Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat

Item #11971

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Some days even hardy dogs need a little extra warmth. Use our soft fleece coat alone or as a base layer under a second coat on extra-frigid days. Its VELCRO® Brand closure along with surcingle and chest closure offers easy on/off and adjustability.

Favorite Features

  • Machine washable
  • Shrink resistant

Imported

Click here to see this item embroidered.

Sizing It Up

Small (13")
Medium (15")
Large (18")
X-Large (21")
XX-Large (24")
XXX-Large (27")

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat is rated 4.7328 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful fleece jacket! This fleece jacket is great! It is just warm enough, and when it is really cold, I layer it under my dogs heavier coat that has leg straps. He stays toasty warm during long days at the barn!
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very soft It was too small for my dog and it did slip a bit.
    Date published: 2016-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm coat Very well made coat , fits my golden retrever great
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm & toasty! So glad to have this warm fleece for chilly Minnesota nights and as a liner under a turnout sheet. Amy loves her warm fleece!
    Date published: 2015-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from PLUSH QUALITY! Was pleasantly surprised by the thick, soft fleece and details of this dog blanket. For the first time actually had an item monogrammed, and the SmartPak customer service representative recommended the perfect Color! I did have to return the coat for one size larger. As usual I received wonderful customer service with the exchange, even though it was a monogrammed item. That's why I shop with SmartPak! This dog coat is exceptional quality!
    Date published: 2015-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks Great! My dog is only 35 pounds but is long and lean. The XL fits him pretty well. It is perfect in length, but a little loose around his chest and waist. It does fit well enough that it doesn't move around too much when he is moving around. The color and quality is excellent.
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and keeps my pup cozy! Bought this for my lab mix who is a total baby when it comes to the cold! Anything below 50 F gets her shivering. This is a good thick coat and a steal at this price! I also bought the waterproof thinsulate jacket, layered together they are extra warm and also waterproof.My one issue is the fit, but I've gotten used to having problems with fitting since my girl is deep chested. We bought an XL, she's 55 lbs and 21 inches neck to tail, with a 25 inch girth. It's just a tad short of reaching her tail, and the strap around her barrel is placed awkwardly and fits loose even at the tightest setting so I'll need to trim the excess. Ideally I like coats a little long so they have full coverage around the rump, but I think the next size up would be too big for her frame. Although the fit could be better, she seems to love this jacket and has been wearing it almost nonstop- she even slept in it one night! It wraps nicely against her body and keeps her warm and cozy.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and quality! Purchased 3 with the dogs names on them and my farm logo. So please with the craftsmanship and quality. Tito, Vera and Vader thank you !
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking ciar Not only great looking on my two schnauzers but well made as well. Nice combination, but when you add great customer service and fast delivery it's a perfect package. Saw it originally on a small puppy near Union Square and it looked so nice I stopped the owner to ask where she bought it. I have three and both the dogs love them.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog coat! I got this for my dog to go to the barn with me. I use it as an underlayer under one that's more like a turnout. Fits her nicely. Keeps her nice and warm. Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket This is a great fleece blanket for my dog who has Cushings and his hair isn't growing like it used to. It's not water proof or anything but it's thick enough that I can put him out to go to the bathroom when it's snowing and the snow doesn't soak through. My dog is a short, stout Sheltie (25 lbs.) and the medium fits perfectly!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my corgi Such a cute little blanket. Nice for a little extra warmth!
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Fits my 60lb lab mix perfectly. She measures 24" exactly from collar to tail and the Xxl fits just right. The two straps keep it snug on her and the fleece keeps her warm. Even when the temps were in the single digits she was ready to go for a good walk. The hunter and burgundy looks great with her chocolate brown coloring.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Dog Coat - perfect with the Thinsulate Coat The Fleece Dog Coat is great for those colder days, it can also be used in conjunction with a Thinsulate Dog Coat for even more warmth. Well made!!
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat Fits and looks great. My sweet smushy faced dogue de bordeaux Caleb has lymphoma and needs a little help dealing with the winds here on cape cod. He hated it at first but likes it now.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I purchased this medium fleece coat for our 15 inch beagle. The fit was great and the material is of high quality. Our Daisy is happy and warm during the cold season.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hammy's Happy My Mom's Shih Tzu CAN'T get this one off my Jack Russell!!
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best dog coat ever! I bought this coat for my Doberman last year and loved it. It fit well, looked incredibly smart and kept him warm. So, this year I bought another one for my smaller dog. He had a fleece coat, but it was very "cute" and made him look like a "little blue sheep" (his vet's words). I wanted a warm coat that made him look dashing and handsome, as he knows he is. These coats are well made and beautiful. Go for it!
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! My 12 year old Aussie already owned the Thinsulate Dog Coat for rain when we moved to Scotland. Now we live in southwestern Montana. I had shaved him for the hot summer & his coat hasn't grown back in yet. It's already winter here, so he needs extra warmth. He wears the Thinsulate coat on snowy days and I recently bought the Fleece Dog Coat for cold, dry days. He wears both when it is below zero & snowing, as it was -25F below zero just the other day. Both are terrific products!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually fits! I bought this for my dog who is part pit-bull. In the past I have had a hard time finding coats that fit because he has a deep chest. However this one fit great. Looks like the quality is good and it should be plenty warm. Can't say about the durability yet, to early in the fall still.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for oddly shaped pets I bought this coat for my pug who has a very broad chest for his overall size. All coats and sweaters would either be too tight in the chest or too long. The straps are very adjustable and is made of quality material. I love the customization which was also high quality. I would recommend this to anyone - my dog stays warm with unrestricted movement.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak fleece dog coat This coat is excellent for cold weather. It's soft and keeps the heat inside. The closures keep the coat fitting right on the dogs body. I'm so happy I got this coat in time for cold weather.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Bought it a month ago holding up great!! Our dog stayed warm during the"polar vortex"!!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality I had to send this back due to it didn't fit my dog (way too big) but it was my mistake. Seemed to be a nice quality blanket and very soft! Wish it had fit!!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft, comfortable and warm and Cozy!!! We bought these for our 3 Jack Russell Terriers and they absolutely Love them they are soft and comfortable to them!!!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Coat With Horse Blanket Quality I bought a SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat for my daughter"s rescued pit bull puppy, almost 1 year old. I had no idea if he would tolerate wearing a coat since he had never had one on before. I measured him and ordered an XXL in hunter green with red trim. He is thin- skinned and cold even in the house during our PA winter. Well, it was easy to put on and adjust with the velcro, and he has not tried to chew or remove it, even if left unattended. I think he likes it, and he really does look handsome in it. Sort of like a tiny pony! I think the quality is good and the service at SmartPak is always excellent so I did not hesitate to order it from them. In fact, I have ordered the SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat for him for Christmas. This can go over it on really cold and/or wet days.  I do highly recommend the SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat based on our experience. experience.
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and comfortable I have purchased a number of dog coats from Smart Pak and really like them. This one is a good one for when it is cold but not wet outside.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome product awesome price bought this for our short haired dog to wear inside as our house is cool. we recieved the product and were very happy with the quality of the fleece. our dog loves it, and he stays warm even when he goes outside for his 10 -20 bathroom/ play break. And the price you cant beat it's a great product. I w[ill for sure order more. thank you for a great product at a great price.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy, perfect fit for the active winter dog!! I never write reviews but am so pleased with this coat for my German Shorthaired Pointer. She LOVES it and typically tries to destroy any coat I put on her. The weather in Northern Michigan during the winter can be brutal and very cold but she is as cozy and active as ever. Fits great, washes easily and she runs like the wind with it on. It moves with her and fits perfectly. She is on the small side for a GSP and the size XL was just right. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect coat for a barn dog Looks great, works well on rainy days, so durable!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    • 2016-02-10T14:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_125
    • loc_en_US, sid_1971, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.