Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Schreiner's Herbal Solution

Schreiner's
- Item #11733
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Schreiner's Herbal Solution is a simple, safe and effective healing topical herbal application, endorsed and used successfully nationwide by veterinarians. The restorative formula promotes healing in open wounds, post-surgical sites, cuts, fungi and other skin disorders. By repelling pesky insects and eliminating proud flesh, Schreiner's Herbal Solution makes healing time a shorter and more comfortable process.


Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains Capsaicin, which is prohibited by competitive organizations.

Ingredients

Aloe Vera, Myrrh, Goldenseal, Comfrey, Cayenne (a source of Capsaicin) and Elder in a light Isopropyl Alcohol base.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Use directly on open wounds, cuts, proud flesh, saddle sores, fungus or other skin disorders. Apply to affected area liberally twice a day until restored. Massage sore muscles, joints or other areas of inflammation with Schreiner's Herbal Solution for relief.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Absorbine Fungasol Ointment is proven effective to help ...
    Description:
    "Absorbine Fungasol Ointment is proven effective to help combat bacterial and fungal skin conditions such as rain rot, ringworm, girth itch, wound bacteria, and more! This product contains soothing Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf (tea Tree) oil and other ingredients known for ...
    "Fungasol Spray is your quick and easy solution ...
    Description:
    "Fungasol Spray is your quick and easy solution bacterial and fungal skin conditions. This leave on water based spray has been shown helpful for treating rain rot, ringworm, wound bacteria, girth itch and more! Contains Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf (tea Tree) ...
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
    Description:
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Made ...
    "Calm Coat™ All Natural Spray is your one ...
    Description:
    "Calm Coat™ All Natural Spray is your one stop shopping destination for immediate relief to itching, allergies and skin irritations. This comprehensive formula provides relief for summer sores, fungus, ringworm, rain scald, sweet itch, cuts, insects bites and much more. ...
    "Advanced, scientific formula that allows the skin to ...
    Description:
    "Advanced, scientific formula that allows the skin to breathe freely and heal 'correctly' in beneficial moist conditions, helping to reduce healing time of minor cuts, scratches and abrasions. Contains Zinc oxide to form a non-greasy barrier against potential contaminants, as ...
    "Healing Tree TEA-CLENZ is a cationic, or non-sudsing, ...
    Description:
    "Healing Tree TEA-CLENZ is a cationic, or non-sudsing, cleanser that in its properly diluted form is superb in the treatment of rainscald, rainrot, ringworm, summer sores, girth itch, and other fungal and bacterial skin problems, especially those involving large areas ...
    "A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian ...
    Description:
    "A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian Tea Tree Oil, Aloe Vera, Jojoba Oil, 1% Hydrocortisone, Benzathonium Chloride and Behenyl TMS in a soothing vanishing cream base. Aids in the treatment of ‘scratches’, girth itch, galls and sores, and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Schreiner's Herbal Solution is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works wonders on wounds I have been using a friend's on my horse and liked it so I purchased a bottle of my own.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! I use it mainly on my dog. It heals very fast and he doesn't lick it off. (I believe it is because of the cayenne pepper.)
    Date published: 2016-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! I mainly use it on my dog. It heals everything very fast and he will not lick it off. (I do believe it is from the cayenne pepper.)
    Date published: 2016-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always my first choice
    Date published: 2016-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great long time trusted product I have been using this product for many, many years and it's always been superior
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Schreiner's! This is a great product for quick first aid for scrapes, insect bites, skin irritation. I carry a small bottle in my saddle bag.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My fav wound care product! I've been using it for years for my animals, family and friends. Heals from the inside out, deters flies, no proud flesh, hair regrows quickly. I keep bottles in my tack room, trailer, and house.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A GOOD product I either grab this or the healing tree spray--always make sure I have some.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this product to help with Summer Sores. It didn't have any effect really. Maybe it's better with other types of injuries.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works incredibly fast I have used this product for a few years and still can not believe how it works. Even used it on my dog who had a mysterious hot spot that would not heal...even looked at by my vet and prescribed antibiotics. Used the schreiners 2x and already had a marked improvement. Afew more times and her hair grew back and area was totally healed. I have heard this nicknamed...liquid gold.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems OK I have only used this a few weeks. I am using it on a large, deep leg wound that has been a complete booger to heal. I haven't noticed this product making a significant difference, but this particular wound may not make a fair opinion for the product. I have heard good things about it and will keep it around for smaller cuts and scrapes but for anything large, stick with what you can get from the vet.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schreiner's Herbal Solution Purchased to try on a skin condition developed by one of our dogs due to allergies. I found that the solution has helped in clearing up the condition, and will continue to use until fully healed.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff out there! I LOVE this product.Scrapes, cuts, bite marks.... Schreiner's takes care of it all.... and it heals it FAST.I have almost everyone in my barn using it! Use it once and you'll never use anything else.My one caution is that the first application does STING. (yes I've used it on myself to see what it does) I always make sure to stand in such a way to ensure I can't be struck or kicked if the horse is not a fan. I haven't had any react this way yet - but I do know it stings so I am always very careful.
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I've used this many times on my dogs' cuts & open wounds. They don't flinch or try to run so it must not sting. Makes wounds heal faster than using other products I've tried.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great results This product consistently produces good and quick results on a variety of skin/cut issues. I'm not sure if it is my new horse, or a change in the product, but if I put this on his legs he does paw/kick out for a few seconds after as if it might sting. He is a giant baby, and I had used it a few years ago on a different horse without this reaction. so I'm not sure, but perhaps would not recommend this for sensitive horses.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Miracle Product If you need things to heal up quick with no scarring this is your product. I used this on a horse that had tons of wounds from being attacked by a stud. Horse healed up so good there was zero scarring. The bottle is tiny and this product is pricey but if you have deeper or bigger wounds then buy this product instead of buying something that just seems to be a better value. If you do want something similar but cheaper than the healing tree spray works almost as well.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for Stubborn Scratches I know this is an expensive solution to scratches, but it was the only thing that WORKED on my horse this summer/fall. After cleaning his legs with warm water, wipe and pat dry, then spray SHS and apply udder balm to keep the mud out long enough for the SHS to work. It cleared up his scratches in about a week! Tried numerous other medications for months and nothing else was working.
    Date published: 2011-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the Job Done! I've been borrowing this from my neighbors and decided it was time to get my own. This is the best topical herbal solution for hot spots and dry flaky spots on my animals (mostly dogs). It gets the job done quickly.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome! I recommend this to everyone. This is great for all types of wounds and scrapes. My horse had several spots missing hair. We used this on all the spots and the hair grew back. You can't even see where the spots were.
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think that this is a great product. I like that it heels wounds quickly and it helps them heel from the inside out. It works great!
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I bought this to clear up some skin issues with both one of my cats and a horse and it worked very well for both. Quite pleased with this product!
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really can heal all wounds! I bought this product first while working in a retail store that sold it. We had a bottle with a broken sprayer so I got it cheap. I was amazed at the results and have used it on all sorts of wounds since! I haven't found anything yet it hasn't helped with as far as the healing process goes. Deep wounds, shallow, rope burns, horse fly bites... you name it this product will have it healed up in NO time!The only caution I will give is that it does BURN when applied to an open wound (I was curious and tried it).... So when applying to a sensitive animal or to the hind legs be sure you stand clear just in case they decide they aren't a fan. After the first application though, it usually has healed enough that the next time, they don't care.AWESOME STUFF!
    Date published: 2011-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle worker! Bought this stuff for my filly after she suffered a huge laceration to her shoulder. Brought her home from Purdue and her incision busted wide open, real nasty looking. Started using Scheiners once i saw some before and after pics on their website. Started noticing healing daily after that as well as everyone else at my barn. Everyone was really impressed. It healed from the inside out and barely left a scar considering how nasty it once looked. VERY impressed. Was super easy to apply, kept the flies off it, and never had to worry about proud flesh. I wish you could see the before and after. I'd pay way more for how well it worked. To say the least, I keep it handy and use it always.
    Date published: 2011-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! My horse got himself a nice little slice last summer, just days before a rated horse trial. I tried this product on him and could see the product working right infront of my eyes! I think the product may sting or something because my horse did flinch (but then again, he did have a "boo boo". Anyways, I cant believe how quickly this product worked!!! Amazinggg! You can see it start to close the slice up and by the next day, its a totally different looking wound! Great product!
    Date published: 2011-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Barn Should Be Without This... Having 35 racehorses, we see alot of both self inflicted wounds and racing related injuries...and no matter how big or small, Schreiner's is my "go-to" for anything from cuts and scrapes, fungus, rundowns, hobble chafes and minor strains. Most of our horses compete every 7-10 days, which does not leave a lot of time in between races for healing, but this stuff clears them up fast!
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of the best products ive used for any cuts, scrapes,etc. ,minimizes any scaring/proud flesh.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! I had used Schreiner's before with mixed results. This time I had a four month old colt who tore up the front of his hock. The vet advised me to leave it open, because of the location. I used triple antibiotic for about a week, but started to have issues with proud flesh. I switched to Scheiners, applying it twice a day as recommended, and he healed great. It doesn't even look like he'll have a scar! I really liked the spray feature on the 8 oz. bottle. The colt was getting hard to doctor because he didn't want the wound touched as often as we needed to treat him with the ointment. The Schreiner's worked so well on the colt that I started to put it on a wound on my dog that just won't heal - it's closing up and the new tissue looks good and healthy. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a good wound care product.
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great leave-on treatment I love having a natural solution for treating fungus and applying to wounds. Schreiner's Herbal Solution has helped my horse with a couple of fungus issues, and I like that it sprays on easily and dries quickly, so it doesn't need to be covered and doesn't attract dirt.
    Date published: 2010-08-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Jury is still out I've heard wonderful things about this product from many people so I wanted to give it a try on my horse's hind leg wounds. He banged himself up pretty good, a deep gash on the inside hind and hence, lots of bandaging. Once the bandages came off I started using this product. I have used this on both bandaged chafed skin as well as the open wound and don't see any difference in the healing. I've been using it daily for 4 weeks, massaging it into the areas.It's a bit pricey for quantity. Based on the other reviews I would suggest trying it but it's not working for me.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best spray for cuts I use this product for cuts and abrasions. It works fast, healing the injury and reducing the chance of scarring. Our gelding had a deep cut on his fetlock that many of the barn mates were sure would scar. After using Schreiners on it daily not only did it heal but has his beautiful black hair covering the injury and no sign of scarring. We always keep it in the tack box!
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_49
    • loc_en_US, sid_1733, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders