Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Slick 'N Easy™

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13490
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Fiberglass grooming block that is the easy, low-cost way to remove loose hair, dust and dirt. Leaves the horse's coat slicker, shinier and well shed-out. Each Slick 'N Easy grooms 10 - 12 horses.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Slick 'N Easy™ is rated 4.7672 out of 5 by 116.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little tool! This little block works awesome for shedding out those winter coats! My horse fell asleep during the first time I used this on him, he loved it. I love it because it's super easy to use!
    Date published: 2015-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hair And Dirt I like that this can be used with or without a curry comb. It will pull up hair (unlike a shedding blade which generally needs a curry beforehand to loosen things up) as well as dirt and make it easy to swipe away!Mine did break a small piece off when I pressed WAY too hard on it, but that was user error.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Works great on thin/sensitive-skinned horses (instead of a curry) to get the dirt and dander off. I use it during the spring to help shed, summer to keep a nice dappled bloom, and winter to get the mud off (doesn't take off his winter coat). My gelding loves it on his face and around his ears. Run it across the floor or a hard surface when it gets dirty, to get to the sharp surface underneath.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thing Ever! Throw out ALL those other hair removers! This item removes the hair so well it makes shedding out your horse actually enjoyable! I like to use the block on its side as i have arthritis in my hands and i can hold it better that way. I also keep the edges square by running it along the edge of a board or on a concrete block. Also when it is smaller i can get in the tight places around his feet and jaw line. To shed hair or get dirt out this product is the best! Wish it was around 30 years ago! Try it, you will like it!
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best shedding tool around I purchased this after using it on my horse. I also purchased a furminator, but this worked even better than the furminator. It's best to use a shedding blade before to pull some of the loose hair, then the block.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! I have used the Slick N Easy before and love it for taking off that shedding winter hair down to slick summer hair.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best things I have ever used to get horses shed out. It works great.
    Date published: 2014-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets hair great! I have used for three weeks now and it's a great tool to help get winter hair.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great grooming box addition for Spring I've used these shedding blocks for what seems like forever. They work wonders on the areas that are hard to get to with a standard shedding tool (like elbows) and all you need to do to keep it "sharp" is rub it a few times on a stone or something similar. My only complaint is that it STINKS when you first unwrap the block but I can live with that!
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works to remove hair. I works good to remove hair but after the first time used it brought in half.
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hair remover ever! My older gelding furs up like a beast during winter. I've used curry combs shedding blades, etc. to get the hair off and it takes months . This block gets the hair off in no time! I love it! Many other boarders at the stable have seen how well it works on my gelding and ordered there own. It is a lifesaver during shedding season.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shedding Season Must Have Strange palm sized light weight stone makes grooming shedding ponies a breeze!
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Love this grooming block for shedding out horses. Easily gets the job done, wish they lasted longer.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does a good job Love this little pumice block for shedding season! I have a super sensitive mare who hates being brushed, curried, or otherwise groomed, but for some reason she likes this thing. It does a great job of getting all the excess hair and mud off.
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Efficient Tool Works great to shed out my TB. He didn't grow enough coat for me to need a shedding blade, but I wanted a different method than just currying him until the hair stuck to my whole arm! Works well to shed even the harder to reach areas like his legs and face. Once the dirt and hair started to build up on it I did have to take my knife to it to shave off the gunk so it would still work.
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool Grooming Tool! I tried this product a few years ago and it works really well! I was shocked, I was surprised on how it worked compared to a shedding blade. Great for sensitive areas on horses, or if you just don't like shedding blades, this is an easy and cheap alternative!
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for shedding season I love these. Perfect for shedding out behind the ears, the elbow, under the belly...everywhere.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this thing! I have a thin skinned TB who is hard to shed in some areas and this is perfect. he loves it, it works great and its cheap. I was actually giggling while I used it the first time because I thought it was so cool..
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets tons of hair off Gets tons of hair off and my woolly mammoth really enjoys it when it's used on his head and neck. My only complaint is that it cracked in half the first time I used it; I think it was partially damaged in shipping. It still works, I just have two triangle shaped blocks instead of a big rectangle.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grows On You I was a little skeptical of this product, but thought it couldn't hurt to try it for the price.I admit I've really grown to like it. My horse, while not finicky about grooming, is not a huge fan of traditional shedding blades. She seems to be fine with being scraped with this, though, and it's amazing how much fine dirt and hair is removed as you work.I had to get the hang of using it to its best advantage though. To CLEAN/SHED, I use the sharp corner in very short, firm strokes to get the most out of it. And it can take awhile to do your whole horse this way. As the edge dulls, switch to another or sharpen the block on concrete (super easy to do). To SHINE, use a flat side and swipe in long strokes like you would with a brush. It really works, but also takes some time/elbow grease.It's not really fast (at least not the way I use it), it's a shame that it wears down, and it will shatter/chip if you hit it hard against anything, but it's a valuable addition to my grooming bag.The barn owner recently commented that my horse, despite her age, was displaying a really surprisingly sleek coat for this early in the spring while the rest of the herd was still looking pretty rough. Must be the Slick 'n Easy!
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must-Have in Spring! I love these-always have plenty on hand in the spring. I can easily scrape the loose hair off-hair I didn't even know was there & my thin-skinned TB doesn't mind this at all. Best thing for shedding horses.
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must For Hairy Horses This is a fantastic grooming tool. Even my sensitive horses don't mind when I use this to shed them out.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for Sheding This is a great way to get shedding done quick works great
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive and effective This grooming block does a great job of pulling away the the undercoat which has started to shed out with the lengthening of days. I like that I'm able to do all of the sensitive parts of my horse (like his stomach) that I would never want to touch with a metal shedding blade. Once the edge of the block gets dull and the hair stops sticking as well, I'm able to just run the edge down the side of our stone wash rack and it's good as new.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for shedding season. I live in an area where we get very cold weather in the winter. Once spring arrives my horse has a pretty good coat established, so once she starts shedding, currying the hair just takes too long because every couple of strokes with a curry comb and I have to stop and clean out the comb. With this, you just hold it and brush and all the hair sheds so easily and just falls off of the "pumice stone" instead of collecting in the brush. This really cuts the grooming in half and helps to remove all the shedding hair quicker and easier. I definitely love having this in my grooming box!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! After discovering the slick n easy several years ago I will NEVER go thru another shedding season again without one. It is so easy to use that even my children love to help out. There is a sense of satisfaction after using one of these when the clumps of hair just come off. A must have in every grooming box!
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spring Time Shedding Made Easy! My Tennessee Walker has a huge, thick, beautiful coat. In Florida, it gets a little chilly in the winter, and his coat comes in extremely heavy. When it starts to warm up again, it's a shedding mess.I have multiple curry combs, many high quality too, but I keep having to empty little pancake like clumps of hair from them, and it just takes forever.Because the Slick N' Easy is pretty cheap, naturally I was a little suspicious, but I figured I would only be a few dollars out. To my surprise, it works AMAZINGLY. It just comes off like magic and falls to the ground, it doesn't get all over him or me, and it doesn't stick onto the block at all.My horse looked like a new man!
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a good product to have I have used this product for years. It works as advertised. I like to keep this product among my grooming tools, even though I don't use it all the time. I use it for grooming when I need to get on and go. This product is very good for taking off bots. lt works best if an edge is kept on the block--it can be trimmed with a pocket knife.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ABSOLUT BEST ever These are the greatist grooming tool since the brush!They are great in the spring for shedding around the face, legs , and body...no matter how sensitive the area. I use them when the horses start shedding their summer coats as their winter coat is coming in. Works much better than a shedding blade (I think) as my gang are pretty slicked out in the summer and they are too thinned skin for a shedding blade. Great for removing dust too. Try it, you'll love em!
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best thing since hot water Love these things. They are wonderful at removing hair from fall and spring shedding. I find it easier to use than a shedding blade. Especially in late summer as they start shedding for their winter coats. I really like them for the face and legs. My gang think they are in heaven when I do the out side of their ears. Wonderful, wonderful!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    • 2015-08-30T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_107
    • loc_en_US, sid_3490, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.