Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17378
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)

Don't forget the matching SmartPak Deluxe Dog Blanket for your canine friend!

Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1200
  • Fabric: Rip-stop
  • Fill: 220g, 360g
  • Closure Style: Quick-clip double buckle

Specifications

Denier 1200
Fabric Rip-stop
Fill 220g, 360g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Gussets Yes
Closure Style Quick-clip double buckle
Neck Style High neck
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements.
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate in protection! The Stretchies Hood reduces ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate in protection! The Stretchies Hood reduces rubbing on the shoulders, protects the coat from sun bleaching, helps to reduce hair growth, and polishes the coats. Fully adjustable Stretchies Hood has an easy-to-fasten zipper closure. Elastic and center yoke ...
    Why We Love This The Weatherbeeta 420D Fleece ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Weatherbeeta 420D Fleece Lined Windbreaker is the perfect coat to keep your dog comfortable on those cool and breezy days! This jacket features a warm boa fleece lining that's sure to keep them cozy. Easily ...
    Why We Love This The Weatherbeeta 1200D Parka ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Weatherbeeta 1200D Parka Dog Coat Provides ultimate durability with a waterproof, breathable and strong 1200D triple weave outer shell. With 220g of polyfill this blanket is guaranteed to keep your dog toasty all winter long. ...
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ...
    Description:
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ingredients to prevent horses from chewing on wraps, blankets, wood, manes and tails, and more. There's one word to describe it: Effective! This is because RapLast works in three ways; by sight, ...
    "If you like the Newmarket fleece you are ...
    Description:
    "If you like the Newmarket fleece you are going to love the Newmarket Throw. Horseware’s Rambo Newmarket Throw is soft, comfortable and warm. Wrap up in this hi-tech, eye catching double-bonded fleece. Perfect for lounging around in comfort or keep ...
    "An item for all seasons, this Irish knit ...
    Description:
    "An item for all seasons, this Irish knit is perfect for cooling out your horse after a workout or bath, as a blanket liner in winter, or even a fly sheet in the summer. 50% cotton; 50% polyester. Made in ...
    "The Rambo Newmarket Fleece Quarter Sheet is a ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Newmarket Fleece Quarter Sheet is a classical addition to your must have winter riding gear! Double layer fleece construction provides durability and wicks moisture away from your horse's body so your horse can warm up effectively. Imported"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 287.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps them warm & dry I bought this because it comes with a 10 year warranty, and I already know that my 16.1 and 16.3 hand geldings both wear a 78 in all SmartPak blankets as well as other brands. This is a beautiful blanket and seems to stay clean even after a muddy roll. It's very nicely made with quality buckles, snaps, and leg straps. There's even a little name tag. It's proven to be very waterproof even during a monsoon. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2017-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice turnout Very nice and well made turnout. It fits well, and washes great.
    Date published: 2017-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is my second SmartPak high neck turnout blanket. Last year I purchased a medium weight. I'm glad I bought the heavyweight last month. It fits my 17 hh OTTB perfectly. I prefer the buckle front over the velcro. All the hardware fastens easily. He's only needed the heavyweight a couple of days so far and it keeps him toasty and dry. I expect it will be as durable as the medium weight.Being able to use my SmartCash was a bonus!
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Several of my barn mates have SmartPak brand blankets and they all like them for the durability, weatherproofness, and longevity of wear. So when I saw this one on a limited supersale, I ordered it. So far, its worn well and kept my gelding dry and cozy. I'll likely purchase more of these when on sale. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic blanket for my old boy! I got this on the super pre-Christmas sale for my older QH and I love it. The high neck seems to be more comfortable for him and the medium weight is plenty warm for Texas winter. All the hooks and buckles seem to be of good quality and easy to use.
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect High quality beautifully made. Fits myNSH great. Will be buying more soon.
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! I bought this as a back-up medium weight blanket for my TB gelding. When I first tried it on him it seemed a bit tight through his shoulders but for whatever reason, after he wore it once it seems to fit just fine. I like the added protection of the high neck and the blanket seems to be sturdy.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weather worthy blanket Just look at this beautiful blanket for negative temps .
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits beautifully, no gaps or rubs anywhere! I ordered these for all 3 of my horses, and they fit all of them really well, in spite of their differing builds. I ordered the medium weight for snowy-weather turnout, and they come in from outside dry under their coats, with no dampness at the neck and shoulder. Their manes stay nice with no rubs or pulling. The leg straps are just right in position too! The coats come out of the washer and dryer like new. ( I use the special soap recommended just for horse blankets) It would be great if the color line could be expanded to include a red or burgundy, but that being said, I really like all three of the colors on my horses!
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible Neck Design I ordered this for my 15.3 mare, she's a slim built with a long body. The lower portion of the blanket is quite nice, but the neck portion was a terrible design. The neck portion was much too tight for the size of the blanket. When your horse has its head at all above its withers or low down, the neck piece is incredibly tight and doesnt stay well with the body or the horse. There was nothing worng with the actual blanket weight or material, just a flawed design.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought this for my Standardbred mare. It has a great fit and is a quality blanket.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits beautifully
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Monogram thread color is way off the trim. The blanket is well made for the low price. I had them monogrammed, I monogram everything! The burgundy trim and the burgundy thread of the monogram are way off in color. The monogram is red, not even burgundy. The font is very small on the monogram. Nice color for Christmas, but not what I was hoping for past the holiday.. The blanket is not made for a tall horse. The shoulder room is a little snug. The neck is high and cozy, the lining is nice. They are physically heavy to place on a tall horse in comparison to other brands "heavy" blankets .They are warm. They stay in place. Not totally disappointed in this product. Was hoping for a bit more length on the sides. Overall a nice blanket for the price. Don't waste extra money on a monogram.
    Date published: 2016-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy weight Keeps my horse warm and happy in the brutal winter temperatures here (24/7 turnout.) Fits good except it is a little snug around the shoulders but not too bad. Otherwise it would be 5 stars. Excellent quality for the price!
    Date published: 2016-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality and fit I have an Icelandic, Arabian cross 13.2 pony, he has a solid build with a short, thick neck. This sheet is a great fit for him, I only use it to keep help keep him dry during the cold rain and heavy snow storms, it is water proof and works great. I am very pleased and plan to purchase this sheet for my other horses in the future.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made and good value I bought this for a high withered horse that can be tricky to fit. The high neck keeps the blanket in place. Good quality and perfect weight for most winter days.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sheet wasn't waterproof!!!!! I bought the sheet in mid-November and my horse was wet underneath after one rain storm. Another horse at the barn had the same sheet on for the first time as well and his sheet soaked through too. We tested again on a dry day with a hose and they definitely leak. Both sheets have been returned.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blamket I bought this for in between weather and wanted the high neck to keep pressure of my horse's withers and for extra warmth. I now have all 3 weights and love them all! They fit well and wash and dry well, too. Now my horse stays warm and dry in all kinds of weather.
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I bought this about a month ago for my horse after getting body clipped. It's the perfect weight (bought the 220 fill) for early winter days. Gives my mare plenty of protection with out making her too warm!
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice turnout This blanket appears to be a good quality and is true to size. I like the snap closures on the chest which are still adjustable. I can't give a better rating yet, as I just bought it, and haven't had time to see how it will hold up to daily turnout.
    Date published: 2016-11-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Super disappointed in this high neck blanket, turns out it is not waterproof! my mare was soaking wet yesterday when I used it and it was the first rain of the season. Thankfully smartpak was kind enough to allow me to return for a refund, they mentioned it should be waterproof.
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The old one is great. The new one, not so much. I have a hand-me-down version of this blanket and it is still a perfect sheet and has kept my 1st horse dry all winter long. I recently bought a matching blanket for my 2nd horse and the blanket has soaked through all the way each time it has rained this winter. I pulled off both blankets today, I had one dry horse and one very wet horse.
    Date published: 2016-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality looks great!! I bought this blanket several months ago and it fits my pony perfectly definatley very true to size and is very high quality!
    Date published: 2016-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice sheet. Happy with the quality. I will be buying a blanket of the same soon.
    Date published: 2016-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality! I am impressed by the good quality of this blanket. It has met or exceeded my expectations and fits the horse well.
    Date published: 2016-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT turnout! LOVE this blanket. Fits extremely well, I would say true to size. The medium fill is perfect for our Nashville fall/winter nights. Fits great, provides relief of withers, and sturdy!
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful color and nice quality. Way to large. I am wondering it this brand ran big? It was hanging on my horse so I returned it for a size down.
    Date published: 2016-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket My horses are turned out 100% of time. This blanket is indestructible -- keeps them warm and dry. I love it.
    Date published: 2016-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof! I purchased two of these blankets for my 14.2hh pony who is out on pasture 24/7 in rainy, coastal northern California. They are holding up beautifully after 2 months of use and are definitely waterproof, being tested in 11 inches of rain falling the first month I used these! These blankets fit my budget and I don't have a single regret purchasing them.
    Date published: 2016-11-05
    • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_17
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_273
    • loc_en_US, sid_7378, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders