Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Roma Fly Boots

Roma
- Item #13535
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma’s Mesh Wraps offer strong and durable fly protection. These wraps are made from 100% nylon mesh with soft fleece edging to protect against rubs. Strong touch tape closure keeps leg wraps in place for turnout. Set of 4.


Favorite Features

  • Breathable
  • Prevents flies from biting and irritating legs
  • Washable

Sizing It Up

15" tall 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roma Fly Boots is rated 3.8243 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice wraps - great price Very nice wraps - well made and do a great job. Stay on. Can't beat the price. Length is perfect. Rather large around - but adjustable with the touch tape closures.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth the money My horse has worn these wraps TWICE and they are already coming apart. And she wore them in her paddock, and not even turned out. There is a hole in the mesh which she must have bitten on the first wearing. And tonight (the 2nd wearing) the velcro stitching is coming undone on one of them. They've also created a 'fold' from her wearing them, which looks pretty permanent.
    Date published: 2010-08-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Impressed Several persons had given good reviews on here, so I decided to try these. I had one velcro strap break the first day and had to sew it back on. They sag down to about 6 inches b/c they seem to be top-heavy from the fleece. I think the bottom velcro strap could be placed lower b/c the boots tend to fall and then the whole hoof is covered and just retains mud/moisture in the fleece/nylon. I've seen another brand where there is only fleece at the bottom and the velcro goes vertical vs. horizontal straps and they stay up & perform better.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from roma fly boots great boots for the price. they are a little big but may be made to fit that way.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a horse with some soundness issues so stomping her legs from flies is a problem. I have used the Kensington wraps in the past, but they only lasted 1 season. These fit really nice and are super light. The mesh is small enough to keep out gnats too.
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly protection I've been using these fly boots for years on my 4 horses. I've been especially successful for use on the front legs whether stalled or in turn-out, but recommend putting them on all four legs only when stalled. The horses are comfortable and makes the stomping totally avoidable--reducing stress on joints and hooves/shoes. These boots wash up easily and retain their ability to stay up--yet there's no hard/stiff materials in them to cause injury. Being that they're some of the least expensive boots of their kind--and cost just slightly more than a bottle of good fly spray, these Roma boots are a great value.
    Date published: 2010-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second pair of Roma Fly Boots I have bought for my horses. They wear well and do not fall down. They do not seem to bother or impede my horses movements and they have never rubbed them or created sore spots.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't Like the Fit I bought this for my horse who had terrible skin problems and was allergic to flies. I expected them to stay up and be slightly fitted. His thoroughbred legs were engulfed by them and he hated them.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad for the price I got these because the price was good and not knowing how long fly boots would last, I didn't want to spend tons of money on fly boots. My horse is outside on pasture all day and stalled at night.I usually go through 2 sets of these a year. The ones on my horses back legs don't last as long as the ones on his front and they tend to get torn on the bottom by the fleece. They get dirty and grungy looking quickly.These do stay on well but do sag. These don't fit my small Arabian very well, but neither do most "one- size-fits-all" horse items. They would fit an average size horse okay.Not a bad fly boot, especially for the price.
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best I've used I was really impressed with the Roma Fly Boots I purchased. They held up really well this summer, better than the ones I have used in the past. They did slouch down a little but they still worked really well.
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not up to ROMA Standards We needed fly boots for our finicky mare and after doing a lot of research, I decided on the ROMA Fly Boots. They have been a major disappointment. They do not fit very well regardless of how tight I wrap the velcro. They slip down and they rip/damage easily. I cannot recommend these fly boots.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don't stay up... I bought these specifically to protect a lesion on my horse's hind leg from the flies and these don't cut it. They just don't stay up. Too bad since they are fairly well made, you can flip them upside down to use them for either leg and have fleece on top and bottom.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roma Fly Boots The fly boots are great. Here in our part of CA. the weather is hot and dry and the flies drive the mares nuts. These boots keeps the flies so they aren't stomping their feet. I would definitely recommend them.
    Date published: 2009-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have used these fly boots for 3 years now and they are holding up well. The mesh is extra fine, so flys don't bite through. In heavy fly season, spray a little fly spray on them and it helps even more. Keeps my horse from stomping her shoes loose. At the end of the season, wash them well with soap and water and roll them up in a towel to dry so they retain their shape.
    Date published: 2009-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful! These boots are flimsy and way too big. The fit is terrible and boots don't stay in place.
    Date published: 2009-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than others After buying a set of the Kensington front leg fly boots (which were terrible quality) I wanted to give another product a try. These are much better quality and your get 4 boots for the same price as two of the kensington. They stay up well, good durability, easy to wash...and they have reduced stomping significantly. I would recomend this product. I would not recommend Kensington.
    Date published: 2009-07-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh well... I read several reviews trying to find some fly wraps that people like. These seemed to get the best reviews. At the end of the day, these were too big for my horse as well. Because of that, she ended up tearing one of the velcro straps. They did clean up really nice, though and I will put them back on when the weather clears up again. Overall, these were pretty decent, I'm just not sure the idea of fly leg wraps is any good....
    Date published: 2009-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holding up very well These boots have really done their job. The boots I have used it the past have come apart they have been sown together and the mesh just pulls apart. And that is after a day or two. The Roma Fly boots are still in one piece and keeping the bugs off my mare's legs.
    Date published: 2009-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit Has really helped our guy with the fly bites on his white socks.
    Date published: 2009-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was recommended to me from a friend. So I ordered it from Smartpak. Actually Smartpak was the only site I could find these at. I was also surprise at how fast I received them.
    Date published: 2009-04-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not too bad I bought two sets of the Roma Fly Boots for my two mares. The boots do help a lot with the stomping, but they are large and tend to fall down their legs more then I had hoped. Unfortunately, neither mare would tolerate the boots on their hind legs, so I am returning one set. Overall, they’re not too bad.
    Date published: 2008-09-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly boots are working I ordered the Roma Fly Boots and have been using them a week now. They are doing a great job. They stay up and they are long enough cover almost to my horses knee right down over his hoof. The flies love his 4 white socks and he has Navicular, so he has stopped stomping all day. However, they are white mesh and white velcro, so they are pretty filthy already, but thats the only negative.
    Date published: 2008-06-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Roma Fly Boots My horse has really skinny TB legs and these fly boots have to be wrapped around almost twice to fit her legs, they also slide down pretty easily. I thought that they were going to have some form to them, but they don't have any at all. I also noticed that the horse flys can bite right through them.
    Date published: 2007-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bye, Bye Fly These fly boots are pretty darn good! They keep my horse from kicking and stomping all over the place. I put them on and don't even bother fly spraying over them-they work that good! They do tend to scrunch down a tiny bit, but what can you expect from a piece of mesh, right? I suggest them to anyone who has flies, your horse will thank you!
    Date published: 2007-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these fly boots! These fly boots protect my horse's legs from those awful biting black flies and horseflies of all varieties that make them stomp constantly and drive them nuts! I spray fly spray right onto them instead of onto my horse’s coat, and the Velcro is tough and durable. They're so lightweight, my horse (who dislikes shipping boots or boots of any kind) doesn't mind them in the least!
    Date published: 2006-08-02
    • 2015-05-26T10:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_3535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.