Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo® Wug Turnout Blanket w/ Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18713
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection so your horse can stay warm and comfortable in any weather.

Also Available:
Matching Rambo® Wug Turnout Sheet w/ Leg Arches (Fill: 0g)

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 1000 denier Ballistic Nylon, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Thermobonded fiberfill insulation for longer lasting heat retention
  • Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth
  • PVC coated tail cord and removable triple surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snaps
  • Large tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable triple belly surcingles
  • Reflective strips for visibility
  • High neck cut with leg arches
  • Available in medium weight (200g fill) and heavy weight (400g fill)
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 200g, 370g
  • Closure Style: V-front neck closure

Sizing

Looking for a light weight (0g fill) sheet? Check out the Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches!

We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 200g, 370g
Surcingles Triple belly surcingles
Lining Anti-Bacterial lining
Gussets No
Closure Style V-front neck closure
Neck Style High neck
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Tail cord
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Reflective strips for visibility. The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating.
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 3 Year Guarantee
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "The Shires StormCheeta High Neck Turnout Blanket Made ...
    Description:
    "The Shires StormCheeta High Neck Turnout Blanket Made Exclusively for SmartPak is a heavy duty blanket made from ShireTex® 2000 denier ballistic nylon that is both waterproof and breathable. ShireTex® advanced fabric technology coats the outer blanket with a specially ...
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand ...
    Description:
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
    "Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses ...
    Description:
    "Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses and with an assortment of thoughtful features, the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Blanket is an unbeatable value for a waterproof, yet breathable turnout. Imported. Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a ...
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Also Available: Matching ...
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! ...
    Description:
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! This is a fantastic blanket for the money, backed by the Horseware brand that you can trust. Imported Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Wug Turnout Blanket w/ Leg Arches is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 92.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent investment! The Rambo Wug is well made, waterproof and attractive. I own a number of the heavy weight Rambo turnout coats and find that they last for YEARS! This time I purchased a lite coat for spring rains. (Every time I try to save money by purchasing a less pricey brand I find that the cheaper products rip, wear out quickly or lose their waterproof quality.) You get what you pay for. Rambos are a worthwhile investment. These coats fit big athletic horses without causing rubs. The front closure system has been improved yet again. I removed the tail strap under the tail, yet the coats stay in place on all three horses without shifting.
    Date published: 2014-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar Quality My horse lives outside in the pasture in Montana 24/7 year-round. I own Rambo Wugs in all three weights. They fit great and are super durable. Love the increased neck coverage without having to get a separate neck cover. Really my only wish is that the back panel over his tail could be removed separately for washing--it gets dirty with manure quickly while the rest of the blanket stays clean for weeks.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, tough blanket. I bought this blanket several weeks ago and have been impressed with how well it has stood up to constant wear. We had subzero temps for the past week and I was able to layer a midweight Rambo under this blanket with no trouble due to the generous fit. The plastic tail cord is a major improvement.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality sheet Bought this sheet for my daughters warmblood mare. She actually measures an 80 but I ordered the 81 even knowing they tended to run a tad big. We wanted to be sure we could layer the sheet over the Rambo blanket and hood (78") with enough room and it does that perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny!! We purchased these blankets for our two OTTB boys, who can be rough and tumble during turn out, to say the least! After extensive research and some indecision, we opted for these and I'm so happy we did! So far, they have provided fantastic warmth and not a drop of moisture gets thru! These blankets are very easy to put on and take off with the chest clips and velcro (no buckles !) and I love the three belly surf ingles instead of the standard two. Best of all, these blankets STAY IN PLACE!!! With the high neck design, leg cut-outs, and well made chest closures, these blankets really do stay put, even through rough housing, rolling, and laying down. I've read some of the other reviews that state the blanket bunches at the withers/back which is does somewhat, but it has to in order to accommodate the horses head being down without shifting the entire blanket back. If you're contemplating like I was, don't! So far these blankets have stood up to Rambo's great name!
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from stays in place I bought this because every other blanket on my horse ends up twisted and shifted that requires lifting and re-adjusting. This one stays put.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad shoulder fit Thought I should bite the bullet and buy what I thought would be the best blanket even if expensiveHate the fit over the shoulder and tried it on several horses
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Longevity and waterproof I purchased this blanket 10 years ago for my paint horse. We show on the APHA circuit thus we train all winter. We get a lot of rain and quite a bit of snow. Despite being out in the weather, rolling in the mudd in the pasture and rolling in his dirty stall the blanket looks great with just a quick brushing. It has remained waterproof!Despite all my friends recommending other brands that fit a "quarter horse build" this is the best blanket for us.
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, flattering, cozy I bought this blanket at the request of my trainer, and I thought it was way too expensive at first.  After my horse rolling around in it all of last winter, and bringing it out again this year for another season (still looking gorgeous), I can say it was worth every penny.  It fits my Thoroughbred mare well, it's a little roomy for her but that's actually kind of nice for her mobility.  It kept her warm all winter even with a full body clip.  It held up nicely against dirt and manure stains (no easy task given that her nickname around the barn is "Pig Pen").  Great blanket.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for young narrow growing horse. I liked the fit, design, materials and hardware so much bought a medium and a heavy in this model. Excellent for horses who are sensitive in the wither area and may be narrower in front. The three belly straps keep rug snug and in place . . . so no rubbing. Plenty of range of motion room for turnout. Excellent for 16’2” Oldenburg & Arabian cross. Materials are very breathable and comfortable for horse. Keeps coat nice and shiny. No static (it is very dry and cold here). Rambo runs a bit larger so go down in size. Example: your size 78” go down to 75.” Super blanket! Thank you.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely worth the $ Needed a sheet that didn't rub hair off of my horses' shoulders. My other blankets/sheets are Amigo's so I decided to stick with Horseware. This one did the trick. Plenty of shoulder room--which may be because the neck comes up higher. Quality from chest to tail. Ease of use and quality of material make this turnout worth the dollar amount. The reflector tape is helpful, too.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseware Rambo Wugs are fantastic I will never buy any other brand of horse blanket.  I like a product to do what it says it will do - be waterproof, fit well and last.  That makes me feel like I got my monies worth.  The price of the Rambo Wugs are very expensive for me. I have to save up to get one - but here's what sold me; 18 years ago when I decided I needed to get a waterproof blanket for my horse, I started doing research, and I looked at all of the products available to me in Arizona. I learned a lot about what it takes to make a waterproof blanket, a really waterproof blanket - and everything lead me to Rambo being one of the best made out there.  I saved up, I bought one, and I still have it and use it, and it is still waterproof - 18 years later.  Ever since then, as I've added horses to my herd, I've saved up and bought each one a Rambo blanket.  My first blanket was the Original Rambo.  I also like the thought that Horsewear Ireland has put into their product development, getting better each year.  I love all their designs, but the Wug is what I get, it does what I want, gives me options and it LASTS.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to beat a Rambo These are always excellent blankets. They are expensive but last over years so in the long run are good value. Well made and fits horse well.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fit! I bought the Rambo Wug for two of my OTTBs about a month ago. One is really tough on her blankets and I had heard wonderful things about the Rambo line. I did a lot of research before making my final decision, but I am definitely glad I chose this one. This blankets fits both of my horses perfectly. Keeps them warm, dry and looks great. I would recommended this product to anyone. Also, I've gotten tons of compliments so that helps too :)
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Very happy with this purchase! Ordered a 78 and had to return it for a 75 as it runs a little large. Well worth the wait! Thanks for offering such a great product! Quality looks fantastic. I guess we'll see how it holds up to my 3 year old!
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket!! I love this blanket. Best purchase ever!!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket Bought this blanket for my OTTB in November and he has been wearing it constantly ever since. It has held up remarkably well, particularly since he spent part of winter in a really pasture and got picked on a LOT - he's got bite marks and hoof marks on his skin, but no rips in the blanket - pretty impressive (although I'd rather it was the other way around). He's been moved to a kinder, more blanket-tag oriented pasture and so far, the blanket has held up really well. I've never come out and found the blanket on the ground, or even on crooked, so I think the design of the blanket is very nice. My only two complaints are:1. Runs huge. Comically large.2. The tail snap is nice - easy to clean, but breaks down easily. I'm tired of replacing mine already and the blanket isn't even a year old. The bungee cord is not what snaps - its where the plastic attaches to the bungee. Poor design in an otherwise awesome blanket.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Looks good and still in great condition!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket This is a great product with great features. Fits large horses well!!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket The usual quality and durability of this product line. Is holding up really well.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stylish, but could be more durable... I had already owned several Rambo blankets when I purchased the Rambo Wug heavy turnout in purple. I actually bought it for one of our younger (& growing!) horses, and planned to pass it on to our older horse for the next winter season when it was outgrown. I have to say that I had always liked the ring & double snap closure in the front, the 3 belly (& no hind) straps, and the front leg arches. I've never had a problem with Rambo blankets ripping, but with this particular turnout, I had problems with the front trim ripping. I also purchased this same turnout, in a medium weight for my other youngster, and had the exact same problem on two different Rambos - trim that rips. The blanket shell was fine, just the trim ripped. I also noticed some slight rusting on the hardware after only one season's use. I honestly wasn't crazy about the fit either - on my very long-bodied 17.3 hand Dutch WB/TB cross, the Rambo Wug was tight on his shoulders (he is a size 84), and he had rubs on both shoulders. I actually got rid of both Rambo Wugs after one season and replaced them with Weatherbeeta Freestyle turnouts - loved the numerous features on the Weatherbeetas, and the more generous fit just worked better on my WB crosses.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Rocks This blanket while on the pricer side, is the best. You will have it longer and it will fit and look better than any other blanket there is making it well worth every penny!!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Blanket!! I love love love this blanket!! It is WELL WORTH the price. The design is perfect for active horses while they are in the field. The higher neckline provides extra warmth as well. Everyone in the barn loves this blanket....I bought the medium weight, and loved it so much i bought him the sheet weight as well for when the weather is a bit warmer.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket My horse cannot have legs traps...he's gotten them stuck on his hind legs and kicked a wall in during the night. This blanket looks great and has no legs straps. I have bought it for my little quarter horse and just recently for my big Warmblood who is 17.3 and the 87 fits him perfectly...he cannot have anything too loose or he squirms around and gets them off. I especially love the way part of the neck is covered...this keeps blanket perfectly in place and keeps him bundled up more. His old blanket would slide back behind his withers and be tight across his shoulders and chest; this one doesn't wiggle or rub his chest. Really a wonderful style in every respect.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking blanket Purchased this blanket only a week ago, and my horse has only worn it a handful of times. I cannot comment on durability as a result. However, the color (purple) is a beautiful purple and the blanket is very striking when on. I didn't think the fit ran large at all, contrary to what the reviews say. My 16.2" narrow-chested, high-withered thoroughbred usually wears an 81, and an 81 fits him well.My only complaint on this blanket is the design of the neck piece. I understand the theory, but I think the lengthened neck causes some discomfort. My horse is blanketed all the time this time of year (Wisconsin) with no trouble, but after only 2 days in this blanket, he started acting like his neck was sore. I'm not sure if its from carrying the added weight, or if it's just something he'll need to adjust to. The fit is darn near perfect, so it may just be that he's being fussy. Time will tell.Overall, the blanket was true to size, looks gorgeous and seems to be very high quality. Plus, you can't beat the Rambo guarantee.
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I have a 23 year old 17'3 Hanoverian with fairly high withers and this blanket fits her very well. I got her the 84 (heavyweight# and it fits great. She has a fairly large barrel and narrow chest and shoulders #she's retired so she doesn't have a ton of muscle tone).I like that the tail cord has a plastic coating so itwill be easy to clean and the surcingles adjust easily. The velcro closures at the front under the snaps are great too, double closure just like nice velcro bell boots. I can't comment on durability until she's had it for a year or so but it is nice and sturdy feeling.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits an extra large horse wonderfully I poured over blanket styles & reviews trying to find a turnout blanket to fit my extra-large horse. I lucked out with this Rambo Wug with the help of a sales associate from Smartpak. She informed me the Rambo turnouts are actually 3" larger from seam to seam than other blankets out there. With careful measuring, I knew I needed a 90" blanket - have fun finding more than one style/company to provide that size. I figured if she was stating a fact, Rambo's 87" (the largest they make) plus 3" makes the 90" my horse needed. Very happy to say it fits him wonderfully! The design makes for a great fit. He is a 17.2, very long & large-boned appaloosa now staying warm & cozy in the mountains!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the investment I finally broke down and purchased a Rambo. My horses live outside all year round with other horses so a high quality durable blanket is a necessity. I've used lots of brands over the years. Some very good, but I am very impressed at the quality and fit of the Rambo. Other horses at my barn have this same sheet and it still looks brand new after a few years. I'm hoping mine does as well. My horse gets shoulder rubs very easily and so far no rubs in this sheet. It is worth the purchase price.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I purchased this turnout for my QH cross gelding. It ran way too big, coming down to his knees, even though the length and size was correct. It seems the cut for these blankets has been altered from previous years blankets to be bigger and boxier. I know because I have two older model blankets in my barn that fit much much better. It also was in shreds within thirty days. The material for the inner lining was much thinner than my older blankets, and as a result tore at all the seams as well as in random areas. There was stuffing all over my horses' field. VERY disappointed in Rambo, and very reluctant to ever purchase another one.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_87
    • loc_en_US, sid_8713, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders