Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

Roma
- Item #15431
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!  Offers ultra-thin and lightweight protection for your horse's back.  Molded to fit high up into the saddle channel to give protective cushioning while allowing the spine and withers to be free of pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Available in either lift front or lift back depending on your saddle fitting needs
  • Front lift provides 1/2" lift in front while continuing to support the full length of the saddle
  • Back lift provides 1/2" lift to balance the back of the saddle while avoiding pressure to the withers
  • Closed cell foam that won't absorb moisture
  • Fits all styles of saddles

Sizing It Up

Measures 21" in length
One size fits most saddles

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.6733 out of 5 by 101.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive solution to minor saddle fit problems! I've purchased a few of these over the years as they always seem to walk away, people like them so much! I have a down-hill, cutting bred QH and because of that the saddles always seem to sit low on his withers and sometimes even slide forward. This is a great quick solution to keeping the saddle level for the rider and comfort of the horse. My old trusty half pad is not the shimmable type, so I can just slide this over it.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I recently got my first trainer job at a local backyard barn. One of my horses has super high withers and I got concerned about saddles pinching him. This pad was definitely within our price range and fits the horse super well! Not only that but I decided to try it on a couple of other horses and it's been great! Definitely worth it!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! My TB is hard to fit with shark fin withers, roof back, wither pockets but a shoulder angle usually on wider horses. I finally found a saddle that fit perfectly except the gullet; it is 6" whereas my horse usually takes a 5". This pad (front riser) has been a life saver (and money saver!). It completely fixed the issue and now it fits wonderfully. The design pushes the pad into the gullet channel so there is no uneeded pressure. My horse INSTANTLY went better and finally picked up her left lead. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Provides great wither relief I have a Half-Arab mare with very high withers. I was looking for something to keep pressure off her withers when saddled. This pad is made from molded foam that is sturdy yet still flexible. I use it under a gel pad and saddle blanket. Once I have her Western saddle cinched on, I can reach under the pad and feel there is no contact on her withers. I wish a washable fleece pouch was available for this pad. I think it might get uncomfortable if the horse sweats too much.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Product I love this product. It took awhile to get here, but it was well worth the wait. My horse loves it and now that my saddle fits right she can engage her hind end and really move out! I love this product and I would buy it again and again in a heartbeat. Happy customer:)
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too little lift While this pad seems like it may offer durability, it did not have enough lift in the back for my needs. It was also a bit stiff, although that may lessen with use.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great back riser! this back riser pad lets my horse enjoy work again. great product!!
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution I needed a pad to lift my jump saddle off of the back of my new horse. He has shark withers to be sure! I wasn't sure if the high wither curve of the pad would make things worse, when I thought I just needed a lift in the back. The saddle sat even better with it! My saddle was level with good clearance and a better fit over the withers.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yay! I don't have to buy a new saddle now. I was looking for just the right pad to lift the saddle off my high-withered, recently OTTB. I know he'll fill in a bit over the next year so the idea of having to get a new saddle wasn't ideal. This pad did exactly what I hoped it would, is great quality and inexpensive. I was pleasantly surprised that it doesn't add too much bulk under the saddle either -- I don't even 'feel' that it's there. I'm using it over top of a Back on Track/Thin line full square pad, so the two combined gives me the confidence that I'm protecting his back as he starts to transform from his racing physique.
    Date published: 2012-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed I own two high-withered TBs and have had a hard time finding a half pad that helped my saddles fit them both better. This pad did exactly what I had hoped and fits both my dressage and jumper saddle. It has made a huge difference especially for my 7 yr OTTB who fits the definition of shark fin withers! I bought a black pad and will be buying one in white as well.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job for a low price I am using this pad under a side saddle that caused soreness in the loin area due to the saddle being a touch long for my paso fino and lack of conditioning. With the added half an inch of padding under the cantle, along with weight distribution more towards the withers due to the wedge effect, has eliminated my horse's soreness completely. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This improved my saddle fit in one quick and easy step. It provides a nice cushion and the saddle sticks to it so nothing moves. I love it. Should have bought this years ago.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good relief pad for the price I bought this pad with the lift in the back (haven't yet tried the lift in the front). I actually bought it to use as a riser pad, since my horse has such high withers and the saddle dipped lower on his back, making it harder for me to post. This lifts the saddle up to level making posting much easier, but it also seems to help relieve any pressure on my horse's withers #even though it's lifted in the back), the foam still helps. I think the pad with the lift in the front would definitely make a difference if your saddle pinches or doesn't fit quite right. I've been using the pad for a couple of years, and it seems to be holding up fairly well.
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it is supposed to I bought this to keep from having to get a new saddle every time my horse changes weight. He has high withers so this definately helps. So far, haven't seen any rub marks, it fits nicely under the saddle and doesn't move.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gives just the right amount of "lift" I purchased this pad after using much more expensive fleece pads for years. I was suprised that this pad could work BETTER and provide MORE lift off the wither and for a fraction of the price. My only complaint is that it sometimes slides up during rides. I can't comment on durability because I haven't used it long, but for the price I dont mind replacing it if I have to!
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally A Pommel Lift! I've been looking for something to help me fit my dressage saddle to my guy! I can't afford a new saddle to fit him and I needed something to help lift the pommel up (saddle a bit wide). This pad is FINALLY helping! No more sliding way back.I tried the half pad by ecp, and a half pad with inserts, and it was all frustrating. This finally gave me the lift I needed.
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Great pad. Considered getting black but so far the white is still looking nice!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Won Over I was very skeptical when the pad arrived. I was hoping the pad was made of a a slightly more sturdy material in order to offer the front lifting support I needed.But after using it for about a month now, I will admit I'm very impressed. It's keeping the pommel off my high withered OTTB. The pad is easy to clean and is still retaining its shape. I just hope it stays that way!
    Date published: 2012-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Support Pad After my piggy TB lost some weight, my close contact saddle (Bates, standard gullet) started to feel odd when i was riding. I could no longer fit 2-3 fingers under the front and she started to hold her head high at the trot and be heavy on the forehand during the canter. I did some research and all signs pointed to my saddle not fitting her anymore. Additionally, when I was cleaning my saddle one day, I could see where there was no support around her withers. I ordered the front lift in black. My saddle felt more secure, it felt more level (I had felt like i was uphill before the pad, which is weird, but i guess just an effect from it being tipped too forward) and my mare seemed to be much more comfortable and happy under saddle. I am so thankful for this product to help saddle fit with those weird TB withers.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I purchased this wither pad to give the pommel of my saddle a tiny "lift." It works great and fits beautifully under my saddle so it doesn't look ugly. I didn't rate durability because I've had it less than two months. But, so far, it is holding up wonderfully.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what I wanted I purchased this wither pad to give my new saddle a slight lift in the front. It works very well and stays put perfectly. I think my horse appreciates the extra padding around his withers, too.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I purchased this product for additional back support for my jumper mare. It fit perfectly under her saddle which is 17 1/2" and my other mares 17" saddle. Great value for the money!
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I use the lift front version under my dressage saddle - makes it balance out perfectly! My horse has no issues with it, I would assume he likes it since its picking the saddle up off his withers (he's low in the front - growth spurt). I don't feel any real change in contact with it. Pad is very thin but does the job well. I also use the regular version (no lift) under my western saddle as an added shock absorber. Once again it is great. Although they look cheap being that it is thin foam, these things hold up really well and are also easy to clean off.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great with pad!! I got this for my narrow TB and with it I can make a Reg. tree fit him nicely. I've had it a while and it isn't flat or showing signs of being so. I love this pad!
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe more than I needed I think this pad may work very well with some saddles, but it seemed to be more than I needed and it may not be designed for dressage saddles. The base of the padding at the tree points was very thick and did not taper, which might create a pressure point for some saddles -- and it raised my saddle up too high. I never rode in it because my horse is sensitive, but it's possible that had I given it time to settle it would have done the job. I'm using a mattes pad with some success.I don't blame the pad -- I believe it could be the answer to a lot of saddle fitting problems -- but it did not work that well for mine and I returned it (very easily, thanks smartpak).
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I have had this pad for over a year and it has been used by everyone in my barn. It has been stepped on, mucked on, and everything in between. It has been used on dressage horse, H/J and eventers. At first i thought it was pricey 30 bucks for foam srsly? After all the use it has seen cost per wear is zero now. It still has its shape and useful. I would buy again.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works for my horse My saddle is a bit too wide and was sitting too close to the top of my horses withers. This lifted the saddle for a much better fit and does not seem to bulky under my saddle.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice relief pad for the money My instructor had a similar pad that I always used with an older horse. This pad works just as well and offers a lot of protection for the horse. I love this pad and the fact it makes rides easier on my buddy.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, but won't do what I wanted it to do Bought this to get some pommel lift, but this won't do exactly what I wanted. It lifts the front a little but also lifts the flaps. I just wanted a pommel lift -- didn't want any lift on the sides. It's a good pad and fits well, but not for my purpose.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not yet It's a little early to judge it yet on durability and lasting value, but I'm very pleased in general with this style and the protection it gives the horse.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    • 2015-08-29T13:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_95
    • loc_en_US, sid_5431, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.