Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Repel-X Lotion

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13487
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable lotion. Repel-X Lotion is excellent for spot treatment around eyes, muzzle, ears and wounds. Cypermethrin formula with botanically-derived pyrethrins to repel and kill biting flies, filth flies, biting gnats, ticks and lice. One application of Repel-X Lotion works 5 to 7 days.

Includes sunscreen and conditioners for healthy skin and coat. Non-greasy Repel-X Lotion formula won't collect dust or dirt. Easy to apply with a convenient flip-top bottle for one-handed application.

8 oz. flip-top bottle

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Repel-X Lotion is rated 4.7576 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's about time!! This is a product that has been needed for some time!! Love it and it works great !!
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from keep bugs at bay I used to use only swat under chins, in ears, etc, now I have gone back to using repel-x lotion. It really seems to be working better and doesn't have any greasy residue.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works and lasts! I've used Repel-X Lotion for a number of years. It lasts about 3 days and is particularly great if applied to the tailhead and belly to prevent gnat bites. I also prefer it for use on the face, as it works well, the horses don't mind the scent, and the container doesn't start leaking like many of the roll-ons.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from love the smell I love the smell of this and I'm sure as a spot treatment on the face and around wounds would be good but as a daily use, no, too expensive that way. I've used it on the underbelly of my horses about three times each using a glove and well, just not totally satisfied with it. Otherwise I would recommend for wounds, etc.
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Product This is a helpful product for ears and face. Use it every year.
    Date published: 2013-04-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so good I bought this based on the good recommendations. Well, here in the muggy southeast we need something much stronger. This product is very runny and ineffective after about an hour.Went back to Endure, which has a bit more staying power.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept the Flies Off! Just finished saddling up for a late afternoon ride, as the sun starts to set and the flies ATTACK! I had sprayed my mare down a few times anticipating flies, but they we out with a vengance that afternoon! Out of desperation to get some relief from the flies AND a ride in, I grabbed the Repel-X Lotion and just started rubbing it on her. The flies vanished, not just let off, but vanished. We were able to have a pleasant ride and when I got back to the barn, everyone asked how I was able to stay out so long with all the flies!The lotion is light, water-based without a heavy odor and lasts for quite a while, I'd say day or two. Works well on legs during fly season to help with stomping. Doesn't leave a greasy residue on your horse or attract dirt. Washes off easily. You only need a small amount in spot areas, so the small bottle will last awhile. Not as convenient as a spray, but it works if your horse is covered in flies! Worth taking the time to open the cap and rub it on legs, face, underbelly areas, anywhere!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well I really like this product. It is very usful in keeping flies away from my horses eyes when riding, and also after I remove their masks in the evening, during those last few minutes before the sun sets. It also has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this stuff I am skeptical of most fly repellents actually doing anything, but Repel-X Lotion does and it works great. I use it as a spot treatment on ears, bellies, chests, and anywhere else flies are really eating. It has a light, pleasant scent, spreads smoothly and leaves minimal if any residue, seems mild enough for sensitive horses, and keeps flies from biting for several days. A bottle also goes a long way; I only need one or two per horse for an entire fly season. Best spot-treatment on the market for flies that I have found.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this I put this on my horse's face as he's quite a diva about bugs flying around his eyes and ears, and it truly works wonders. I apply it about twice a week, as with all the sweating and bathing that goes on in Florida, it really only works for about three solid days. After those three days the bugs start to come creeping back. Definitely worth the purchase, and I will keep buying this for him when this bottle runs out.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff! Was furstrated @ not being able to find this locally. So pleased to be able to add this to my smart pack order. My guy is a bug diva so this lotion makes a great difference when I ride!
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Easy to use under bellies and private parts which are sensitive to ticks. Love the way it goes on.
    Date published: 0002-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't Tried It Yet I haven't tried this product yet. I bought it to use at the shows this summer or underneath his belly when he is turned out in the summer.
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-X Lotion Repel-X Lotion is just a super product. It does not leave a greasy film and really does keep the insects off of those tender areas where I like to use it.
    Date published: 2012-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly repellent out there! I use this product on all of my horses. Just put it on a sponge and wipe it on their belly and face. Works great on fly spots on the belly. This is a must have for sensitive skin horses.
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy I use the Repel X lotion on my mare's face and it works very well. It's also very easy to apply and is reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from favorite for face This lotion works better than any roll on or sponge applicator product, it is gentle, has basically no scent & I like that it has sunscreen it it as well
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product I have a mare that is very sensitive to the face/horn/deer flies and to the sand gnats in our area. I have tried many fly wipes, sprays and use masks as well. Repel XP is an awesome wipe on fly repellant and has given my mare the much needed relief she has needed from the insects biting her face and ears. she would rub relentlessly to the point of making raw spots on her face seeking relief from the bugs. Now those spots are healing and there is much less rubbing! while it may cost a little more than some wipes; it is well worth it to see a happy itch free bug free horse ! thank you!
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smells nice I really like the fact that this lotion goes on well and you can easily avoid the eyes and nose.Repel-X lotion has a nice smell and is not too bug-spray smelling. Works well for keeping flys/bugs away. Largers sizes would be good too.
    Date published: 2010-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've used this for years! My gelding would get bug bites around his sheath area. Repel X lotion solved the problem. Also great around the eyes and inside the ears. I love it!
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pest Control Repel X lotion really cuts down on the flys, it lasts longer then the traditional sprays. I have a senior horse that gets eaten alive by the flys if I do not take all measures, and the lotion helps protect the areas the flysheet and mask do not cover. It also is really great for riding especially when used around the ears.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tummy Saver With the gnat (no-see-ums) around this time of year, my horses tummy is protected with this product. No other product has worked as well, and I've tried hundreds.
    Date published: 0011-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have for me My horse ALWAYS seems to be the one who is in a stall next to a 'fly mask bandit'. EVERY time I go out to see him his fly mask in on the floor of the next stall. (I'm sure my horse is completely innocent of course :-)This lotion gives me a bit of added comfort that the fly's won't drive him crazy as soon as he gets his fly mask ripped off.I also use it before I ride and the fly's stop landing as soon as I put it on. It's not greasy. Overall a great product.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    • 2015-05-22T07:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_31
    • loc_en_US, sid_3487, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.