Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18713

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection so your horse can stay warm and comfortable in any weather.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 1000 denier Ballistic Nylon, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Thermobonded fiberfill insulation for longer lasting heat retention
  • Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth
  • PVC coated tail cord and removable triple surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snaps
  • Large tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable triple belly surcingles
  • Reflective strips for visibility
  • High neck cut with leg arches

We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up


Lite has no fill
Medium has 200g fill
Heavy has 370g fill


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches is rated 4.5897 out of 5 by 78.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Very happy with this purchase! Ordered a 78 and had to return it for a 75 as it runs a little large. Well worth the wait! Thanks for offering such a great product! Quality looks fantastic. I guess we'll see how it holds up to my 3 year old!
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket Bought this blanket for my OTTB in November and he has been wearing it constantly ever since. It has held up remarkably well, particularly since he spent part of winter in a really pasture and got picked on a LOT - he's got bite marks and hoof marks on his skin, but no rips in the blanket - pretty impressive (although I'd rather it was the other way around). He's been moved to a kinder, more blanket-tag oriented pasture and so far, the blanket has held up really well. I've never come out and found the blanket on the ground, or even on crooked, so I think the design of the blanket is very nice. My only two complaints are:1. Runs huge. Comically large.2. The tail snap is nice - easy to clean, but breaks down easily. I'm tired of replacing mine already and the blanket isn't even a year old. The bungee cord is not what snaps - its where the plastic attaches to the bungee. Poor design in an otherwise awesome blanket.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket This is a great product with great features. Fits large horses well!!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket The usual quality and durability of this product line. Is holding up really well.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stylish, but could be more durable... I had already owned several Rambo blankets when I purchased the Rambo Wug heavy turnout in purple. I actually bought it for one of our younger (& growing!) horses, and planned to pass it on to our older horse for the next winter season when it was outgrown. I have to say that I had always liked the ring & double snap closure in the front, the 3 belly (& no hind) straps, and the front leg arches. I've never had a problem with Rambo blankets ripping, but with this particular turnout, I had problems with the front trim ripping. I also purchased this same turnout, in a medium weight for my other youngster, and had the exact same problem on two different Rambos - trim that rips. The blanket shell was fine, just the trim ripped. I also noticed some slight rusting on the hardware after only one season's use. I honestly wasn't crazy about the fit either - on my very long-bodied 17.3 hand Dutch WB/TB cross, the Rambo Wug was tight on his shoulders (he is a size 84), and he had rubs on both shoulders. I actually got rid of both Rambo Wugs after one season and replaced them with Weatherbeeta Freestyle turnouts - loved the numerous features on the Weatherbeetas, and the more generous fit just worked better on my WB crosses.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Rocks This blanket while on the pricer side, is the best. You will have it longer and it will fit and look better than any other blanket there is making it well worth every penny!!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Blanket!! I love love love this blanket!! It is WELL WORTH the price. The design is perfect for active horses while they are in the field. The higher neckline provides extra warmth as well. Everyone in the barn loves this blanket....I bought the medium weight, and loved it so much i bought him the sheet weight as well for when the weather is a bit warmer.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket My horse cannot have legs traps...he's gotten them stuck on his hind legs and kicked a wall in during the night. This blanket looks great and has no legs straps. I have bought it for my little quarter horse and just recently for my big Warmblood who is 17.3 and the 87 fits him perfectly...he cannot have anything too loose or he squirms around and gets them off. I especially love the way part of the neck is covered...this keeps blanket perfectly in place and keeps him bundled up more. His old blanket would slide back behind his withers and be tight across his shoulders and chest; this one doesn't wiggle or rub his chest. Really a wonderful style in every respect.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking blanket Purchased this blanket only a week ago, and my horse has only worn it a handful of times. I cannot comment on durability as a result. However, the color (purple) is a beautiful purple and the blanket is very striking when on. I didn't think the fit ran large at all, contrary to what the reviews say. My 16.2" narrow-chested, high-withered thoroughbred usually wears an 81, and an 81 fits him well.My only complaint on this blanket is the design of the neck piece. I understand the theory, but I think the lengthened neck causes some discomfort. My horse is blanketed all the time this time of year (Wisconsin) with no trouble, but after only 2 days in this blanket, he started acting like his neck was sore. I'm not sure if its from carrying the added weight, or if it's just something he'll need to adjust to. The fit is darn near perfect, so it may just be that he's being fussy. Time will tell.Overall, the blanket was true to size, looks gorgeous and seems to be very high quality. Plus, you can't beat the Rambo guarantee.
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I have a 23 year old 17'3 Hanoverian with fairly high withers and this blanket fits her very well. I got her the 84 (heavyweight# and it fits great. She has a fairly large barrel and narrow chest and shoulders #she's retired so she doesn't have a ton of muscle tone).I like that the tail cord has a plastic coating so itwill be easy to clean and the surcingles adjust easily. The velcro closures at the front under the snaps are great too, double closure just like nice velcro bell boots. I can't comment on durability until she's had it for a year or so but it is nice and sturdy feeling.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits an extra large horse wonderfully I poured over blanket styles & reviews trying to find a turnout blanket to fit my extra-large horse. I lucked out with this Rambo Wug with the help of a sales associate from Smartpak. She informed me the Rambo turnouts are actually 3" larger from seam to seam than other blankets out there. With careful measuring, I knew I needed a 90" blanket - have fun finding more than one style/company to provide that size. I figured if she was stating a fact, Rambo's 87" (the largest they make) plus 3" makes the 90" my horse needed. Very happy to say it fits him wonderfully! The design makes for a great fit. He is a 17.2, very long & large-boned appaloosa now staying warm & cozy in the mountains!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the investment I finally broke down and purchased a Rambo. My horses live outside all year round with other horses so a high quality durable blanket is a necessity. I've used lots of brands over the years. Some very good, but I am very impressed at the quality and fit of the Rambo. Other horses at my barn have this same sheet and it still looks brand new after a few years. I'm hoping mine does as well. My horse gets shoulder rubs very easily and so far no rubs in this sheet. It is worth the purchase price.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I purchased this turnout for my QH cross gelding. It ran way too big, coming down to his knees, even though the length and size was correct. It seems the cut for these blankets has been altered from previous years blankets to be bigger and boxier. I know because I have two older model blankets in my barn that fit much much better. It also was in shreds within thirty days. The material for the inner lining was much thinner than my older blankets, and as a result tore at all the seams as well as in random areas. There was stuffing all over my horses' field. VERY disappointed in Rambo, and very reluctant to ever purchase another one.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Love this blanket for my leased cremello QH-keeps her dry and white! Only complaint is the fit. I have the same blanket in medium fill which fits great, but the no fill blanket in the same size is too big. The next size down would probably be too small.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's worth it My horse is a complete demolisher of his blankets, and I was trying to decide wether to spend a bunch on blankets and home they last at least a few seasons or go cheep and be prepared to replace lesser quality blankets. What made me choose the expensive root was, to be honest, that this blanket came in purple. I love the high neck because it keep the horses shoulders from getting wet if they are outside when it rains. It fits wonderfully.If anyone is familiar with older variations of this blanket sometimes the front velcro would wear out and just be held on by the two clips, however they have now installed a second velcro that goes through a bracket(?) to ensure that after years and years of use the front of the blanket will stay closed if the velcro becomes weary.
    Date published: 2012-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket ever! I went back and forth over whether or not I should spend the money on Rambos for my 2 OTTBs. Finally, after trying a competitor's brand and watching them get shredded within a week, I called Smart Pak and ordered the Rambos. They arrived within the week and it was love at first sight the minute I put them on my horses! They fit my geldings, who are average size with somewhat high withers, extremely well. They are keeping the horses dry and warm and the horses look fantastic! Even my husband said we should have made the investment sooner.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rambo Wug Heavy Weight I have purchased several Rambo Wugs over the past seven years. The quality has DEFINITELY decreased in the latest purchase. The binding is of poor quality and has to be replaced after the first winter. However, the fit of the Wug is excellent. It does not slip to one side and does not bind their shoulders. Please Rambo, use the better quality binding that you used in the past.
    Date published: 2011-12-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rambo Wug I agree with the last post - this exact same thing happened to me with sheared straps and frayed edges on a Wug less than 2 years old. I thought it was just something my horse mysteriously did, until reading this post. Unfortunately, I could not find the receipt where I purchased it so was unable to return it. I am going to buy another one as I have had such good luck in the past with the Wug, but this time am buying from SmartPak to be sure I can return it "no questions asked" if it goes bad. Has been a wonderfully reliable brand for last 9 years - I'm hoping for better luck this time after trying another reputable brand which did not fit well, gave shoulder rubs, was not sufficiently waterproof and had clasps break off.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beware. These fail quickly We own 6 of these blankets, and loved the initial quality. As each of our other manufacturers blankets failed over time, we would replaced them with these blankets.We now own 6 of these bought over a 3 year period. We had a strap shear last year and presumed it must have got hung up in a fence or tree limb, it was sheared clean across, almost like a scissor cut. This year four more straps on 3 blankets sheared in the same way. We took all the blankets to a repair center that specializes in horse blanket repairs. They said they had seen a number of this make of blanket exhibit the same problem from all over. They also drew our attention to the hem of the blankets which were also all fraying!The so called 3 year warranty is worthless, it is solely a "waterproof and breathable guarantee".We are switching our allegiance away from this brand, it has let us down and left us with a hefty replacement bill.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these blankets The Rambo Wug Turnouts are the best return for your money. I bought my first Horseware Ireland Blankets 9 years ago and I am still using them!!! Still waterproof and looking good!!! Why buy anything else? I recommend them to all my equine friends. Go Rambo!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Choice Love the Rambos, I have an original heavy that Ive had for 6 years and its still waterproof and looks great. Slowly switching all of my blankets over to the rambos and wanted to try the wug to keep my clipped horse warmer and dryer for turnout. I love the new rambo features and I don't doubt that the quality will be anything less than great
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet I have only been using this for about a month, but have been extremely happy so far. I have a Friesian/TB cross with a moderately broad chest, and it fits her perfectly. She normally wears between a 78 and an 80 (usually 80 in Kensington), and I got this in a 78 as I heard it runs a little large-- very glad I did, as this is perfect.It is very light but well constructed. I love the color, and it doesn't show dirt too badly. I wasn't too sure about the high neck at first, but now really like how it keeps her mane smooth and tangle-free. It has been totally waterproof so far, and appears likely to remain that way for a long time. It doesn't shift around at all, and no sign of rubs developing.The only thing I don't like is that the tail cord gets all covered with manure, but at least it is covered with plastic so reasonably washable, and can order replacement ones if necessary.Also, the belly straps are a little long-- they are just perfect at the smallest setting on my girl, but might be a problem if you have a skinny horse.I got the Saratoga polarfleece blanket liner to use this with when the weather gets colder, and when I tried them on it looked like they will work great together.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A reasonable purchase I have 3 horses and bought 6 Rambos! 3 Lites and 3 Heavy weights. I use the lights a lot when its warm but we have a lot of rain (upstate NY) I am disappointed that the belly surcingles are so long and you cannot adjust them. One of my horses when he rolls gets his foot caught and has ripped his blanket 4 times. Rambo didnt want to know about a repair even though I had only had the blanket 6 months. I paid someone to repair the surcingle and now hes done it again. The blanket was expensive and I have bought a Rambo stable blanket in England and it lasted but on a different horse. I have ended up Gorrilla gluing the clip to the surcingle and will have to put a knot in the surcingle so that it doesnt hang down too much. This is ona 16hh British warmblood. My other horses seem ok with theirs but they dont roll as much. I wish the after service was better and the surcingles were shorter. Other than that I like the WUG because water doesnt get down the horses necks.
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Wug! I researched so many blankets for the winter and finally decided on the Rambo products. This turnout kept my mare snuggly warm and the durability is excellent. The fit was pretty on track, so if you think you will need extra room to put something under for extra warmth, don't worry...it's plenty warm. My mare is turned out with another biting mare and not ONE rip or tear in the turnout, even though my mare had ripped hairs from the bites underneath. I would have never known she was being bit, if I didn't remove the blanket. Love the removable tail cord...easy to clean. Overall, awesome turnout and worth the money!
    Date published: 2011-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking quality Too early in the year to use it. The quality looks great and the fit was perfect. Can't wait to try it out this winter, our first in Virginia. Hope it will be warm enough... it looks like it will survive a few winters the buckles definitely look heavy duty. The previous reviews really helped make my decision to purchase this blanket.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great quality. Runs slightly large. I ordered my horses usual size (72) and it is slightly big but not so much that it isn't usable.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Rambo!! Horseware Ireland has some of the highest quality blankets I have ever seen. My horse is rough on his blankets and this seems to be the only brand that can keep up. Also, the v-neck closure system is wonderful and is the only style blanket that does not rub my horse's shoulders. No need for shoulder guards for these blankets. Although pricey, this blanket is well worth the cost. The blanket is thin but extremely warm so it is not bulky. The medium weight was enough for my horse who does not grow much of a winter coat. My horse has always worn an 81 in Horseware products but this blanket did seem a little big. Could have possibly ordered size smaller. I love the PVC coated tail cord- easy to clean, just wipe down. Also the removable belly straps are nice as well. These blankets seem to last a very long time too. Overall this is a FANTASTIC blanket that is warm without the bulk and kept my horse happy and warm all winter.
    Date published: 2011-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Rambo My horse is prone to Rain Rot so choosing the best blanket was a high priority. Rambo is pricey but my horse has been rain rot free with it's incredible water proof blanket. The anti-bacterial layer must be working for he lives in his blanket during the winter. The NEXT best thing about this blanket is the tail cord. The plastic coating should be standard on all blankets. No more messy manure straps.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Wug - The best out there. This (2011) is the 4th winter for my 2 Wugs. My horses wear them for 3 months (except for regular grooming) and they are just this winter showing signs of wear. Still waterproof, no sliding or shifting. No wither rubbing - ever. They run, roll and play in them... Not couch potatoes. Great product!!
    Date published: 2011-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I will never buy anything but a Rambo from now on. I have tried less expensive blankets and find that they rip much more easily and a waste of money. I have bought Rambos in the past and now will never try anything else.
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    • 2016-02-07T15:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_73
    • loc_en_US, sid_8713, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.