Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Shoe Boil Boot

Item #15222
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A Shoe Boil Boot aids in the prevention of capped elbows by keeping the horse’s hooves away from its elbow when lying down. Durable smooth rubber with nylon strap.

Imported.
Key Specifications
  • Material: Rubber
  • Front, Hind or Either: Front
  • Single, Pair or Value Pack: Single

Specifications

Material Rubber
Suitable for Turnout No
Front, Hind or Either Front
Single, Pair or Value Pack Single
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "XC Color Elite front boots have an ARTi-LAGE™ ...
    Description:
    "XC Color Elite front boots have an ARTi-LAGE™ barrier in the front and a Flexible Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU) shield in the back of the boot protecting the front of the canon bone from bruising and the back of the leg ...
    "The Veredus TRC Vento Front Splint Boot provides ...
    Description:
    "The Veredus TRC Vento Front Splint Boot provides comfort, protection, and style to your horse all at once. These sleek black boots guarantee double ventilation. This amazing ventilation system is horizontal - from the inside outwards, and vertical - from ...
    "Outer Construction These boots feature an outer shell ...
    Description:
    "Outer Construction These boots feature an outer shell made from German grade BASF TPU designed to withstand the rigors of riding while remaining flexible to move with a horse's natural movement. The dual hardness outer strike guard is carefully engineered ...
    "The exceptional durability and iconic style of the ...
    Description:
    "The exceptional durability and iconic style of the classic Galway Boot, with fashionable and functional new features. Genuine fleece at the top and in the footbed are extremely durable and exceptionally comfortable. Gore's top-of-the-line Potelana synthetic fleece lines the leg, ...
    "Designed for use during high impact, high speed ...
    Description:
    "Designed for use during high impact, high speed disciplines such as cross country, the Smart Event Boot is lightweight, water repellent, and offers exceptional levels of 360 degree protection in addition to a breathable neoprene lining. Imported."
    "With many features of a riding boot and ...
    Description:
    "With many features of a riding boot and a twist of elegance, the Dubarry Clare boot feels equally at home around town and at the barn. Crafted from DryFast-DrySoft™ crushed and smooth performance leathers and fully lined with GORE-TEX®, these ...
    "Save time and money with Woof Wear’s all ...
    Description:
    "Save time and money with Woof Wear’s all new Medical Hoof Boot! This boot fits closely to the foot, providing the protection your horse needs during injury or wound rehabilitation. Perfect for aiding treatment of abscesses, punctured soles, and bruised ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Shoe Boil Boot is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't Work For Me Bought it to prevent my horse from bumping his fetlock and causing swelling, but unfortunately didn't work very well. Might be best for other uses
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it was purchased for This was purchased for a mare that tends to lay funny in her stall and causes a sore. Once we used this boot the sore has cleared up and she is back to her lovely self.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from It left a rub on my horse's fetlock and I had to discontinue use after only a couple of weeks
    Date published: 2015-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job! I bight this boot for my senior horse George who developed a shoe boil from laying down. The vetsuggested getting a boot to prevent further rubbing.It has worked well and now George is able to lay down.The boot is easy to put on and has held up well.
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put on. My horse had serious shoe boil issues on both elbows. After using these boots for two weeks, his elbows are finally starting to heal.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job.... This boot certainly does what it's supposed to, unfortunately my horse rips pieces of the rubber off daily. It ends up only lasting me a few months
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awkward and easily destructible. My horse destroyed this item the second time she wore it. It is easily stepped on by the opposite foot and doesn't hold up.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I hoped for. It was so much larger & heavier than I thought necessary. Returned it
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what the vet ordered! well made, fast shipment and delivery. perfect fix for my horse's shoe boil.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought to help prevent future development of a shoe boilseems to be working
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very difficult to "break in" but works This is a giant rubber doughnut. It is very sturdy and hard to open enough to fit around your horse's pastern. Even the strong cowboys couldn't help. We had to cut the back side with a hack saw to make a hinge. Good thing the boot is so thick and sturdy. It lives on as if nothing ever happened to it.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard rubber The rubber/plastic was very hard/stiff. I couldn't even open it to get it around my horse's leg. SmartPak though was willing to let me return it.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shoe Boil Boot For capped Elbow Built well & fits nicely, been on colt for 4 weeks,have seen zero gain or improvement on his capped elbow ? DMSO & Liniment being used daily, if it starts working I will upgrade this rating.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shoe Boil Boot This boot was made of a rigid plastic that would most likely rub a sore. It was so rigid, you could not even flex it enough to slip it around the fetlock. There was no cushioned foam padding or any material to protect the leg. The only good thing is it was on clearance for $7 and shipping was free, so I tossed it!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, Inexpensive Product We bought two boots when our 4 year old developed a capped elbow from laying down in his stall - he lays down a lot! The boots are very inexpensive and have held up well so far.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job!! My son's TB jumper got a shoe boil and then staph infection--after 12 days in the 'hospital' the vet recommended this product. I was shocked that he doesn't mind wearing it 24x7. It's actually really light weight, just clunky. He has no trouble walking with it on. After 2 weeks he has started to get rub marks but we are just wrapping a little under the donut. It's great if you need it!
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoe Boil Boot I purchased these boots because a bad sore mysteriously appeared on my gelding's front elbow. After consulting a vet, he diagnosed it as a "capped elbow" where the horse is hitting and/or rubbing his elbow when he is lying down or swatting flies, so he suggested I get a pair of these shoe boil boots for him to wear while he is in his stall to protect the area from getting any worse and to allow it to heal properly. It has been almost a month now and the sore is completely healed. The only negative part of the boot is they are a little hard to spread open to put on the back (or front) feet and are pretty bulky but highly recommend this boot for horses that get capped elbows.
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from mixed review I've used this boot for 4 months now and my horse's boil has not improved (gotten smaller), nor has it gotten worse. It's still a large walnut. My horse doesnt mind wearing the boot but it has now torn through in 2 areas (I tried duct tape but it still tore through that) so it will need to be replaced. It seeems to be a bit stiff to force open to get onto my horse's leg and that could be what led to it tearing. In any case, I will purchase a new one because it does achieve the purpose of preventing the boil from becoming larger.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I did not like this product as a horse can easily bite pieces off. After 2 nights it was destroyed.
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok purchase My horse bit this boot up pretty well, I was a bit bummed that his bites were fairly deep since the product seems pretty tuff.Besides that depending on your horse the value is worth it for horses prone to shoe boils
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver This product is fantastic my horse can still walk and lay down without any interference of the boot . It is easy to put on and off and has saved my horses elbow from continually being tramatized every time he gets up from laying down. Since we have purchaed this product we have not had any issues at all with his elbow. Thank You Smartpak for carrying this
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoe boil boot This boot does the job to help prevent future shoe boils. I found it a little difficult to strap on, but once on... it served it's purpose
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from shoe boil is gone Boot works although a bit over priced for what it is.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shoe Boil Boots I bought two shoe boil boots for my horse about a month ago, and then have worked very well. my only complaint would be that the two boots came from to different distributors- one from Jacks which was really nice and a little squishy, so it had some give, and the other one was from Intrepid- very hard and it actually weighed quite a bit more than the one from Jacks.Only buy the one from Jacks!
    Date published: 2010-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value and customer service this boot was half the price of anywhere else I shopped online or in stores. It is well made and durable, The customer service received was also top notch. I couldn't log on to my account and had not received any shipping information because I had entered my email incorrectly! Even so, when I called I got to talk to a real person right away and they were able to retrieve my information instantly. Great company to deal with. Will be a returning customer soon. Thanks!
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very happy with purchase My gelding is terrible about leaving boots/leg wraps on. He works at them until the are off or destroyed. He has worn the boot with no problem from day one. It is working great and his elbow is totally healed. Also very good price on this item.
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective So far this boot has held up, but I've only used it for a week now. The shoe boil has already started to go down and while the boot doesn't interfere with my mare's movement, I would worry about interference on a narrower horse.
    Date published: 2009-08-14
    • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_34
    • loc_en_US, sid_5222, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders