Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat

SmartPak
- Item #13910

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Warm, waterproof and the hit of the dog park!
 
So fabulous looking, you’d never guess there are 220 grams of Thinsulate™ insulation inside keeping your dog toasty warm and dry…without a hint of added bulk. Durable 600-denier outer shell stands up to rain, snow and the most enthusiastic playmates. VELCRO® Brand chest and belly closures, for easy on/off and adjustability. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

What size coat does my dog wear?  Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail. Round up to the nearest size.

Small (13"), Medium (15"), Large (18"), X-Large (21"), XX-Large (24"), XXX-Large (27")

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7218 out of 5 by 133.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Follow-up to include pictures The pictures did not load on my previous review, so here they are. Size XL on 54 pound pit bull.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute pink coat I bought this jacket because the Weatherbeeta Joules was sold out. I have that one for another of my dogs and I LOVE it. I can't think of a thing against it. I love a velcro surcingle on a dog coat. One of my other dogs has one with the criss-cross hook belly straps like a horse blanket so it takes a little longer to get it on and off and the double straps really aren't necessary for a dog. I ordered the pink in size XL for my 54 pound pitbull, who has a big, deep chest but small waist. (Pic included) She can sit, lay, play, and stretch in it without being cumbersome. Based on her measurements, she was between an XL and XXL and I'm glad I went down in size otherwise it would be bulky on her. Only gave 3 stars for value because I think it's a little pricey for what it is. And it is advertised as having thinsulate, but it's not very warm to the touch when I take it off of her. I bought it mostly to help break the wind and be waterproof for the winter. Her "brother," a jack russell, plows into her and bites her when they play and it has held up without a mark.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute coat Things I love about this coat: 200g fill, 600d waterproof shell, and It's adorable. Things I don't love: the thin velcro belly strap. It leaves my dog's belly exposed to the cold and hits him in an awkward spot. If it had a wide belly strap like the Rambo, it would be unbeatable.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's like a horse blanket for your dog This reminds me of my horse blanket I have on my horse. The only complaint is you have to take it off when she comes in because it is stiff due to the thinsulate for her to curl up. It does a good job at blocking the wind and rain. Plus my female English Setter look cute in the pink plaid.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! I bought this in pink for my chiweenie and it was an excellent purchase. It allows her to make it out to the barn on cooler days, even colder days if I layer it with a sweater underneath. Great buy, would recommend. She is on the small end as far as size and it just barely velcros because of how small she is, but I've never had an issue with her getting out of it and she still moves around with ease. It looks great too! Great product.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on....Easy off This coat is very nice! It is not real heavyweight, and has a silky type lining. This is nice for the outdoor dog, so straw and such won't have a fuzzy lining to cling to. It is easy to put on and take off. No having to bend those little legs trying to get it in the hole.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat! I bought this for my Cavalier. It fits well and allows her to move. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice dog coat I have a short-haired, but thick-coated, Shepherd/hound mix. She doesn't seem to get cold in our mild northern California climate but she does get wet - and when she gets wet, she stays wet for a long time. Since she goes to work with me, I needed something to keep her dry and eliminate puddles on the office floor! This coat goes on easily, stays in place and doesn't bother her at all. It adjusts to fit her long, lean frame. I wish someone would make a horse blanket with this velcro closure system.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nice but doesn't stay on One minute I put my dog's pretty new blanket on and the next, it's sitting out in the lawn...
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! Not only is it super cute for my mini schnauzer but it keeps her dry and warm at the same time. A big plus is that she cannot get it off herself like her other coats. True to size.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small, not sure how much it does I bought a size "large" for my 45lb Australian Shepherd and the fitting is all wrong. Oddly enough the velcro around the chest and belly is almost too big but the fabric itself only goes about 3/4 down his back.I attached a picture so you can see how it *looks* too small even though the sizing is "right."It's light weight and stays in place well and I have no doubt it's very durable and awesome (as are most SmartPak brand things). I just wish it fit better!I'm also not entirely sure how much of a difference this makes for the dog although it does a bit to make worried dog-moms feel a bit better about the snow.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks Beautiful, But I Wish... I purchased this blanket for my 50 lb Lab/Pit mix. It looks absolutely beautiful on her, and I love the Smart Pink plaid. However, I ultimately wish it had two surcingle straps that cross, rather than just the single belly strap. I think that would make the fit more secure. Even though the blanket appears to fit, when she bends her head down to sniff, etc., as dogs do, it slides or gapes in the back (which isn't so helpful when the object is to keep her warm in cold weather). Fortunately, I also had ordered the SmartPak fleece blanket to use as a liner.
    Date published: 2012-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product Great Quality in the blanket. I have a very hyper Dobbie and this blanket makes it through her daily activities!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartPink Thinsulate Dog Coat The SmartPink Thinsulate Dog Coat is a very cute, well made, non-bulky dog coat. It is great for layering over a fleece dog jacket or a sweater. The only reason I did not give this dog coat five stars is because the strap that goes around the dog is so long, the velcro is hardly touching when it is on my Chihuahua mix, even when it is layered over other doggie clothing. I guess this coat was designed to fit more of a Corgi body type or a stockier Jack Russell.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So cute! I did not give this 5 stars because it seems a little lightweight; I would have preferred more fill. I can not comment on the quality as I have only had it about a week.I did want to let everyone know about size because I couldn't find too many reviews on it.I have a 10mo 85lb weim. He is all legs and pretty skinny. I got the XXL in hopes he could grow into it. The XXL fits perfect now, but I am sure i will have to get the XXXL in the next 6mo.The largest size doesn't fit the largest dogs... but the blanket is beautiful. Just don't get if you have a grate dane..lol
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog jacket Warm, durable, thick and well made. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This product! looks so cute an fits very well. I just wish the one belly band was two that criscross like a horse blanket to keep it more secure.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I bought the Smart Pink dog coat for my parents' Boxer. She was in between sizes, so I ordered 1 size larger and it fits perfectly! I am very impressed by the quality of this product! I had it embroidered with her name and it came out beautifully. I am thinking about getting one in blue for my dog next! I definitely recommend! 100% satisfied!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I I'm NOT at all let down by this coat. I love it and so does my dog. It doesn't bother her line must coats and she can still play in it.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter coat I have bought a lot of coats for my dog and this is one if my favorite "winter" coats. On a cold snowy day this coat has that extra warmth. It isnt bulky. My 50lb pit bull wears a size XL. I have even doubled it up with the SmartPac Fleece Dog Coat under this coat for those cold breezy days when you need to get out for a walk. I have not washed it yet so I dont know how it will be after that. So far Im happy with it. Seems to be waterproof like they say...the water just beads on it and I shake it off when we come in.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lite but warm blanket My dog looks great in this blanket and fits great. Keeps her warm and dry. Love the look of this blanket. Looks very well made and thinulate is a great warm filling.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Coat is a little short for my dog, but still cute I ordered a Large b/c according to the measurements provided, that's what my dog needed. Unfortunately its still a little short on her back, however I am afraid that an XL would be far too big in the chest and belly. It will work well enough for keeping her warm at the barn, so I'm not going to bother with a return. The color is cute and it definitely keeps her nice and toasty. My dog is a standard poodle and she's already built pretty long and narrow, so the fit may be better on a different breed.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase! I love this coat! It keeps my pup warm without preventing him from running around and having fun. I'll need to shorten the belly and chest straps a little, but otherwise the fit is great. Additionally, the first coat I ordered was lost in the mail, so customer service overnighted a new coat to me so that I would have it for Christmas. They were incredibly accommodating and understanding.
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good jacket We have a dog who has fairly thin hair due to severe skin allergies and this blanket keeps her warm and clean after her medicated baths. She also loves to wear it out side on chilly days.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT DOG COAT! I GOT ONE BLUE PLAID FOR MY TOY POODLE AND ONE PINK PLAID FOR MY AUSSIE. SIZING WAS GREAT FOR BOTH DOGS. MY AUSSIE NEEDS ONE FOR HIKING IN ALL KINDS OF WEATHER AND THIS IS PERFECT. NOT TOO TIGHT, NOT TOO HEAVY, DOESNT SHIFT. AND THE COLOR IS VISIBLE IN THE WOODS - VERY PRETTY! EASY ON AND OFF FOR BOTH DOGS. THERE'S NO D-RING ON THE COAT FOR THE TOY POODLE & HE'S TOO LITTLE FOR A COLLAR. ITS A BIT AWKWARD, BUT I PUT HIS HARNESS ON OVER THE COAT. DURABLE AND WASHES UP NICELY.
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good coat she's warm in it. It is a bit stiff so I put on a light fleece under it. I surface wiped and it looks clean again. Totally sturdy and good in my mostly unheated cabin.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the weather protection This insulated cover for our medium sized Bichon Frise is perfect for rainy and chilly weather. It's easy on, easy off, rainproof, durable and washable. I am showing off her coat to the other dog owners in our retirement community, and will tell them where I got it. Carol in New Jersey
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Super cute! Good weight, not too thick. Only negative is that the chest band is a bit too long, but it's definitely worth the price!!
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute and practical Love this coat. I do admit, the sizing is a little strange. Built for a boxier type/size dog, but as it loosens up, it fits a little better. Not only is it warm for my girl, but I also love that its waterproof. Its really come in handy for these cool and wet fall days. Overall, Im pretty pleased with it (: Plus, it matches her padded baby-pink leather collar from SmartPak beautifully!
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality This is the most durable dog coat . Wash after wash still looks Great!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    • 2016-02-06T14:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_121
    • loc_en_US, sid_3910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.