Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 70% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included

Sizing It Up

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches. 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
    Description:
    Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue. One ...
    A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to ...
    Description:
    A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to provide coverage and protection for your horse against pesky biting insects. Favorite Features Fine mesh to help block tiny biting flies and insects Detachable neck Detachable belly band Shoulder gussets for unrestricted ...
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now ...
    Description:
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now has horse show appeal! This super durable 17 x 11 Denier textilene mesh fabric provides 80% UV protection to prevent coat bleaching and will actually keep your horse cooler in the hot ...
    The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced ...
    Description:
    The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced fabric construction of ring spun brushed polyester with the latest in moisture management technology making this high-tech sheet Horseware's most versatile yet.  Imported. Favorite Features Moisture management technology wicks away moisture and ...
    The Weatherbeeta Ripshield Plus Detach-a-neck fly sheet offers ...
    Description:
    The Weatherbeeta Ripshield Plus Detach-a-neck fly sheet offers a great solution to the horse who hates flies. Made from a durable polyester ripstop weave, this material helps keep tears contained so your fly sheet lasts longer. The detach-a-neck and belly ...
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect ...
    Description:
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UV protection Adjustable and removable belly ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Protector is rated 4.5603 out of 5 by 116.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Fit Horse normally wears a 78 or 80, but per the Horseware measurments, I ordered a 75. It fit fine lengthwise, but the neck was cut too large and the sheet kept sliding back and pulling hard on horses neck. If it had been a less expensive sheet, it might have been okay, but for what these sheets cost, I expected it to fit perfectly. I returned it.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice Sheet Love the quality and workmanship! The sheet stays in place well, and my mare seems quite comfortable and happy.I would definitely buy this sheet again.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Happy Rambo has always had great durable products and this one is no acception. Very well put together. The Belly bands along with the Chest straps help keep it snug and where it belongs but still allows our horse to move freely. Stands up well to rolling and romping around in the paddock. The only downside I found was that it runs a bit large. Our TB is swimming in his!
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like this fly sheet... It gives all over protection but it runs big... My horse is a true 78 to the t... It is way big. So as far as durability it is wonderful but I recommend going with 1 size smaller.....
    Date published: 2012-05-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sad day Yes a sad day to see after less than a month the front lower right and left trim and backing for the chest were frayed, pulled and torn. The buckles under the belly are showing signs of rust or discoloring at the least. There is one large pull. My horse is nineteen, well mannered but playful. I expect some ware and certainly some tare, but the amount and variety is way beyond reasonable to me.
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from sizing poor, otherwise great! Like all Rambo products I've had over the years, it's durable and doesn't slide around when rolling etc. Keeps the flys out and the coat slick and shiney. However the sizing is way to big! My horse wears a 78, but a 75 is the right size for this product!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Survived Two Summers I've had this fly sheet for two years. It made it through the first summer in great condition, but the second summer it got a bit torn up. I pulled it out the other day and looked it over and it now has several finger sized holes and a 3-inch long rip in it. My horse is an OTTB who spends time in a field with other horses and in his stall. He isn't particularly rough on his blankets. Looking at this fly sheet, compared to other brands, I would say it is probably fairly durable and fits well. It also kept his dark bay coat from bleaching out.As an aside, I probably wouldn't recommend getting the cheaper Amigo version. I've owned both Rambo and Amigo products, and although I still think Rambo products are overpriced for what they are, the Amigo light weight sheet I have is of pretty low quality. I've had it for two years and it's faded and coming apart at the seams. I would have to assume that you might encounter similar issues with the Amigo fly sheet.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable!! This is a great fly sheet for horses that are rough on their clothes. My horse tore holes all through his last fly sheet but so far so good on this one! It also has great coverage so it offers good protection from those pesky bugs. It runs big though. I bought a 75 for my horse who normally wears a 78 and it fits fine.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slides to one side, metal surcingles I own a number of Rambo blankets - was hoping the fly sheet would fit as well but unfortunately, it does not. It fits slightly larger than the rambo wug lite and does not sit/stay midline (within 30 seconds of walking it had slid all the way to the left on my horse). Coverage of the belly is mediocre at best (wish they had a belly flap)....oddly enough, the metal surcingles which allow you to attach the neck piece are located on the underside of the blanket....which means they are against the horse's skin when the neck piece is detached (when its attached, the velcro straps cover the metal). That was concerning for me. Given the fit, I have to return the sheet - can't speak to whether the metal surcingles would end up being an issue since its going back.Wish it was requisite with the quality of Rambo blankets!
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet ever Been through a bunch of fly sheets, seen them rip up like tissue, on my horses and boarders horses. Decided to bite the bullet on the Rambo and see if it was worth it, trying to keep my new mostly black Overo comfortable and black! He is dominant over his little grullo buddy in the paddock, be he's a roller and a rubber and by gosh the thing is holding up, even with the pine trees. He's in a shady paddock, but so far he hasn't come in sweaty, and it's in the upper eighties already here in the south. It's made it two months intact, stays on, doesn't shift, and doesn't bother him. However he won't keep his matching 'astronaut' face mask on. Usually put a safety halter on top of the horses who pull them off, but haven't tried it with this design. Also, horse is 16 hands, usually wears a 78", 75" fits perfectly, thanks to the reviewer who pointed that out.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I purchased this fly sheet for my daughter's thoroughbred - I love the fit, the quality, and ease of putting it on and taking it off. In fact, I like it so much that as soon as i am done with this review I am going to order one for my horse! My only suggestion is that it would be nice if it came in more than one color - so people like me with multiple horses, doesn't have to worry about mixing them up.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I really like the sheet. Appears very sturdy. Had to return for smaller size. Seemed to run large.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing is too big, otherwise good Many reviews said the sizing is too big - they are right. I have had to return and ask for the next size down. I like the feel of the material, and assume since it is a Rambo it will last a long time
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best I love all the Rambo products. Their blankets fit all of my quarter horses well. No rub areas, secure fit and the cut seems to fit around the chest and shoulders perfectly. I have tried many other fly sheets and blankets but have never been able to meet all areas I need for blankets. Durability is the best. Overall you get your money worth since they hold up a lot longer than the other brands.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The fly sheet does not fit like the Rambo in the same size. It runs larger. I like the idea of a tail flap, however it is much too long and my mare cannot get it out of the way to avoid urinating on her tail. For a gelding, it would probably be a better fit because of the tail flap issue.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best out of Four Black horse since 2008, this is the fourth sheet we tried to keep him dark and fly free in a very humid area. The mare he goes out with chewed up two and one did not fit at all, lots of rubs. This is the winner for a Quarter Horse. I would only complain at the gap in his chest, it gets fly spray, but otherwise has been wonderful.
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but worth it! The mosquitos are so big they have landing lights! This new Rambo Protector along with a Crusader fly mask with ears saves my thin-skinned girl from the hungry little buggers. Well worth the purchase price and it looks like it may even make it thorugh more than one season. Lets hope so!
