Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Shoulder Guard

Weatherbeeta USA
- Item #11943
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Favorite Features

  • Stretchy 100% nylon
  • Touch tape closure
  • Full shoulder coverage

Imported

Sizing It Up
Small (Pony)
Medium (Cob)
Large (Horse).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Shoulder Guard is rated 4.125 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from it's probably working It is difficult to see whether or not my horse's thinning coat has actually stopped thinning, but the way this cover's top is slightly rubbed indicates that the cover took the rub, instead of my horse's coat. So I am hopeful. The other people's feedback had some sizing issues, but generally speaking, it is fitting pretty OK with my Dutch WB. Next time I might go up to the full body cover.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shoulder Guard All 8 of our horses wear a shoulder guard under their blankets all winter and we have tried many different brands. This one not only seems to fit the best, but also holds up better than the others to washing and wear. I highly recommend it:)
    Date published: 2009-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Item description did not say velcro and when I called a Smart Pak employee they said it was snap on but it is velcro and I do not like that. Also, I have a large horse and I got the size large which is huge and very baggy. I guess it will do the job but it def. isn't worth $35
    Date published: 2009-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase! Recently, I bought the shoulder guard for my horse that tends to be hard to fit with blankets so therefore he does get some shoulders rubs. He is a show horse so I needed to make sure that his coat stayed show ready for the rest of the season. I have been happy with this purchase so far, no rubs! The only negative that I have is that the girth area is a little large on him, but it fits him everywhere else so it stays in place just fine.
    Date published: 2009-10-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some Design Flaws Contrary to another reviewer, I actually found that this ran a little smaller than I expected. Perhaps the sizing is just inconsisent. I ordered this particular shoulder guard because it has a touch tape closure instead of a sport clip closure, but the touch tape closure is put on so that the "rough" side is against the horse unless you pull the touch tape as far up as possible (which in my case makes it too tight). In addition, the shoulder guard seems very tight around the neck and loose behind the shoulders, which is particularly odd because my horse is a smaller, very light thoroughbred. The next size larger would definitely be too big, particularly given the "loose behind the shoulders" issue. I can only imagine what it would be like on a warmblood.
    Date published: 2009-02-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected My horse has worn this Shoulder Guard less than a week and it has already started to pill. Additionally, the size seems to run big- my horse is 16.1 hands, so I ordered a size large. It has actually rubbed a little of his coat rather than preventing it. I do believe it has an extra layer of warmth and does help keep the coat shiny (in the areas where it doesn’t rub).
    Date published: 2008-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shoulder Guard I have an Arab gelding who wears it. It has definitely stopped the blanket rubbing and it has held up in terms of quality. My only problem with it is that it goes over my horse's head. Anything going over my horse's head upsets him terribly so it takes two people to get it on and off of him.
    Date published: 2008-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Coverage, Best Fit and Durable I've tried many shoulder guards & this one is the best. The materials, including the Velcro closure tape, are comfortable (no plastic buckles!) & it stays fastened and in place. On one horse I use it as a little extra warmth layer & on the other it protects from rubs. Works perfectly for both, and holds up to my roughneck gelding's shenanigans.
    Date published: 2007-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for older horses! My horse Babe has shoulder problems and in the winter she wears a heavy blanket. It really hurts her shoulders! But every since I've started using this product she has been really improving. Works great on the good old ones too!
    Date published: 2005-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I moved my thoroughbred up from North Carolina in the middle of December, little did we know we were headed into one of the snowiest winters Massachusetts has seen in quite awhile. The sudden cold shock had my boy huddling under several layers of blankets which began taking their toll on his sensitive withers and shoulders. The Weatherbeeta Shoulder Guard immediately stopped the rubbing and within a few weeks his hair started to grow back. I was concerned that as the weather warmed he’d be unable to wear the shoulder guard with his turnout, but the lightweight material allows him to enjoy his puddle splashing on rainy spring days without working up a sweat.
    Date published: 2005-05-07
    • 2015-05-24T09:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_1943, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.