Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Schreiner's Herbal Solution

Schreiner's
- Item #11733
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Schreiner's Herbal Solution is a simple, safe and effective healing topical herbal application, endorsed and used successfully nationwide by veterinarians. The restorative formula promotes healing in open wounds, post-surgical sites, cuts, fungi and other skin disorders. By repelling pesky insects and eliminating proud flesh, Schreiner's Herbal Solution makes healing time a shorter and more comfortable process.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains Capsaicin, which is prohibited by competitive organizations.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Schreiner's Herbal Solution is rated 4.6279 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff out there! I LOVE this product.Scrapes, cuts, bite marks.... Schreiner's takes care of it all.... and it heals it FAST.I have almost everyone in my barn using it! Use it once and you'll never use anything else.My one caution is that the first application does STING. (yes I've used it on myself to see what it does) I always make sure to stand in such a way to ensure I can't be struck or kicked if the horse is not a fan. I haven't had any react this way yet - but I do know it stings so I am always very careful.
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I've used this many times on my dogs' cuts & open wounds. They don't flinch or try to run so it must not sting. Makes wounds heal faster than using other products I've tried.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great results This product consistently produces good and quick results on a variety of skin/cut issues. I'm not sure if it is my new horse, or a change in the product, but if I put this on his legs he does paw/kick out for a few seconds after as if it might sting. He is a giant baby, and I had used it a few years ago on a different horse without this reaction. so I'm not sure, but perhaps would not recommend this for sensitive horses.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Miracle Product If you need things to heal up quick with no scarring this is your product. I used this on a horse that had tons of wounds from being attacked by a stud. Horse healed up so good there was zero scarring. The bottle is tiny and this product is pricey but if you have deeper or bigger wounds then buy this product instead of buying something that just seems to be a better value. If you do want something similar but cheaper than the healing tree spray works almost as well.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for Stubborn Scratches I know this is an expensive solution to scratches, but it was the only thing that WORKED on my horse this summer/fall. After cleaning his legs with warm water, wipe and pat dry, then spray SHS and apply udder balm to keep the mud out long enough for the SHS to work. It cleared up his scratches in about a week! Tried numerous other medications for months and nothing else was working.
    Date published: 2011-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the Job Done! I've been borrowing this from my neighbors and decided it was time to get my own. This is the best topical herbal solution for hot spots and dry flaky spots on my animals (mostly dogs). It gets the job done quickly.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome! I recommend this to everyone. This is great for all types of wounds and scrapes. My horse had several spots missing hair. We used this on all the spots and the hair grew back. You can't even see where the spots were.
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think that this is a great product. I like that it heels wounds quickly and it helps them heel from the inside out. It works great!
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I bought this to clear up some skin issues with both one of my cats and a horse and it worked very well for both. Quite pleased with this product!
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really can heal all wounds! I bought this product first while working in a retail store that sold it. We had a bottle with a broken sprayer so I got it cheap. I was amazed at the results and have used it on all sorts of wounds since! I haven't found anything yet it hasn't helped with as far as the healing process goes. Deep wounds, shallow, rope burns, horse fly bites... you name it this product will have it healed up in NO time!The only caution I will give is that it does BURN when applied to an open wound (I was curious and tried it).... So when applying to a sensitive animal or to the hind legs be sure you stand clear just in case they decide they aren't a fan. After the first application though, it usually has healed enough that the next time, they don't care.AWESOME STUFF!
    Date published: 2011-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle worker! Bought this stuff for my filly after she suffered a huge laceration to her shoulder. Brought her home from Purdue and her incision busted wide open, real nasty looking. Started using Scheiners once i saw some before and after pics on their website. Started noticing healing daily after that as well as everyone else at my barn. Everyone was really impressed. It healed from the inside out and barely left a scar considering how nasty it once looked. VERY impressed. Was super easy to apply, kept the flies off it, and never had to worry about proud flesh. I wish you could see the before and after. I'd pay way more for how well it worked. To say the least, I keep it handy and use it always.
    Date published: 2011-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! My horse got himself a nice little slice last summer, just days before a rated horse trial. I tried this product on him and could see the product working right infront of my eyes! I think the product may sting or something because my horse did flinch (but then again, he did have a "boo boo". Anyways, I cant believe how quickly this product worked!!! Amazinggg! You can see it start to close the slice up and by the next day, its a totally different looking wound! Great product!
    Date published: 2011-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Barn Should Be Without This... Having 35 racehorses, we see alot of both self inflicted wounds and racing related injuries...and no matter how big or small, Schreiner's is my "go-to" for anything from cuts and scrapes, fungus, rundowns, hobble chafes and minor strains. Most of our horses compete every 7-10 days, which does not leave a lot of time in between races for healing, but this stuff clears them up fast!
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of the best products ive used for any cuts, scrapes,etc. ,minimizes any scaring/proud flesh.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! I had used Schreiner's before with mixed results. This time I had a four month old colt who tore up the front of his hock. The vet advised me to leave it open, because of the location. I used triple antibiotic for about a week, but started to have issues with proud flesh. I switched to Scheiners, applying it twice a day as recommended, and he healed great. It doesn't even look like he'll have a scar! I really liked the spray feature on the 8 oz. bottle. The colt was getting hard to doctor because he didn't want the wound touched as often as we needed to treat him with the ointment. The Schreiner's worked so well on the colt that I started to put it on a wound on my dog that just won't heal - it's closing up and the new tissue looks good and healthy. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a good wound care product.
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great leave-on treatment I love having a natural solution for treating fungus and applying to wounds. Schreiner's Herbal Solution has helped my horse with a couple of fungus issues, and I like that it sprays on easily and dries quickly, so it doesn't need to be covered and doesn't attract dirt.
    Date published: 2010-08-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Jury is still out I've heard wonderful things about this product from many people so I wanted to give it a try on my horse's hind leg wounds. He banged himself up pretty good, a deep gash on the inside hind and hence, lots of bandaging. Once the bandages came off I started using this product. I have used this on both bandaged chafed skin as well as the open wound and don't see any difference in the healing. I've been using it daily for 4 weeks, massaging it into the areas.It's a bit pricey for quantity. Based on the other reviews I would suggest trying it but it's not working for me.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best spray for cuts I use this product for cuts and abrasions. It works fast, healing the injury and reducing the chance of scarring. Our gelding had a deep cut on his fetlock that many of the barn mates were sure would scar. After using Schreiners on it daily not only did it heal but has his beautiful black hair covering the injury and no sign of scarring. We always keep it in the tack box!
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works GREAT I started using this product 5 years ago after looking at before and after pictures showing what it claimed to do. Those pictures were true to the product- it works wonderfully! I use it on open wounds and skin fungus (rain rot-etc) on my horses. The wounds heal so much faster and it actually elimates the skin fungus! Keep in mind the medicine contains strong smelling ingredients- so spray in an open area - don't let that deter you because it really works GREAT!
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by my veterinarian This product was recommended by my veterinarian and although the jury is still out, I hope it lives up to expectation. My dark bay OTTB is prone to scrapes and nicks, and when her hair grows back in, I am hoping it won't be white. I have been using the product religiously and I hope it lives up to expectation. Product is quite pricey for the quantity (you will be surprised how small the spray bottle is!).
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Very handy and very efficient!Plus it is all natural!
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this stuff! I have used this on my dogs and my horses and I even used it on myself. If I want quick healing, this is what I use first.
    Date published: 2010-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healing product I go to first This is the healing poduct I go to first for almost everyskincare need for my two horses- excellent for scrapes,minor cuts,insect bites,allergic skin 'bumps'hard to reach areas- will show marked improvementafter several applications. I share it with all my horse owner friends.
    Date published: 2009-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love how this product is all natural and comes in spray form. My horse is a big wimp about cuts, and this spray is very easy to apply (even with her moving around). I spray this on all her cuts and have never had any issues with infection or proud flesh. It is well worth the price!
    Date published: 2009-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will definitely be ordering a second bottle! My three year old filly got a cut on her back leg while my parents and I were out of town moving me to a new apartment at school, so it got quite nasty by the time I got home. It had started to form proudflesh and was really swollen. I used this solution on it (and all her other scrapes) and it worked wonders. I even used it on my puppy's ear when he had a little scabby fungus. A+
    Date published: 2009-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended! I have used this product on my grey horse that has melanoma's. I use it on him twice a day and can visibly see the difference it has made. He had a couple large melanomas that shrank in size and one even fell off. If you are looking for a good all natural product to use on melanomas, and have exhausted everything else, I would highly recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW The day before I picked up my horse, 1 year ago, he sustained a cut below his fetlock. It is in a hard to treat area on the inside and subject to bumps from the other foot. I have been treating it since the day I got him. This is over a year now. I have tried sprays, salves, silver patches, wrapping it, putting a bell boot over it, but to no avail. It keeps on building up proud flesh only to be knocked off by the other foot. Then I have to start over again with a new open cut. I sprayed the Schreiners on four times and have already seen improvment in the reduction of the hard skin that forms on the area. I wish I knew about the product last year. It would have saved money and aggravation! Thanks for a great product.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders When my horse had to get stitches across her knee I used Schreiner’s Herbal Solution daily, as soon as the bandages came off, to try and prevent proud flesh. I did not put any other ointment on the area and the scars are hardly noticeable today!
    Date published: 2008-11-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I heard great things... Everyone I've known who has tried this product has loved it, however, I had a scary experience with it. My stallion, who has sensitive skin, had some minor rubs on his girth area after a hard trail ride. I sprayed the Schreiner's Herbal Solution on the rubs and within minutes he was swollen where I had sprayed. I quickly hosed him off and after some minutes he settled down with the cold water, but needless to say I won't be using it again. I do know most people won't have this experience, but just a precaution if you have a horse that has sensitive skin!
    Date published: 2008-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schreiner's Herbal Solution I've had Thoroughbreds all my life, off the track and retrained for eventing, and dressage. Schreiner's is the best solution for TB's who swell up after a tiny scratch or abrasion. TB's are by far the Most Difficult to treat even minor injuries...they blow up the next day and require a lot of care to heal. Schreiner's is the ONLY topical that I use after a thorough washing and don't even have to bandage. Simple and the results are phenomenal. They never even scar or get proud flesh. I highly recommend Schreiner's especially for TB's. TB rider and trainer for over 45 years !!!
    Date published: 2008-06-17
    • 2015-05-27T09:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_1733, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.