Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet

Samshield
- Item #19903
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, the designer's creative energy and the engineer's technical vision. This helmet is made from anti-scratch Polycarbonate outer shell to keep it show ring ready at all times. The front air inlet allows for maximum ventilation. The inside of the helmet contains "Shape Memory" comfort foam, that will mold to your head and never lose its shape.

Helmet Comparison Chart
Favorite Features
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 approved
  • Harness is made of faux leather
    You Might Like
      Customers Also Shopped For
      "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
      Description:
      "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course. ...
      "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline ...
      Description:
      "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline Collection by GPA is filled with top notch safety features. With 50 years experience in the business and following a patented principle, the Reline generation of helmets allows for a new level ...
      "The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
      Description:
      "The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. ASTM/SEI F1163-15 approved. Helmets ...
      "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the ...
      Description:
      "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; ...
      Why We Love This Key Specifications Breech Material: ...
      Description:
      Why We Love This Key Specifications Breech Material: 63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Front zip Rise: Natural rise View full specifications View full specifications STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE ...
      "Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet ...
      Description:
      "Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet in their extensive range, which continually evolves to provide riders with an ever increasing choice of headgear. Imported. Regarding safety, the Charles Owen Wellington Professional is certified by SEI to ASTM F1163-15." ...
      "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life ...
      Description:
      "Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede ...

      Reviews

      out of 5
      89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
      Tell us what you think!

      SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

      • Review 0
      • Votes 0
      • Discipline:
      • Expertise:
      • Product
        Experience:
      • Competitor:
      Quality
      Value
      Palatability

      Helpful?

      Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 93.
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from A helmet I trust! I have had a wide variety of helmets in the past, everything from Troxel, IRH, Ovation, and Charles Owen. IMO by far the best helmet I have ever worn is my Samshield. It fits my round head very nicely and is easy to achieve a custom fit through their exchangeable liner system. The excellent fit and quality construction has saved my head from a fall in one instance and their replacement program is excellent. As someone who has experienced a concussion from a fall in a helmet of questionable quality, I will always invest in a quality helmet and Samshield certainly fits the bill.
      Date published: 2016-12-03
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Helmet I looked at black and brown at a retail store and really like the Shadow color. Sort of a soft black. The only place I could find the Shadow color was Smartpak.
      Date published: 2016-11-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HELMET!!! I have the standard Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet and I am absolutely IN LOVE! This helmet is comfy, ventilated, and fitted. It is perfect. This helmet was definitely a splurge but it was worth every penny. I definitely recommend this helmet. It is easy to clean (damp rag) and I have the normal liner...which I just throw in the wash. I also have the premium liner so that I can put my hair in it without buying another helmet. These are gorgeous and are the hype for a reason.
      Date published: 2016-11-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet! My daughter has had two of these Sam Shield Shadow helmets, with her first being stolen at her last barn:(She asked for another, just like it for her birthday. She cried in happiness when this one arrived, on time, and well-
      Date published: 2016-11-18
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from
      Date published: 2016-10-26
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bought as a B-Day gift for my daughter. My review is just average. My daughter has wanted this helmet FOREVER. Bought it as a bday present and didn't fit;( When I called you exchange for the correct size, I was told I could re-order it and pay again, I would receive a credit once the incorrect size was returned... Since the helmet is $450, I opted to return the helmet and wait... I'm still waiting... No verification the helmet was received or the correct size is coming... Nearly two weeks later??? Also, the sizing is deceiving... You'd think the sizes would be listed from smallest to biggest, but that is not the case... I should've purchased in a store to ensure proper fit. Generally love Smartpak, but kinda frustrated on this one:(
      Date published: 2016-10-25
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and stylish I have trouble fitting helmets-- Charles Owens don't fit right. apparently I have an oval not round shape. By his helmet fits so well. Sizing with a tape measure of my head worked perfectly. I have short hair so didn't have to adjust for a ponytail folded up and inside the helmet. I am comforted knowing I'm protecting my head with such a well-regarded helmet. Not sure about durability since I've only had it a couple months.
      Date published: 2016-10-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable and Attractive Helmet EVER! I bought this a month ago on National Helmet Awareness Day (the sale price helps!). I have a CO and another Samshield helmet, and this one is by far the most comfortable. I have an oval shaped head with a high forehead, so most helmets are somewhat uncomfortable and leave a red mark after an hour or two. This one is amazing-no discomfort, no red marks, super comfortable!!! Why didn't anyone use memory foam before????? Just wore it at a show, and had it on for 4-5 hours at a time. It looked great and stayed comfy, even in 95 degree weather.I would highly, highly recommend this! Buy it! Worth every single penny!
      Date published: 2016-10-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obsessed with this helmet You might need to go a size up. Usually 1/4 and had to go 3/8. Love this helmet though!!!
      Date published: 2016-10-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels Customized I bought this helmet to wear every day while training young horses. I love the development that went into this helmet. Most days it is on my head 5-7 hours! Not only does it fit perfect but my head is never sweaty when I take it off. Function and fashion!
      Date published: 2016-10-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everything Bought this a few weeks ago and I'm super happy with it, true to size chart and all!
      Date published: 2016-10-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I have never worn any brand helmet other than a Charles Owen. I heard that the Samshield was light and that it had removable liner. I am so glad that I decided to try this helmet. It is so comfortable, it looks great, it is so much cooler than my Charles Owen and I can remove the liner to wash when it gets stinky. I could not be any happier about my new helmet!
      Date published: 2016-09-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such good quality! Bought this helmet to use for schooling an showing a month ago and I LOVE it. Great ventalation keeps my head cool while I'm riding and the padding is so soft.
      Date published: 2016-09-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luxury helmet! I love this helmet! It fits perfectly and is very comfortable. Very high quality and I like the chrome accents and the snap out washable liner.
      Date published: 2016-09-26
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Seriously this helmet lives up to all of the hype. The memory foam is so comfortable and cool while keeping the helmet securely in place. The chin strap is ergonomic and flattering. The matte finish looks polished and clean. I never thought I'd switch from Charles Owen helmets, but I think I'm a convert! I wear a 7 in CO and found the Samshields ran the same. The ventilation is way better on the Samshield than the CO AYR8. Definitely recommend!
      Date published: 2016-07-18
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit, durable material, comfortable! The is the best helmet that I have owned this far. I love the removable inner liner, which is washable!!!!! The outer material is waterproof and scratch resistant. The adjustable helmet strap is strong and easy to clasp. A great, affordable helmet.
      Date published: 2016-07-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Former Charles Owens obsesser I am so happy with this helmet! You can feel the breeze and it is so much cooler than my other helmets...and the washable liner is so nice!
      Date published: 2016-05-20
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable Wore this helmet for first time this weekend. Never moved, shifted while jumping around the A/A's ..... when I finished for the day, no red marks on my forehead. Really comfortable and light!! LOVE THIS HELMET!
      Date published: 2016-05-16
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this helmet! This is the most amazing helmet you will ever own, I've had irh, gpa and Charles ownes and none of them come close to the comfort and styling of this helmet. 100% worth the cost.
      Date published: 2016-05-14
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sleek look! I bought this helmet a month ago and I'm very happy with the look and feel
      Date published: 2016-04-19
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I love the samsheilds , but unfortunately I had to send it back bc it was too small
      Date published: 2016-04-18
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this a month ago, but exchanged it for a smaller size, and now I love it!
      Date published: 2016-03-28
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HELMET!! I bought this helmet a few months ago and absolutely love it. The memory foam liner forms to your head and barely leaves a mark. The air vents on the top let in the maximum amount of air and keep your head very cool, even in the summer. The shape of this helmet is also very flattering and looks good on just about anyone.
      Date published: 2016-02-21
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from i bought this for my doughtier ,and she has a rather round head , so it fits perfect. the memory foam liner makes it snug with no pressure.....i thought is was a tad big ..but is supposed to be that way.. awesome helmet super happy low key stylish. i frayed the helmet too with a small face and long oval head shape...did not fit me as good... the harness was too big ...sticking over my chin....so i ordered a different brand.
      Date published: 2016-02-20
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Helmet!! I've ridden in GPAs, Charles Owen and now Samshield, and Samshield is by far my favorite! I have a very oval shaped head (narrow face and large head front to back, not to mention very thick hair) so I was very hesitant to try this brand because I assumed it wouldn't fit but it fits perfectly! Looks very low profile, love the removable liners, very sleek and beautiful.
      Date published: 2016-02-15
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Samshield Shadow Helmet I bought this a month ago. I'm really happy with it. Sizing chart was on point. Love the look and feel of it.
      Date published: 2015-11-16
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from So sleek and professional I bought this helmet a few weeks ago. I am so happy that I did, very, very,very good investment..
      Date published: 2015-10-27
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet! Last helmet purchase was a Charles owens which I loved but opted to switch it up with the samshield- sleek! gorgeous! good fit! love it.
      Date published: 2015-10-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! After a recent fall and needing to replace my GPA helmet, I gave the Samshield a try. So far I love it! Yes lightweight, and very cool. It fits great. I love that the liner can be removed and washed/replaced! I did need to get the helmet in a larger size that I generally wear in a GPA and Charles Owen.
      Date published: 2015-09-06
      Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chin strap problems The helmet looks gorgeous. But the chin strap is set at an awkward angle and cannot be adjusted. The whole thing is too far forward. I had to send it back
      Date published: 2015-09-05
      • y_2017, m_2, d_28, h_6
      • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
      • cp_2, bvpage2n
      • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_89
      • loc_en_US, sid_9903, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
      • clientName_smartpak

      Q & A

      Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders