Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 70% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included

Sizing It Up

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Protector is rated 4.5565 out of 5 by 115.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the V-front I broke down and got this sheet after moving to a barn where the flies are super bad this year. I'd been eye-balling it because I like the front closure on my Rambo Wug. The reviews are correct, definitely buy a size down. My horse wears an 84 in Schneiders, an 81 in the Wug, and the 78 in the Protector was just right. Seems to be light enough in hot weather, although its mostly in the 70-80s where we are.
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I bought this blanket for my destructive guy about a month ago and I love it! It fits him well and keeps his sensitive skin from the welts caused by fly bites. I'm getting another horse in a month or so and will buy another. I can't say enough about how much I love this blanket!
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from info I have used this fly sheet for years, and have not really found another one that I like as well. It holds up, is soft, and fits pretty well. It does run large. One of my horses usually wears a 78 in a Rambo blanket, but wears a 75 in this fly sheet.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Splurge but worth it After purchasing numerous cheap fly sheets over the years that fit poorly and didn't last, I bit the bullet and splurged. My horse needs something that really covers his tail (sweet itch) and this does. Listen to the advice and buy size down, my horse wears 76 or 78 in other brands and I got a 72 which is a perfect fit. He rolls in pasture every afternoon and it doesn't shift and the fabric is doing fine. So far no rubs on shoulder area and his coat looks great! Hope it holds up long term, but so far am very pleased!
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I love this product. Only V close fly sheet I could find. Fit's big so size down. Excellent quality and should stand up
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love it!! I bought this at the beginning of last summer for my horse that breaks out in welts from mosquitoe bites, especially on his belly. It's worked great and he no longer comes in from the field with bumps all over. I do fly spray before putting it on, but it only takes a few extra seconds so it doesn't really bother me. There are a few snags from last year but aside from a bit of fraying, there aren't actual holes left behind(picture included). I love the more woven mesh design for that reason. He was also neighbors to not-so-friendly horses that tried to take chunks out of him on a regular basis and this sheet held up great without tearing. I suggest sizing down as it does run quite large. My guy is a 78" in all his blankets/sheets but a 75" fits perfectly and the neck cover is the perfect length, although I don't use it all the time. My only qualm with it is the small shoulder rubs(Amigos fit him better but I don't like the amigo fly sheets nearly as much) which only show up towards the end of summer.
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly sheet! Fits my big warmblood mare well and not only protects her from bugs but keeps he black bay coat from fading. Added bonus is that they wear like iron- last one was7 years old when I gave it away and now another horse is wearing it!
    Date published: 2015-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does its job I've only been using this for a brief time, but it seems to work. I did order 1 size down from what my horse normally wears and it fits her perfectly. I haven't had a problem with rubs or shifting.
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the way it fits . I just bought the sheet so not sure how it wil hold up, but I do love the softness of the material.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds up nicely This is my second summer to use this sheet. It has held up quite nicely, with the only signs of wear being rusty buckles, the inner shoulder lining ripping away, and rub marks from my horse rubbing his dock on the fence. I wish the neck was a little longer, as it barely comes 3/4 of the way up my thoroughbred's giraffe neck, but other than that the fit was nice and true to size. Never seemed to move around much and was always in place, even after rolling. Really happy with the quality as my horse's pasture buddies enjoy tearing his clothes for him!
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! I just received this a few weeks ago, so I can't speak much to durability, except to say that so far, so good! This fly sheet covers my horse extremely well and is also very lightweight, so I am very happy with it. I will reiterate what others are saying on the sizing though, my horse has 3 other Horseware blankets from Rambo to Amigo and they are all 81", however the 75" fly sheet fits him perfectly! I was SO surprised, I was sure the 78" was going to work better but it swallowed him the moral of the story, order down, a LOT, but if you get the correct size you and your horse are going to love it!
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! I will be ordering 3 more for next season for the rest of my horses. This is a great product!
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable! My horse wears this during turnout with two other horses. He's been wearing it a few months now and so far there are no snags/tears. Definitely runs large. His other Rambo blankets are a 78 and he needed a 75 for this fly sheet to fit. Does a great job keeping bugs off and has kept him from sun bleaching. Only complaint is that he does get very sweaty with this on (more sweaty than the horses without sheets). Currently looking for a cooler fly sheet for warmer days.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than the fly sheet! I have tried a bunch of fly sheets because my mare gets very hot. I almost gave up but wanted to try this protector because she gets terribly bleached out. I found the protector to be lighter than the flysheet because it was more of a soft plastic mesh rather than a sheet laying right on her fur. I like the UV protection and I feel like it protects her just as much as a fly buster.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK fit This sheet was to replace a previous Rambo fly sheet that lasted 3Yrs. This sheet did not come in size 74 that I needed but it did come with the hood. Horse is happy that he is not covered with flys!
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Material lost weaving This is my 3rd Rambo fly sheet,and they hold up fairly well,but I go thru 2 a summer as the material comes apart leaving a nylon looking brown screen and the lighter part of the fabric is worn off. My mare rolls daily,but mostly in grass or dirt. Has anyone else had this problem...the whole top half gets this way! Otherwise all hardware and fit is great.
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Typical great Rambo product This is a great fly sheet. It has held up really well and my horses are out in big pastures with lots of trees and things to tear up fly sheets on. I love the front closure and the fit. It NEVER shifts and the guy who wears it rolls al the time. I gave it 4 stars because it would be perfect if it had a belly bandit has flap type things but they don't stay closed over the belly so he gets those fly sores on his tummy if I don't keep SWAT and spray on him..
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money! I bought this last month for my TB cross after moving to a place FULL of mosquitoes. He's a playful guy and can be tough on blankets. So far, so good. He typically wears a 76 blanket, but I took SmartPak's advice and subtracted down. It fits him perfectly. Other people on the farm didn't get the smaller sizes and their blankets hang way to far down. It stays where it should, even when he rolls a lot.It's worth the extra money up front to get the better blanket!
    Date published: 2014-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic product I bought this product for my half Arabian Tobiano. She is very sensitive to both sun and bug bites. The Rambo Protector has kept her from being sunburned and amazingly, even though she rolls in the grass and dirt, for whatever reason the mesh almost seems to wisk the dirt off her coat. She is mostly white and when I take the Rambo Protector off her she is still pure white even though the Sheet is dirty. It works to keep 90% of the bugs from biting her but they do tend to go up underneath from time to time which makes her kick out quite violently because they get trapped under the mesh. The Rambo Protector is easy to put on and remove and seems to stay in place very well which is refreshing since many sheets I have used tend to slip to one side after a little while. I did read plenty of reviews prior to making the decision to purchase it and all of them said to buy a size smaller than your horse would normally wear and I'm so glad that I did because it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective. Great Quality. Safe and Secure.. This is my first Rambo blanket and I'll look this brand for my next blanket. It gives the coverage I need and a secure fit for all day wear. My gelding loves to roll and it goes with him. It hoses off and dries nicely. The quality of the straps/connections are above my expectations.As a bonus, the color is perfect for my tri-color pinto.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs long I love Rambo products. My horse has only worn the fly sheet for 2 weeks, and so far it's worked very well. The fly sheet seems to run a bit longer than the Rambo blankets here wears.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits well but area in front allows black flies in I purchased this for my Morgan mare and it fits nicely, and is easy to adjust. I like the large tail cover which really provides a lot of protection. My only complaint is that there is an open area between where the neck cover comes down and the front of the blanket. Here in Maine we have 'black flies' which are slightly bigger than no-see-ums, and this is their favorite area to attack. This fly sheet (and most others) provide very little protection in this area (you can even see the gap in the promotional picture). It would be nice to see the neck cover protect this area as well.I haven't had this long enough to see how durable it is, but it's a nice sturdy fabric.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fly Protection!!! I bought this 3 weeks ago and my horse loves it!!!! It keeps the flies away never have I seen any near her anymore. Although, she did get a little bleached out on her back, but worth the money for great fly protection. The material is really tough, but not uncomfortable. It is nice because she lives in a field with trees and I don't worry about her ripping it because it is such a nice material. My mare is always lying down in it and it is great in hiding the dirt. Overall I really like this fly sheet!!
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs big I bought a Rambo Classic Lite 87 and it fit perfectly. So I bought the Protector an ordered a 87 and it is huge. I recommend it but one size down.
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT fly sheet, sizing is horrible! The quality and feel of this fly sheet is superb, and I love it in that aspect. But the sizing on it is horrendous. My horse is normally an 84 in Rambos so that is what I originally ordered, well the drop fit him beautifully (yes, it is supposed to cover quite a bit) but the length was horribly too long. So I then ordered an 81, now the drop is slightly too short but the worst part is it that it is still TOO long. My horse is a 18h tank of an Oldenburg who's an 84/87 blanket and the 81 is still too long on him, but if I order a 78 the drop will be wayyy too short and the belly surcingles probably wouldn't even reach to buckle. I don't know what is up with the sizing on these, but they definitely need to figure something out. I am keeping the sheet just because it is quality and I do like it, but I wish the sizing wasn't so funky.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow Up Review This is a follow up review after ONE YEAR of use. I live in Hawaii so my horses are in these almost every day for at least 12 hours. These things wear like IRON. I have literally bought every sheet on the market and this one is hands down the best. I am including a photo that shows two of my horses wearing sheets I bought at the same time, one was freshly laundered (hosed down, soaked in oxy-clean for an hour and then machine washed on cold) to show you how well they clean up. It is soft and almost clean as new! Anyone who has experienced our red dirt knows this stuff STAINS but these sheets clean up WELL. I have absolutely no complaints about this sheet! They do run big though (my usually 82" wears the 78" and the normally 84" wears the 81").
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Size down 1 size I have 2 of these fly sheets. The first one I bought in his regular Rambo size (81") and it was too large and rubbed his chest. I used it for 2 seasons, but last year I decided to buy a new one because the chest's liner had started to rip. I bought a 78" this time and it fits perfect. I have 4 other Rambo blankets and he fits 81" in all of the them, so I'm not sure why this blanket runs large.Pros1. Coverage is great2. Protects against mosquitoes/flies3. Wraps underneath the horse's belly4. Strong and doesn't ripCons1. Sizing is off it fits large. My 16.3 hh warmblood/thoroughbred cross usually wears 81" in Rambo and needed a 78" in this blanket2. I don't like how the hood fits (it slips down and twists)3. Price is high
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I purchased this size 78 sheet for a 1/2 TB mare who wears a size 81, her old green textilene Rambo died after more than 5 summers of wear. This new sheet was too narrow across the chest, she is 17" across from point to point of shoulder and too long, withers to tail. So a more narrow chested mare who wears an 80 wore it for a week, sheet too long from withers to top of tail flap. This mare is now wearing her new size 80 Kensington, which fits perfectly. On to the 3rd mare, 16.3 h. WB, normally wears a size 84, it fits thru the chest, the drop is perfect for her, still too long, this sheet measures 62", withers to top of tail flap. Rambo needs to return to the old dimensions and sizing! This sheet does wash well and easily. I like the long drop on the sides and it has quality fittings and straps. The fabric snags and frays more than textilene and the very long tail flap inhibits tail raising. I had 3 horses wearing old style Rambos for years and they were great, this one...NOT so much. I would not buy another.
    Date published: 2013-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase Rambo Protector met all of my expectations. Very durable and fits my horse well.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Rambo products These run very large, my mare normally takes a 78, she was swimming in it, and I had to go with a 75. They changed the snaps on the front from swivel to solid snaps, I am still unsure if I like them or not. Plus they took the tabs off the belly to run the surcingle thru and I don't think it stays in place as well. Overall I like it, I will really have to wait and see about durability.... haven't had it long enough.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    • 2016-02-10T15:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_110
    • loc_en_US, sid_2314, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.