Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat

SmartPak
- Item #13910
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Warm, waterproof and the hit of the dog park!
 
So fabulous looking, you’d never guess there are 220 grams of Thinsulate™ insulation inside keeping your dog toasty warm and dry…without a hint of added bulk. Durable 600-denier outer shell stands up to rain, snow and the most enthusiastic playmates. VELCRO® Brand chest and belly closures, for easy on/off and adjustability. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

What size coat does my dog wear?  Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail. Round up to the nearest size.

Small (13"), Medium (15"), Large (18"), X-Large (21"), XX-Large (24"), XXX-Large (27")

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7075 out of 5 by 147.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Christmas present for the pup!!! I bought this for my black lab as a present for Christmas. It's been in the single digits where we live and it's nice for her to have her warm blanket to go out walking in :)
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reviews were helpful After a recent cold snap I decided to buy this coat for my lab mix who lacks an insulating undercoat. I was unsure about sizes (measurements indicated he was XXL) so reading reviews from other buyers was very helpful. I did buy the XXL and it is a perfect fit. Bonus -Rocky seems to like it!
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket for the right price Fits well, just a little small. I would maybe order the next size up. My dog loves this blanket and it keeps her dry during when it rains or snows.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pug loves it! We bought this coat to keep my pug warm and dry on wet winter days. It works very well and she looks very stylish in it. We got her name embroidered on the side, and it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and Warm! I bought this product a year ago for my dog Chloe and am specifically coming back to review it (again?) because I am so impressed. Today at the dog park my new dog Annabelle, who thinks coats are dumb and won't ever need one, was chasing Chloe who was wearing this coat. Annabelle is slower so when she does catch up she resorts to playing dirty and today this meant grabbing Chloe's coat and hanging off of it in an effort to slow Chloe down. I am thrilled to report there is not a single scratch, tear or pull in the fabric despite Annabelle's best attempts! Awesome product SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks cute and stays on XL Fits my Amstaffs well, they both are wearing XL although the male is about 55 lbs and the female 42.  The coats stay on through some rough play and they must be relatively comfortable because they have removed other coats pretty quickly.  No fill but I just wanted these to keep the rain or snow off their backs and if they are playing, their heat builds up nice under the coat. 
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty in Pink I bought this for my new rescue dog just before an anticipated cold spell so haven't had it too long...but so far so good.    Things I have noticed - because it's made of stiff material, it flips up in back when dog's nose is to the ground, pretty much negating any warmth containment.  And there's extra belly strap that extends well above the velcro area when it's fastened, but my dog is on the slim side.  I could remedy that by cutting off the excess, but I'd rather be able to velcro the entire strap - one, for extra security, and also in case she gains weight or I want to use it on another beefier dog.The pink plaid looks nice on my white dog, we'll see how it hold up through the winter.Bonus point:  The loud plaid pattern causes my horse (a confirmed dog stomper) to cast a hairy eyeball on the dog and keep well clear, lol. 
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket 60 pound labor wiener wore an XL. Love the blanket for my mare as well as our dog!
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!!! Very durable. Fits my 60 pound Springer Spaniel perfectly!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute, but thin Love this dog coat! Fits my Rat Terrier perfectly. I though it would be insulated, but it's really like a sheet. Very nice though
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from needed a matching one for another dog I have one of these and wanted another one for another dog.I ordered, had to exchange it for a larger size, and still it was too small.I ended up just returning it - got very frustrated by the sizing issues.Unfortunately, I can't read the size on the original - too well used.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daisy Loves her Jacket I got this for my 7 year old boxer. She gets a little chilly when she comes out to the barn with me, so I thought she would like this, and she does! She stays outside longer with this jacket before she comes and hides in the barn with me, or runs to the porch to ask to come in. It fits her really well too.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oops picture! For some reason my picture didn't load last time! Here it is again. This is the smallest size on my 11 pound chiweenie.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Follow-up to include pictures The pictures did not load on my previous review, so here they are. Size XL on 54 pound pit bull.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute pink coat I bought this jacket because the Weatherbeeta Joules was sold out. I have that one for another of my dogs and I LOVE it. I can't think of a thing against it. I love a velcro surcingle on a dog coat. One of my other dogs has one with the criss-cross hook belly straps like a horse blanket so it takes a little longer to get it on and off and the double straps really aren't necessary for a dog. I ordered the pink in size XL for my 54 pound pitbull, who has a big, deep chest but small waist. (Pic included) She can sit, lay, play, and stretch in it without being cumbersome. Based on her measurements, she was between an XL and XXL and I'm glad I went down in size otherwise it would be bulky on her. Only gave 3 stars for value because I think it's a little pricey for what it is. And it is advertised as having thinsulate, but it's not very warm to the touch when I take it off of her. I bought it mostly to help break the wind and be waterproof for the winter. Her "brother," a jack russell, plows into her and bites her when they play and it has held up without a mark.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute coat Things I love about this coat: 200g fill, 600d waterproof shell, and It's adorable. Things I don't love: the thin velcro belly strap. It leaves my dog's belly exposed to the cold and hits him in an awkward spot. If it had a wide belly strap like the Rambo, it would be unbeatable.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's like a horse blanket for your dog This reminds me of my horse blanket I have on my horse. The only complaint is you have to take it off when she comes in because it is stiff due to the thinsulate for her to curl up. It does a good job at blocking the wind and rain. Plus my female English Setter look cute in the pink plaid.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! I bought this in pink for my chiweenie and it was an excellent purchase. It allows her to make it out to the barn on cooler days, even colder days if I layer it with a sweater underneath. Great buy, would recommend. She is on the small end as far as size and it just barely velcros because of how small she is, but I've never had an issue with her getting out of it and she still moves around with ease. It looks great too! Great product.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on....Easy off This coat is very nice! It is not real heavyweight, and has a silky type lining. This is nice for the outdoor dog, so straw and such won't have a fuzzy lining to cling to. It is easy to put on and take off. No having to bend those little legs trying to get it in the hole.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat! I bought this for my Cavalier. It fits well and allows her to move. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice dog coat I have a short-haired, but thick-coated, Shepherd/hound mix. She doesn't seem to get cold in our mild northern California climate but she does get wet - and when she gets wet, she stays wet for a long time. Since she goes to work with me, I needed something to keep her dry and eliminate puddles on the office floor! This coat goes on easily, stays in place and doesn't bother her at all. It adjusts to fit her long, lean frame. I wish someone would make a horse blanket with this velcro closure system.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nice but doesn't stay on One minute I put my dog's pretty new blanket on and the next, it's sitting out in the lawn...
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! Not only is it super cute for my mini schnauzer but it keeps her dry and warm at the same time. A big plus is that she cannot get it off herself like her other coats. True to size.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small, not sure how much it does I bought a size "large" for my 45lb Australian Shepherd and the fitting is all wrong. Oddly enough the velcro around the chest and belly is almost too big but the fabric itself only goes about 3/4 down his back.I attached a picture so you can see how it *looks* too small even though the sizing is "right."It's light weight and stays in place well and I have no doubt it's very durable and awesome (as are most SmartPak brand things). I just wish it fit better!I'm also not entirely sure how much of a difference this makes for the dog although it does a bit to make worried dog-moms feel a bit better about the snow.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks Beautiful, But I Wish... I purchased this blanket for my 50 lb Lab/Pit mix. It looks absolutely beautiful on her, and I love the Smart Pink plaid. However, I ultimately wish it had two surcingle straps that cross, rather than just the single belly strap. I think that would make the fit more secure. Even though the blanket appears to fit, when she bends her head down to sniff, etc., as dogs do, it slides or gapes in the back (which isn't so helpful when the object is to keep her warm in cold weather). Fortunately, I also had ordered the SmartPak fleece blanket to use as a liner.
    Date published: 2012-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product Great Quality in the blanket. I have a very hyper Dobbie and this blanket makes it through her daily activities!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartPink Thinsulate Dog Coat The SmartPink Thinsulate Dog Coat is a very cute, well made, non-bulky dog coat. It is great for layering over a fleece dog jacket or a sweater. The only reason I did not give this dog coat five stars is because the strap that goes around the dog is so long, the velcro is hardly touching when it is on my Chihuahua mix, even when it is layered over other doggie clothing. I guess this coat was designed to fit more of a Corgi body type or a stockier Jack Russell.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So cute! I did not give this 5 stars because it seems a little lightweight; I would have preferred more fill. I can not comment on the quality as I have only had it about a week.I did want to let everyone know about size because I couldn't find too many reviews on it.I have a 10mo 85lb weim. He is all legs and pretty skinny. I got the XXL in hopes he could grow into it. The XXL fits perfect now, but I am sure i will have to get the XXXL in the next 6mo.The largest size doesn't fit the largest dogs... but the blanket is beautiful. Just don't get if you have a grate dane..lol
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog jacket Warm, durable, thick and well made. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This product! looks so cute an fits very well. I just wish the one belly band was two that criscross like a horse blanket to keep it more secure.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    • 2016-05-30T16:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_134
    • loc_en_US, sid_3910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders