Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo® Original Turnout Blanket w/Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18714
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! The Rambo Original Turnout with Leg Arches features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention so your horse stays comfortably warm all season long.

Made in Ireland

Also Available:
Matching Rambo® Original Neck Cover (Fill: 0g, 150g, 250g)
Rambo® Original Turnout Sheet w/Leg Arches (Fill: 0g)

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell is extremely strong and durable
  • Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Compatable with Horseware Liner System
  • Leg arches for increased freedom of movement
  • Wipe clean tail cord
  • Reflective strips for added visibility
  • Oversize tail flap
  • Removable triple belly surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snap allows for easy on and off while Surefit Neck Design helps to reduce pressure on your horses chest and shoulder
  • Medium/Lite has 100g of fill, Medium has 200g fill, Heavy has 370g fill
  • Coordinating neck rug available here!
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 0g, 200g, 370g
  • Closure Style: V-front neck closure

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 0g, 200g, 370g
Surcingles Triple belly surcingles
Lining Anti-Bacterial lining
Gussets No
Closure Style V-front neck closure
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Tail cord
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating. Leg arches for increased freedom of movement.
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 3 Year Guarantee
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Also Available: Matching ...
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! ...
    Description:
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! This is a fantastic blanket for the money, backed by the Horseware brand that you can trust. Imported Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of ...
    "Only a blanket from Big D could have ...
    Description:
    "Only a blanket from Big D could have this many features and not be custom! Long-wearing turnout has a waterproof and breathable 1200 Denier rip-stop exterior. Tailored shoulder gussets fit the natural curve of the shoulder. VELCRO® brand and double ...
    "Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    "Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Imported. Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability. Also Available: Matching Big ...
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand ...
    Description:
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
    "Now you can have a great quality Horseware ...
    Description:
    "Now you can have a great quality Horseware Turnout at an amazing price! The Mio Turnout is made from a medium strength 600D polyester outer that is both fully waterproof and breathable. Imported.Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a ...
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an ...
    Description:
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an innovative design engineered to naturally move with the horse and ensure the utmost in comfort! This durable blanket is made from 1000D ballistic ripstop nylon and backed by a 4 year guarantee!" ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Original Turnout Blanket w/Leg Arches is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely LOVE RAMBO! I have used Rambo products for years, I absolutely love the fit and durability on all things Rambo. This particular turnout blanket, I own in both the medium and heavy weight and I can highly recommend it!!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, durability with great closures. The new type rear strap seems to work better than previous blankets. Coupled with the matching neck cover, this combination is the best I've ever purchased
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent investment The Rambo original turnout is a rugged, generously proportioned high quality coat that will last for years to come, outlasting cheaper coats making the higher initial investment of $$$ worthwhile. I own another one of these Rambos which is 10 years old and remains waterproof with no tears whatsoever. I own 5 of the purple Rambo wug turnouts as well which are also excellent but have higher neck coverage to keep rain/snow out. I bought a new green original Rambo this winter for my hard to fit Freisian cross who is very big in the neck and shoulders. The size 84 fits him well through the body though it is a little too long in the back. Rambos run large for a given size dimension when compared to other brands on the market. I think they are especially well suited for warmbloods and draft crosses; however, my Appy and my thoroughbreds enjoy the comfortable fit with NO RUBS. These coats stay in place when the horses run, play, roll or lie down even though I have removed the strap under the tail of each as it collected manure. I highly rec'd these coats for all climates. In the Northwoods of MN the heavy-weight is perfect for the winter. The waterproof sheets without fill are perfect for Spring/Autumn conditions. I wish I could afford to buy some more Rambo sheets for turnout!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to My Trusty Rambo Ordered the new Smartpak Turnout with the 10 yr. guarantee, but after less than 5 wears I had to return it. Should have known to stick with a Rambo. Yes, they are expensive, but they are the best I have ever found. You get what you pay for, and with how hard horses are on their clothes, if you can swing it, you won't want to buy anything else. Highly Recommend!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective RAMBO Turnout Blanket! I have a Morgan horse - she wears a 78 but had to order a 75 to fit her well. I love the construction of this product - heavy hardware, quality craftsmanship. The front closure is totally awesome - two velcro strips and metal hooks ensure complete closure. The three straps under the belly rock and keep this on my horse well. I feel confident that this particular blanket will be what I purchase whenever the need arises. Rambo = Quality.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from High quality, specific fit After reading the reviews for this blanket i decided i'd take the gamble and order one for my quarter horse. I ordered a size down as recommended. She is built bulky in the hind end and shoulders but is long tall and refined so i thought that it should fit alright. I was excited to open the bag as the blanket is gorgeous, heavy duty, sleek and you can tell is tough as nails. Sadly it couldn't have fit much worse. It was tight in the butt yet hung way too long, and was baggy in the shoulder area. I can see where the reviews saying "built for a thoroughbred" come into play. Thankfully smartpak has free returns so its not that big of a deal. I still rated this blanket high as it is the nicest blanket ive ever handled. Too bad i don't have the horse to fit it!
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Rambo is always a great purchase because of quality and durability. My horse is difficult to fit, but this blanket fits perfectly and I know it will last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit problems I purchased this turnout because my horse is really hard on his blankets... So the Rambos are definitely very resistant. But the fit is terrible I think. They are made for giant tall legged horses... "dressing" an arabian with one of those is apparently impossible. I still don't know if I'll keep this blanket or if I'll return it... it's very frustrating because I can tell the quality is amazing. If only they could do a cut for smaller horses, and more room in the shoulder area... (and I got the correct size after trying bigger and smaller...) so that's it.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Fit. They Last I've stopped trying other blankets and sheets because nothing fits as well, breathes as well, looks as good, or is as durable as a Rambo. Only complaint might be that I don't understand the butt strap they use instead of leg straps. No matter how I adjust it, there is manure all over it and often on my horse's legs and backside. I just remove the butt strap. The blanket stays in place fine on my horses without it.This medium weight is quite warm for our Pacific Northwest climate.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit / Good quality Have had other (the original) rambo blankets in the past that have fit better, stayed in place better, and held up better than any of many other brands I have tried. Also had a Rambo supreme, but one of the front clips has broken and there is no repair/replacement part available, so I like the original closure better! This latest one was ordered for a blanket destroying Selle Francais who is always into something. He is a tall and broad guy and the blanket fit true to his measured size of 84. He and I are both happy with it so far, fits him well and stays in place.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo makes great blankets I have two Rambo blankets, liners, a sheet, and hoods....they're great and while expensive they LAST. Very importantly they FIT my 16.2 heavyset thoroughbred with tall withers - no rubbing. No slipping, no tearing. Still waterproof after two seasons and I'm very happy with them. I personally wasn't crazy about the tail cord instead of leg straps when I first bought them but now have no reason to complain - with or without liners they are always exactly where I left them the night before. Great products.
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Blanket fits my Dutch warmblood mare wonderfully, never comes off her during her night turnout and the reflectors on the side are terrific! Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! Rambo does it again! This turnout is awesome! I ordered the size 78 for my 16h appendix paint gelding and it fits him perfectly~he is a very active boy and the blanket does not shift at all...I am very pleased! Thank you Rambo and Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I just bought a new rambo turnout sheet with leg arches and love how it fits my appaloosa/mustang cross. I was not sure if it would work since in the past these blankets seem to fit more the Thoroughbred type horses with long deep shoulders. I am glad I finally decieded to spend the money for a sheet I know will last quiete a few years without ripping and will stay waterproof. Our pony has one since last year and the horse he is turned out with has not been able to tear a hole in it all last winter.I also love the new features with the douple velcro at the chest, it gives it some adjustability. Only drawback are the new snaps on the tailcord, I don't like those kind of plastic buckles.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Turnout with leg arches This was just to replace a old rambo blanket, but this one has the leg arches which the other one did not. The old one got turned on our horse and we had to cut the straps, but with the leg arches it stays on better. I highly recommend any Rambo Blanket for your horse, I wish everyone had one for their animals.
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A classic Excellent product from horseware......their quality is always excellent. Their products stand up to all sorts of adversity. Looking at "cost per wear", this product is worth every penny.
    Date published: 2011-02-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from New Plastic Hardware is the Worst!!! I have always been a huge Rambo fan and I have many Rambo blankets. This year I needed a new heavyweight blanket because of the colder than normal weather. The newly designed Rambo original fits better than ever with its new front closures however they have used plastic fasteners for the "removable surcingles" and for the new tail strap. The first few days, the plastic fastners broke and I had surcingles dangling. A few days later the tail strap plastic ends broke. Rambo sends you 3 spare plastic attachments and I have only 1 left. Obviously they know this could be a problem. When a 1200 lb animal rolls with their blanket onto this cheap plastic, of course it is going to break! I have informed the SmartPak people about this and they are trying to help me. We'll see. I don't want to return the blanket, I just needs tons of spare plastic parts inlcuding a new tail strap from Horsewear. If this new Rambo was a car it would be recalled. I'm sure they will come out with metal hardwear to replace this plastic eventually. This is the first time Rambo has ever disappointed me.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is the best. Excellent blanket, lives up to its reputation. Well made with attention to detail. Would buy another despite the high price because it fits/adjusts and is so well made. As well as the guarantee for three years.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo is the best We have two horses and many Rambo blankets. We have been buying NOTHING but Rambo for about 20 years. We live in the mountains and the temperature is always different so the light, medium and heavy weights are used. Rambo fits well, manufactured extremely great and the horses are comfortable in them.
    Date published: 2010-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, love it, love it. I bought my first Rambo blankets 0ver 10 years ago. I like most of the new improvements, I don't like the hooks on the neck, I plan on removing them.
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO blankets are fantastic! My TB hunter is very difficult to size (just under 16 hands, but measures 80 inches from middle of chest to tail); the RAMBO Original Turnout w/Leg Arches - size 78 - fits him perfectly. I love how the V-front allows him to graze freely and comfortably. The removable liner system easily attaches to the new RAMBO line and is a lifesaver, especially when dealing with unpredictable MI weather. After reading the other review, I would agree that the belly surcingles are a bit long, but the blanket has stayed in place. The PVC coated tail cord is also much easier to keep clean than the older version. While pricey, these blankets are extremely well constructed/designed and have outlasted all other non-RAMBO blankets purchased over the last five years.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant blanket! I just bought this blanket in a size up for my growing gelding and it is one of the best blankets I've had so far. Its very well made, easy to get on & clip, and I love the leg arches. The bigger size fits him quite well- its easy to adjust to fit him at his in between size. I love the 3-straps across the belly, it keeps the blanket more secure & holds the blanket close to the horses body. He is right at 16.1 hands, and wore a 78" Rhino, so the 80" Rambo fits well but roomy. (which is what I wanted)These Rambo's last forever, so they are absolutely worth the price.
    Date published: 2010-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Living up to the expectations After trying three different turnout sheets priced from $ 60 to $150 for my new horse -- a small Holsteiner mare, I decided to take the plunge and go with the Rambo (which came highly recommended after doing some research and asking on COTH). I was unhappy with the fit of all of first three, especially sliding back when she lowers her head to eat and subsequently pressing on the withers. The Rambo seems to stay loose around her body. It's only been a few days, so no report yet on rubs, but so far I'm very hopeful. The only two minor critiques are that 1) the belly surcingles came detached and needed to be assembled (it was easy, but a 7 step process according to the booklet, and a somewhat annoying one -- I don't see why they couldn't have attached them), and 2) even at their shortest, the surcingles where still too long on my horse (I don't think she's particularly short -- she wears a 78 at 15.3), making them hang dangerously low, so I had to put a knot in each one of them and try to lay the knots as flat as possible. That took care of the issue. Overall both my mare and I are very happy, this is a high quality sheet which is perfect for temps in the 40s and 50s, typical for Northern California rainy winters.
    Date published: 2010-11-02
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_8714, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders