Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo® Original Turnout w/Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18714

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The classic Rambo style, with great updated features!  The Rambo Original Turnout with Leg Arches  features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention so your horse stays comfortably warm all season long. 

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell is extremely strong and durable
  • Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Compatable with Horseware Liner System
  • Leg arches for increased freedom of movement
  • Wipe clean tail cord
  • Reflective strips for added visibility
  • Oversize tail flap
  • Removable triple belly surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snap allows for easy on and off while Surefit Neck Design helps to reduce pressure on your horses chest and shoulder
  • Lite has 0 g/No Fill, Medium/Lite has 100g of fill, Medium has 200 g fill, Heavy has 370 g

Made in Ireland

Sizing It Up

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Pair the Rambo Original Neck Cover with the ...
    Description:
    Pair the Rambo Original Neck Cover with the Rambo Original with Leg Arches for the ultimate comfort and protection for your horse. Favorite Features Waterproof Made from the same material as the Rambo Original with Leg Arches, 1000 denier ballistic ...
    Now you can have a great quality Horseware ...
    Description:
    Now you can have a great quality Horseware Turnout at an amazing price! The Mio Turnout is made from a medium strength 600D polyester outer that is both fully waterproof and breathable. Imported. Favorite Features Classic cut Horseware's patented Front ...
    One of Horseware Ireland's best selling turnouts! With ...
    Description:
    One of Horseware Ireland's best selling turnouts! With a fit like any other blanket available, this blanket will be your horse's best friend to battle winter weather. Favorite Features Waterproof & Breathable with Anti-Bacterial Lining Tough 1000 Denier Ballistic Nylon ...
    The Rambo Vari-Layer Wug Turnout offers a smarter ...
    Description:
    The Rambo Vari-Layer Wug Turnout offers a smarter way to blanket your horse! Vari-Layer technology provides added warmth with less weight providing more comfort to your horse. Horseware designed this blanket with additional layers of thermobonded fiber across the back ...
    A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, ...
    Description:
    A seamless all-in-one design for maximum security, comfort, and protection against cold and weather. Designed for horses with a narrower build, the seamless design helps prevent mane rubbing and is perfect for thin-skinned horses. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 1000D ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Original Turnout w/Leg Arches is rated 4.7636 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Rambo is always a great purchase because of quality and durability. My horse is difficult to fit, but this blanket fits perfectly and I know it will last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit problems I purchased this turnout because my horse is really hard on his blankets... So the Rambos are definitely very resistant. But the fit is terrible I think. They are made for giant tall legged horses... "dressing" an arabian with one of those is apparently impossible. I still don't know if I'll keep this blanket or if I'll return it... it's very frustrating because I can tell the quality is amazing. If only they could do a cut for smaller horses, and more room in the shoulder area... (and I got the correct size after trying bigger and smaller...) so that's it.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Fit. They Last I've stopped trying other blankets and sheets because nothing fits as well, breathes as well, looks as good, or is as durable as a Rambo. Only complaint might be that I don't understand the butt strap they use instead of leg straps. No matter how I adjust it, there is manure all over it and often on my horse's legs and backside. I just remove the butt strap. The blanket stays in place fine on my horses without it.This medium weight is quite warm for our Pacific Northwest climate.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit / Good quality Have had other (the original) rambo blankets in the past that have fit better, stayed in place better, and held up better than any of many other brands I have tried. Also had a Rambo supreme, but one of the front clips has broken and there is no repair/replacement part available, so I like the original closure better! This latest one was ordered for a blanket destroying Selle Francais who is always into something. He is a tall and broad guy and the blanket fit true to his measured size of 84. He and I are both happy with it so far, fits him well and stays in place.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo makes great blankets I have two Rambo blankets, liners, a sheet, and hoods....they're great and while expensive they LAST. Very importantly they FIT my 16.2 heavyset thoroughbred with tall withers - no rubbing. No slipping, no tearing. Still waterproof after two seasons and I'm very happy with them. I personally wasn't crazy about the tail cord instead of leg straps when I first bought them but now have no reason to complain - with or without liners they are always exactly where I left them the night before. Great products.
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Blanket fits my Dutch warmblood mare wonderfully, never comes off her during her night turnout and the reflectors on the side are terrific! Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! Rambo does it again! This turnout is awesome! I ordered the size 78 for my 16h appendix paint gelding and it fits him perfectly~he is a very active boy and the blanket does not shift at all...I am very pleased! Thank you Rambo and Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I just bought a new rambo turnout sheet with leg arches and love how it fits my appaloosa/mustang cross. I was not sure if it would work since in the past these blankets seem to fit more the Thoroughbred type horses with long deep shoulders. I am glad I finally decieded to spend the money for a sheet I know will last quiete a few years without ripping and will stay waterproof. Our pony has one since last year and the horse he is turned out with has not been able to tear a hole in it all last winter.I also love the new features with the douple velcro at the chest, it gives it some adjustability. Only drawback are the new snaps on the tailcord, I don't like those kind of plastic buckles.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Turnout with leg arches This was just to replace a old rambo blanket, but this one has the leg arches which the other one did not. The old one got turned on our horse and we had to cut the straps, but with the leg arches it stays on better. I highly recommend any Rambo Blanket for your horse, I wish everyone had one for their animals.
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A classic Excellent product from horseware......their quality is always excellent. Their products stand up to all sorts of adversity. Looking at "cost per wear", this product is worth every penny.
    Date published: 2011-02-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from New Plastic Hardware is the Worst!!! I have always been a huge Rambo fan and I have many Rambo blankets. This year I needed a new heavyweight blanket because of the colder than normal weather. The newly designed Rambo original fits better than ever with its new front closures however they have used plastic fasteners for the "removable surcingles" and for the new tail strap. The first few days, the plastic fastners broke and I had surcingles dangling. A few days later the tail strap plastic ends broke. Rambo sends you 3 spare plastic attachments and I have only 1 left. Obviously they know this could be a problem. When a 1200 lb animal rolls with their blanket onto this cheap plastic, of course it is going to break! I have informed the SmartPak people about this and they are trying to help me. We'll see. I don't want to return the blanket, I just needs tons of spare plastic parts inlcuding a new tail strap from Horsewear. If this new Rambo was a car it would be recalled. I'm sure they will come out with metal hardwear to replace this plastic eventually. This is the first time Rambo has ever disappointed me.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is the best. Excellent blanket, lives up to its reputation. Well made with attention to detail. Would buy another despite the high price because it fits/adjusts and is so well made. As well as the guarantee for three years.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo is the best We have two horses and many Rambo blankets. We have been buying NOTHING but Rambo for about 20 years. We live in the mountains and the temperature is always different so the light, medium and heavy weights are used. Rambo fits well, manufactured extremely great and the horses are comfortable in them.
    Date published: 2010-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, love it, love it. I bought my first Rambo blankets 0ver 10 years ago. I like most of the new improvements, I don't like the hooks on the neck, I plan on removing them.
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO blankets are fantastic! My TB hunter is very difficult to size (just under 16 hands, but measures 80 inches from middle of chest to tail); the RAMBO Original Turnout w/Leg Arches - size 78 - fits him perfectly. I love how the V-front allows him to graze freely and comfortably. The removable liner system easily attaches to the new RAMBO line and is a lifesaver, especially when dealing with unpredictable MI weather. After reading the other review, I would agree that the belly surcingles are a bit long, but the blanket has stayed in place. The PVC coated tail cord is also much easier to keep clean than the older version. While pricey, these blankets are extremely well constructed/designed and have outlasted all other non-RAMBO blankets purchased over the last five years.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant blanket! I just bought this blanket in a size up for my growing gelding and it is one of the best blankets I've had so far. Its very well made, easy to get on & clip, and I love the leg arches. The bigger size fits him quite well- its easy to adjust to fit him at his in between size. I love the 3-straps across the belly, it keeps the blanket more secure & holds the blanket close to the horses body. He is right at 16.1 hands, and wore a 78" Rhino, so the 80" Rambo fits well but roomy. (which is what I wanted)These Rambo's last forever, so they are absolutely worth the price.
    Date published: 2010-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Living up to the expectations After trying three different turnout sheets priced from $ 60 to $150 for my new horse -- a small Holsteiner mare, I decided to take the plunge and go with the Rambo (which came highly recommended after doing some research and asking on COTH). I was unhappy with the fit of all of first three, especially sliding back when she lowers her head to eat and subsequently pressing on the withers. The Rambo seems to stay loose around her body. It's only been a few days, so no report yet on rubs, but so far I'm very hopeful. The only two minor critiques are that 1) the belly surcingles came detached and needed to be assembled (it was easy, but a 7 step process according to the booklet, and a somewhat annoying one -- I don't see why they couldn't have attached them), and 2) even at their shortest, the surcingles where still too long on my horse (I don't think she's particularly short -- she wears a 78 at 15.3), making them hang dangerously low, so I had to put a knot in each one of them and try to lay the knots as flat as possible. That took care of the issue. Overall both my mare and I are very happy, this is a high quality sheet which is perfect for temps in the 40s and 50s, typical for Northern California rainy winters.
    Date published: 2010-11-02
    • 2016-02-11T14:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_8714, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.