Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Saratoga Summer Turnout

Item #11758
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Voted the "Best Summer Turnout" out by John Lyons "The Perfect Horse", the Saratoga Summer Turnout is the best selling flysheet from Saratoga Horseworks. The fabric is non-absorbent and wicks away sweat from the horse allowing it to cool more quickly. The white body reflects sun to keep your horse cooler.

The Saratoga Summer Turnout is made from soft yet durable interlock woven mesh. Elastic leg straps, surcingle, and invisible shoulder gusset. White with Hunter Green trim.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Saratoga Summer Turnout is rated 4.2131 out of 5 by 61.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet but... Just got this today. It's great quality for the price but it was too tight for my horses shoulders. It didn't matter if I loosened it up as he walked it just moved back and got really tight around his shoulders. :(
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet for the price This was my second for my older horse who has never worn a fly sheet in the past. Bought because the horse flies are horrible this year. So far, it's helping the old guy out.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet out there for hot weather I have been buying Saratoga Summer Fly sheets for years and love them for their coolness and eaae of attachment.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SARATOGA HAS LIMITS BUT IS A GOOD SHEET TO HAVE have been using Saratoga sheets for some time and they have issues and good uses both, I had a mare get her teeth caught under the front so I make sure she does not wear this brand and that it is tight not loose in front .Issue two the abrasive fabric is some what solved by the shoulder pleat but it can rub. Issue 3 if you have arthritis liked me the plastic buckles are very hard to use ,that being said I like this sheet if it's not to buggy to keep my gelding cleaner and comfortable , you must always however cross the elastic under the horse and make sure he can't get a leg through i.e. came out one day and a Lipizzaner I had got both legs through the same hole . The sheet wears well and is quite sturdy.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for price This sheet is very light and does not offer UV protection. The horse wouldn't sweat in it, but I was concerned about durability. Around this price there are better options.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great choice for hot climate Just bought my second one to alternate for frequent washing. (My guy finds the nastiest places to roll, so I wash almost daily!) This is a good choice for really hot weather - best combination for price/coolness and durability that I've found. True fit. Shoulder darts looked odd at first but my horse wears this 24/7 and never gets rubs. Buckles are easy and secure. Really like the surcingle and leg strap placement. It does snag, but my Rambo fly sheet (which was WAY too hot for our 100 degree summers) didn't hold up any better. It's lightweight and breathable - he actually seems cooler in the sun with it on than without.
    Date published: 2013-08-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever Along with the smart pack fly boots this is a terrible product. Whenever my horse itches himself there are drag marks where the fabric looks as if it has been rubbed up against boards. Although this product is lightweight it is NOT holding up in the situtation where a horse is turned out for 8-10 hours. Luckilly my horse is turned out by himself; as the consensus in the barn is that it would have been completely destroyed. It was ONLY two weeks after purchase that the sheet looked like I had owned it for 10 years rather than two weeks. I do NOT recommend this product; unless your horse never gets an itch while wearing the sheet!
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Fly Sheet I especially like the leg straps on this sheet and they way they help make the sheet fit and keep it on (my guy likes to roll a lot). 82" fits my 16.2 Hanoverian/Appendix gelding very well and I think it definitely helps keep him cool in the North Carolina heat and humidity. My only complaint with it is that there were two holes in it within a week. I don't know if they were from his pasture buddy chewing on him or what, but it means I will probably have to replace the sheet every year, if not more often. But the price is reasonable and the quality pretty high, so I won't cry too much!
    Date published: 2013-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical and Easy to Use This is a practical, reasonably priced fly sheet. I have hosed it off while on my horse to keep it clean and it drys in minutes. Super-light durable fabric looks like it will easily last through the summer. Very happy with this product so far.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok... I bought this for my gelding to keep him from turning brown over the summer in the sun. So far he has stayed black, but that may just be that warm weather is just starting to come. I like the buckles and how easy they are too adjust, but the neck opening is huge, and if I tighten the front straps, it squeezes around his neck! I am going to continue to use it though it keeps slipping back... anything I can do to stop the slipping back?!
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fly sheet but cut small I have this fly sheet for my petite 15.1 Old/TB mare. I love how breathable it is-way lighter weight than the other fly sheets I have seen. The plastic buckles make it super quick and easy to put on. And it has held up without even a snag for 3 years!But when I bought one for my new Hanoverian gelding, the cut is not generous enough for him. He's not particularly thick in the shoulders, but the front was stretched overly tight and the sides barely came down to cover his belly. I sadly had to send it back, and purchased the SmartPak classic fly sheet for him. This fits him much better. I would recommend the Saratoga sheet for anyone with a more finely built horse, but it may not fit heavier type warmbloods.
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flysheet! I bought this for my gelding who lived out 24/7 pasture board in the HOT humid North Carolina summer. The bugs were horrible, but I was really worried that fly sheets would cause him to overheat. This sheet was fantastic! I believe it actually kept him cooler. Highly highly recommend this blanket. I think it's pretty durable, I never had it rip and he was living out with several other horses. But I only had it one season and someone stole it. It fit really well and I didn't notice any sliding or rubbing. But I loved it enough that I am ordering a second one for my other horse!
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lightweight option Needed a light fly sheet for our hot summers and this seemed like the best option available.. My Rambo fly sheet held in body heat. Fit seemed good, although ran a tad small. Won't know about durability until this summer.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for my TB I have a big TB with high withers....he is notoriously difficult to fit and this is the best sheet for him. We received one as a gift 7 years ago and that lasted him 3-4 seasons. I tried other fly sheets and would only get a season out of them. I caved this year and packed away the others and went back to what worked best!
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loose weave fabric Love the clips used for chest, sursingle and leg straps.... easy to opperate. Fabric is too loose a weave to be very effectivce, and the fit around the neck on both my horses was poor. I sewed in tucks on either side to pull up the chest wrap so it would stay put.
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lightweight fly sheet This is a great lightweight fly sheet. Some other brands are too heavy or dense for really hot weather when the bugs are at their worst. It may only hold up for a season or two with continuous use but has the best fit & material and the price is right.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product Best fly sheet purchase, I have 2 ( different sizes for different horses) one is 2 years old and still like new condition after being used daily, the other brand new. I have tried other brands and nothing compares to this one. Does not slip, feel heavy, rinses out and dries in about 30 mins - great product
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saratoga sheets are the only ones I buy I have been using the Saratoga Summer Sheets for many years and they are the only ones I buy. Easy to put on, adjust and fasten, and they make size 84 to fit my large gelding. I use these on all 5 of my horses.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My choice This is the only fly sheet that I now use. The light weight yet effective protection makes it a winner.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sheet for the $$$ I bought one of these for my 15.2 TB 3 years ago, and it is still in use. During fly season it is on 24/7, and he lives in a pasture with a run-in stall, so it has held up very well. Love the design with the gathers in the neck - NO shoulder rubs. Ease and durability of the legs straps/hardware is also great, and it always stays straight. I sewed the front to make it closed, otherwise the material would gap and leave the straps bare against the chest, but every blanket or sheet with double chest straps does that on my horses. I do wish it had a tail flap to protect the dock from butt-scratching. It is light weight enough that horse flies can bite through it, but in the PNW my main concern is mosquitos. Never worry about him being too hot in it, unlike the stiffer types. I just hose it off when dirty, and it will dry in the sun in a few minutes. I got his usual sheet/blanket size, and it fits fine, but one size bigger would have worked also.
    Date published: 2012-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price! I bought this sheet for a TB I had on lease (didn't want to get him anything expensive) - he was a daily roller and played hard and this sheet looks just as good as the day it came! Held up super well. Fit was pretty decent, the neck hole is slightly large but other then that it's great. It is a really lightweight, soft sheet and he seemed very comfortable in it. Great fly sheet for not a lot of money.
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I have owned at least 6 of these sheets. If your horse is stabled next to a horse that doesn't destroy blankets, this one does a nice job lasting through summer.They are lighter than those polypropelen sheets that make your horse sweat---much better for hot weather. Wash easily!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, nice fly sheet Fits quite well (I ordered slightly larger than normal sheet size). I don't know how durable it will be, but looks better than most.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the price I am very disappointed in this purchase. For one, this is just a regular fly sheet and there is nothing anti-sweat about it. My poor boy has already been sweating underneath it and there was zero wicking away. Second, he has been wearing it for less than 1 week and I already have to wash it because of all the blood stains! Yep, blood stains from where he has been bit through the fly sheet. The sheet seems to fit nice, but I've seen a few horse flies get under the sheet. The sheet does seem durable and of good quality, but this is useless since it does not serve its purpose.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Saratoga Summer Turnout I bought this fly sheet for either my QH mare or my TB mare and it was too small on both of them. And I ordered the same size that they usually wear in winter turnouts. I have to say that they do run small.Other than that it seemed like a nice fly sheet. I cannot comment on the durability since I have returned it.
    Date published: 2011-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like this very much I like this fly sheet very much. It just floats on my horse and it is very soft. The neck opening is a little too big and the sheet just comes to the top of her tail so it could be just a tad longer (no tail flap). I think a larger size would be too big. Overall, it works very well for the intended purpose and she is comfortable in it. I would order another one in a heart beat.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value I have used this sheet two summers, almost every day, on my 16 h TB mare. Although not as durable as the textilene sheets, it has only a couple small "pulls" in the fabric. My mare has high withers and pointy shoulders so it is hard to find sheets and blankets that fit well. This is light enough so that it just "floats" on her. No rubs. Only wish it had a matching neck cover.
    Date published: 2011-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet this is my second Saratoga Flysheet, love them. Good fit for my 16hd TB/QTR horse.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite Summer Fly sheet This is my favorite fly sheet due to it's relatively low cost. It has stood up to daily use and frequent washings for an entire season and sometimes longer. It does not stand up to being bitten/chewed on by herd mates. I love the easy to operate snaps and have never had one break on me. I have been using these sheets for several years now.
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and Light I was looking for a very light mesh that would hold up well, and this blanket has it! It runs a little small, so my next order will be a size larger. Overall, I am very happy with it!
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    • 2015-05-22T08:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_58
    • loc_en_US, sid_1758, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.