Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Royal Rider Stirrups

Item #12369

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

From Royal Riders of Italy. These Royal Rider Stirrups are lightweight, only 10 oz. Royal Rider Stirrups are made of the highest grade polymer composite to incorporate the advantages of shock absorption with superior strength. Comes with interchangeable black rubber and stainless steel "cheese grater" foot pads. Pads screw in to ensure that they do not move!

Favorite Features

  • Lightwieght
  • Durable
  • Interchangeable pads that screw in
  • Shock Absorption

Made in Italy

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Royal Rider Stirrups is rated 4.7778 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getting quality irons are worth it After years of riding in school saddles, I finally got my own saddle. My trainer recommended these stirrup irons because they are lighter, high quality, and the material is less prone to breaking than metal. These irons are really nice and feel super secure. I haven't tried the rubber pads yet, but the cheese grater ones help lock your feet in place. Now I feel like I can concentrate on the rest of my riding without having to be distracted by my feet. I also tried the Royal Rider flexible irons, but preferred the solid, locked-in feel of these instead. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love These Very lite weight yet strong. Great grip but you don't feel like your foot is stuck in them. I'm using them for my young fresh gelding. They give some added security :)
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! WOW... I really did not expect to like these stirrups because of their weight. However, because of their weight they are VERY secure! They are durable and the cheese grater keeps my foot "locked-in"! Just be aware that the cheese grater does not wrap around on both sides of stirrup. It did take me a few minutes to place them correctly on my leathers so they hung properly with the grates wrapping around the edge that my boot rests on. I rode with my beloved MDC stirrups the other day and could not believe the difference!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups Besides being good looking and really light, sincei have been using these stirrups i have had no knee pain - Love them!
    Date published: 2009-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive and Effective I bought these irons because flex irons, that i use for ankle pain, tend to bring my leg in front of me. I also was invovled in a bad riding accident a few years ago and have trouble flexing my one ankle which in return makes my foot slip out of the stirrup. I hate the price on these stirrups but they are close to being worth the price. My foot has yet to slip and i haven't had any ankle pain. I have even used these with my boots caked in sand and they still didn't slip. I am also carrying my leg where it needs to be. I have a black jumping saddle so these irons look great with my saddle. I love that they also give you an extra set of treads. I am pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ankle pain! I have ridden in standard fillis irons ever since I was a pony kid, and never thought much about changing. Recently I was diagnosed with an overuse strain to the peroneal tendons in my ankle, which makes stretching down into my heel very painful. The doctor suggested that I use a stirrup that would flex with my foot, or one that would absorb shock better than steel. Since I started riding in my trainer's Royal Riders stirrups I have experienced NO ankle pain and have been able to ride comfortably for hours. I was concerned about the light weight, but have noticed no difference in feel between a heavy fillis iron and these. The wider foot platform is very comfortable. Though these stirrups are expensive, I am now looking into getting a pair of my own!
    Date published: 2009-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! The Royal Rider Stirrups are the best stirrups I've ever owned. Well worth the price! The cheese grater pads are worth their weight in gold and have saved me many of times over drop fences. If you go over fences in the ring or out, these are a necessity!
    Date published: 2008-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I'm not one for the stirrups fads, and I'm pretty loyal to my fillis irons. However, I rode in my trainer's saddle the other day, and he has these irons. They're extremely lightweight, and I figured they'd be flimsy and hard to keep my feet in, but I hardly even noticed they were there! My feet were locked in place, and I felt even more secure in these than in my own stirrups. I'm definitely getting a pair!
    Date published: 2008-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow - super light and flexible LOVE these super-light stirrups, not only because they weigh nothing, but because they also stick to my feet. No more "clanging" when I drop them and ride without. Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2008-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be beat... These just stick to your feet. Nice wide platform for jumping and the "cheese grater" pads don't budge. I like them so much I am tempted to get a pair for my dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2008-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups These stirrups are really great. I have a bad ankle and the flex stirrups caused me pain but with these stirrups I have not had pain in my ankles due to the wider pad and I love the cheese grater pads. I recommend these stirrups for anyone who has pain with flex stirrups.
    Date published: 2007-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups I've Owned These are by far the best stirrups that I have owned in my life, and they have saved me over a few fences in my life. The cheese grater pads will not allow your feet to move, and I have never lost a stirrup. The Royal Rider Stirrups are also lightweight which almost makes them seem nonexistent when your riding. An awsome product that every overfences/cross country rider should own.
    Date published: 2007-05-30
    • 2016-02-10T15:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_47
    • loc_en_US, sid_2369, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.