Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

Roma
- Item #15431
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!  Offers ultra-thin and lightweight protection for your horse's back.  Molded to fit high up into the saddle channel to give protective cushioning while allowing the spine and withers to be free of pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Available in either lift front or lift back depending on your saddle fitting needs
  • Front lift provides 1/2" lift in front while continuing to support the full length of the saddle
  • Back lift provides 1/2" lift to balance the back of the saddle while avoiding pressure to the withers
  • Closed cell foam that won't absorb moisture
  • Fits all styles of saddles

Sizing It Up

Measures 21" in length
One size fits most saddles

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to ...
    Description:
    Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to be used in conjunction with Mattes sheepskin pads. The Mattes Quilt Only Pads are quilted with a layer of poly-flex that absorbs energy and eliminates bounce. Velcro billet and girth straps. All ...
    TheEcoGold Stabilizer Hunter Pad is atheultimate padfor professional ...
    Description:
    TheEcoGold Stabilizer Hunter Pad is atheultimate padfor professional and show circuit riders who desire a sharp looking pad with all the bells and whistles. All parts are 100% breathable and provide the maximumProtection from impact while preventing unwanted saddle movement. ...
    The Medallion Liftback Fleece Pad is made from ...
    Description:
    The Medallion Liftback Fleece Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes a product that ...
    The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact ...
    Description:
    The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. Opening at withers relieves saddle pressure and improve saddle fit. 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. The Wither Relief Half Pad absorbs ...
    TheOgilvy Baby Pad is theperfect training pad... also ...
    Description:
    TheOgilvy Baby Pad is theperfect training pad... also used in the Grand Prix ring! Short, square and so stable that it doesn't even need any straps to stay in place. This little pad carries all the characteristics of the Ogilvy ...
    The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad ...
    Description:
    The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes ...
    Ideal for horses that are out of shape ...
    Description:
    Ideal for horses that are out of shape or returning from an injury, the Comfort Fleece Correction Pad System is made with100% Merino Sheepskin, allows for excellent circulation, and provides superior padding for distribution of pressure points. Favorite Features Open ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.669811320754717 out of 5 by 106.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the Job I bought this as a temporary fix to help my current saddle fit my horse better until our new dreamboat saddle arrived. A big help to him--he would actually give me a sitting trot; before the rear panels would bump him in the back, driving him forward. Great product and reasonably priced. Will definitely be keeping for my tack room even once I sell my old saddle!
    Date published: 2015-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does Its Job This is a good, basic wither relief pad at a very reasonable price. The foam seems to get dirty somewhat easily and tends to dent, but is much cheaper than the pads with removable shims. My only complaint is that the foam is very thick at the withers - I would have liked it a little thinner but my guess is it will thin out a bit with time.
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pad I like how the half pad cushions the horse's back without adding bulk. The lift back puts the saddle in a better position. I bought white and would definitely buy this again.
    Date published: 2015-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saddle Fits Great! I purchased this improve the saddle fit on the Thoroughbred I ride with high withers. Not only is it cheap, but it works! I've used it about 3 or 4 times now, and love it! It makes the saddle fit so much better, and is barely visable underneath the saddle!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good wither relief pad I love these pads, economical and great wither relief
    Date published: 2015-04-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did exactly what it's suppose to I purchased the lift insert to level out my daughters saddle. It works perfectly. My only suggestion is to NOT put it directly against the horses back. Stack the saddle pad, then insert and then the saddle. At first I stacked the insert then saddle pad and then the saddle and two of my horses bucked with it.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good foam support Nice lightweight foam provides a nice back cushion that my horse seems to appreciate.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this pad! This pad has just enough lift to help my saddle sit more evenly on my horse. The foam is soft but still supportive. I haven't owned it for very long so i can't comment or give a good rating on durability yet.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job After buying some very expensive pads, this does the job very well at a good price. It is better than the flat versions which you have to try and form to sit up under the saddle to not put pressure on the wither. I got the one that raises the back of the saddle and it is perfect - a moderate lift. Large was the right size for my 18" jumping saddle.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pads I have the front riser and the rear riser in my tackroom. They are great when you just need a little saddle fit correction. Not too bulky but gives just the right amount of lift where you need it.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I have an M. Toulouse with the adjustable system. My mare requires a wider-set adjustment to accommodate her broad shoulders, but this leaves the saddle pushing on her withers. My saddle fitter recommended I either ditch the saddle or get something with shims to alleviate the issue.I chose to go with this pad firstly based on the price. Shimmable pads start in the $100 range and that wasn't something I was willing to try for a "maybe" fix.I ordered the White front Lift pad & have been riding in it now for about two months.Saddle fit issues are a thing of the past, and this was the best $30 fix I've ever had!
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for my new horse I first tried out this pad by borrowing from a friend then had to buy my own. My saddle fits my low-withered mare, and when I bought my gelding the saddle didn't fit him well over his higher withers. This pad is wedged in the front, meaning that the saddle doesn't ride on his withers anymore. I have ridden him several times with this pad and so far he hasn't been sore and the saddle fit is good. I bought it in white and hope that it will stay clean enough for schooling and showing
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price I ordered this pad overnight while at a show because my horse developed whither rubs from a new saddle. It worked as well as much more expensive pads, looked fine in the ring (in white) and not I use it everyday.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, does the job I bought this pad to alleviate some slight fitting issues with a short-backed QH, with slightly low withers. All saddles that seem to fit also drop down too low in front. So I needed something to lift the pommel slightly without really changing the fit of the saddle too much. This fit the bill quite neatly. The horse seems comfortable with it, the closed cell foam is very resilient and does not make the saddle "bouncy" like some foam pads can. It was a bit pricey, but I think it will pay for itself over time.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adjusts saddle fit and increases horse's comfort I have been using this for about a month now. Lifts up the back of my saddle by about 1/2 inch and takes some pressure off my horse's back. It is holding up well. I have used it at least 20 times and no major wear so far.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Back Relief This pad has really put a lot of energy back into my mare. She enjoys being saddled now that this pad had provided her relief. It is used daily and has help up great.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goldilocks of Relief Pads Not too stiff, not too pliable, not too high, not too low, - you get the idea - it's just right.My 19 year old Thoroughbred seems to have a whole lot more energy now that his back is feeling better via the use of this pad. Great value. I hope it holds up to my intended daily use!
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the contour of this pad, shape stays the same I bought this pad for my daughter while her horse builds a bit more muscle. It is just what was needed and works wonderfully to fill the void between horse and saddle.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great pad this is a great purchase if you have had someone who knows what they are looking for assure you that it fits your horses back. other wise don't buy it. i only bought this pad because i had my trainer look at how it fit my mare's back before purchasing it online. otherwise a great product that works for me and my mare!
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wither pad that actually works ! Not all of us can afford the perfect saddle for the multiple horses and our lives. My thoroughbred required 3 saddle pads just to make the saddle clear his withers. After purchasing this pad we can use one saddle pad! This is a perfect solution for high with her horses without adding too much bulk are worrying about the saddle being too high of the horses back. thank you so much smart pack for this wonderful product.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value for price I bought this to address a saddle fitting issue, and it works fine... i like that it  is dark, white ones tend to get dirty fast, plus this one is almost invisible under the saddle. I just bought it so i don't know how long will it last,  but it looks sturdy enough.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy for my Horses I bought this because I have a very uphill Westphalian gelding I got for eventing, and with just my normal half pad I felt like I was having to lean forwards to sit up straight. It really helped my saddle and my horse is a lot more comfortable now!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very satisfied This pad was recomended to me by my saddle fitter. It has performed very well for us solving a fit problem.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Advertised I got this to try and make my saddle work. I had to return it only b/c my Vet said no go on the saddle. The pad was fine, nice thick foam, pretty much as it appears in the picture. I like the firm wither relief. I've used others in my lesson barn that have taken serious use and abuse and are still around. They can make the horse sweat in the summer, so use a nice absorbent pad under it.
    Date published: 2013-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from life saver! After months and hundreds of dollars spent, I finally found a lift pad that works! My young mare has high withers and a short back, leaving little room for a typical western saddle. She needs a pad to lift the saddle up high enough that it doesn't pinch her withers or press on her scapula while not forcing the saddle back too far over her loins. I never guessed I'd find the perfect one in an English wedge pad! Thank you SmartPak, I was just about to give up!
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works fabulous This has been the best find ever. I have sent my dressage saddle in for fittings and still had issues.With this pad it fits perfect and my gelding is so much more comfortable.It is a bit awkward at first, needs to form to the horse.I have purchased the most expensive half pads and never had one work so well.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My trusty Stubben was a bit too wide for my new young OTTB who has narrow, high withers. since I knew that the odds were good that her back would be changing, I didn't want to go the route of a whole new saddle. (What? No saddle fitter called? I know, I know, I'm crazy like that!) So I began the quest to make do with what we had. I tried a couple of expensive half pads (bought gently used, naturally) and was pretty happy with the Mattes shim-able correction pad with the shims in front, but still wanted more. I tried this, and wished I had bought it to begin with. The front riser lifted the saddle well clear and the padding on either side fills in the hollows next to her withers perfectly. Roma wither relief pad FTW!
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for saddle fit Was having problems with saddle fit (horse was cinchy, sore backed) bought the wither relief pad and what a difference it made! Happy horse, happy rider!
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THis is a great pad to fill in the shoulders! This is a very ligtweight pad. It fits over the wither for paddng and flls in my ol' girls shoulders.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good lift, hard to keep put This pad did lift up my saddle and provide adequate shock absorption for my horse's back... but it's very hard to use. Shifts a lot and is VERY light so even when you think you have it how you like it's apt to move. Wasn't much money so was worth a shot, but I won't be using in the future.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    • 2016-07-25T10:21CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_5431, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders