Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17378
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)

Don't forget the matching SmartPak Deluxe Dog Blanket for your canine friend!

Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1200
  • Fabric: Rip-stop
  • Fill: 220g, 360g
  • Closure Style: Quick-clip double buckle

Specifications

Denier 1200
Fabric Rip-stop
Fill 220g, 360g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Gussets Yes
Closure Style Quick-clip double buckle
Neck Style High neck
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements.
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "The Shires StormCheeta High Neck Turnout Blanket Made ...
    Description:
    "The Shires StormCheeta High Neck Turnout Blanket Made Exclusively for SmartPak is a heavy duty blanket made from ShireTex® 2000 denier ballistic nylon that is both waterproof and breathable. ShireTex® advanced fabric technology coats the outer blanket with a specially ...
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand ...
    Description:
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
    "The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Ultra Cozi Turnout Blanket combines ...
    Description:
    "The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Ultra Cozi Turnout Blanket combines everything you would want in a durable turnout blanket, comfort, fit, and technology! This turnout is made from extremely strong 1680 denier ballistic nylon outer shell with Teflon coating that is both ...
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
    "The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Premier Free Detach-A-Neck Turnout Blanket ...
    Description:
    "The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Premier Free Detach-A-Neck Turnout Blanket combines everything you would want in a durable turnout blanket, comfort, fit, and technology! This turnout is made from super strong and durable 1200 denier triple weave outer shell with repel shell ...
    "The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! ...
    Description:
    "The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! The Rambo Original Turnout with Leg Arches features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 299.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality for a great price I'm so so happy with this blanket. It fits my boy great. It has been used in rain and freezing temps in the short while I've owned it. No matter the weather my boy has been warm and dry.
    Date published: 2017-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit and great customer service I ordered a size too large they exchanged them and got the right siZe out to me quickly. Fits great and good quality
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super value, great quality I bought two of these blankets when they were on sale during Christmas. I'm really glad I did. The blankets have all the features I look for in blankets- shoulder gussets, clip front, mid/high neck, quality hardware and at least 1200D. So far the blanket has held up well, but the horse I have them on is pretty gentle with his stuff. Size wise I feel like the fit is similar to Schneiders. Not too narrow, but probably wouldn't fit something with a huge shoulder (or size up if you do have a huge shouldered beast). I have an 81 on a slender-ish 16.3 WB and its just a tiny bit large lengthwise, but fits well in the front. Drop of the blanket is also the perfect length.
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blanket, slightly snug in the shoulder. For reference - I bought a 69 for my wide 14hh Haflinger mare, who typically wears a 69 in Rambo & Weatherbeeta.I bought this blanket in heavy weight during a great sale around Christmas for my mare who had just moved to Oklahoma from Florida, it is a well-made, comparable to Weatherbeeta turnout. Fits far more "tailored" than a Weatherbeeta, and because of that, it's a bit tight around my girl's shoulders.I needed it ASAP for her, and since she only needs it a few times a winter, I figure she will be fine - otherwise I probably would have went up to the 72.Looks nice, she stayed warm in negative temps w/blowing wind and snow, and my rowdy 17hh TB gelding wasn't able to put a hole in it!She was also able to run, play, and roll comfortably in it (I assume, anyway). =)(If you do NOT use Rambo or Weatherbeeta blankets, they tend to run large...I probably should have known to order UP a size, but based on so many reviewers saying these ran big, I stuck with the 69.)
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket all around This is the second one of these blankets I have purchased. The quality is excellent, easy to put on and take off. It fits my paint very well. I love the high neck feature!
    Date published: 2017-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Full Turnout in Northern Climates! I purchased this a month ago for my quarter horse mare who is fully turned out with a herd of horses. She's had it on for days at a time -- and I've seen no pressure points nor places on her body where the blanket might have rubbed. I've actually never had a horse in full turnout before (especially in winter) and I was nervous at first. But the blanket helps me know she's able to handle the blustery days and nights in our mountain environment.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This is a great high neck blanket. It does run big though! Bought for a 15hh Mustang and it was huge, fits my 16.1hh Azteca PERFECTLY. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2017-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dry and warm! I love my sheet! I put different liners under it for different seasons and get three seasons each year. Keeps the horses much warmer and heavy rain doesn't go down their shoulders.
    Date published: 2017-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blanket seems durable and well made. It is useful for most all winter temperatures.
    Date published: 2017-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Blanket I bought this blanket in both a medium and heavy while they were on sale and am so glad I did. They are super nice blankets - fit well, look nice and stay in place. I cannot speak completely as to durability as I have only had them for about two months, but so far so good. Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket Love this blanket. It's been cold (by CA standards) and this blanket keeps my boy warm and toasty. Well made, fits great, easy fastening, etc. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps them warm & dry I bought this because it comes with a 10 year warranty, and I already know that my 16.1 and 16.3 hand geldings both wear a 78 in all SmartPak blankets as well as other brands. This is a beautiful blanket and seems to stay clean even after a muddy roll. It's very nicely made with quality buckles, snaps, and leg straps. There's even a little name tag. It's proven to be very waterproof even during a monsoon. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2017-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice turnout Very nice and well made turnout. It fits well, and washes great.
    Date published: 2017-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is my second SmartPak high neck turnout blanket. Last year I purchased a medium weight. I'm glad I bought the heavyweight last month. It fits my 17 hh OTTB perfectly. I prefer the buckle front over the velcro. All the hardware fastens easily. He's only needed the heavyweight a couple of days so far and it keeps him toasty and dry. I expect it will be as durable as the medium weight.Being able to use my SmartCash was a bonus!
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Several of my barn mates have SmartPak brand blankets and they all like them for the durability, weatherproofness, and longevity of wear. So when I saw this one on a limited supersale, I ordered it. So far, its worn well and kept my gelding dry and cozy. I'll likely purchase more of these when on sale. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic blanket for my old boy! I got this on the super pre-Christmas sale for my older QH and I love it. The high neck seems to be more comfortable for him and the medium weight is plenty warm for Texas winter. All the hooks and buckles seem to be of good quality and easy to use.
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect High quality beautifully made. Fits myNSH great. Will be buying more soon.
    Date published: 2017-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! I bought this as a back-up medium weight blanket for my TB gelding. When I first tried it on him it seemed a bit tight through his shoulders but for whatever reason, after he wore it once it seems to fit just fine. I like the added protection of the high neck and the blanket seems to be sturdy.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weather worthy blanket Just look at this beautiful blanket for negative temps .
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits beautifully, no gaps or rubs anywhere! I ordered these for all 3 of my horses, and they fit all of them really well, in spite of their differing builds. I ordered the medium weight for snowy-weather turnout, and they come in from outside dry under their coats, with no dampness at the neck and shoulder. Their manes stay nice with no rubs or pulling. The leg straps are just right in position too! The coats come out of the washer and dryer like new. ( I use the special soap recommended just for horse blankets) It would be great if the color line could be expanded to include a red or burgundy, but that being said, I really like all three of the colors on my horses!
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible Neck Design I ordered this for my 15.3 mare, she's a slim built with a long body. The lower portion of the blanket is quite nice, but the neck portion was a terrible design. The neck portion was much too tight for the size of the blanket. When your horse has its head at all above its withers or low down, the neck piece is incredibly tight and doesnt stay well with the body or the horse. There was nothing worng with the actual blanket weight or material, just a flawed design.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought this for my Standardbred mare. It has a great fit and is a quality blanket.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits beautifully
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Monogram thread color is way off the trim. The blanket is well made for the low price. I had them monogrammed, I monogram everything! The burgundy trim and the burgundy thread of the monogram are way off in color. The monogram is red, not even burgundy. The font is very small on the monogram. Nice color for Christmas, but not what I was hoping for past the holiday.. The blanket is not made for a tall horse. The shoulder room is a little snug. The neck is high and cozy, the lining is nice. They are physically heavy to place on a tall horse in comparison to other brands "heavy" blankets .They are warm. They stay in place. Not totally disappointed in this product. Was hoping for a bit more length on the sides. Overall a nice blanket for the price. Don't waste extra money on a monogram.
    Date published: 2016-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy weight Keeps my horse warm and happy in the brutal winter temperatures here (24/7 turnout.) Fits good except it is a little snug around the shoulders but not too bad. Otherwise it would be 5 stars. Excellent quality for the price!
    Date published: 2016-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality and fit I have an Icelandic, Arabian cross 13.2 pony, he has a solid build with a short, thick neck. This sheet is a great fit for him, I only use it to keep help keep him dry during the cold rain and heavy snow storms, it is water proof and works great. I am very pleased and plan to purchase this sheet for my other horses in the future.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made and good value I bought this for a high withered horse that can be tricky to fit. The high neck keeps the blanket in place. Good quality and perfect weight for most winter days.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sheet wasn't waterproof!!!!! I bought the sheet in mid-November and my horse was wet underneath after one rain storm. Another horse at the barn had the same sheet on for the first time as well and his sheet soaked through too. We tested again on a dry day with a hose and they definitely leak. Both sheets have been returned.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_16
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_285
    • loc_en_US, sid_7378, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders