Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

- Item #15431
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!  Offers ultra-thin and lightweight protection for your horse's back.  Molded to fit high up into the saddle channel to give protective cushioning while allowing the spine and withers to be free of pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Available in either lift front or lift back depending on your saddle fitting needs
  • Front lift provides 1/2" lift in front while continuing to support the full length of the saddle
  • Back lift provides 1/2" lift to balance the back of the saddle while avoiding pressure to the withers
  • Closed cell foam that won't absorb moisture
  • Fits all styles of saddles

Sizing It Up

Measures 21" in length
One size fits most saddles

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
The EcoGold Stabilizer Hunter Pad is a the ...
The EcoGold Stabilizer Hunter Pad is a the ultimate pad for professional and show circuit riders who desire a sharp looking pad with all the bells and whistles. All parts are 100% breathable and provide the maximumProtection from impact while ...
The Medallion Liftback Fleece Pad is made from ...
The Medallion Liftback Fleece Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes a product that ...
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact ...
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. Opening at withers relieves saddle pressure and improve saddle fit. 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. The Wither Relief Half Pad absorbs ...
The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad ...
The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes ...
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort ...
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort andProtection. The quilted design with Coolmax lining draws away excess heat and moisture. This pad also helps relieve uneven saddle pressure and provides extraProtection where needed while maintaining optimum balance and contact. ...
The Medallion High Profile Fleece Pad is made ...
The Medallion High Profile Fleece Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes a product ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.605263157894737 out of 5 by 114.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very satisfied This pad was recomended to me by my saddle fitter. It has performed very well for us solving a fit problem.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Advertised I got this to try and make my saddle work. I had to return it only b/c my Vet said no go on the saddle. The pad was fine, nice thick foam, pretty much as it appears in the picture. I like the firm wither relief. I've used others in my lesson barn that have taken serious use and abuse and are still around. They can make the horse sweat in the summer, so use a nice absorbent pad under it.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from life saver! After months and hundreds of dollars spent, I finally found a lift pad that works! My young mare has high withers and a short back, leaving little room for a typical western saddle. She needs a pad to lift the saddle up high enough that it doesn't pinch her withers or press on her scapula while not forcing the saddle back too far over her loins. I never guessed I'd find the perfect one in an English wedge pad! Thank you SmartPak, I was just about to give up!
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works fabulous This has been the best find ever. I have sent my dressage saddle in for fittings and still had issues.With this pad it fits perfect and my gelding is so much more comfortable.It is a bit awkward at first, needs to form to the horse.I have purchased the most expensive half pads and never had one work so well.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My trusty Stubben was a bit too wide for my new young OTTB who has narrow, high withers. since I knew that the odds were good that her back would be changing, I didn't want to go the route of a whole new saddle. (What? No saddle fitter called? I know, I know, I'm crazy like that!) So I began the quest to make do with what we had. I tried a couple of expensive half pads (bought gently used, naturally) and was pretty happy with the Mattes shim-able correction pad with the shims in front, but still wanted more. I tried this, and wished I had bought it to begin with. The front riser lifted the saddle well clear and the padding on either side fills in the hollows next to her withers perfectly. Roma wither relief pad FTW!
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for saddle fit Was having problems with saddle fit (horse was cinchy, sore backed) bought the wither relief pad and what a difference it made! Happy horse, happy rider!
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THis is a great pad to fill in the shoulders! This is a very ligtweight pad. It fits over the wither for paddng and flls in my ol' girls shoulders.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good lift, hard to keep put This pad did lift up my saddle and provide adequate shock absorption for my horse's back... but it's very hard to use. Shifts a lot and is VERY light so even when you think you have it how you like it's apt to move. Wasn't much money so was worth a shot, but I won't be using in the future.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Back Riser Pad I purchased this pad to lift the back of my saddle as it was not laying on my horse's back correctly. It did the trick until her back filled in. Well made and durable. In hind sight I should've purchased the black because I got the white dirty, but I'm sure I could bleach it. I would recomend this.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great relief pad This pad does a great job of lifting the back of my saddle the few degrees it needs while absorbing some of the impact. Worthwhile investment.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All-Around Wonderful As a rookie trainer, this was one of the best purchases I've ever made. I have a school horse that is a high-withered Standard/Arabian and all of my saddles pinched him terribly. Now the saddles fit him well and he's doing great in my program! As an added bonus, this has helped a few other horses with less-than-optimal saddles fit them so much better. Now with this pad, I've been able to show students the basics of saddle fitting and helped save my horses backs!
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solved my problem I have an arabian mare with narrow withers. My favorite saddle from my old horse did not fit her properly. The wither relief pad made my old saddle comfortable for her to carry which made me very happy!
Date published: 2013-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive solution to minor saddle fit problems! I've purchased a few of these over the years as they always seem to walk away, people like them so much! I have a down-hill, cutting bred QH and because of that the saddles always seem to sit low on his withers and sometimes even slide forward. This is a great quick solution to keeping the saddle level for the rider and comfort of the horse. My old trusty half pad is not the shimmable type, so I can just slide this over it.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I recently got my first trainer job at a local backyard barn. One of my horses has super high withers and I got concerned about saddles pinching him. This pad was definitely within our price range and fits the horse super well! Not only that but I decided to try it on a couple of other horses and it's been great! Definitely worth it!
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! My TB is hard to fit with shark fin withers, roof back, wither pockets but a shoulder angle usually on wider horses. I finally found a saddle that fit perfectly except the gullet; it is 6" whereas my horse usually takes a 5". This pad (front riser) has been a life saver (and money saver!). It completely fixed the issue and now it fits wonderfully. The design pushes the pad into the gullet channel so there is no uneeded pressure. My horse INSTANTLY went better and finally picked up her left lead. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Provides great wither relief I have a Half-Arab mare with very high withers. I was looking for something to keep pressure off her withers when saddled. This pad is made from molded foam that is sturdy yet still flexible. I use it under a gel pad and saddle blanket. Once I have her Western saddle cinched on, I can reach under the pad and feel there is no contact on her withers. I wish a washable fleece pouch was available for this pad. I think it might get uncomfortable if the horse sweats too much.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Product I love this product. It took awhile to get here, but it was well worth the wait. My horse loves it and now that my saddle fits right she can engage her hind end and really move out! I love this product and I would buy it again and again in a heartbeat. Happy customer:)
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too little lift While this pad seems like it may offer durability, it did not have enough lift in the back for my needs. It was also a bit stiff, although that may lessen with use.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great back riser! this back riser pad lets my horse enjoy work again. great product!!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution I needed a pad to lift my jump saddle off of the back of my new horse. He has shark withers to be sure! I wasn't sure if the high wither curve of the pad would make things worse, when I thought I just needed a lift in the back. The saddle sat even better with it! My saddle was level with good clearance and a better fit over the withers.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yay! I don't have to buy a new saddle now. I was looking for just the right pad to lift the saddle off my high-withered, recently OTTB. I know he'll fill in a bit over the next year so the idea of having to get a new saddle wasn't ideal. This pad did exactly what I hoped it would, is great quality and inexpensive. I was pleasantly surprised that it doesn't add too much bulk under the saddle either -- I don't even 'feel' that it's there. I'm using it over top of a Back on Track/Thin line full square pad, so the two combined gives me the confidence that I'm protecting his back as he starts to transform from his racing physique.
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed I own two high-withered TBs and have had a hard time finding a half pad that helped my saddles fit them both better. This pad did exactly what I had hoped and fits both my dressage and jumper saddle. It has made a huge difference especially for my 7 yr OTTB who fits the definition of shark fin withers! I bought a black pad and will be buying one in white as well.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job for a low price I am using this pad under a side saddle that caused soreness in the loin area due to the saddle being a touch long for my paso fino and lack of conditioning. With the added half an inch of padding under the cantle, along with weight distribution more towards the withers due to the wedge effect, has eliminated my horse's soreness completely. Great purchase!
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This improved my saddle fit in one quick and easy step. It provides a nice cushion and the saddle sticks to it so nothing moves. I love it. Should have bought this years ago.
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good relief pad for the price I bought this pad with the lift in the back (haven't yet tried the lift in the front). I actually bought it to use as a riser pad, since my horse has such high withers and the saddle dipped lower on his back, making it harder for me to post. This lifts the saddle up to level making posting much easier, but it also seems to help relieve any pressure on my horse's withers #even though it's lifted in the back), the foam still helps. I think the pad with the lift in the front would definitely make a difference if your saddle pinches or doesn't fit quite right. I've been using the pad for a couple of years, and it seems to be holding up fairly well.
Date published: 2012-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it is supposed to I bought this to keep from having to get a new saddle every time my horse changes weight. He has high withers so this definately helps. So far, haven't seen any rub marks, it fits nicely under the saddle and doesn't move.
Date published: 2012-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gives just the right amount of "lift" I purchased this pad after using much more expensive fleece pads for years. I was suprised that this pad could work BETTER and provide MORE lift off the wither and for a fraction of the price. My only complaint is that it sometimes slides up during rides. I can't comment on durability because I haven't used it long, but for the price I dont mind replacing it if I have to!
Date published: 2012-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally A Pommel Lift! I've been looking for something to help me fit my dressage saddle to my guy! I can't afford a new saddle to fit him and I needed something to help lift the pommel up (saddle a bit wide). This pad is FINALLY helping! No more sliding way back.I tried the half pad by ecp, and a half pad with inserts, and it was all frustrating. This finally gave me the lift I needed.
Date published: 2012-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Great pad. Considered getting black but so far the white is still looking nice!
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Won Over I was very skeptical when the pad arrived. I was hoping the pad was made of a a slightly more sturdy material in order to offer the front lifting support I needed.But after using it for about a month now, I will admit I'm very impressed. It's keeping the pommel off my high withered OTTB. The pad is easy to clean and is still retaining its shape. I just hope it stays that way!
Date published: 2012-09-09
  • 2016-10-20T13:11CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_107
  • loc_en_US, sid_5431, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders