Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Baby Pads

SmartPak
- Item #16525
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Simple, practicality! Once you try it, you won’t be able to ride without it! Wicking lining gives our baby pad a little more substance than others you may have tried. 100% cotton baby pad with a wicking 100% polyester lining. Machine wash cold and dry. Specify White, Black, Navy. Measures 26" spine, 17'' drop

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Baby Pads is rated 4.3605 out of 5 by 86.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saddle pad! I go through a TON of baby pads. Due to the Southern heat, they only last one use before needing to be washed. So I've tried a lot of brands, and I really like the SmartPak pad. I was surprised to see that it's lined (even though it says it right in the description) but I ended up really liking it. I was afraid that the lining would separate from the top layer with use and washing, but that hasn't happened yet so I think it'll be okay.And the embroidery, of course, is perfect! SmartPak does a GREAT job!
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Unlike the rest in the barn, this pad is perfect! No folding, its a perfect fit! Only problem, I lost it after a month, and there aren't any options to personalize for friesians, or really just not a lot to choose from, but I will continue to order.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good saddle pad! I recently purchased three of these saddle pads. I ride multiple horses per day and wash each saddle pad after every ride, so I wanted saddle pads that would easily fit in the washer. I am very pleased with the overall quality of the product. I love the material of the pad. I opted to get the monogramming on the pads. I got my initials on two of the saddle pads, and it is GORGEOUS. However, on the third saddle pad, I chose to get my horses show name. The quality of the monogramming is very good, however, you can barely read the monogramming. So I am disappointed in that. Just be careful if your horse has a longer show name! Other than that, a really great product!!
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got a few of these pads to use under a sheepskin half pad. I'm constantly washing saddle pads, but with these I can fit more per load than with thicker pads. Using the barn-saver shipping deal, I got 10% off, free embroidery, and free shipping. Absolutely can't beat them for the price!! The only thing I'd point out is that they're not a quilted pattern like the pictures show, they're a flat cotton/canvas type material on the top with a softer material on the bottom. It doesn't matter to me, I still think they look fine, but they just don't look like the pictures.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected! When ordering these baby pads I was not expecting much. Most baby pads I have bought in the past were rather cheap and didn't fair well in the wash (they fell fell apart quickly). These smartpak pads have all the quality that all other baby pads lack! They are a good size, made nicely, and wash up great (trust me I know I bought the white ones!).
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it so much! This was seriously a good purchase. I got it in black with a silversilhouette of a jumper and underneath that, in light blue, my horse's show name. It. looked. amazing. Just like I pictured it. I could not be happier! Thank you, SmartPak! In the picture you cannot see the monogram very well, but I uploaded it so you can see the size. My horse is 17hh and my saddle is a 17". :)
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this baby pad! This is honestly the best baby pad Ive ever owned. I dont know how I ever used those flimsy, thin ones for so long? The first ride. I admit, I did NOT like it. It was slick, and moved around a bit. I also thought it might be too thick and heavy. I decided, if I paid for it, Id give it a few more rides. It loosened up and now is very secure. It definitely does wick moisture, as the description says. My 18" saddle and pads fit well on top of the pad. Haven't had any bunching or moving. Loved this pad I ordered a second one (and Im sure I will order more). My favorite saddle pad that i own, without question. Plus the embroidery looks gorgeous. I get many many compliments on this!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I was in need of a good deal on saddle pads and stumbled upon these. At first the material didnt agree with me (soft against the horses back, but slick on the saddle side), but now I'm really loving it. My saddle doesn't get damp when my horse sweats through the pad, and they dry really quick! Another plus are the monograms. PHENOMENAL quality.. I was so in love with my first set in black that I ordered a second set in white.. can't wait for those to show up. I do wish there were more colors though (probably for the best, as I would buy them ALL!)
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice quality, but bad design I was really excited when I got these pads. They are really nice quality and the embroidery on them was beautiful. However, it was a diferent story once I got it on my horse. THey are cut perfectly square, so they really bunch up - no way to get them to lie flat across teh back. Also, since they are square, they just sit right on the withers really tightly - there is no way to pull them up and off the withers for clearance without making them bunch up even more. Sadly, won't be able to use these.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Baby Pad I really like the SmartPak baby pad. They are perfect for every day riding and so far they have held up very well. I haven't had any problems with them slipping/bunching up and I love that there is a softer cotton on the side that touches my horse's back. I love the monogram and will definitely be purchasing more of these pads in the future!
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nicely Embroidered, but slips. I purchased this baby pad in black, and was going to purchase the 3 pack. I am glad I didn't.While I normally LOVE smartpak products.. this baby pad falls short just a bit. The material bunches under my saddle, and slips as I ride. It actually slipped so far back, that I was able to pull it out from under my saddle without undoing my girth.The embroidery was beautiful as always, but the pad will eventually get lost at the bottom of my tack trunk. Despite all of my efforts, I can not keep it from slipping back as I ride.
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad for the Price This pad is very durable, it was a bit small for my saddle. But it is a baby pad, so no complaints. =)
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super! I love baby pads but I have a hard time finding good ones that aren't super expensive. This one was cheap and seemed nice so I got it for a show. With the free embroidery and the cheap price I was pretty pumped. It came and it's better than I ever imagined! Such a great quality for so little money and the embroidery came out amazing! I was trying to save it for the show but I love it so much I've been using it non stop. Im definitely buying more and donating all my other saddle pads to the lesson program. :) thanks smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent gifts I bought 2 of these for friends over Christmas, as well as some for myself in the past. I had the gift pads monogrammed as well. They both came out looking fantastic!!! They are inexpensive, hold up great and fit well. Great for gifts too!
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best baby pad ever!! i cannot say enough good things about this baby pad! its such good quality for the money and the monogram came out beautifully. I love the softer fleece-like underside and i think my horse does too! I will definitely be ordering these from now on!!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Baby Pad Such a great baby pad!! It is all that I ride in. It fits perfectly under my saddles ranging in size from 16-17 inches unlike many baby pads which are too long. I like the backing on the pads as it keeps it from slipping. I pair it with a square of non-stick drawer liner from wal mart (like $1 per roll which makes 6+ non-stick pads) and absolutely nothing moves. The pads hold up to many washings and look great for a long time. Love the customization options too. Definitely the only pad I use anymore :).
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did these pads change? I own several of these pads in white and they are soft and durable. So I thought I would mix it up and order a black one, however the material is completely different from the white version - feels like a nylon/cotton outer material which seems durable but slips out from under my saddle. Not to mention that the binding on my pad is slightly bunched. Loved my white pads, but I don't think I'll be getting any more in black.
    Date published: 2011-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Baby Pads These are a little different, the fabric on the outside repels sticks and burs and the underside is soft. The embroidering was beautiful and I've already washed them and they hold up well. I've gotten alot of compliments
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pads! I never bother doing these reviews, but love these enough to write! Great quality at a very reasonable price. I have been buying these elsewhere for quite awhile and just decided to try a pack from Smartpak - love, love them!
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I bought a pack of three of the black baby pads and I'm very pleased that I bought them from smartpak. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars for the durability is because after one use it was covered in hair, and that probably has nothing to do with the product but still. And the reason I give a rating of 4/5 stars for the fit is because they are a little short for my long flap saddle, but that's minor. Overall, I LOVE this product and I'm glad I bought a pack of three. Also, this three pack is cheaper here than at Dover.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They're ok I bought three of these to keep my dressage pad clean. These baby pads absorb sweat AWESOME and keep the dirt off. However, they are WAY too small for a dressage pad. They were to short in the flap and too short along the back. SmartPak also put their tag on the underside of the pad, which I thought was strange. I kept one pad because I had already gotten it dirty and had cut the tag off so it wouldn't rub my horse. I sent the other two back.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality baby pads! These baby pads are a little bit thicker than I am used to, but they are a very nice quality. They dont seem to absorb all the dirt and sweat like the thinner pads do so they dont have to be washed after every single use. They are durable and a great value.
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite I love these new baby pads. I have a hard time with baby pads that are VERY thin because they tend to curl and flap around. These pads are the perfect size. No need to fold at the top, they do not slip and they do not flap around. I have mine embroidered with my name. Going to look great in the show ring this coming season!
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartpak never fails This pad is not only well made and lasts forever, but it also is the perfect size. I don't have to do crazy folds to make it fit and it is not so small you can hardly see it under my saddle. And if it is your style you can still fold it to give it that classy folded look. But what I'm really trying to say is even if you haven't liked baby pads before, you should buy this one because it will make you want to buy a whole collection of smartpak baby pads. Dries fast too.
    Date published: 2011-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality pad I received two of these monogrammed pads as Christmas gifts. I am extremely impressed with the quality of the material! My pads are white and so of course show dirt immediately. I have been washing them once a week and I am amazed at how well they clean up, and how the pad retains its softness after each wash. Great product!
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Come summer... Come summer, this pad is all I ride in! I pair it with my expensive half pad. It saves the underside of the sheepskin, and it's light enough that with strenuous lessons, I can just throw it in the wash! It's held up well through the wash, through sweaty rides and the color is yet to fade. The only downfall is like all baby pads, it's square; meaning it slips down all through your ride. I wish SmartPak would work it's magic and make a contoured pad with girth and billet straps.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! This pad is very thin but doesn't slip under your saddle. It was the perfect size for my saddle and stays clean. I got one and liked it so much I got three more!
    Date published: 2010-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great baby pad This is a simple baby pad and is not meant to rock the world. As such, however, it is good looking, well made and keeps my pad clean when schooling before horse shows. I would not use it everyday- it is thin, and I would like it a tad bigger. It is perfect for what I needed and the embroidery looks great!
    Date published: 2010-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought that... I really like this pad! I got it with my name and a horseshoe graphic on it. It looks really nice! The only thing I dont like about it is that it isnt formed to the horses back. Its just stitched strieght across. I notice when I get on, the pad is really tight on the withers. So if you get this pad you may want to pull some of the pad up through the pommel.
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely durable pad Great pad, it's holding up to almost daily use and still cleans up well. Looks shart with my monogram on it and is big enough to fit nicely under my saddle - no tugging back and forth to get coverage under both flaps!
    Date published: 2010-06-13
    • 2015-05-25T10:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_6525, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.