Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Shapley's Original M-T-G

Shapley's
- Item #16238
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Original M-T-G has been providing quick and effective relief from numerous skin ailments since 1938! Originally formulated for humans, this safe and easy to use product is the only one needed for relief from a variety of bacterial and fungal skin problems, such as: 

• Rain Rot
• Scratches
• Girth Itch
• Sweet Itch
• Dry Skin
• Tail/Mane

Original M-T-G provides results after just one application! Formulated to eliminate the causative agent creating the skin problem, it conditions the skin and hair around the damaged area, promoting both healthy skin and maximum hair growth. In fact, Original M-T-G has proven to work exceptionally well promoting hair growth. Users report up to 3 inches of new growth on manes and tails in a single month.

Original M-T-G creates a healthy environment for the hair follicle, resulting in maximum growth while keeping the length of the hair shaft soft and pliable for minimum breakage. Original M-T-G is a time-tested, user-supported solution to both skin healing and hair growth in a single bottle. An oil-based product that does not require washing or water for application, it is not only easy to use, but great for cold weather.

Original M-T-G is also safe and effective on dogs and other animals’ skin problems, such as hot spots, itching and dry skin.   


Made in the USA

Sizing

32 Oz.
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Mineral Oil, Sulfur, Zinc State, Glycerin, Cade Oil (rectified)
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
    Description:
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Made ...
    "Calm Coat™ All Natural Spray is your one ...
    Description:
    "Calm Coat™ All Natural Spray is your one stop shopping destination for immediate relief to itching, allergies and skin irritations. This comprehensive formula provides relief for summer sores, fungus, ringworm, rain scald, sweet itch, cuts, insects bites and much more. ...
    "After a long hard day of work or ...
    Description:
    "After a long hard day of work or training, treat your horse to a warm relaxing bath with Dr. Milt’s Magnesium Sulfate Crystals. Magnesium Crystal Sulfate baths/ soaks are method to relax and rejuvenate tired sore muscles, sprains and strains. ...
    "The d.w.equis First Aid Boot will aid in ...
    Description:
    "The d.w.equis First Aid Boot will aid in the healing of your horse’s hoof or foot injury. The fully enclosed boot includes a treatment pad which holds medication in place to enable longer contact time with damaged tissue. Proper use ...
    "Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its ...
    Description:
    "Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its antibacterial properties and ability to kill fungi, viruses and bacteria. Tapping into this power, EquiFit, Inc. has developed the AgSilver line of silver-infused horsecare products. CleanBalm is a petroleum-based ointment for use ...
    "Equine Bandaflex is the first all-in-one, no adhesive ...
    Description:
    "Equine Bandaflex is the first all-in-one, no adhesive bandages with a wound patch attached, making it a truly one step system! The patented non-slip grip assures no slippage, but with out the dreaded stickiness and residue of more traditional bandages, ...
    "Complete emergency equine medical kit in every sense ...
    Description:
    "Complete emergency equine medical kit in every sense of the word! The Complete Barn First Aid Kit is well organized, offering enough division to logically organize your medical supplies for fast retrieval, and quick response to any injury or illness. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Shapley's Original M-T-G is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 143.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proven impact I know there is a newer version of this, without sulfur smell, but honestly, I don't care. This product works to treat many skin conditions, thrush, miner injuries, shining coat, getting rid of skin flakes, etc. I hope they never change the formula
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Excellent product for scratches and getting hair to grow back. The smell is gross, but I can overlook that due to the results.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff might stink but it WORKS! I have a hard keeping TB that gets some rain rot every spring. This stuff softens the scabs within 24 hours and leaves behind healthy skin that is ready to grow a new coat of hair.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Worker! I bought this product after reading many great reviews and I am now so impressed that I will always have a bottle on hand! I started using it on my horse's mane and tail and the hair is actually growing longer and stronger. It has a funky smell but since it works it is well worth it!
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for tails MTG is a great product for getting horses to stop rubbing their tails, and then encouraging the tail to grow out. The product is a little messy and is pretty oily, but it works.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for rain rot I tried everything for my mare's skin, but this product stimulated hair growth very well and kept her coat looking great through the rainy season.
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this stuff really works it grows hair and has a treatment effect too. Recommended by vets and vet techs
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for skin conditions! Works great at healing crusty scabs on my haflinger's heels and doesn't need to be applied daily. Also works wonders on the mane and tail when washing is not an option in the winter or year round. Cleans up the funk and detangles thick manes and tails!
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shampoo Very good product, cleans well and leaves horse, mane and tail shining.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for rain rot! My horse had rain rot on her back and M-T-G cleared it right up! It doesn't smell good but it does its job. Just purchase some rubber gloves and wear them when you use the product.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from OVERALL GOOD PRODUCT Nothing really bad to say about this product. the smell is not the best. my mare had a decent tail, but i wanted it to be a WOW tail. The product does work. You just have to watch how much product you add because my mare did have a minor reaction to a large amount of this product. it really dried out her skin around her tail dock area and make her really itchy. Helped her tail get super thick and grow!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Hair Re-Growth! Used Shapley's Original MTG behind horse's ears every other day or so where halter was rubbing the hair off and irritating the skin. The bridle had also started rubbing the same place. Starting seeing results within a week and after several weeks almost all the hair has grown back! Strong smell, but a Great product! Make sure and shake well!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good, smells AWFUL Well this product works really good as a way to reduce rainrot, fungal infections etc. But it smells awful and is really oily! I also didn't think it helped much with growth on my horses tail. But thats ok. I Other than the fact it smells horrible (like bacon) its a really good product!
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing compares for moisture and growth This truly is a miracle product. It had been recommended to me for awhile as a moisturizer for the mane/tail and i never bothered with it. I hated the way it smelled.That was fine, until my horse started to get a humidity based fungus. I tried a couple different treatments until someone recommended MTG having used it on their horses.After applying it to this pesky fungus it cleared up in a couple days! Since i had a bottle of it left i decided to try it in my horses braids at the roots. I couldn't believe it. This stuff keeps the area moisturized for days. I got three inches of strong hair growth on my thin haired mare in two months.I have tried just about every other brand of detangler/conditioner/moisturizer/anti rub/growth promoting product there is.Nothing works like MTG.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ignore the smell...its works! I do hate the way it smells but, it will get rid of fungus and all other "crud" that my TB gets during hot & muggy weather.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For 6 months I have been trying to get rid of a fungus that was on my Thoroughbred's cannons, pasterns, and ears. I tried everything I could think of without any improvement. Last Monday I put MTG on the areas expecting nothing to change and the next time I saw him the fungus was almost completely gone! This is a serious must have for everyone. Can't believe it worked so fast.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love MTG, I always have a bottle in my tack room. I am so glad that Smartpak carries it!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works but smells This work great on horses that get itchy and rub out their mane/tail. It does have a strong odor & I do use gloves when I apply it. Make sure not to let the horse out in the direct sun after application (I put it on at dinner) because it is oil based & can cause the sun to burn the skin. Work great on sweet itch belly irritation also.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For horses AND dogs! I only ever used this on my horse for little scratches and such, but the biggest use I found for it was on my dog. In the summer time my dig gets terrible hot sport from her allergies, usually I have to end up clipping the spots to let them dry. I put this on the hot spots and I didn't even have to clip hem anymore. If I catch them early they re gone in a day or two. A wonderful answer to anyone with an animal who gets hot spots.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet another product I will never be without No matter what problem you have for skin conditions or healing injuries, this is the go to product for hair regrowth and to get rid of that nasty fungus
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great on Scratches This product worked great for scratches!
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smelly but good MTG - always good smells like dead fish though.
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fine, IF your horses isn't sensitive I've used this on my mom's Standardbred gelding with no problems. My TB had a few spots that my vet said might be ringworm, and said to use the MTG on them. OH MY! Within a day of using it my poor boys hair was falling out all around it and it looked like he had chemical burns. I've stopped using this and opted for Blu-Kote- not that I love looking at blue of my chestnut gelding, but it sure beats all of his hair falling off. I really like the Eqyss- MicroTek is a lto safer, and smells better, in my opinion. DON'T use this if you have a horse with sensitive skin, and do your horse (and yourself) a favor and try in a SMALL spot first to make sure they aren't going to have a reaction. I won't use this stuff ever again since I only own TB's, but seems fine for some horses- I just don't like taking my chances!
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Miracles!! This is one of the most miraculous-working products I have ever used! My mare's tail used to be thin as she would sometimes rip it out when doing rollbacks or stoping. MGT has not only made her tail thicker but it is also making it longer as well! It also works wonders on getting rid of any sort of bacteria or fungus. In my opintion, the only downside to this product is the smell, not so pleasant! But hey if it works miracles it is golden in my book! MTG is a must-have for my mare and me. I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for dew poisoning I really like using this product to soften up the black scabs my gelding gets on his white legs every spring and summer. I apply heavily and then wait a day, and it's a lot easier to scrub them off with Betadine than it is to just soften them with water alone. The smell is bad and lingers forever, but I bought rubber gloves and that helps :).
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle worker This stuff is awesome. I first heard about it a few years ago when my mare got bad rain rot under her blanket in the winter when it was far too cold to bath her with medicated shampoos. I used this and within days we saw an improvement in her coat. Since then I use it for rain rot and for her dry skin problems on her tail. I have owned my mare for 7 years and she has always had issues with an itchy tail and often scratched it all off in the summer. We tried everything to cure it without having to call a vet, but we were applying stuff every day and it still wasn't working very well. I tried this on her tail one summer and low and behold the itching stopped and her tail began growing back faster and healthier! One of the best things about it is that since it's oily I only have to apply it every 4-5 days! It does smell a bit weird, but I think it smells like a campfire so I don't mind it at all, especially considering how much it helps my horse! Awesome stuff and I highly recommend it to everyone!
    Date published: 2011-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for skin problems If you find irritations on your horses skin this is the product to use!!
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_132
    • loc_en_US, sid_6238, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders