Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Deluxe Fly Sheet w/ No-Fly Zone™

SmartPak
- Item #21107
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
It is the ultimate armor to protect your horse from the pests of summer! Lightweight mesh sheet with oversized tail flap and removable neck rug provides a layer of physical protection from poll to tail to keep bugs off your horse.

Favorite Features

  • Fabric infused with No-Fly Zone™, an odorless, EPA- registered insect-repellent, provides a layer of chemical protection to keep the bugs at bay at lasts at least 70 washings
  • UV protection also protects your horse from the 95% of damaging UV rays from the summer sun in addition to the bugs
  • Surcingle front closures with double backed VELCRO® brand fastener prevents the front from gapping open
  • Two belly surcingles keep blanket in place
  • Tail cord prevents tail flap from blowing and shifting
Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Fly Sheet w/ No-Fly Zone™ is rated 4.06 out of 5 by 50.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice fly sheet Bought this (because of repellent characteristics) for one horse that is sensitive to flies and the Mio for my other horse. Both nice but this one seems like a little better quality even if the repellant might away after a few washings. It is long under belly so I had to knot the belly surcingles, but I like the neck and chest closures. They have the added advantage of closing completely so velcro won't snag material during wash. All fly sheets are rather delicate in order to be cool, but so far so good during all day turnouts! Seems to stay in place pretty well, even on my rambunctious youngster!
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, Breathable, and True To Size I have only had this product for a month but so far it's worked great. The sizing is accurate for my warmblood. It has held up even though my guy is turned out in a playful herd. I like how the front closure has both velcro and metal clasps. Persoanlly, I don't like the blue color but after a day the thing turns brownish/grey anyways from getting dirty.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap Quality-Expensive Price I purchased these "deluxe" fly sheets for my horses. They lasted exactly one day! One roll on the the ground and they ripped right in half. I was sooooo surprised how cheaply they were made. I buy SmartPak products all the time and I am usually very pleased..but this one is a NO GO!
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not exactly "no fly zone" but OK My 32 year old POA mare has severe allergies to fly bites so I thought that I would give this sheet a try. The "No Fly Zone" grabbed my attention, but it should say "Less Fly Zone". In her old sheet, a Wearhabeeta Bug Buster, she would have maybe 10 or so flies sitting on her..with the No Fly Zone she has maybe half that number so yes it reduces the number if flies crawling on her back, but not sure it was worth $75 more than her Bug Buster. I still have to constantly spray her belly and legs to keep the flies away from her. So far so good on durability. ..having said that, she is not generally hard on sheets. I do wish it had leg straps, but even without them it stays fairly in place.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly sheet for my mare! This is the second summer with my SmartPak Deluxe Fly sheet and I will never buy a different fly sheet. It has a couple of small holes on the hindquarter area but the holes have not gotten any bigger, even with daily wear and tear. My Paint/TB cross mare seems to be a target for gigantic biting horseflies and deer flies. This sheet protects her from those awful biting flies as well as nuisance flies on her body and neck. I love the soft, sheer fabric as opposed to other hard, scratchy mesh sheets that rub her flesh raw at the top point of her hips. The best part is how easy it is to clean! I just stick in our front load washer and it comes out almost 100% clean...and it air dries very quickly. I am willing to give up some durability for a sheet that is lightweight, soft and comfortable for my girl.
    Date published: 2015-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit great, but both surcingle straps ripped off after the 4th wear. I am now using an old fly sheet (I've had for 2 years, and has never needed repairs) while I am waiting to see if this one is repairable. It had great coverage and kept my horse cool and comfortable for the few days he was able to wear it, but the fact that it is lightweight could be why it tore so easily.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice sheet Nice, well made fly sheet. Though its durability has not really been put to the test yet. Neck runs large in depth, but overall fit of sheet is true to size.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best! I own many fly sheets--never could find "the one" that net my needs until this one. Very happy with this one and would recommend it to my friends.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this fly sheet! It WORKS! And it is durable and doesn't rip easy. My pasture is full of mesquite bushes with thorns (in AZ) and he walks through them daily and so far, after more than a month, there is not one rip or snag in this sheet. I think it runs a little big, but I like them bigger so they don't rub. I bought him the zebra one because I thought it would be lighter weight in our heat, but after only an hour, he was more sweaty and the flies were after him. So I am a huge fan of this fly sheet. Bravo, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Effective I have only been using this for about 2 weeks, but I can already tell that it's great. The flies definitely stay away. They do still get at her lower legs (a bit far from the sheet), but anywhere near the sheet they leave her alone. She tends to be nice to her blankets, but even living with 2 other horses, there is no indication of rips or tears. She is a true 81, and the blanket it a bit big, but not overly so. I would recommend it for the price for sure!
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage I bought this about a month ago. It is great for coverage against sunburn and flies. It is attractive. However, do not turn your horse out with a known blanket-ripper with this on. I have had to make one minor repair to the mesh already.
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Sheets with Hood Just tried these out on my boys. The temps here in SC are in the 90's and the sheets are keep the boys a bit warm, they are sweating at the chest and flanks. I'm going to try using them without the hoods to see if that makes any difference. I'm happy with the quality of the sheets they do seem rugged and did keep the flys off their backs and necks. I found one sheet ran large - the 81", it was purchased for a horse that wears an 82" Rambo. However the 84" fit my other guy just right and he's an 84" in his blanket.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Features I have just started using this fly sheet and he stays cooler than with other fly sheets. He has pasture by himself and has been turned out 24/7 two days in a row--no tears only dirt. The neck cover is large for him and gaps. He does have a rub spot on his left chest. Not sure what is causing this since I just started using sheet. So far I am pleased but need to find out about rub since all his hair is gone in that spot. The insect guard seems to be working.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs a different chest closure design I love this Fly Sheet, however the chest velcro closure needs to be redesigned. The sheet fit great on my well muscled TB, but the velcro chest closure would open as the horse put his head down to graze---then the rough velcro patch rubbed his chest raw. I washed and returned this Fly Sheet after speaking to SmartPak customer service. They were very helpful w/ this return after being used three times.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit and features Using this in Florida where my bay gelding turns yellow as the sun gets hotter. Nice coverage, and he keeps it on even when rolling.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight definitely repels flys and is lightwieght. I would like other colors
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice soft fabric Fits nicely and will protect him from UV fading and annoying flies
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and Bug Free I have used other Fly Product Treated sheets in the past and like them. This is my first SmartPak treated fly sheet. Love the fabric, and it runs true to size. I did make a home made modification to the tail flap, lining it with the same type material that lines the shoulders and neck cover. I also moved the elastic band in the tail flap to it's newly lined spot. This home made modification keeps the tail hairs from sticking in the mesh fabric and breaking off. It is the only modification I would love to see SmartPak incorporate in their wonderful product.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit & quality I bought this a little over a month ago. The fit is really good for my WB mare. She is usually tough on her flysheets & puts holes in them within a week. So far this one doesn't have any holes in it & she seems to like wearing it. I am planning on purchasing more for my other horses. The size seems to run true, other than the surcingle's are really long & hard to get short enough for a snug fit under her belly.
    Date published: 2015-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly relief I bought this about a month ago for my OTTB and he is happy to wear this out during the day when the flys are biting. The size is a bit snug around his shoulders but so far so good, he's 17.2i with high withers and big shoulders and wears 84 size. Adjustable chest would be nice for him.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps the gnats off but... I have mixed emotions about this fly-sheet. Most importantly, it works! And boy, does it work well! I bought it with the hopes that it would keep the gnats (Culicoides) off of my mare, even though it isn't advertised to do so. But she has had no welts on her body since starting to use this fly sheet 6 weeks ago!However, I have three issues with this fly-sheet. One is durability. Within the first 2 weeks, she ripped a giant hole in the side and ripped off one of the buckles. However, SmartPak was awesome in dealing with me on this problem. Since the replacement, it has held up better, but still has a small rip in it that was made within the first couple of weeks.Another issue seems to be a problem across the board with fly sheets. I wish the neckpiece was longer and fit a little tighter. I find that when my mare puts her head down to graze, it leaves about 12" of her neck uncovered. This part of her body is still covered with welts since she is not receiving protection from the fly-sheet. If the neck were a bit longer it would be perfect. (My mare is a fairly average horse at 16.2hh)The last issue is that I wish it had a belly cover like some sheets do.Overall, I am thrilled with this flysheet. It has served its purpose fantastically. It has outperformed a more expensive micro mesh fly sheet. My mare doesn't come in sweaty after being out all night in the Florida heat, unlike the micro mesh sheeted horse. This fly sheet has a few issues, but nothing is perfect.Would definitely recommend and would definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smart Park deluse fly w/fly control I have been using this for about 6 weeks. It is large, but does protect horse very well. I wish it had a shoulder gusset. I am getting some rubbing. Some tears from others bitting at horses hip. I am now fixing them.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good coverage and durability My APHA gelding is photosensitive, so I chose this fly sheet based on reviews and its 95% UV rating (well, and the fact that it's significantly cheaper than the Rambo). I am glad I took a chance on it. I still bring my horse in on sunny days but I don't feel like I need to rush out before sunrise to get him, and it doesn't seem to affect him if he's out longer than anticipated in sun. The neck cover stays up pretty well. I wish it had a way to attach to a crownpiece or fly mask to help keep him fully covered, but there are really only a few inches uncovered, and his mane helps there too. He got 2 small tears in the neck cover early on from a grumpy pasture-mate's teeth, but I sewed those shut and they've been fine. There are teeth marks on other parts of it now but no more tears, which is much better durability than I expected from any fly sheet. Of course I hope to get multiple seasons out of it, but time will tell.As a side benefit, he seemed so much cooler and more relaxed than the others that I have purchased more fly sheets, and my horses are definitely spending more time out grazing instead of hiding in their sheds from sun and bugs.
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but not durable I bought this blanket for my 3 year old warmblood cross filly. While she is playful she does not go out with other playful horses and she does not destroy her blankets. After using this everyday for 2 weeks I came out and it had been shredded into 6 pieces. I am very disappointed by the durability of this blanket. The fit was great! It helped to keep my horse from getting sunburned and kept the flies off. Unfortunately it just isn't tough. Thanks the great customer care I was able to exchange it for a Rambo.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Durable for such a Light Fly Sheet! I got this for my two geldings a few weeks ago, and I am so glad that I did! When I first pulled the sheets out, I was a little disappointed at how thin they seemed. With my destructive Morgan gelding, I thought that it wouldn't last through the day.... But three weeks of continuous use later, and it doesn't even have a rip! It is surprisingly durable for such a lightweight sheet. And I am so glad that it's lightweight, because with this sudden heat wave we've had in MD, my boys are suffering from both the heat and the bugs!! But even in the 90 degree weather I was able to leave the sheets on, and my one gelding who was smart and slept under his fan all day was fine, but my other guy who stayed out in the sunshine stubbornly trying to eat grass only got a little sweaty. So not too bad!The only thing I didn't like about this sheet was that you aren't able to choose the size of the neck cover. My tb/belgian cross gelding needed an 82" sheet because he's so long, but he drowns in the neck cover and it struggles to stay up. But he is a difficult horse to fit for anything anyways.... But other than that, this is an excellent sheet!!!
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It hasn't ripped yet and he hasn't gotten it off! I have the Fly Sheet Destructor of all time. In desperation I ordered this sheet mainly because of the No Fly Zone coating. He's super sensitive to flies and they are extremely pesky this year due to the wet ground conditions. I thought he needed all the help he could get. I orderd the 84 for a 17 hand TB gelding. It's a tad large on him but the good thing is it hangs correctly, even a bit big. It drapes well and I think that adds to the fly-wisking ability. The neck cover is a bit large but again, it doesn't twist or sag, it hangs correctly. I put this on Destructor and he didn't have it on 20 seconds before going right out and rolling - hard - and sure enough, the Deluxe Sheet stayed right in place when he got up. The lack of a belly piece, and the slightly large fitting is the only reason I've given it four stars instead of five and truly would have given it 4.5 if you could. I think this sheet will hold up, it's made well, I like the color and the weight of the fabric, the flys-away feature with the repellent coating WORKS, and so far Destructor has not been able to even snag it. Thumbs up.
    Date published: 2014-06-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Without leg straps, lasted only one day. I bought this fly sheet because it is a SmartPak product and most of the time, anything with the SmartPak name is good. I was leary, though, about the fact that it did not have leg straps (nor any place to where to hook leg straps). As I assummed, the horse destroyed rear left side of the blanket within one day, probably when she laydown and then stepped on the blanket when she got up. It's just not good enough to have an "under the tail" piece of rope to hold an outdoor blanket on a horse that's, well, OUTDOORS and where it will laydown and roll. I should have known better.The fly sheet, itself, is very well made, and is soft and fit my horse very nicely. If only used in a controlled area, and not where a horse will roll....it would be very nice.
    Date published: 2014-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Fly Sheet! I bought this fly sheet because my mare has horrible reactions to flys - she gets horrible hives all over! First off, this fly sheet is of great quality. I love the neck piece, the fact that the sheet goes down pretty far on her legs, and as an added bonus, I absolutely love the tail flap! My mare hasn't had any hives since using this fly sheet, and she hasn't bleached out one bit. The only thing that I do not like about the sheet, is that is stains pretty easily. Other than that, it is absolutely wonderful! I also had the surcingle monogrammed since I am at a boarding facility - the monogram turned out beautifully!
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped in 2 days! I put this on my horse just a few days ago and he has already ripped this fly sheet in half and he isn't that tough on his blankets. I gave this two stars only because before it ripped it was keeping the flies away and it even kept ticks away. In my opinion spend the money on a better quality blanket.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable Sheet was destroyed by horse in less than 24 hours if first time it was on. My horse is not a blanket shredder.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    • 2015-08-29T01:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_11107, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.