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it. It was difficult to decide to spend the extra $$ for this fly sheet, but it has stood up to plenty of abuse and remains in great shape. My last fly sheet ripped within a month. This has a snag here and there where she has rubbed against the fence, but it wears like iron and works beautifully. You do get what you pay for.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product The fly sheet is well made and does the job. ZMy horse didn't get too hot under it either. The fit runs big. My horse is 16.3 and the 81 is too big. I would have been much happier with the 78.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer of the Bugs! This is the third sheet I have bought in the last two years and the first to hold up, fit and be comfortable for the horse too.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet, but a bit pricey. I ordered this fly sheet in a 75 for my horse that wears a 78 in American-made clothing. It fit him well everywhere but in the length. It is way too long. I would have just exchanged it for a 72, but those were all sold out. Unfortunately I have to return it. I would definitely buy this sheet again, I would just try to get more information about the fit before ordering. I really liked the material and how everything else fit.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Talk to Someone who has one before you buy! My horse has already rubbed a lot with this sheet on and it has held up perfectly! The fit is ok...my horse has a Rhino sheet and blanket that are a 72 and they fit her perfect but this sheet is big on her but it works. Also it doesn't clean up that well and is a bit pricey but it does do it's intended job well.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the $$$ Outstanding product. Very durable, fits great - the hardware and the material is best quality and holds up to daily turnout even in the blistering Southwestern sun. I did have to remove the tail flap because it was rubbing off the top of the tail. Smart Pak delivers the very best service of any of the on-line horse care companies. Thank you
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great value I got this for my draft cross, and it fits perfectly. It's easy to wash, and he looks great in it. It is definitely worth it to spend a little more for this great quality fly sheet.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly sheet or coverall This is a fine product and fits my horse well; however, I thought I was buying something with an added repellent against flies, so it was disappointing that while it covers, it does not repel. It is lightweight, breathable, and not overly burdensome to my horse, an older mare that has developed a fierce allergy to some kind of early season biting insect.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'd buy it again I bought the Amigo Bug Buster; and then this year I bought the Rambo Protector. I must say they are both an excellent product for your horse. The only detail that I like better on the Rambo is the NECK IS LONGER and has a little more coverage. Hopefully, Amigo Bug Buster will get a longer neck on their product.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why do they call it "Rambo"? I'll tell you why, because it is a tough, well made horse resistant product that does the job. My horses are on pasture 12 or more hours per day. One bleaches badly and the other, a black and white paint, sunburns. The Rambo protector is 95% UV resistant and its integral neck rug eliminates the need to wrestle with a two-piece sheet and neck rug. We live near a cattle farm and so have an on going battle with flies. This sheet offers excellent fly protection. My horses almost sigh with relief when I put their sheets on each day.Most sheets degrade badly during a season's hard use but not the Rambo sheet. One of our horses is on its second season with her Rambo and the sheet itself, hardware, straps and velcro fasteners are as good as the day it was delivered.Equally important is the fit, which it does well, and so prevents chafing, hair coat and mane damageWhile this sheet is a little pricey I think you usually get what you pay for and in this case the Rambo Protector has been and remains worth every penny.
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The regular Rambos do not usually fit my warmblood cross - this fly sheet is GREAT! It fits him with plenty of room and plenty of protection. I cannot say enough about it. If you have a horse and don't have a fly sheet, you need to buy this one!
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the coverage, but not made so well At first I was ecstatic about this fly sheet because it provided complete coverage over my horse. But my happiness ended on day 2 when he came in with a 2-inch rip on the hip. Pasture buddy was wearing a grazing muzzle, so I'm not sure how it happened. On the upside, this sheet is not rubbing his shoulders or his mane, but the very long tail protector is damaging the top hair of his tail. I may end up having to cut the tail guard off.Overall, I wish it had normal rear leg straps and some nylon lining on the tail guard to keep the hair smooth. Oh, and more indestructible fabric. Then it would be perfect.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice fit, but not durable I bought this sheet because I like how amigo blankets fit my horse and the reviews indicated the rambo was more durable than the amigo. I'm sorry to say that I am disappointed in the quality of this sheet. After 48 hours, there is a hole in the sheet where it has torn away from the binding and there are several snags in the material. I can tell my mare has been rubbing in it - there are grass stains and dirt all over, but a high end fly should be more durable than this!It is also warm. It was about 95 here today, and my mare was definitely sweating under the sheet.I do like the fit on this sheet - the neck does not droop down, it wraps around to cover her belly, and it does not sit right on the bony part of her withers.If you need a really durable sheet, and one that keeps your horse cool. I do not recommend the Rambo - my Kensington lasted much longer before it got any holes (almost a whole summer!) and my mare did not sweat so much under it.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    • 2016-05-01T17:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_111
    • loc_en_US, sid_2314, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders