Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 70% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included

Sizing It Up

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches. 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
    Description:
    Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue. One ...
    A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to ...
    Description:
    A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to provide coverage and protection for your horse against pesky biting insects. Favorite Features Fine mesh to help block tiny biting flies and insects Detachable neck Detachable belly band Shoulder gussets for unrestricted ...
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now ...
    Description:
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now has horse show appeal! This super durable 17 x 11 Denier textilene mesh fabric provides 80% UV protection to prevent coat bleaching and will actually keep your horse cooler in the hot ...
    The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced ...
    Description:
    The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced fabric construction of ring spun brushed polyester with the latest in moisture management technology making this high-tech sheet Horseware's most versatile yet.  Imported. Favorite Features Moisture management technology wicks away moisture and ...
    The Weatherbeeta Ripshield Plus Detach-a-neck fly sheet offers ...
    Description:
    The Weatherbeeta Ripshield Plus Detach-a-neck fly sheet offers a great solution to the horse who hates flies. Made from a durable polyester ripstop weave, this material helps keep tears contained so your fly sheet lasts longer. The detach-a-neck and belly ...
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect ...
    Description:
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UV protection Adjustable and removable belly ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Protector is rated 4.5603 out of 5 by 116.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Rambo products These run very large, my mare normally takes a 78, she was swimming in it, and I had to go with a 75. They changed the snaps on the front from swivel to solid snaps, I am still unsure if I like them or not. Plus they took the tabs off the belly to run the surcingle thru and I don't think it stays in place as well. Overall I like it, I will really have to wait and see about durability.... haven't had it long enough.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! Both of my horses wear this sheet and it is by far the best fly sheet I have owned. The material is so tough and durable, yet it's very cool and breathable. They do run large, my horses usually wear 75" Rambos but can get away with the 72" protector fly sheet.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and true I have had these before and they work and hold up well. I was looking at the new Buca's but since it was mail order and I didn't know anyone that had one I went for the one that I know I will get several seasons out of.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly protection Really happy with this fly sheet. Just ordered a new one for my Friesian cross. I think it's worth the investment.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet! This is by far the best fly sheet I've ever owned. My horse gets shoulder rubs from all other brand fly sheets. This one fits great and doesn't rub at all. It also allows better air flow keeping my mare cool and bug free. Worth the price.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Show horse wore this sheet one time in large grassy field. Sheet was snagged and ripped when he came in.Poor durability and quality.DON'T BUY THIS SHEET!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flysheet I bought this flysheet for a horse on our farm about a month ago, and now am buying them for everyone else! They're so light and the horses are noticeably happier about the flies.It's great that the neck is detachable, so the horse isn't always 100% covered up. These are large - my horse usually wears a 75 in Rambo, I bought him a 75 - it fits him nicely, but is very long/deep (which is great for fly protection!).Had smartpak embroider them - came out beautifully!
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet! I bought this sheet for my TB. It has held up wonderful with him out in the turnout and in his corral. Even when it was 100 degrees he wasn't sweating. Glad I read the other reviews and ordered a size smaller. Fits him perfect. I would definately buy another.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fabric I love the fabric this sheet is made from. I believe it will hold up well. I wanted the V front for my large chested TB/Perch. cross as she breaks regular straight snap fronts. I had to return for a smaller size, as I appreciate the free shipping! This really runs large. The neck is a little large and the buckles too low on her so I took the sides of the neck up with bandage safety pins and the fit is pretty good now. I love how the sheet makes her coat look- smooth and super shiny. My mare would have large welts on her from bug bites and this sheet does a good job of keeping the bugs off and protects her tail from the no-see-ums. I especially love her coming in her stall and not rubbing her tail on the walls. Ticks will crawl under the sheet so I apply some spray in their favorite hiding places.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fly Sheet I LOVE this fly sheet. Its material is the perfect texture - soft enough to be gentle on the skin and coat yet firm enough to resist easy snags and tears. The neck cover actually gives perfect coverage - not too short!!! It has a longer drop than any other fly sheet I have owned which is a great feature. This long drop is one of the reasons that this sheet appears to run so large, but the body of the sheet fits very much like my Horseware blankets. I have a Thoroughbred who always wears size 78, and the 78 in this sheet fits him perfectly. My Quarter Horse normally wears a 75, but because he is toward the smaller end of 75 and he is not as leggy as my Thoroughbred, I might order the 72 for him. I am glad SmarPak is so great with returns just in case I choose the wrong size for him. I cannot speak for the durability of this sheet, but it is extremely well made and looks like it will hold up well. I am thrilled with this sheet so far, and I think my horse would agree.
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!! This sheet runs at least one size large but Smart Pak quickly exchanged. The design and fit is excellent once sized. I am a fan of the V-front closure and highly recommend it. The leg arches allow the horse to move freely along with the fit at the shoulder. There is no shifting of this design when the horse rolls. One recommendation to the design is to have a "High Neck" style like the blanket. This provides for an even better fit through the neck/shoulders.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Choice "If this sheet had any more bells and whistles, I'd need a degree from MIT to put it on," said a gal who works at the farm where I board my horse. BUT this sheet stays on. It protects my horse from the midges that give him sweet itch and the horse flies that terrify him. It also wears better than any other sheet I've tried.Worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rambo Protector Fly Sheet Every horse in our barn has this fly sheet, so my horse got one for Christmas. They seem to out last all others. I have a Peruvian Paso, so I needed a size 69". It fits thru the back and belly OK, but it is a bit tight in the shoulders. If it is velcroed closed in front, it fits just fine. But then when you clip the 2 buckles, it folds over the velcroe and is a bit tight. I may need to add an additional buckle for the broader chested Peruvian.
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fly Sheet In over ten years of horse ownership, I have NEVER taken the time to review a purchase. This sheet, however, deserves some serious applause. I bought the size 69 for a 16.1 hand yearling clydesdale halter horse to protect her from sun fading (she is black) and flies. She wore this sheet day and night for over four months and was turned out with two rough and tumble horses. Aside from a few minor snags, the sheet is in awesome condition- it wears like iron. It does run large though, the 69 went almost down to my horse's knees, so it may not work so well for a smaller horse. This sheet gives great UV protection, my filly stayed raven black through our sunny California summer, and even in 90+ degree temps, never broke a sweat wearing it. I have purchased fly sheets from probably every major brand, but the Rambo is by far the best!
    Date published: 2013-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RUNS LARGE! This is a very nice fly sheet, and I would know as I have owned nearly every one on the market! First note it RUNS BIG, I had read that in other reviews so I ordered down a size (My horse measures at 85" so I ordered an 81", ENORMOUS, so I ordered a 78") I love how long the neck is! It is actually built for the modern shaped horse! (I have Paint/Quarter Horse show horses) I haven't had it long enough to comment on it's durability but I am very happy with the quality thus far. I only wish SmartPak sold the waterproof liner as well!
    Date published: 2013-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet ever My neck rubber, roller, in the woods guy couldn't kill it! Wore it virtually every day since May. Kept his mostly black parts black, white marks white, never more sweat on blazing hot southern days than horses with no fly sheet, and would come in clean as a whistle! Other horses stomping and swishing despite tons of expensive fly spray, he's dozing with a hip dropped. Still wearing it some days mid October. Even the giant black "elephant flies" don't phase him, they light, he doesn't buck and run like the other horses, they fly away. Only complaint, how to afford 11 more of them...
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! I have purchased in the past Rambo fly sheets and they have worn like iron. When I purchased my new horse he needed a new fly sheet and I purchased this one. It fits great, the longer neck provides great coverage and I like the three belly curcingles since they appear to add more coverage. Currently it has held up fantastically and washes great. I love it so much that my friend will be ordering one for her horse.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Fly Sheet I just bought another Rambo fly sheet. The last one lasted for 2 full summer seasons . The quality of material is great. My horse is an outside horse, so it has been exposed to all types of summer weather and still is doing the job. The only reason I am replacing the original one is that "no-rub" material is ripping. (Understandable after 2 years in the sun). A friend of mine recommended this product to me and I would also recommend the Rambo Protector to others.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good! I haven't owned it long enough to truly rate it but so far I am very happy. It does run large. I bought one size smaller but now wish I had gone two sizes smaller. He did sweat a little around the shoulders but today was the hottest day of the year. He doesn't mind it at all. I observed a big roll and the sheet did not impede or slip.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a fly sheet that lasts! My paint mare sunburns on her neck and back if I don't keep a fly sheet on her during the summer, but I was sick and tired of buying multiple sheets in a season when they got destroyed in the pasture. I decided to dish out the extra funds for a Rambo, and truly you get what you pay for. I have used this sheet for most of the summer for a mare that is on pasture 24/7, and although it's a little dirtier, it has held up really well. You can easily hose the dirt off when it gets too nasty, and the fabric is very breathable. It fits my solid-but-not-too-chunky paint very well, and I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! What else can I say-it's a Rambo! That speaks for itself. I took the advice of other reviewers and ordered a smaller size and that worked. The blanket is holding up great (as all Rambos' do!) and certainly takes the rough-housing of my miniature donkey jumping up and trying to rough-house with my mare.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Fly Protector This fly protector is much cooler than some of the others I have used. I have a Thoroughbred who is very sensitive to the bugs and they did seem to bite him in some spots even with the sheet on. However, the flies have been horrible in the Northeast.I would recommend this sheet for its durability and good looks. Rambo adds the third surcingle which is helpful with keeping biting bugs away from the under belly.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fly sheet I bought this flysheet looking for lighter material so my horse wouldn't sweat. Before he was in a Baker which is made of a heavy plastic feeling mesh. This flysheet wasn't as soft and light as I expected but it was an improvement so I kept it. I fits beautifully and is really well made. Easy to put on and stays in place. Unfortunately my horse does still sweat on his neck and shoulder where the sheet is lined. I haven't been able to use it the last 2 weeks. Its been really hot (90s) though so I can't really blame the sheet. I can't comment on durability at this time but I do have high expectations considering the cost. I look forward to using this high quality sheet once the weather becomes a little more mild.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good this is the third one Rambo rugs are so durabule, I now have s fly sheets and one winter rug all the rugs will be replaced with Rambo as they need to be replaced (Rug is a blanket)
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from rambo protector I really like this fly sheet. It is much lighter than most and keeps my horse cooler on hot, humid days.I would highly recommend this sheet to a friend.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet ever purchased! This is the best fly sheet I have ever purchased, it's easy to put on, covers great, and very durable!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RUNS A SIZE LARGE! I love this fly sheet and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quality fly sheet. I warn anyone though, order a size smaller than you would for normal Rambos.. If your horse wears a 78" regularly.. order a 75".
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most durable so far This is the most durable fly sheet I have tried so far. The stable owners call my horse's fly sheets "chew toys for Landon" (my horse's pasture playmate) because they have been hanging in shreds from my horse within days/a couple of weeks of wear. This sheet only has 2 golf ball sized holes after a good 6 weeks of wear and they are not fraying nor otherwise getting larger. :)
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet, but watch for fit First, let me say this is the same high quality product you would expect from Rambo. The material is softer than most fly sheets and my horse doesn't get near as sweaty under it as past sheets. It seems to be durable because my guy takes his daily rolling very seriously. No rips or tears so far.My only complaint was the fit. I ordered a 78 which is the size of his Rambo turnout blankets and sheets. It was so much longer than his other 78s. The end of the sheet (not the tail piece) hung to the end of his tail dock. The sides on the ends hung to below his hocks. A smaller size wouldn't work because the front of the sheet fit really well. (He is a tank of a warmblood so someone with a more "petite" horse may find a smaller size works.)I'm lucky enough to know a woman who does blanket repairs and she altered the sheet to fit.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing its job So far so good on this fly sheet from Rambo. This sheet does run large. Had to return the 81 and order one size down. The horse I bought this fly sheet for normally wears a size 81 in Rambo blankets but the 81 was too long for him. Good quality. My horse stays cooler and bug free in this fly sheet.
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    • 2016-05-02T15:31CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_111
    • loc_en_US, sid_2314, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders