Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

 

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 70% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included

Sizing

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches. 
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Neck Cover matches ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Neck Cover matches the Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g) & Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout Blanket (Fill: 100g, 250g, 400g) and features a 1200D Polyester outer shell with nylon lining to match ...
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Also Available: Matching Amigo ...
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! ...
    Description:
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! This is a fantastic sheet for the money, backed by the Horseware brand that you can trust. Imported Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of ...
    "Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet that ...
    Description:
    "Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet that protects your horse from flies, UV damage and wet weather! The Amigo Three-In-One features a contoured waterproof and breathable top section that ensures you peace of mind during unsettled weather by providing ...
    "Your favorite Back On Track technology is now ...
    Description:
    "Your favorite Back On Track technology is now available in a waterproof turnout sheet! The Back On Track Turnout Sheet is lined with Back On Track's state-of-the-art fabric containing polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect ...
    "This perfect sheet for spring and fall weather ...
    Description:
    "This perfect sheet for spring and fall weather when days tend to be cool and windy or keeping your horse clean at horse shows. This sheet is durable without being too heavy. Imported Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart"
    "Keep your horse dry in style with The ...
    Description:
    "Keep your horse dry in style with The Pessoa Alpine 1200D Turnout Sheet! This top of the line waterproof and breathable turnout sheet features a 1200 denier Oxford polyester outer shell and 420D quick-dry nylon lining. Your horse will be ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Protector is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 132.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet I just bought a second round of these sheets after having my first set for 5 or 6 years. They fit great and are very durable. I will always pay the extra money to have a good quality sheet like this one.
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I purchased this a few weeks ago since they seem to hold up very well over time, but now the flysheet is creating really bad rub marks on my mare's shoulders & chest. I love it otherwise, but I'm considering purchasing a different brand because her rub marks are very sensitive from repeated rubbing. This product was not worth the almost $200 I paid for it.
    Date published: 2016-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durability plus! If you are looking for a durable flysheet this is it. After a month of being worn by my gelding outside in his herd, not one rip, tear, or snag is present. My previous flysheet lasted little more than a week. Small tears that I thought I could patch, then huge rips that relegated it to the salvage pile. This is worth every penny.
    Date published: 2016-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv, Luv, Rambo I have used Rambo blankets, sheets, etc for 20 years now and still luv this product! I was hesitant ordering down 3 sizes from his actual measurement as recommended, the fit is perfect! Not only does this protect against flies, but my guy is a dark bay and this keeps him from bleaching out to that ugly orange color in the summer. We live in So Calif where triple digit temperatures can be normal for us in the summer, he still stays cool wearing this all day. My horse is easy on blankets, he doesn't rub them, tear them, etc, however he does lay down every night and the protector as well as all my Rambo products can withstand him wearing it overnight. I have had some blankets and sheets for 8+ years and will probably have this sheet that long as well. Not only did I get this product at the cheapest price, SmartPak gave me free 2 day shipping. Why would you shop anywhere else when the product & pricing cant be beat and I have it in 2 days. Thank You SmartPak, from your new favorite Customers, Smoke & Judy
    Date published: 2016-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet I have 6 Rambo fly sheets.I have had most of them for over 5 years.I have never had one get destroyed!My horses are turned out all day. I take the sheets off at night and put them on in the am. I just walk out in the field with my sheets, and throw them on each horse. They are all at Liberty, no halters. They want them on! I put their names on each sheets with a Sharpie marker. I get them size larger, just in case my horse grows. ;)Never had any horse get any rubs!
    Date published: 2016-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty and good fit. This is a great product. Heavy duty and good fit. Does not wear out with active horse.
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I wish more sheets/blankets had the front V closures like this. The fit difference for my horse is unparalleled. No shoulder rubs, no slipping back behind the withers (and he's a high-withered TB).This is also a really nice material - pretty soft and pliable for a fly sheet. I would highly recommend this sheet. Only caveat is it does run large. Thankfully I read the other reviews. My horse is a consistent 78" , but I ordered the 75" in this sheet and it fits him perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased I bought this sheet at the beginning of June for my Quarter Horse gelding, King. Although he is a QH, he is lean built and very tall. Most sheets don't fit him well and are too "boxy". After shredding his last sheet, I decided he deserved his first Rambo. This one fits him perfectly and I am very pleased with the quality of the sheet. I was initially worried because it does not have a full belly band and I cannot use fly spray as he is allergic. However, so far his tummy is perfectly fine and our flies are thick. I did order a 78 and he is normally an 80-81. The 78 is a good fit. I really like that the neck cover stays forward and does not slide back. Additionally, he does not get hot anywhere under this sheet and we have been in the 90s here. He rolled in the mud one day after a rain storm. My other sheets were heavy because they soaked up the water and the mud stained them. King's sheet did not absorb the water and I hung it on the fence, bushed it off, and it looked brand new!! Love this. Will purchase more in the future!
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rambo Protector Fly Sheet The cut & style of the coat are 5*s. It's a great concept especially with the Rambo unique front closure. This is the highest priced fly sheet out there excluding the ones with fly repellent. I think the sheet is overpriced for the weight, texture, & durability. I have a P.R.E. mare and will be surprised if it lasts the whole season. I can see pulls in the fabric already. She rolls every day in her sheet so we will see how it holds up. If it makes it through a couple of seasons, which I expect it to do due to the price, I will give 5 stars.
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality material and hardware-perfect fit! I bought a size 75 for my 17.1 h TB. She measured 76" but the knowledgeable customer rep recommended a sz. 75 and it is perfect. I am very impressed with the "satiny" shoulder liner and easy fittings. This sheet looks like it will last a long time. She seems very comfortable and we have been getting record breaking temps in AZ. The horse she is turned out with usually bites her when they are eating hay together but with this sheet on he has given that up- an unexpected bonus!
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra I bought this flysheet for my Gelding after he destroyed my Amigo within a week on wearing it for the first time. I was a little skeptical of spending the extra money on something I figured wouldn't last, but I'm so glad I did! It lasted the rest of the fly season and little looks great! The sizes seem to run the same as in other rambo products: My horse is a 75 in most other brands, but a 78 in all his Rambos, including this. (16.2hh TB/HOLST)
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit for My Senior Horse My horse is now 27 and retired other than leisurely trail rides. I noticed that his fly sheet had become too big in the chest/shoulders and was constantly sliding around. The poor fit seemed to be creating pressure points on his neck/withers. I decided to invest in the Rambo protector, knowing that Rambo makes a very sturdy blanket. The fly sheet fits great all over and my horse loves it! The sides of the fly sheet are longer and cover his belly- protection without the onerous belly band that my horse despises. Best of all, since ditching the old fly sheet he feels better and more supple on our rides. Don't underestimate the importance of blanket fit. If you want a sturdy/breathable/UV rated fly sheet then try the Rambo protector.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Flysheet that would Stay ON This was the 2nd flysheet I tried and the only one that worked I bought a Buca Buzz Off and that lasted a week before she some how tore it up. I got fed up and bought this one knowing if it didn't I could send it back. It works wonderful, my mare is very hard on flysheets and blankets. I was sooo happy it lasted a week, a month and now 2 months with no tears, rips or anything and it has stayed put and lord knows she LOVES to roll and it has held up.
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great When this fly sheet arrived I thought it would be hot -heavy duty but hot. That is not the case. Fabric softens a bit with only a few wears and horses don't sweat underneath. I bought one to check sizing ( I went up a size from regular blanket) and liked it so much that I bought 2 more for the other horses
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love the durability of Rambo products. This fly sheet replaces a used, different brand, one that we purchased. The used one lasted only a few weeks before failing. Thus, the new Rambo fly sheet. I recommend you order one if not two sizes smaller than you would normally purchase. This Rambo product runs large.
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Blessing for a Sissy Horse from the South My horse who originates from the south is a sissy when it comes to flies. I was looking for a great sheet that would be protect her coat from the sun and her body from the flies. So far this has done just the thing. She no longer wants to come in at 3 PM each day because the flies are too much. She's a happy camper now. It's held up well and has been washed. Nothing abnormal seems to have happened to it yet outside of normal rolling and potty stains. The one thing that does kind of stink is that the flap over her tail seems long and because I keep her tail protected in a tail bag when she is in heat it does get messy and requires washing. I did follow as all others recommended to order a size smaller than her normal sheet size. She is an 80 so I got a 78 and fits great. No rubbing has occurred on her mane or shoulders. The satin protector works well. It did tear but I don't know how it happened. It might have in the wash some way some how. But still its a great sheet and I have never purchased this brand before. Also, just as if you were to have a normal sheet on while outside to protect from sun she does get warm underneath it and sweat. I believe it is more breathable than a normal sheet but that is what happens when they are outside in the sun when it's hot out. SmartPak probably has the best price on this sheet and if I remember I got free shipping too PLUS my 5% off for being an AQHA member.
    Date published: 2015-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Very nice fly sheet but does run big. It took us 3 try to get the right one and happy that we did. Returns free and easy to do and the customer service to reorder a different size is wonderful. Love SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the V-front I broke down and got this sheet after moving to a barn where the flies are super bad this year. I'd been eye-balling it because I like the front closure on my Rambo Wug. The reviews are correct, definitely buy a size down. My horse wears an 84 in Schneiders, an 81 in the Wug, and the 78 in the Protector was just right. Seems to be light enough in hot weather, although its mostly in the 70-80s where we are.
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I bought this blanket for my destructive guy about a month ago and I love it! It fits him well and keeps his sensitive skin from the welts caused by fly bites. I'm getting another horse in a month or so and will buy another. I can't say enough about how much I love this blanket!
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from info I have used this fly sheet for years, and have not really found another one that I like as well. It holds up, is soft, and fits pretty well. It does run large. One of my horses usually wears a 78 in a Rambo blanket, but wears a 75 in this fly sheet.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Splurge but worth it After purchasing numerous cheap fly sheets over the years that fit poorly and didn't last, I bit the bullet and splurged. My horse needs something that really covers his tail (sweet itch) and this does. Listen to the advice and buy size down, my horse wears 76 or 78 in other brands and I got a 72 which is a perfect fit. He rolls in pasture every afternoon and it doesn't shift and the fabric is doing fine. So far no rubs on shoulder area and his coat looks great! Hope it holds up long term, but so far am very pleased!
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I love this product. Only V close fly sheet I could find. Fit's big so size down. Excellent quality and should stand up
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love it!! I bought this at the beginning of last summer for my horse that breaks out in welts from mosquitoe bites, especially on his belly. It's worked great and he no longer comes in from the field with bumps all over. I do fly spray before putting it on, but it only takes a few extra seconds so it doesn't really bother me. There are a few snags from last year but aside from a bit of fraying, there aren't actual holes left behind(picture included). I love the more woven mesh design for that reason. He was also neighbors to not-so-friendly horses that tried to take chunks out of him on a regular basis and this sheet held up great without tearing. I suggest sizing down as it does run quite large. My guy is a 78" in all his blankets/sheets but a 75" fits perfectly and the neck cover is the perfect length, although I don't use it all the time. My only qualm with it is the small shoulder rubs(Amigos fit him better but I don't like the amigo fly sheets nearly as much) which only show up towards the end of summer.
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly sheet! Fits my big warmblood mare well and not only protects her from bugs but keeps he black bay coat from fading. Added bonus is that they wear like iron- last one was7 years old when I gave it away and now another horse is wearing it!
    Date published: 2015-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does its job I've only been using this for a brief time, but it seems to work. I did order 1 size down from what my horse normally wears and it fits her perfectly. I haven't had a problem with rubs or shifting.
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the way it fits . I just bought the sheet so not sure how it wil hold up, but I do love the softness of the material.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds up nicely This is my second summer to use this sheet. It has held up quite nicely, with the only signs of wear being rusty buckles, the inner shoulder lining ripping away, and rub marks from my horse rubbing his dock on the fence. I wish the neck was a little longer, as it barely comes 3/4 of the way up my thoroughbred's giraffe neck, but other than that the fit was nice and true to size. Never seemed to move around much and was always in place, even after rolling. Really happy with the quality as my horse's pasture buddies enjoy tearing his clothes for him!
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! I just received this a few weeks ago, so I can't speak much to durability, except to say that so far, so good! This fly sheet covers my horse extremely well and is also very lightweight, so I am very happy with it. I will reiterate what others are saying on the sizing though, my horse has 3 other Horseware blankets from Rambo to Amigo and they are all 81", however the 75" fly sheet fits him perfectly! I was SO surprised, I was sure the 78" was going to work better but it swallowed him the moral of the story, order down, a LOT, but if you get the correct size you and your horse are going to love it!
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! I will be ordering 3 more for next season for the rest of my horses. This is a great product!
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable! My horse wears this during turnout with two other horses. He's been wearing it a few months now and so far there are no snags/tears. Definitely runs large. His other Rambo blankets are a 78 and he needed a 75 for this fly sheet to fit. Does a great job keeping bugs off and has kept him from sun bleaching. Only complaint is that he does get very sweaty with this on (more sweaty than the horses without sheets). Currently looking for a cooler fly sheet for warmer days.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_127
    • loc_en_US, sid_2314, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders