 
  • Durable waterproof fabric
  • Constructed from 600D waterproof fabric with 600g fill  

Sizing

Fits standard 5 gallon buckets
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Custom made 5/A Baker Seat Covers are made ...
    Description:
    "Custom made 5/A Baker Seat Covers are made from existing patterns of your car, SUV or truck seats. Fabric choices are Original Plaid (tan and black) or Tartan Plaid (dark green, dark blue with a pipe of red. Includes one ...
    "Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only ...
    Description:
    "Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only water but your supplies too! Recessed handles for carrying and compartment storage area with lid strong enough to stand on. Molded-in spray bottle or beverage holders on top. 3 year warranty Natural ...
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, ...
    Description:
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, the EquiFit CleanBucket minimizes bucket slime! Testing shows that one to two months can lapse in between bucket scrubbings. Horses prefer the taste of CleanBucket water to that of traditional water buckets. ...
    "A simple, effective, automatic replacement for your “tank ...
    Description:
    "A simple, effective, automatic replacement for your “tank and float.” EZ Fount combines the benefits of automatic watering with the versatility of several portable or permanent mounting options. Heavy-duty polyethylene construction is strong enough to last for years, and smooth ...
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use ...
    Description:
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber. Made in the USA"
    "The tried and true FortiFlex's Flat Back Buckets ...
    Description:
    "The tried and true FortiFlex's Flat Back Buckets are a favorite among horse owners and horses alike! Made with FORTALLOY rubber-polyethylene blend for exceptional strength and toughness even at low temperatures. The thick wall construction and heavy duty galvanized fittings ...
    "Horses love to drink water from home. This ...
    Description:
    "Horses love to drink water from home. This caddy makes it easy to haul water in your pick-up or trailer. Half-moon lay down shape fits on either side of a gooseneck, and translucent plastic allows you to see water levels ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Insulated Water Bucket Cover is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 177.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well My horse has a stall with a run, so even though his buckets are inside, they still freeze when it gets really cold. This has been helpful to ensure that he has a bucket that doesn't freeze. My only issue is the opening. It needs to cover to keep the water from freezing, but my horse is a bit leery of putting his face in things that are small. The opening is just small enough that he will only drink to about halfway and not go any further. Not sure how they would be changed, but that's where my 4 stars come from.
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well. Works well in frigid temperatures. Compared to my other heated water bucket, the bucket with the SmartPak Insulated Cover on it only had a thin sheet of ice inside of it. Would be a good alternative to a heated water bucket when there is no electrical outlet by the horse's stall.
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would reccomend
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kept the water from freezing I bought this in hopes it would keep the water from freezing, it did. The only thing was it had gotten water in between the lining. Works great for what I needed it for.
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderful Only have a very, very thin layer of ice on top. Without the insulator it was a couple inches thick. Horses can easily break the ice without much effort.
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These definitely work! We have been using them in our barn for 2 months and not once have the buckets had icey water in them
    Date published: 2017-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does What it is Supposed To I bought this product because the barn where I board has no electric for heated water buckets. Someone told me that they don't work. Well, I guess they were wrong. They do keep the water from freezing solid. When the nightly temps went down to 6 degrees above zero, there was some ice formed but nothing to prevent the horse from drinking like the bucket that had no cover on it which completely froze solid. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might Work Well If.... I purchased two of these about a month ago. Our weather hasn't been cold enough to really put them to the test. However, I did set them complete with the top cover up to make sure my horses would drink out of the bucket with a new appearance. Well - both horses had a field day with these things. The yearling had the water from the bucket dumped in her stall and totally disassemble the entire cover which was under manure. The two year old also managed to remove it from her bucket as well. It was on the floor of the stall and pretty dirty. Both buckets are hanging from a standard hanger and they have never removed the buckets for there. I find all this rather puzzling because if I put a Jolly Ball in their stalls, they wouldn't give it the time of day. As far as they were concerned, it was a wonderful new toy to play with! I have to try it again without the top cover and see if it less enticing without it!
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where has this been all my life!!! Bought 2 of these bucket covers when Eventing Nation gave them a positive review. Have been breaking ice out of my horse's buckets for years. Too nervous to use heated water buckets, worry about my horses not drinking enough because of freezing water, and just hate the whole winter thing in general. Figured I'd give these a try...anything is better than getting out the hammer! We've had several nights in a row where the temperature got close to zero. I have been thrilled with the results of these covers. There is a very thin layer of ice on the top, but nothing horses can't easily break with their noses. Both my horses drank well over half of their buckets each night. It's a relief for me that they are drinking and there truly is not ice to battle with everyday. WELL WORTH THE MONEY!
    Date published: 2017-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use I bought hoping to save from using electric buckets. I still get some ice but it very easy to knock out and they stay thawed overnight
    Date published: 2017-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helpful but not a solution This product is very well made and I was so excited! Although I think it helps keep water in a liquid state longer my, buckets still freeze.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works! Start out with hot water in the bucket on a cold night and then check on it the next morning. No ice here! Of course, it depends on the temps, but we've had a streak of temperatures in the mid teens and this has been totally worth the money. My barn mates have been trying to purchase these, but it seems they are quite popular this winter and are no longer available! Even if you don't use hot or warm water, there will still be significantly less ice than the non-insulated buckets.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great insulation We had a couple of freezing days and the insulated water bucket cover did a great job even in an open barn. Unfortunately it soaks itself with water. Otherwise very happy!
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought these hoping not to use my heated buckets...they didn't work. I followed the directions, the buckets were frozen.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I live in Upstate New York, and it can reakly get cold! The bucket cover really help cut down on chipping out ice and speeds up winter chore time.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappionted This is my first review I have done for smartpak. I'm sad to say this cover did not live up to my expectations. Multiple times the water was frozen and my horse was unable to drink. Was trying to avoid heated buckets, but i switched and that's the way to go.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, I bought two these a month ago and they make life immensely better ! No more frozen solid water buckets! If it gets below zero the worst I have to deal with is thin layer of ice that is easily dealt with with a poke from my hammer !!
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for Preventing Freezing Buckets I purchased these for my ponies who live in a shed row away from the main barn. Their stalls are not as insulated or warm as the main barn, so I always had problems with freezing buckets. Now instead of completely frozen, they just have a light layer of ice which the horses can easily break if they need to. A lot safer than the plug in water buckets as well. Awesome purchase!
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! It helps keep the water from icing up even in below zero weather. I highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I have two of these and they keep the water from freezing when it is 0 outside (a bit warmer in barn). They are durable, clean easily and stay in place. They are a great deal when you get the on sale.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had this on the water bucket through two below zero cold snaps now and while all the rest of the buckets were frozen solid, the one with the insulator on just had a few ice chunks floating on top. I am going to order another one for her other bucket.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Outside temperature went from 29 deg to 8 deg. last night. Bucket was placed inside a barn with no electricity. Cover and top cover fit nicely on a 5 gal. flat back bucket. The water FROZE about 1/4+" in the bucket in appx. 12 hours. Horses (2) drank about 1 1/2 gal. from the bucket. The outside troughs had 1+" of ice on them...frozen solid. I can't say that it was a great investment but it is okay as we don't have these extreme temps for many days in a row. Would be great for just below freezing temps.
    Date published: 2017-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought it this year and works great should have bought it long before this
    Date published: 2017-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable product The best addition I've made to our barn this year.
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more frozen buckets My mare is afraid of electric buckets.. decided to try these and what a relief. Water hasn't frozen yet. We haven't had awful cold yet but even with wind chills below zero it's been good.
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ingenious! We live in Kentucky and the day before this product arrived the low was in the teens and as I was emptying the water buckets, well they were nothing but complete ice. Could have made an igloo because they were that rock solid. After placing them on the water buckets, the next time it was in the teens they worked wonders. My horses could drink all through the night. Though it does not keep it from forming ice it does delay the process and what ice was formed was easily breakable by horse and human. Thank you for a great product.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does work! Makes a difference! We are not allowed to have heated buckets at our barn. So I bought these. I have 2 buckets for each horse and the one that has the insulator on does not freeze. Going to buy a second for the other bucket.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did The Job Well I bought this to EXTEND my water's liquid state, not prevent ice entirely, as I knew an insulated bucket couldn't stand up against sub zero temps. Before when we would get negative twenty degree nights, my horse would barely touch his water before it froze solid (barn is not insulated, only wind proof) and now at least half his water is gone before its frozen, so I know he is at least drinking some water before it freezes. So it does help me out in the extreme cold, even if it does not prevent ice entirely. However, although I don't usually stall my horse when the weather is warmer, I recently stalled during a blizzard where the temps stayed in the positive teens. My horse's bucket were empty of water in the morning, telling me that the bucket insulator kept it completely ice free all night so he could drink it all, so this insulator works GREAT in the teens to 30 range of positive temperatures.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No More Lugging Buckets Inside to Thaw! Admittedly, I've only used this one night so far but I was pleasantly surprised and am looking forward to see how well this works over time. We had not put the covers on yet so yesterday my husband came home to frozen buckets after the daytime temp was around 20-23 degrees Fahrenheit to the point he just gave the horses new water buckets and brought the frozen ones inside to thaw. So last night at 8pm we put the bucket covers on when it was 16 degrees and filled them, as of 5:30 this morning the buckets were iced but with a very cracker thin layer that was easily broken and cleared out with a hand strainer with the covers still on. My horses drank much more than they would have had the buckets frozen solid and I am confident they could have broken the ice without effort if they wanted a drink before I fed this morning. I am also pleased that while the covers are made for a round bucket they fit my flat back buckets without issue and that my horse that is easily startled by new things readily drank from his covered bucket. I only rated as good since I don't know the long term yet.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly! Kept my buckets from freezing in teen weather plus it keeps the water warmer longer. My horses are drinking more water now than in the Summer! They love the covers and so do I!
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_169
    • loc_en_US, sid_11423, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders