Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet

SmartPak
- Item #21106
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from poll to tail this summer with the SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet! Made from a soft polyester fabric, this fly sheet is fully breathable and does not restrict your horses natural movements. With built in UV protection, this fly sheet is a no brainer!

Favorite Features

  • Soft polyester fabric is breathable and provides a layer of physical protection to keep the bugs from bothering your horse
  • UV protection in fabric protects your horse from 95% of harmful UV rays when he's out in the summer sun
  • Stainless steel hardware is designed to last
  • Adjustable surcingles and double surcingle front closure with VELCRO® brand fastener ensures your blanket fits snug around your horse
  • Tail cord keeps tail flap from blowing in the wind
  • Oversized tail flap provides additional coverage

Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet is rated 3.7727 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and a good value I bought this for a 3 year old mare, and it has held up well with daily turnout. This withstands most bugs, and when used in conjunction with fly spray, offers good protection. I ordered a 75 for a narrow TB mare, and I found that it fits true to size.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad rubs Solid material and very light weight! However I had some sizing issues and after only one single day in the sheet, my horses shoulders were rubber raw
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't recommend My last fly sheet lasted for 2 1/2 years, this one looks like it's about done and it's only been 2 1/2 weeks! I've got a large warm blood mare, the cut looks good and the blanket doesn't seem to twist or slopped off with the tail cord. But the Velcro close at the chest rubbed a huge sore and scab on my mare's chest because the inner flap files back against her skin when she walks. So I'm not at all happy about that. Her shoulders have also been rubbed hairless. We use it as a stall and turnout sheet. The fine mesh is nice and light weight, but hay sticks to it like crazy. All in all, it was worth a try, but I wouldn't buy one of these again and doubt that it will last long.
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much tail coverage I like the material that this blanket is made of. So far, seems to be durable. What I don't care for is the amount of tail coverage. The material causes his tail hairs to break and tangle. I don't see the point of tail coverage since the tail is so important to a horse's defense system against flying pests. I actually cut the tail piece.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Sheet Very nice sheet, I have a high withered horse and this hangs beautifully on him. It's long and covers the majority of his body, protecting him from bites. The quality also seems great.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight The flysheet that my horse was wearing was too hot and he would get sweaty on hot days. I purchased this flysheet and it is much lighter and my horse is able to stay cool on hot days...and bugless. :)
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good if your horse is alone and never rolls I bought for my two TB geldings. Fabric is nice but tears easily. So if your horse gets a nip from buddy or likes to roll this will not hold up. Nice otherwise. I bought Weatherbeeta Bugbeeta Detach A Neck and its great! My gelding gets hives all over if he is not covered so he wears it 24/7 when bugs are bad.The size on the SmartPak sheet runs small so order next size up.
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from thin fly sheet I like that it is light weight. However, the second day there were rips and small holes in all three of them. I am using them in a pasture. The Velcro in the is pulling back.I have been still using them now over a month and they are still working.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped in three days The fly sheet fit my horse really well but it ripped in two places just after three days.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from High Hopes. Low Performance. SmartPak is quality. No doubt. But this flysheet lasted me all of one week and I even had it monogrammed. My horse is not a flysheet monster but it has ripped on both shoulders and just over the tail. $60+ bucks down the drain. Time to order another one. But not this one.
    Date published: 2015-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality Fits well and nice Velcro closure . Liked the fabric which has held up so far.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fly / sun protection! A barn mate pointed out that our dark green show fly sheets were really hot for our boys on a warm day? This is lite weight and protects my grey from the sun after a bath. Great for grazing or ringside. The double Velcro front closure and doubles belly straps are perfect. Worth the money! Wish Smarpak would cut back on the double branding of everything on their products. On both belly straps and another label slapped on the front is overkill and tacky (seam ripper will take care of the later).
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped after two days. Two days on my horse and there is rip on the shoulder of the sheet. If this had happened a month after wear I wouldn't have blinked an eye! I liked the lining on the shoulders to protect from rubs and the extra closures to secure a good fit.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable fly sheet at a great price Sheet stands up well to daily use. Good fit for my quarter horse
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs big! I ordered the 75, and my horse measures 76. It is at least 4 inches too long and hangs down low past his belly. Its good quality though. I love it, just needed a smaller.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's OK I think this would be a good product for stabled horses with short turn outs or older horses. The three horses I tried this on run in large hillside paddocks and they roll & play, I will be having the stress points repaired and I am sure I can use them again next season. Also flies were able to get up and under the sheet, that didn't happen with the Rambo fly sheets I ordered for the other three horses. I am going all Rambo next year.
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Sheet This sheet is well worth the price! My little Arabian mare wears hers out in a pasture with 4 others horses. I have had the sheet for over a month and so far only normal wear (a couple of very minor snags). I didn't give it fivestars because it runs so large. My mare normally wears a 72. I bought a 69. Neck/ shoulders fit great, the rest of the sheet is way to long. I would recommend that smartpak add fleece to the withers because the binding is narrow and causes minor mane rub. Over all a great sheet! Very light weight!
    Date published: 2014-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality made I like it but not as well as the one I had before. I ordered one size larger but this one seems way too big at the chest and straps underneath but not that much longer. I didn't think one size larger should be so different. They also changed the tail closing. the Proportion seems off to me.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very sturdy I bought this a month ago and it has held up better than other brands. Also, it is thicker and protects against sun rays too.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This is a good, basic fly sheet and the fit was accurate. My horse is happier, and more comfortable. The silver color helps reflect the sun, and it washes well. This sheet won't last in a pasture full of young, playful horses; but it works fine if your horse is in a well-settled group of pasture buddies.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight I usually purchase Amigo flysheets. The linings of those consistently tear out and the mesh rubs the hair off of the shoulders of my horse. So--I thought I'd try the SmartPak brand. So far so good. It's only been a month and the shoulder lining is intact. It is very lightweight. I have noticed that stains do not wash out--but that's ok. Good value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, great fit, high quality! I tried another brand first, but didnt fit right. I love this fly sheet! Soft material, lightweight enough for Arizona heat, really easy to put on, with only 2 buckles to deal with! Stays in place too. Very happy with this sheet!
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from First smartpak product i dont like I normally have great reviews but this fly sheet didnt make the cut. I loved the fit when I first put it on. But one day in the sheet and my horse had a huge rub on the top part of his shoulder towards his neck. The binding along the neck just took all the skin and hair off. One of my bell boots snagged the fabric yesterday when I hung the sheet on my stall door. Not really happy with the sheet and it looks like it will head towards the tack trunk of products i dont really use. :(
    Date published: 2013-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from consider sizing down i ordered a 75, which is the size blanket this horse wears,but the sheet was to big. i had to return it & request a 73 or 72 whichever is available. still awaiting the exchange
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and soft Nice soft sheet, can rinse it out in a regular bucket as it is not bulky. Has a couple snags after pasture use but nothing major. Does run a bit large in the neck but it light enough that the binding is not too bad. Like this much better than the stiff bulky ones.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice value I bought two of these. One horse is a 15.2h TB gelding that usually wears a 75". The 75" fly sheet was way too big. I could have gone down an entire size. I had it personalized so couldn't return it. My other horse is a 16.2h Dutch mare that usually wears a 78". The 78" fly sheet was just a little too big. Over all for the price these sheets are a great value. With my combined USEF and SmartPak discount I paid less than $70 each. I have found with all SmartPak branded sheets and blankets they run about 1 size larger than normal.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not turnout quality My 8 yo Walker wore the sheet for a total of 5 days before a tear appeared on his hindquarters and another near the chest fasteners. Would call him a "normally" active horse in the pasture - certainly not a wild thing. Fit was good, and the product LOOKS good on the horse. I just can't afford $80 every week for a new fly sheet!
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice fly sheet This is a high quality, well made sheet. It is replacing a saxon fly sheet that didn't fit my horse properly. The difference in the fabric, quality and fit between that sheet and this sheet is amazing. This wasn't the most expensive sheet you sell, but it feels and looks expensive.I would highly recommend this sheet. A friend who saw it already said, that she is going to order one when she needs a new fly sheet for her mare. (Her current sheet is twice as expensive as this sheet!)
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fly sheet Lightweight well fitting sheet for my Haflinger. Only used it for a month, but is repelling flies nicely and holding up well. Would purchase a second sheet.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ripped on the First Day This fly sheet looked nice and fit well but after one (1!) afternoon, it had ripped and and then frayed so that it was hanging in shreds. Very disappointing.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    • 2015-08-29T13:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_39
    • loc_en_US, sid_11106, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.