Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet

Samshield
- Item #19903
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, the designer's creative energy and the engineer's technical vision. This helmet is made from anti-scratch Polycarbonate outer shell to keep it show ring ready at all times. The front air inlet allows for maximum ventilation. The inside of the helmet contains "Shape Memory" comfort foam, that will mold to your head and never lose its shape.

Favorite Features

ASTM/SEI F1163-15 approved
Harness is made of faux leather

Helmet Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the ...
Description:
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the Samshield XC Helmet offers a chic modern look, coupled with incredible airflow, and a fit designed to prevent pressure on the forehead. Favorite Features Pure carbon fiber external shell provides unbeatable strength-to-weight ...
GPA Speed Air 4S helmetfrom theRedline Collectionby GPA ...
Description:
GPA Speed Air 4S helmetfrom theRedline Collectionby GPA is filled with top notch safety features. With 50 yearsexperience in the business and following a patented principle, the Reline generation of helmets allows for a level of shock absorption and double ...
Keep warm with the Samshield Winter Helmet Liner! ...
Description:
Keep warm with the Samshield Winter Helmet Liner! Created from the base ofthe Samshield Shadow MattClassic Liner with the addition ofaWindstopper flap lined with synthetic fur. ItProtects against wind and cold while supplying excellent breathability. Internal memory foam supplies the ...
The GPA Speed Air Helmetcombines safety and comfort ...
Description:
The GPA Speed Air Helmetcombines safety and comfort through this helmet design.Favorite Features Inside removable foam lining, breathable and washable Thermo-Composite 2X PU back retention Metal logo for a perfect finishing Imported Sizing It Up 6 1/2, 6 3/4, 6 ...
The GPS First Lady 2X helmet is the ...
Description:
The GPS First Lady 2X helmet is the first helmet developed for ladies! Same technical assets and same comfortas theSpeed'air model Features aeration, safety, light weight. Favorite Features Large visor designed toProtect skin against sun MetalGPA badge 2X nuca which ...
The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The ...
Description:
The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The Helmet" where tradition meets sport! Customize your look- from a glossy or nubuck shell, to your barn colors. Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Innovative ...
Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
Description:
Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8 Leather Look the latest choice in equestrianProtective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8 requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbialProtection against sweat and ...
out of 5
86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet is rated 4.5675675675675675 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sleek look! I bought this helmet a month ago and I'm very happy with the look and feel
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I love the samsheilds , but unfortunately I had to send it back bc it was too small
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this a month ago, but exchanged it for a smaller size, and now I love it!
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HELMET!! I bought this helmet a few months ago and absolutely love it. The memory foam liner forms to your head and barely leaves a mark. The air vents on the top let in the maximum amount of air and keep your head very cool, even in the summer. The shape of this helmet is also very flattering and looks good on just about anyone.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i bought this for my doughtier ,and she has a rather round head , so it fits perfect. the memory foam liner makes it snug with no pressure.....i thought is was a tad big ..but is supposed to be that way.. awesome helmet super happy low key stylish. i frayed the helmet too with a small face and long oval head shape...did not fit me as good... the harness was too big ...sticking over my chin....so i ordered a different brand.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Helmet!! I've ridden in GPAs, Charles Owen and now Samshield, and Samshield is by far my favorite! I have a very oval shaped head (narrow face and large head front to back, not to mention very thick hair) so I was very hesitant to try this brand because I assumed it wouldn't fit but it fits perfectly! Looks very low profile, love the removable liners, very sleek and beautiful.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Samshield Shadow Helmet I bought this a month ago. I'm really happy with it. Sizing chart was on point. Love the look and feel of it.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So sleek and professional I bought this helmet a few weeks ago. I am so happy that I did, very, very,very good investment..
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet! Last helmet purchase was a Charles owens which I loved but opted to switch it up with the samshield- sleek! gorgeous! good fit! love it.
Date published: 2015-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! After a recent fall and needing to replace my GPA helmet, I gave the Samshield a try. So far I love it! Yes lightweight, and very cool. It fits great. I love that the liner can be removed and washed/replaced! I did need to get the helmet in a larger size that I generally wear in a GPA and Charles Owen.
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chin strap problems The helmet looks gorgeous. But the chin strap is set at an awkward angle and cannot be adjusted. The whole thing is too far forward. I had to send it back
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the vents! Seems like a good, quality helmet. Love the removable liner and noticed the air vents as soon as I put it on. Also impressed that it was more low profile than I thought it would be. Haven't had it too long but so far so good
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever The helmet fits great, looks great, is comfortable and keeps your head pretty cool; has great ventilation. Looks great in the show ring. Really LOVE that you can clean and eventually replace the helmet liner when it gets oh so stinky!
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing airflow I bought this helmet about a month ago and LOVE it. The memory foam lining is so comfortable and doesn't create pressure points or leave marks on your forehead. My favorite part of this helmet has to be the vent running along the top of the helmet. It seriously feels like I'm riding with an ice pack on my head, it's perfect for riding in 100+ degree heat.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I bought the helmet because I have heard it is a great helmet... And everyone was right! It is the most comfortable helmet I have ever put on. It is also very professional and sleek looking.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it so much! Such an amazing helmet. I am obsessed with the padding and it looks super sleek. It is also super easy to clean which was a problem for me with my old helmet.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastically stylish and very comfortable Bought this helmet as a gift, and now I want one!!
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet great fit and style, comfortable and cool, pricey yes but it seems worth it
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge Dissapointment I was so excited to try this gorgeous helmet out after splurging on it. I pulled it out of the box and it is even prettier in person, however when I tried it on I noticed many design flaws that made me return it... 1) The gray liner comes down too low so that you see a weird gray line on your forehead. 2) When the huge chin strap it tightened all the way the velcro is in a not usable place so the strap just hangs down. 3) The chin strap is at a weird angle. It makes a strange point at the bottom of your chin and sits too far forward. Just by adjusting the visor the chin strap slipped off my chin. 4) Not low profile at all!! Super big and bulky! I really wished it worked but the design was very poorly thought out especially for the price tag!
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Helmet I've had my Samshield for a year or so, and I have loved it up until this past month. Fits great, love that the lining is washable, LOVE the great ventilation I get from the huge vent in the front, and personally love the look.However, the lining underneath the removable lining is attached with glue, and the glue in mine is melting. I keep mine in an AC'd room, and only show in it. The chrome on the Samshield emblem on the front vent is chipping off, which is just cosmetic, but you can't go into the show ring with a paint-chipping helmet. I am being sent a replacement (if this happens again I will be switching back to a CO, GPA's don't fit me), but I would definitely be cautious and make sure that it's not out in the sun or in prolonged heat, as not only have several outer shells of these helmets melted, but apparently the glue holding them together melts, too, which I've never had happen in any other helmet.Love this helmet for the fit, coolness, and style, but certainly not to be used every day.
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet So happy with the way it fits. It feels great compaired to other ones, and it looks great on.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, classic styling. Easy care Great helmet for all three rings. Really comfortable, snug fit w replaceable liner. Looks nice too
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet I've Ever Worn I bought this helmet a few weeks ago right before a show & I could not be happier!! It's so comfortable and breathable that I walked round the show with it on!! Its very easy to clean which is very convenient! Also, it runs pretty true to size!
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever!!! This helmet is first class in so many ways. The dirt and dust aren't a threat to its beauty, just wipe them away. The removable padding will make you say goodbye forever to stinky!! It's so stylish I'll never buy another brand for my daughter.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was hoping for better. For the price, I was hoping for something awesome. This helmet is heavy, very hot and very big (not low-profile AT ALL). The fit is good, and it is comfortable on a cool day but the memory foam is hot and the ventilation does very little in the way of cooling.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I have ever gotten I bought this helmet a year ago and fell off on my head and this helmet didn't even break. (Yes, I had it checked out) Great part, about these helmets is that you can customize to the way you would have them look at. Super easy to clean and comfortable
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! This helmet is so amazing! i just bought it and i love it!
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This! A Must Have! I first entered the tack shop with intentions to only buy breeches, but that soon changed when I saw the Shadow Mat! This helmet is so perfect I can't even begin to describe it. The vents are like having built-in AC 24/7, and the helmet itself is super easy to clean up. I rode in extremely heavy rains with this helmet that would've left another helmet with water spots, or would've soaked the velvet through, but this helmet just looked new! I've had it for six months now, and I'm not regretting the price I paid. This helmet is worth every penny.(A note that I have a very round head, and I was so happy when this helmet fit me! I only had to go up a size.)
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet but be aware it runs small! Overall I do really like this helmet but I had to return it twice to get a size that fit. (Thank goodness SmartPak is so great about that. ) I'm 2 sizes bigger in Samshield than I was in my GPA. Even so, the profile is low and very flattering and it's quite comfortable.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet, unfortunate waiting time! I ordered this Samshield helmet on Helmet Awareness Day (July 12, 2014) and unfortunately had to wait almost 2 full months for it to ship due to back order. However, I am glad that I waited because I love the helmet and everyone who helped at SmartPak during the waiting period were great!
Date published: 2014-09-25
  • 2016-07-30T10:42CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_9903, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders