Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Shapley's Original M-T-G Plus

Shapley's
- Item #21410

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Shapley's Original M-T-G plus is the same great formula as Original M-T-G but with a light herbal scent!  It is an easy to use, veterinarian recommended product providing quick and effective relief from a variety of bacterial and fungal skin problems such as rain rot, scratches, girth itch, sweet itch, dry skin and tail/mane rubbing. Original M-T-G Plus creates a healthy environment for the hair follicle, producing maximum growth while keeping the length of the hair shaft soft and pliable for minimum breakage.  In fact, users report up to 3 inches of new growth on manes and tails in a single month.  Horsemen worldwide know Original M-T-G plus as the single solution for both skin healing and hair growth. 

Favorite Features

  • Improved herbal scent
  • Provides quick and effective relief from a variety of bacterial and fungal skin problems
  • Fast acting, provides results in many cases after just a single application
  • Also beneficial to help with hair growth
  • Also safe and effective on dogs, small animals, and livestock

Sizing It Up

10 H x 3 1/4 W

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Shapley's Original M-T-G Plus is rated 4.2143 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did it's job Cleared my horses rain rot in just 3 applications. Smells awful though.
    Date published: 2015-11-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I do not like the smell of the product and that it is very oily
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I hate this stuff. It's super greasy, oily and smells awful. I haven't seen any dramatic differences when I use it so it's not worth it to me.
    Date published: 2015-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent product Great product, not worth the extra money for the herbal scent, so I only gave it 4 stars. I have used this for hair re growth scabby/ scaley areas and aiding stronger/ healthier tail. Will never go without this product.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved scent So far it is working. My horses tail os growing well.
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Caution My horse blistered when unused it to condition his mane in order toPromote hair growth.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay - Would not order again! Still don't like the smell and is very greasy. Would not order again.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have at any Barn This stuff is great I have used it for years. It makes tails grow, works wonders on skin problems and makes hair grow back fast on scrapes. This is my first bottle of the Plus and the smell is much more pleasant.
    Date published: 2014-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MTG Plus Absolutely LOVE this product. Many comment on the awful smell but bottom line is that the product actually works. MTG can be used for so many things so its a good product to have in you barn.
    Date published: 2014-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much easier to smell Did you ever think you would say MTG had a pleasant odor ?? This new MTG Plus is much easier on my sensitive nose!! Thank you-the product hasn't changed it is still the best!!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, better smell I have an Appy gelding. He started rubbing his tail, so between that and the short Appy tail I thought this might help promote better growth. I definitely noticed a difference. His tail has never looked so good. Another big plus, the smell isn't as strong as the Originial M-T-G. Every horse owner should have this in their tack room!
    Date published: 2014-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved smell I have used the original MTG in the past and liked what it did to condition my mare's mane and tail, but hated the smell. Now with the new "Plus" version the scent is no longer offensive. I'm thrilled they've made this improvement, it's a great product.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't do it I got this for my mare's chronic scratches and it did not help.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seeing results! My horse has a very sparse mane so a friend recommended MTG. I have only used it for 2 applications so far (you only need to apply 1x per week) but I am already seeing results! His mane appears thicker and longer! The oil in the product is a bit messy, but it really seems to penetrate the hair to prevent breakage and keep it silky & shiny. I'm impressed and will continue to use this product.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works!! I've been using this product religiously for about 4 months and we have 3 inches of growth and some serious volume! Applied to the roots once a week and worked a little through the rest of her tail (also kept it braided 24/7). It still smells weird but for the results, it doesn't matter!
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great but still smells bad :) I bought the original mtg a few weeks before this stuff to put on my horse's tail. It really works, I actually noticed a difference in a week. I bought the "plus" hoping it would smell better but it doesn't. Mtg is worth the money but probably not worth the extra couple bucks for the plus.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was hopeful that the herb scent would make it smell a lot better than the Original MTG. It helps a little, but it still has that stinky MTG smell.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for removing fungus This was recommended to me by a trainer - my mare had gotten fungus on the bottoms of her legs (another trainer had been washing her too much in the hot weather) - and I tried a number of things - and this got rid of it quickly.  I applied it every day (washed off fungus, dried legs, applied) for three days - and the fungus just disappeared.  Smells a bit like hot sauce .... not offensive, just a bid strange to put on a horse's legs.  My girl didn't object at all (and, I put it on a cut on myself - no burning).  I'll keep a bottle handy always now.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Fixed the Smell! The original M-T-G is a great product, but that smell! My horse has chronic itchy skin, and scratches and rubs himself down down to bloody skin. There's no cure for it, but MTG is the ONLY product that quickly heals the wounds and grows the hair (and mane and tail) fast. While the MTG Ultra is still kind of a "messy" product, by using it my gelding can finally smell like a horse and not a smoked ham!
    Date published: 2013-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best product improvement This product has always been very effective but not esthetically pleasing.The new product is great!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    • 2016-02-06T14:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_25
    • loc_en_US, sid_11410, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.