Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Classic Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17374
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

You're sure to love this blanket for its classic styling and durable manufacturing at a price that can't be beat!

Favorite Features 

  • Waterproof and breathable 600 denier outer shell is durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected
  • Nylon lining with the choice of three different weights - Lite (no fill), Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g) so you can keep your horse warm in any weather 
  • Two buckles for simple front closure and
  • Stainless steel low cross surcingles keep the blanket in place
  • Elastic leg straps ensure comfort and flexibility  
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain and also helps the blanket stay in place 
  • Fleece wither protection helps ward off blanket rubs

Imported.

Please note:  We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Turnout Blanket is rated 4.624 out of 5 by 125.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Morgan well. Needed a light weight waterproof sheet for my stock morgan and found this sheet fit the bill at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from 600 denier probably not enough The blanket looks and fits great, but it ripped within 10 wears. The horse is new to me, so I don't know if he plays rough and he is at fault or if 600 denier just isn't enough for a turnout on an average horse.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fitting blanket! Blanket fits great! Size 69 for 14.1 hand Welsh/Arab. Will be perfect to keep him dry and not too warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and great fit!! These turnouts are awesome!! I have 2 mares that usually destroy each others turnouts every winter, and so far these are holding up great, no rips or tears. Plus the fit is fabulous. They offer full coverage and are cut deep along the sides. Will definitely buy more next year for the other 2 horses.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays in place! I purchased this blanket in medium weight for a pastured horse in North Carolina who doesn't care to take cover when it rains. During a 12 hour rain, the horse stayed completely dry underneath this blanket. I was very pleased at how this blanket stayed in place, even after several rolls in the mud. Highly recommend this reasonably priced turnout blanket.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket I bought this blanket and I love it. Great heavy weight turnout that fits my older tb perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not breathable This blanket is advertised as a breathable sheet but I found that with the crazy Colorado weather, my horse was sweating under it on days where it was over 40 degrees. I would not recommend this blanket for climates that vary between cool days and cold nights.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket Love this blanket. Bought about a month ago. Happy horse!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid blanket at a great price Last year I bought a sheet of this style. I have a TB mare with very prominent shoulders, and finding blankets that don't bind or rub her is a challenge. The sheet fit well and kept her nice and dry. This winter she needed new blankets, so I ordered a heavyweight version. My only complaint about the fit is that I wish the top strap in front was a tad lower. When she puts her head down to eat it seems a bit restrictive. I also bought a WB Freestyle, which is wonderful in that respect; the lower cut in front and comfort cuff are very non restrictive. I like that the Smartpak Classic blankets have regular buckles across the chest. I'm not a fan of the quick snap variety as they add unnecessary weight to sometimes already heavy blankets.I think the Smartpak Classic blankets are a great value and I like that the cross surcingles have elastic where they attach to the body of the blanket which allows for some give. I also like the 600D weight, which is nice for single horse turnout or if the weather isn't too ghastly out. I do have 1200D blankets for those high wind, snowy days. I hope SmartPak doesn't discontinue this style-which is what I gather from what appeared when I tried to order a wt & style no longer in stock. There is a real need for quality, basic blankets and I would be sad to see these diaper.
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket for the price! Although I haven't been using this blanket that long, it fits my horse very well and keeps him dry in our rainy start to the winter that we sometimes have in central PA.
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! I bought this blanket for my daughter's horse about a month ago. I was leary about the size, but we measured her according to the directions given on the website and the blanket fits perfect. The weight is just right too. Also had it monogrammed which is a great feature! Great blanket that doesn't break the bank!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! This blanket has great features (like reinforced straps) that allow me to turn my horse out without regreting it. Being a mare, she likes to do things her way. Past blankets haven't lasted long being the Houdini she is. She hasn't escaped from this one yet, so you must be doing something right!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! Blanket is great and you can't beat the price. Very happy.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic First one i purchased lost its waterproofing after less than 2 years.Smart park however was quick to accept the exchange for a new one. Super fit, attention to little details make the blanket worth every penny. Hopefully the waterproofing was just a fluke.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical & durable I bought this turnout for our pony, and am very happy with it. It gives great coverage - it's a little longer than his regular blankets, and it comes up higher on his withers - and keeps him warm and dry. It also seems to be durable, holding up to his pony antics.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fit, great looking! I've purchased other brand name blankets but the Smartpak turnout is a much better, truer fit! Plus it looks phenomenal and is super durable!
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely Waterproof I purchased this blanket 4 years ago and am now starting my 5th winter with it. It is very comfortable for my horse, not too heavy and not too light. It stays in place even when he rolls. However, with this said I do have to buy new back leg straps as with his laying down and rolling the elastic has stretched out. When this blanket it gone I will buy another one just like it not to mention that Smart Pak is very easy to do busy with.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect light weight sheet! This sheet fits my horse perfectly (like all of his SmartPak blankets) and it seems to be holding up well. I have only had it for a few weeks, but so far so good!
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Blanket I bought both the light and medium weights and am really impressed. The material is super durable and hasn't shown even the smallest bit of wear. Lots of extra touches add to the quality feel - the elastic in the surcingle straps, the velcro at the chest. The only thing I don't like is the elastic leg straps - they are flimsy and won't stay shortened. They keep sliding to a longer setting and I have to tie knots in them. But other than that minor detail, I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well and keeps my old boy dry in the worst of Since purchasing this blanket the weather has been horrid - snow and rain with lots of wind. My horse is out all day and each evening I check that he is warm and dry. This Turnout blanket has been great - each night warm and dry!
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great performance. I bought this for my TB gelding, Buckminster, who doesn't do well in cold, wet weather. In December, we had unseasonably bitter cold (20's) and wet weather here on the Gulf Coast. He wore this turnout rug for a solid week and stayed dry and toasty warm. It never shifted an inch. He lives outdoors with 13 horses (but he has a stall when needed) It was a little short for him at 72" (he is 16 hands) but fit well and stayed in place. Too expensive for me now though. :-(
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than competitors'...I switched to this one! I used another company's turnout for YEARS. Not to name name's, but it starts with an "s" and ends with "chneiders"....and like normal, I ordered six of those blankets like I have in years' past. Well, I'm not sure what happened, but I sent ALL of them back because after two uses, those other blankets were soaking through after only a light rain! I had ordered one of these Smartpak Classics for my gelding already and after a light rain that iced over, my gelding who wore the Smartpak blanket had ice beads on his blanket and was toasty warm underneath. My other horses who were wearing the "other" ones were wet all along their topline and butts! So I ordered four more of these blankets and I have never been happier! I would like to have tried Smartpak's Deluxe one with the 10 year warranty, but I don't have the need for a deluxe. I live in Virginia and we have mild winters...the only time I blanket is in extremely wet weather, under 30 degrees, and they can't get under cover. I only get the medium weight too. I also have a 2yo mare who loves to chew on blankets and I've had no issues, so far, with her ripping others' blankets. This is a true CLASSIC blanket made by a quality company. I will be buying these in the future and I hope Smartpak will continue to make these at an affordable price and great quality!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I ordered the sheet, medium and heavy weight of the SmartPak Classic Turnouts for my Spotted Draft / Frieisian X who I had just clipped... just in time for the temperature to drop WAY below zero.My boy was warm and cozy the entire time!  The blankets fit his draft shoulders perfectly. I will recommend this product to anyone who asks.  And as always the customer services reps I worked with to decide on this blanket were wonderful and so knowledgeable. 
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar blanket! I bought 3 of these turnout sheets and they are excellent quality, especially for the price. They fit our thoroughbreds perfectly and have left them bone dry even on super rainy days. The sheets are very lightweight but still strong- there have been no rips or tears yet (had them on for about a month). The only complaint is that the leg straps are not very sturdy- they have to be re-adjusted everyday because they constantly slide back to the longest length. Otherwise I am very pleased!
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I've been eyeing this blanket for a while, so when I saw the black one go on sale I jumped at the chance to buy it. My horse measures an 80, so I bought the 81 and it fits great. The medium weight is equivalent to a stable blanket and therefore exactly what I was looking for, as I already have a lightweight turnout sheet. He's only worn it a few times so I can't comment on durability, but it is clearly made of quality materials and I do expect it to last. I may have to replace the leg straps though, as they are elastic. Great blanket though, I definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good looks, average quality This blanket was good looking and very warm. It runs a bit large on my big boned paint mare but the next size down would have been too small. The color was as described. The only complaint was that it had big rips and tears on the outside and lining in les than a month. In contrast her other blanket lasted 2 years with minimal need for repair.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product!!! I have always used the Rambo brand of blanket but thought I would try the Smart Pak brand because of their attention to quality and value. I was not disappointed! The fit and durability have been excellent for half the price!!! I am not a fan of leg straps and would prefer a third belly strap, like in the Rambo's, but, for the price and value, I will buy the Smart Pak blankets again in the future!!!
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't had it long . . . Received this blanket just in time for it to warm up and he only wore it for a couple of days. However, it seems to be very well made, good hind leg straps, secure belly straps, and a true-to-size fit. I have been using the SmartPak turnout sheet for several months and it is still hail and hearty. I wouldn't expect anything less from this blanket.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the price Excellent blanket for the price! Durable exterior, sturdy hardware, very waterproof and fits really well through the shoulders! I also received the extra smartperks discount which made it a tremendous value!
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No need to spend more I bought a classic turnout for one of my horses 3 years ago. It has held together so great I bought a second for my pony. Great fit, warmth and waterproof. No need to spend more, this blanket has it all.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    • 2015-05-23T08:16CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_7374, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.