Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat

SmartPak
- Item #13910

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Warm, waterproof and the hit of the dog park!
 
So fabulous looking, you’d never guess there are 220 grams of Thinsulate™ insulation inside keeping your dog toasty warm and dry…without a hint of added bulk. Durable 600-denier outer shell stands up to rain, snow and the most enthusiastic playmates. VELCRO® Brand chest and belly closures, for easy on/off and adjustability. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

What size coat does my dog wear?  Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail. Round up to the nearest size.

Small (13"), Medium (15"), Large (18"), X-Large (21"), XX-Large (24"), XXX-Large (27")

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7218 out of 5 by 133.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! My dog wears this blanket around the barn, around a camp fire, and around town. It works for every scenario. It's a great fit and he's comfortable enough in it to sleep in it when camping. It keeps him snuggly and he looks cute in it! Only complaint is that it is the most expensive dog blanket I've found, I bought it because I thought he would look cute. It's a good thing he does!
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartpak Dog Coat I bought this coat for my dog after seeing it on a friend of mine's dog. The fit is good and the quality is nice. I can't imagine it won't hold up well however, she has only worn it once so far.
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Coat i have yet to get a chance for my dog to wear this coat during the winter but from what i see its an awesome coat. i love how smartpak included the denier and fill count so i knew what to expect . the coat is also completely waterproof! its fit is awesome except for my skinny long weimaraner the straps were a little too long and the back a little too short. but other than that its an awesome coat and id definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this coat! I love everything about this coat! I bought a pink one for my girl (cocker spaniel) last winter, and she adored it. She was the star of the dog park -- everyone commented on how gorgeous she looked (she did, its fit looked so cute on her); best of all, it kept her snuggly warm and dry during our New England winter. Well, she had babies this spring and we kept a little boy, so of course I had to get him the coordinating coat in blue! Can't wait for them to wear them together. If you're thinking of getting this, buy it, you'll love it -- warm, stylish, really well-designed, and durable.
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable Dog Coat My oldest English Springer Spaniel was coming in from potty trips looking a little chilly, so we bought one of these for her a couple of years ago. It still looks just as good as the day we bought it! I do wish it was a little longer; it seems to be designed for a very square dog, but it keeps her warm without impeding her movement.
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat! I bought this for Cricket last Christmas, and we LOVE it! Fits perfectly, looks gorgeous, and keeps her warm and snuggly and dry -- she's the hit of the dog park. She just had babies (we're keeping a girl), so as soon as they were born I bought the new baby a matching one for next winter. She's only 2 weeks and 2 lbs. now, so she has a lot of growing to do, but I know they'll look just adorable together!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool coats! I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by how well these coats worked. My dogs weigh 68lb & 80lb. The fit was great. Kept them dry! Will check in again when the snow starts! Plus, my 'girls' looked lovely in pink!
    Date published: 2011-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works! April 1st New England N'easter daughter put coat on my dog. Said it kept him warm and dry. Fit perfectly, easy to put on
    Date published: 2011-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from stylin' and durable This blanket not only keeps up with my spaz Chihuahua, but it keeps him warm and toasty, and lookin super stylish. My dog is really tiny, and it kept him warm even in the coldest weather. I love this blanket, and he does too! He'll never wear anything but this blanket again!! Thank you Smartpak for keeping my baby warm!
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attention grabber My Jack Russel is getting loads of complements on hiw new jacket. He looks great, it fits well, stays in place and is fairly warm. He does need to wear a heavier coat on cold days. The blue plaid is a nice mid-weight coat.
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from DOG COAT A nice coat for the most part. The one size fits all is where any problem comes in. Our dog is rather short and the front panels are pretty close to the ground, she gets along pretty good though and it has, for the most part, been good for her and made her very fashionable. A custom design would be ideal but I'm sure it would be more costly. Thanks, Ed
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy coat! We purchased this for our pitt bull mutt cross to keep her warm during the cold winter months in Colorado, she has no hair and freezes!! We needed something warm, sturdy, and girly! So far it's been excellent. It's also held up exceptionally well to her rough-housing around with the other doggies at the barn. When it's dirty a quick run through the washer and it's good to go. Only complaint is that it was smaller than expected, I measured my dog as directed and picked the appropriate size on the website, however it ended up being just a hair short, it still works fine, but it was smaller than expected. Other than that, I am extremely pleased with the product!! It's very sturdy and holds up to the antics of a VERY energetic dog!!! And the best part? It's PINK! Nobody will ever mistake her for a boy dog ever again ;)
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from NIce Dog Jacket but not the most durable Advertised as having ripstop materials, this is partially true, on the exterior only, the interior is a lightweight covering over the thinsulate insulating material. One of my boxers tore up the interior of the jacket in about 1 hour after putting it on her. She removed all the "thinsulate" material and spread it all over the yard. The rip-stop exterior was in fine shape so now she has to wear it with no insulation inside. My other boxer doesn't eat things so her jacket is in original condition.Oh well, another "long lasting item" eats the dust!
    Date published: 2011-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love this product! I love this product, I've looked everywhere for a great coat that keeps my girl warm but not bulky, she loves it too, easy to get on & off, and she can still play with the other dogs, and very durable, I also had it personalized, looks beautiful.... A+
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Make Sure You Measure! I got this blanket in the hopes of keeping Java dry and (relatively) clean during trips to the dog park.... it's constructed exactly like a turnout sheet with attention to those fit-and-finish details!Unfortunately my dog is wider and longer than the largest size could accomodate, so I begrudgingly returned it. On the upnote, the staff was very helpful in trying to find a similar product that would fit properly and the exchange process was simple and fast!
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful item! We bought this for our dog after reading other reviews and when it arrived and he tried it on we realized that they were right!This is a great item, and the price is great as well!He doesn't have to step into it, it just lays on his back and has 2 velcro straps. One near his neck and the other under his belly.Looks nice, fits great, and it keeps my buddy warm!
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Blue and Pink Thinsulate Coats Bought one of each for my 2 dogs (IG and Whippet) Love them both. Highly recommend and already have done so. Thanks SmartPak
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Coat It made a very nice gift for my friend, a dog lover. She appreciated it a lot.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing purchase Keeps my dogs warm and dry, while allowing them the flexibility to move and jump and climb stairs. A great product.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So cute!! So cute that I had to get it for our dog, but runs small.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blankets I ordered 4 of these blankets - two were mediums, one XL, and one XXL. The blankets are all very well made and although they're lightweight, they provide a great source of warmth and protection from the wind. Using the measurement guide posted, the sizing came out just right for all of my dogs. My only dislike is of the belly strap on the XXL. My athletic Lab is very deep chested and has a slim "waist". The belly strap fits just behind his rib cage where he is narrower and the strap is too long. The blanket isn't as secure on him as the others and it tends to slide from side to side. For this reason, I would be nervous about leaving his blanket on him during the day while I'm at work. Otherwise, the fit of the other blankets is great and I was really happy with the quality.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBlue/Pink Thinsulate Dog Coats These are great, easy to put on and take off, keeps the cold Oregon rain off and the occasional snow flake. I just ordered more for the other dogs!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat! This is a great coat! According to my daughter, Jennie 'prances' when she wears it - she knows she looks cute! And it keeps her warm (and dry) in the cold NJ wind! Would definitely recommend!!
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket!! I love this blanket - it fits my new dog (who I just adopted from a local shelter) perfectly. I like that it's lightweight yet it keeps him nice and warm every morning and night while I'm at the barn taking care my horses. And the Smartblue plaid is beautiful - an added bonus!!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I am so glad that I found this incredible Thinsulate Dog Coat for our very large Boxer. It fits him beautifully and looks really nice as well. The coat is so easy to put on and take off, and it actually keeps him warm. It is not binding at all like so many other dog coatsThanks so much for offering such a great Dog Coat.
    Date published: 2010-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price, Great Blanket The only complaint I have is the neck/shoulder area was a little tight on my dogs but they are very broad and have thick necks. Great blanket though and great price (they look good too!)
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jacket!!! This was one of the best purchases I have ever made! I absolutley love the jacket, and my dog does too! He can't wait to put it on every morning :) The fit is great - just right, and it's very warm to! And...it's adorable!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fitting Doggie Coat I purchased the SmartBlue thinsulate dog coat for my puggle. The size was perfectly matched to the sizing in the book. The coat covers almost all of the dog, with the exception of his tummy. I have found the SmartPak products to be of high quality and a great value. I would reccommend SmartPak products for all dog owners' pets.
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and dry pooch we loved the coat for our miniature poodle..the fit is perfect per measurements suggested..the only issue was the belly strap was a tad too long.We ended up cutting about an inch off and sealing the end.Lucy is warm and toasty and looks very stylish. We are very happy with the product as a whole and the price was great! thank you smartpak!
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Personalized Dog Coat I don't know yet about the wear and tear of this coat, but am very pleased with the fit. The fact that the rear of the coat is darted makes it fit over the rear end of the dog very nicely so it doesn't flop back and forth like other coats. Also very neat that they personalize it with your dog's name. The service was extremely quick even with personalization...it shipped the day after I ordered it!
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    • 2016-02-05T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_121
    • loc_en_US, sid_3910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.