Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Royal Rider Stirrups

Item #12369
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

From Royal Riders of Italy. These Royal Rider Stirrups are lightweight, only 10 oz. Royal Rider Stirrups are made of the highest grade polymer composite to incorporate the advantages of shock absorption with superior strength. Comes with interchangeable black rubber and stainless steel "cheese grater" foot pads. Pads screw in to ensure that they do not move!

Made in Italy.

Favorite Features
  • Lightwieght
  • Durable
  • Interchangeable pads that screw in
  • Shock Absorption

 

Sizing

4 1/2" -  Pony
4 3/4" - Sport
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Say goodbye to the annoying problem of uneven ...
    Description:
    "Say goodbye to the annoying problem of uneven stirrup leathers with the Thorowgood Stirrup Straps! They have a strong nylon web core that will never stretch or snap. Highly recommended for use with the Thorowgood saddles. Imported."
    "Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg ...
    Description:
    "Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made ...
    Why We Love This The Tory Leather Half ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Tory Leather Half Hole Stirrup Leather are durable leathers lined with Nylon to prevent stretching. These leathers feature stainless steel buckles, beveled edges and conveniently numbered holes placed 1/2" apart. Size 54" available in Havana and size ...
    "Now you see it, now you don't! MDC’s ...
    Description:
    "Now you see it, now you don't! MDC’s newly patented ‘S’ Models provide 45° Forward Stirrup Positioning Technology that are invisible in the show ring. Forward facing design provides makes these stirrups ‘Game Changers’ for the future of riding while ...
    "Elegant, high quality leathers, made in the luxurious ...
    Description:
    "Elegant, high quality leathers, made in the luxurious Bates leather to perfectly match the Bates saddles. Riveted buckle design reduces the thickness of the leather under your leg, and the webbing core ensures that the leathers will not stretch. Please ...
    "Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, ...
    Description:
    "Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, strength and comfort! This international, patent-pending style consists of four links allowing for movement in four directions at the same time, enabling immediate release in case of emergency. Made in Germany"
    "Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and ...
    Description:
    "Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Tripled and sewn, these leathers are made of fine calfskin. Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk under your leg for ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Royal Rider Stirrups is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ride yet! I know there is a less expensive version of this type of stirrup, but these are of very nice quality, extremely comfortable while in the tack, and provide a great base of support and are so light weight! I will never go back to conventional stirrups again after riding in the Royal Rider Stirrups.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Rider stirrups Great product, lightweight, secure fit and feel, easy to clean and maintain.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizes It is not labeled but small size is pony size for small child.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups!!! These are amazing!!! They are extremely light but your feet never slip out. My trainer hates these because she likes traditional riding apparel but everyone else loves them!!!!! Recommended to everyone!!!!
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I absolutely love love love these irons!!! They are so light they don't even feel like they are there!! And your feet never slide around! I would purchase them again 100% and I recommend them to EVERYONE!!
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice irons These have helped my knees.
    Date published: 2011-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups I love these stirrups. Good shape, light weight and cheese grinders already installed. They definitely help to keep my foot in place and my saddle is much lighter now. I only own them for about a month but they seem very durable.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice irons These are helping with my sore knees!
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Moved to the Jumper ring and my regular stirrups were WAY to slippery. These are so lightweight, I hardly know they are there but my feet stay PUT. I am comfortable and secure in the saddle over jumps and around tight corners.Very happy with them!
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love 'Em I love these stirrups. I had been riding in Sprenger stirrups for about 5 years to help with my knee pain from ACL tears and ligament replacement. My trainer finally convinced me to change to the Royal Riders for a better fit to my foot, and I am really glad I did. They are lightweight, and I feel that the wider foot bed gives me more security and support over the jumps. I highly recommend these.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getting quality irons are worth it After years of riding in school saddles, I finally got my own saddle. My trainer recommended these stirrup irons because they are lighter, high quality, and the material is less prone to breaking than metal. These irons are really nice and feel super secure. I haven't tried the rubber pads yet, but the cheese grater ones help lock your feet in place. Now I feel like I can concentrate on the rest of my riding without having to be distracted by my feet. I also tried the Royal Rider flexible irons, but preferred the solid, locked-in feel of these instead. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love These Very lite weight yet strong. Great grip but you don't feel like your foot is stuck in them. I'm using them for my young fresh gelding. They give some added security :)
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! WOW... I really did not expect to like these stirrups because of their weight. However, because of their weight they are VERY secure! They are durable and the cheese grater keeps my foot "locked-in"! Just be aware that the cheese grater does not wrap around on both sides of stirrup. It did take me a few minutes to place them correctly on my leathers so they hung properly with the grates wrapping around the edge that my boot rests on. I rode with my beloved MDC stirrups the other day and could not believe the difference!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from royal rider stirrups Excellent value and performance
    Date published: 2010-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups Besides being good looking and really light, sincei have been using these stirrups i have had no knee pain - Love them!
    Date published: 2009-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive and Effective I bought these irons because flex irons, that i use for ankle pain, tend to bring my leg in front of me. I also was invovled in a bad riding accident a few years ago and have trouble flexing my one ankle which in return makes my foot slip out of the stirrup. I hate the price on these stirrups but they are close to being worth the price. My foot has yet to slip and i haven't had any ankle pain. I have even used these with my boots caked in sand and they still didn't slip. I am also carrying my leg where it needs to be. I have a black jumping saddle so these irons look great with my saddle. I love that they also give you an extra set of treads. I am pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ankle pain! I have ridden in standard fillis irons ever since I was a pony kid, and never thought much about changing. Recently I was diagnosed with an overuse strain to the peroneal tendons in my ankle, which makes stretching down into my heel very painful. The doctor suggested that I use a stirrup that would flex with my foot, or one that would absorb shock better than steel. Since I started riding in my trainer's Royal Riders stirrups I have experienced NO ankle pain and have been able to ride comfortably for hours. I was concerned about the light weight, but have noticed no difference in feel between a heavy fillis iron and these. The wider foot platform is very comfortable. Though these stirrups are expensive, I am now looking into getting a pair of my own!
    Date published: 2009-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! The Royal Rider Stirrups are the best stirrups I've ever owned. Well worth the price! The cheese grater pads are worth their weight in gold and have saved me many of times over drop fences. If you go over fences in the ring or out, these are a necessity!
    Date published: 2008-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I'm not one for the stirrups fads, and I'm pretty loyal to my fillis irons. However, I rode in my trainer's saddle the other day, and he has these irons. They're extremely lightweight, and I figured they'd be flimsy and hard to keep my feet in, but I hardly even noticed they were there! My feet were locked in place, and I felt even more secure in these than in my own stirrups. I'm definitely getting a pair!
    Date published: 2008-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow - super light and flexible LOVE these super-light stirrups, not only because they weigh nothing, but because they also stick to my feet. No more "clanging" when I drop them and ride without. Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2008-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be beat... These just stick to your feet. Nice wide platform for jumping and the "cheese grater" pads don't budge. I like them so much I am tempted to get a pair for my dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2008-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups These stirrups are really great. I have a bad ankle and the flex stirrups caused me pain but with these stirrups I have not had pain in my ankles due to the wider pad and I love the cheese grater pads. I recommend these stirrups for anyone who has pain with flex stirrups.
    Date published: 2007-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups I've Owned These are by far the best stirrups that I have owned in my life, and they have saved me over a few fences in my life. The cheese grater pads will not allow your feet to move, and I have never lost a stirrup. The Royal Rider Stirrups are also lightweight which almost makes them seem nonexistent when your riding. An awsome product that every overfences/cross country rider should own.
    Date published: 2007-05-30
    • y_2017, m_1, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_2369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders