Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet

Samshield
- Item #19903

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, the designer's creative energy and the engineer's technical vision. This helmet is made from anti-scratch Polycarbonate outer shell to keep it show ring ready at all times. The front air inlet allows for maximum ventilation. The inside of the helmet contains "Shape Memory" comfort foam, that will mold to your head and never lose its shape.

Favorite Features

ASTM/SEI F1163-15 approved
Harness is made of faux leather

Helmet Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet is rated 4.5238 out of 5 by 63.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the vents! Seems like a good, quality helmet. Love the removable liner and noticed the air vents as soon as I put it on. Also impressed that it was more low profile than I thought it would be. Haven't had it too long but so far so good
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever The helmet fits great, looks great, is comfortable and keeps your head pretty cool; has great ventilation. Looks great in the show ring. Really LOVE that you can clean and eventually replace the helmet liner when it gets oh so stinky!
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing airflow I bought this helmet about a month ago and LOVE it. The memory foam lining is so comfortable and doesn't create pressure points or leave marks on your forehead. My favorite part of this helmet has to be the vent running along the top of the helmet. It seriously feels like I'm riding with an ice pack on my head, it's perfect for riding in 100+ degree heat.
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I bought the helmet because I have heard it is a great helmet... And everyone was right! It is the most comfortable helmet I have ever put on. It is also very professional and sleek looking.
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it so much! Such an amazing helmet. I am obsessed with the padding and it looks super sleek. It is also super easy to clean which was a problem for me with my old helmet.
    Date published: 2015-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastically stylish and very comfortable Bought this helmet as a gift, and now I want one!!
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet great fit and style, comfortable and cool, pricey yes but it seems worth it
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge Dissapointment I was so excited to try this gorgeous helmet out after splurging on it. I pulled it out of the box and it is even prettier in person, however when I tried it on I noticed many design flaws that made me return it... 1) The gray liner comes down too low so that you see a weird gray line on your forehead. 2) When the huge chin strap it tightened all the way the velcro is in a not usable place so the strap just hangs down. 3) The chin strap is at a weird angle. It makes a strange point at the bottom of your chin and sits too far forward. Just by adjusting the visor the chin strap slipped off my chin. 4) Not low profile at all!! Super big and bulky! I really wished it worked but the design was very poorly thought out especially for the price tag!
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Helmet I've had my Samshield for a year or so, and I have loved it up until this past month. Fits great, love that the lining is washable, LOVE the great ventilation I get from the huge vent in the front, and personally love the look.However, the lining underneath the removable lining is attached with glue, and the glue in mine is melting. I keep mine in an AC'd room, and only show in it. The chrome on the Samshield emblem on the front vent is chipping off, which is just cosmetic, but you can't go into the show ring with a paint-chipping helmet. I am being sent a replacement (if this happens again I will be switching back to a CO, GPA's don't fit me), but I would definitely be cautious and make sure that it's not out in the sun or in prolonged heat, as not only have several outer shells of these helmets melted, but apparently the glue holding them together melts, too, which I've never had happen in any other helmet.Love this helmet for the fit, coolness, and style, but certainly not to be used every day.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet So happy with the way it fits. It feels great compaired to other ones, and it looks great on.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, classic styling. Easy care Great helmet for all three rings. Really comfortable, snug fit w replaceable liner. Looks nice too
    Date published: 2015-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet I've Ever Worn I bought this helmet a few weeks ago right before a show & I could not be happier!! It's so comfortable and breathable that I walked round the show with it on!! Its very easy to clean which is very convenient! Also, it runs pretty true to size!
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever!!! This helmet is first class in so many ways. The dirt and dust aren't a threat to its beauty, just wipe them away. The removable padding will make you say goodbye forever to stinky!! It's so stylish I'll never buy another brand for my daughter.
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was hoping for better. For the price, I was hoping for something awesome. This helmet is heavy, very hot and very big (not low-profile AT ALL). The fit is good, and it is comfortable on a cool day but the memory foam is hot and the ventilation does very little in the way of cooling.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I have ever gotten I bought this helmet a year ago and fell off on my head and this helmet didn't even break. (Yes, I had it checked out) Great part, about these helmets is that you can customize to the way you would have them look at. Super easy to clean and comfortable
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! This helmet is so amazing! i just bought it and i love it!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This! A Must Have! I first entered the tack shop with intentions to only buy breeches, but that soon changed when I saw the Shadow Mat! This helmet is so perfect I can't even begin to describe it. The vents are like having built-in AC 24/7, and the helmet itself is super easy to clean up. I rode in extremely heavy rains with this helmet that would've left another helmet with water spots, or would've soaked the velvet through, but this helmet just looked new! I've had it for six months now, and I'm not regretting the price I paid. This helmet is worth every penny.(A note that I have a very round head, and I was so happy when this helmet fit me! I only had to go up a size.)
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet but be aware it runs small! Overall I do really like this helmet but I had to return it twice to get a size that fit. (Thank goodness SmartPak is so great about that. ) I'm 2 sizes bigger in Samshield than I was in my GPA. Even so, the profile is low and very flattering and it's quite comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet, unfortunate waiting time! I ordered this Samshield helmet on Helmet Awareness Day (July 12, 2014) and unfortunately had to wait almost 2 full months for it to ship due to back order. However, I am glad that I waited because I love the helmet and everyone who helped at SmartPak during the waiting period were great!
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet on the Market! I was skeptical about the Samshield brand at first, since at the time it was still relatively new to the scene, but it had all the features I was looking for: plastic or leather (not velvet), subtle air vents and a removable/washable liner. As soon as I put it on, I was in love; this helmet fit me perfectly.The profile is great for my head shape, and even the slightly more forward harness is comfortable on me. The vent provides enough air circulation to keep be a bit cooler than other helmets I’ve worn, and I can occasionally even feel a slight breeze. It’s easy to keep clean (it is after all, plastic) and the liner is very easy to remove and wash: it just snaps into place!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from "Au Courant" Samshield is the latest look in helmets out there, very au courant. So, I had to try one. I have always worn a long oval 6&7/8ths helmet since I started riding 43 years ago. So I ordered a 6&7/8ths Samshield Smoke helmet. It was huge on me by the standards for trying on a helmet for the perfect fit. It felt like it sat on top of my head and not around it, my head wasn't "in" it and flopped front and back as if I rocked my head as if I were landing from a jump.I have seen one of my students adjust her Samshield while on course, every single course! That has bothered me all summer. She says it fits but now I see what she is struggling against. She and I wear the same size and shape helmet.Thinking it could be the French size their helmets larger than the English, I ordered the 6&5/8ths. I kept the 6&7/8 to compare the fit with the 6&5/8. Both of them were floppy! I suspect, perhaps (?), this is because the helmet has no padding right in the front to prevent headaches from a tight fitting helmet. I honestly couldn't achieve a tight fit at all. I could not get either helmet to fit my head. My other supposition is that Samshield doesn't fit long oval heads. I could lift the helmet up onto my scalp by just moving my eyebrows!I sent both Samshield helmets back and I'm sticking to my Charles Owen. I have had two C.O.s now and they fit perfectly, like a custom fit. Don't mess with success!
    Date published: 2014-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I ordered this helmet and when I received it I realized it was the wrong size. Conveniently, smartpak includes a return label and I received my new helmet within the following weeks. Super comfortable and has good ventilation. I like that it's a hard outer shell as it's easy to wipe clean. Ovrerall super pleased with the quality and with smartpak's great return policy!!
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I will be riding in college and wanted a new helmet to bring with me. I had my heart set on a GPA, but then saw the Samshield and liked the look of it, as well as the price. I ordered 2 in different sizes and was able to return the one that didn't fit as well. It is a sleek, great looking helmet. It fits very well and is truly comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfiest helmet ever! I bought this helmet a month ago, and I've loved it ever since. I had a Charles Owen, which I liked, but it pinched me too much front to back. I tried this helmet on, and I loved it! The padding is so unbelievably comfortable, it looks so classy, it's easy to clean, and it's so well ventilated. For oval heads, I 100% recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best helmet This helmet is the best helmet I have ever owned. It is so comfortable and breathable. I love the removable liner in the helmet and how it is super easy to clean. This helmet is great for the hot summer days which can sometimes get up into the 100+ degrees.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit! this helmet is very comfortable. air flow seems to be good. no head pinching, and no squeezing band sensation across the forehead. feels good over hours of wear.
    Date published: 2014-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Totally not worth the price tag I think I was expecting that this helmet would transform me into Grace Kelly given that it is over $400. Instead, it looked like a big smooth bowling ball on my head. It was too round and pinched at front and back for my oval head. Further, I thought the One K was way nicer, and as I point out in my One K review, both helmets are made in Korea and I suspect by the same company. The Samshield is better padded, but the One K is way less weird looking. I honestly don't get the hype on this brand. Maybe the custom ones are all that, but I doubt it if they are starting with the same bulbous shell! Seriously give the One K a shot and put the extra $200 towards a nice new bridle or breeches.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit! Bought this a month ago and it fits great! I have a head that is hard to fit and was able to ride in this helmet without the usual pinching.
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I looked a many different helmets in all price ranges before deciding on the sam shieild. What I like most about it is how it keeps the pressure off your forehead and the inner lining is very comfortable. There is no head pressure which is a relief from the other helmets I have tried where I always ended up with a headache. This one I forget that it is on. It could be a bit lighter in weight but not bad. It is well worth the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet. Comfortable and light weight. I have tried practically every high ended helmet on the market and Charles Owen and Samsheild are the only two brands that fit my oval to round head.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    • 2016-02-10T14:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_9903, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.