Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Roma Fly Boots

Roma
- Item #13535
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma’s Mesh Wraps offer strong and durable fly protection. These wraps are made from 100% nylon mesh with soft fleece edging to protect against rubs. Strong touch tape closure keeps leg wraps in place for turnout. Set of 4.


Favorite Features

  • Breathable
  • Prevents flies from biting and irritating legs
  • Washable

Sizing It Up

15" tall 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roma Fly Boots is rated 3.8243 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a fan. Flimsy. Would work in a pinch very short term, but would not recommend these fly boots
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Boots On The Market Highly durable, will last the season, and maybe two. Highly fly protective. Stays above pastern which avoids pond mud. Perfect fit. Lacks awkward fit of many fly boot brands because mesh is light enough for horse to move easily and velcro straps are perfectly placed. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money! I bought these last summer and after using them two times, gave them away to a horse charity nearby. The squish down to a crumpled mess around their ankles and look dirty. They seemed like more of a risk than a help. Don't waste your money.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This has been a good product, with a fair price. Easy to put on. They cover the leg, and they stay up.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not what i expected these boots are so thin i actually thought they only sent me 2 instead of a set of 4 but once i opened the package i realized i thought this way because they are so thin! i got size large and i have an 18hh WB and they are a bit big on him actually! i had to trim the velcro straps. my horse gets turned out overnight and so far he's been out in them 3 times and they haven't fallen off or been torn. can't speak for their durability but i understand now why they were cheap for a set of 4. praying they last!
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Wraps These are the first fly wraps I've used, but I have to say I am pretty happy with them. The reviews I read about a bunch of different kinds had me worried that they weren't going to stand up or that my horse would destroy them quickly. I put them on too loose at first, but once I got them tight enough, they stay up better than I expected. (I'll reserve my 5th star for a fly boot that doesn't end up scrunching down, if someone ever makes one!)I almost purchased a different brand, but then I realized how much cheaper this brand was (like half!) and decided to try these first. I'm very glad I did. It looks like the pair he is wearing now will get me through this fly season and I'll have another pair ready to put on whenever these get destroyed.I like that they have fleece at the top AND the bottom (instead of some that only have it at the top).
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roma Fly boots I recommend these to everyone. They only rip and tear if they are not put on tightly enough. They come in packs of four because horses have four legs, not two, so they are the best value of any fly boot out there. They last longer than boots that cost two or three times as much. They are interchangable. I buy one or two packs a year for my three horses, after my initial three pack purchase, and just replace them as needed. Some years, I have not had to repurchase any. They are extremely easy to clean. These are the best fly boots I have ever used or seen used.
    Date published: 2013-08-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable at all Bought these exactly a week ago for my 7 year old OTTB. My trainer informed me two days ago that one had already bit the dust and the other one was just barely hanging on. I went to the barn today and he had ripped off all three straps on one wrap (there are no signs of bite marks at all the straps just ripped cleanly off without much effort, it seems). I would not recommend these to anyone, they do not last at all. I am very disappointed in this product.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, cool, don't slip These are great. They last a long time--I've had mine for years. The only damage is one horse who will occasionally pull off a velcro tab if I forget the Rap-last. If you put them on correctly, they don't slip down (make sure you tighten the lowest velcro around the pastern). They are much better than the Rambo's, and don't seem to heat up the leg. I also like that they can go on any leg (if you don't mind the label being upside down!), which is good if you are putting them on in turn-out!
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not perfect These are well made, but they do tend to slip down the leg. I wish someone would make fly boots with flexible "boning" so they stay up better.Even slipped down, they still cover a good portion of the leg--especially around the bottom where the flies seem to like best.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth it They only lasted 1 day, the velcro on them got torn off completely.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from 50-50 Bought 2 sets. Pair on my retired TB staying on and helping. Other pair on my mare not so hot.....one strap ripped off 2nd time on.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Got these in the middle of summer not only to keep flies off, but help my horse from stomping his feet and hooves chipping bad. I had no idea how many flies go around their lower leg. His hooves have literally improved about 80% from these. Stops ALOT of stomping and he's much more happy. They do slid down if not on right, but my horse didn't seem to mind even when they'd slid alot. Recommend these to anyone I can!
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUCH better than expected!! I was hesitant to order these because they don't look very durable--they are MUCH better than they look!! I marked them as "runs large" because they fit my Oldenburg!!! Not a lot of things do. I am VERY happy with these. They do sag down, but I put them on pretty loosely. They might stay up better if I made them tighter but I've had problems with others that were too tight and his leg swelled up. I am using them mainly to protect his fetlocks from sores--the fly deterrence is an extra bonus. They sag but don't come off. They have not caused any rubs. He doesn't mess with them so I don't have that problem. I only gave 4 stars for durability because I've only been using them for about a week and a half. We'll see how long they last--but there were FOUR in the pack--so I've still got two more! I am not using them on his hind legs because he didn't like having them on there. I highly recommend these!!
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Met my need for now The boots are doing the job of protecting Bens legs from flys. They are not form fitting and need to be adjusted. The fit is better when applied upside down. For the price they are ok.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as Expected Very easy to use, can wrap as tight as need be. Frosty seems to love them as he hasn't destroyed them yet!
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Boots Roma makes high quality products so I purchased their fly boots and I wasn't disappointed! Durable and comfortable, these well made boots are kept on my horse 24/7 and have held up very well! I would recommend them for your horse because they have kept the flies off my horse's legs and prevented fly bites and the problems that happen because of them.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from no flys wasn't happy that I couldn't get cob size for my little thoroughbred as these - like most fly wraps run long on him. Also found it odd that for a set of 4 they all seem to be the same size and the logo goes one way so half the wraps seem upside down when put on correctly and run alittle long for the fronts. All in all they are staying on and haven't ripped - yet so I'm happy.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than Expected I am quite pleased with these boots, I divided the four on two horses' front legs. They stay up on the shorter horse better than the taller horse, but they still seem to do the job. The flies feast on these horses' fetlocks, pasterns and heel bulbs and the boots provide good protection in these areas. The velcro is very sticky and sturdy.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for fly control Really keeps the flies off horses legs and stops the stamping all day.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good with vices Love these fly boots. Stopped my horses from stomping, and saved their feet and legs. They did collect burs but i fixed that with a mower. They stayed on well and have lasted a while! I love them. Ordering two more pairs today! :)
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly boots I purchased these because they were the best prices and seemed to be the lightest weight. I live in southeast Texas, so heat is a problem along with flies. My mare is more comfortable without stopping flies so much. So far they are staying up and doing a great job. I have only used them about 2 weeks.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Roma fly wraps These fly wraps were the first purchase that I have ever had to return to Smartpak. They didn't even make it 24 hours on my two QH's. The wraps did not stay up, just ended up in a big wad around their fetlocks. My younger horse wasted no time in ripping the Velcro off. Just no good all the way around. However, Smartpak was great about me returning them, and I have replaced them with Kensington fly boots, which work very well.
    Date published: 2012-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good deal; easy to wash/repair These are not my favorite fly boots, but for the money they are an excellent value. Yes I do find they will sag and one of my horses is notorious for taking off her fly boots - rips the velcro off. The velcro is very easy to sew back on and the boots still look good. I always take my horses fly boots off every night, a good time to inspect their legs closely. I also cut off the excess velcro tab to help make it a little more difficult for my horse to get the fly boots off.
    Date published: 2012-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from no so good I have searched around and tryed out different fly boots this past year, these were nice but really bad for tall pastures collected lots of burs.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stomping.... Great..... Horse very tolerant and keeps those nasty flies off his legs. No more stomping.
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from no good :( They did not stay up and bunched really really bad...
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not stay up/on! These didn't last a day on my gelding, sadly! He really needs them but managed to get one of the 2 I left on off overnight, and the other was bunched around his fetlock when I arrived. He's an Arab, and they didn't stay up at all, even though they were tight. Can't recommend them.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful item Now that it's mega-bug season in Connecticut (thanks, rain!), I've bitten the bullet and bought fly wraps for the first time. My horse is very happy to wear them and not spend his time stamping away the flies. Vet and farrier are happier too. And I use that much less fly spray, so that's nice too!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Value! I have a 16.2 Thoroughbred with pretty long cannon bones. These are definitely tall enough for his legs - the only question about fit is that there seems to be some excess space around the leg, that determined flies can still enter from the top. However, the value is awesome. For the same price as other listed fly boots, you get two pairs versus one pair. My guy won't tolerate the boots on his hind end, so I swap the sets out as they get dirty. To reduce slouching of the boots, and to help with how wide they appear to be, I sewed some $0.20 felt on the inside in a narrow strip. It took me all of half an hour to do all four and they stand up better for longer. I do wish, though, that they came in a color other than white. Dirt shows up like crazy. Overall, VERY PLEASED!
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    • 2015-05-27T09:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_3535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.