Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot

Professional's Choice
- Item #16205
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boots are made with DuPont's original ballistic nylon, a material used in the manufacture of bulletproof vests.

Ballistic Overreach Boots use the ballistic nylon as the outer covering, binding at the bottom of the boot and stitching. These boots are extra tough, and able to withstand the daily abuse of riding, regardless of discipline. M (Cob), L (Horse), XL (Warmblood), XXL (Large Warmblood).

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Ultrashock lining -- provides protection and shock absorption
  • Ballistic binding -- provides high degree of durability
  • Covers back of hoof to ground -- Superior protection to critical areas of hoof
  • Double hook & loop fasteners -- stays on securely and will not come loose while riding
  • Soft, padded rolled pasterns -- reduces rubbing, keeping horse more comfortable
  • No-turn knob -- keeps boot from turning, remaining in correct position for better protection

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot is rated 4.3968 out of 5 by 126.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overreach Boots Good quality. I did have to return them several times to get the right fit as they run small. I have smaller Friesian and he needed a 2XL. The return process was easy and free!
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, but pay attention to fit! These boots have been a staple in my barns for years. They're my first choice for overreach boots, well-made and durable. I've had them on horses of all sizes and all manner of traveling. I ride nearly every athletic dressage horse with these boots on their front feet.Something to consider, though: when you go up in size for a wide foot, you are also increasing the length in the back of these boots. Depending on the angles of your horse's feet and how you keep them trimmed/shod, larger boots will almost certainly be too long. Too-long boots will be stepped on by your horse, and could cause bruising on the heel and back of pastern, and excess wear on the boot. For one 17.3h horse with hooves the size of dinner plates, I had to order XXL boots and then have them altered by a blanket repair shop to be cut and re-hemmed in the back to be shorter. It added some time and expense to the initial purchase of the boot, but was well worth it in fit.Now I have Medium boots on my 16h 4-yr-old Warmblood with average feet. They fit, but could definitely not be any smaller. A particularly rambunctious bucking spree during turnout in deep footing can dislodge the boots off her feet, but it's not very often. I considered upsizing her to a Large boot to create a more secure fit in the velcro, but the Large boots are much too long unless I have them altered.Well-fitted boots will last me about 2 years of every day workouts in various footings. By then the edges will be worn and frayed enough to consider replacing, but will still protect the heel well enough from overreach.
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! These boots are exactly what I was looking for! They are sturdy and have held up well in the muddy conditions we are experiencing right now. I like that they are breathable and are not rubbing at all.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these boots! A friend borrowed a pair of mine and lost them so she bought these for me. I love them, Professional Choice is the best! They have lasted a long time and still work/look great besides the mud on them. :)P.S. Smartpak, could you pretty, pretty please get more colors of these?
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Bell Boots Our first pair of these bell boots lasted almost four years. The velcro finally began to tear away from the seam and I am just too lazy to sew it so we bought another pair. The old ones had been used daily and not "babied" at all. These are GREAT boots for the price.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Update. After 5 pairs of these. So, they are great bell boots. Easy to throw on and off, but my horse can rip them off and destroy them VERY easily. After about a month, the back side of them will start to fray and wear from use (he's a young horse who tends to forge when he's feeling lazy). But on the advice of my trainer, on muddy days, we have tried to turn him out with them on so he doesn't throw a shoe. Well, he has yet to throw a shoe, but he has been able to completely destroy these little boots. I mean, he can rip the logo off, one of the velcro sides off, you name it! They are great and thankfully affordable enough to keep replacing, but as for durability, let's just say they are lacking.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased a size large for my TB. I probably could have used a medium was was planning on returning them but when I left my horse in his stall with them on for a minute to go to the tack room he had completely destroyed the tops! They may be made from bullet proof material but they are not any match for naughty horse teeth! Otherwise they are a great product.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Highly Recommended! I purchased my first pair about a year ago and they have held up very well. I have a 17h TB gelding that I use them on every day. He has a clubby front left so he doesn't go any where without his bell boots. I use them for his arena work, trail rides, and turnouts. The only reason I gave them a 4 for durability is that when they are on the part where the velco folds over started to develop a hole from brushing against the other boot when in use...some of that could be attributed to the fact that my horse has a clubby foot. For how big my horse is he barely wears a size 2 shoe and yet I ordered a large then had to return it for an Xlarge, so they do run a tad small. Overall I am very pleased with the product and am happy with the fact they lasted for a year of rough wear before having to purchase another set.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots So, my 15.2 thoroughbred mare has very small delicate looking feet. She tends to clip her heels, and wears size small of other brands like Davis. I got a medium in this brand, and they fit nice and snug. She's has sensitive skin and the rubber of other brands rubs her skin raw after a couple hours. Other boots I've used never last, and are constantly losing the Velcro or chunks of rubber. Decided to invest in these, and used them for the first time today for 2-3 hours of riding trails and galloping. They both stayed straight, and didn't rub her skin at all. They protected her heels very well. The trim on the bottom did begin to fray a little, but nothing too bad, a little surprising after only one use, but they're more protective than anything else I've found. I'm happy!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These I love these boots, and so does my mare. Every time I put them on her, she arches her neck and prances, like, "Look at me, I've got my boots on!"They protect her feet very nice, and never twist. Great buy.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! Love the durable material, the large fit my 16.2h TB very well!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Nice durable bell boots. Professional's choice as always delivers great quality products!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bell Boots My horse usually tears apart regular bell boots (with his teeth) , but these seem to be withstanding his best efforts. His extra wide hoof is a bit snug in them, but overall they are great so far.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Great quality,padded on top for comfort! There are easy to put on ,quick and are very durable! They stay in place!
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST choice for horses that overstride!! I've used this product before and needed a different size for my new horse. BEST choice for horses that overstride.As an aside--as a spotlight on durability--gave the older pair of these boots to my dog--she can chew through everything and anything!--Bone/toys that say they last for months/years on their packaging--are chewed through in a matter of hours...but NOT these! hahaha So, they've turned into the very best chew toy by accident!
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bells Very good product. They may run a little on the small side. Thank you SmartPak for special ordering XXXL for me.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from binding ripped after 2 rides I bought these boots a few months back and used them twice before it just got too hot to ride. In those two uses, the binding ripped very badly. I finally got a return label from SP to refund my money last week. The Davis and the plain ribbed with velcro hold up MUCH better that these do, and for less money.
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! After much debate a research, I finally decided on trying a pair of these for my horse - the bell boot destroyer. So far, these have held up great! We only use them for competition and xc schooling, but they have yet to let me down. They are durable, do not seem to hold water, and protect well. A few times, I have had one turn (maybe twice in 2-3 months), but for the most part they do well on the "no turn" aspect.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I have been using the Ballistic Overreach boots by Professional Choice for 4 years now on my large dressage warmbloods. Even when they rub and step all over them, they hold up for years, bruised, battered and missing pieces, but still useable. I use them for turnouts and riding as well as shoe protection while shipping. Plus they're easy to take on and off and rather attractive looking.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballistic hoof protectors My horse has an impure flight pattern and strikes one front hoof to another. I've tried several types and brands of bell boots, but these are the ones that take a long time to destroy, and they also do not rub his pasterns or heel bulbs raw (like some other brands). My favorites :)
    Date published: 2012-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best These bell boots are the best. My horse that removes everything that I place on his legs cannot remove them. Also, they do not cause rubs (even if left on 24/7) or fall apart like traditional rubber bell boots if used for turnout. On top of it all, Professional Choice warranties them for 6 months. The velcro on mine stated to wear. All I had to do was pay for shipping, and they sent me a brand new pair. Don't even hesitate to buy these bell boots. Note: they do run small. My normal sized horse wears a XL and my warmblood an XXL.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really is "no turn" This boot really is a "no turn" bell boot. My horse is all over the place when he moves, but he hasn't managed to turn these sideways or backwards yet. He also is pretty destructive and ripped his original plain rubber bell boots clean off...but these have held up to his investigations.For sizing, I was glad I chose the large. My guy is a 17.3 hand TB, but he has pretty average sized feet. For regular open front or ankle boots, he is a large, also.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works on the flat. I bought these for schooling my young horse who is a bit lazy about picking his front feet up. He was just broke a few months ago and is still barefoot. My farrier suggested I try some bell boots to encourage him to pick up his front feet a bit while working and boy do they work. They do look a bit awkward in the fit (sit a bit high on the pastern) but when he starts working they're not a problem. I went with the XL because he is a big boy and perhaps they are a little big but they do not turn on him and I'd rather err on the side of big than deal with a rub. When I lunge him I can see how nice he is picking up feet and stretching out now. I don't know how much is attributed to these boots or just how much he's improved with training... but I haven't worked him without these since because he's doing great.
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more ripped off shoes! I got these for my TB who has a huge stride and tends to catch his shoes while working. He's 17.1 and big-boned and the XL fit him great. Love that the velcro is double locking.
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots have been great. I have a 4yo warmblood gelding who absolutely destroys bell boots! So far these have held up almost a month (longer than any others I've tried) and look practically like new despite being worn 24/7. The Velcro is super strong and stays secure, and the boots fit and stay in place well. I ordered an XL for my 16.3h warmblood with big feet and they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super durable and great fit I tried these bell boots after my horse had hock injections and was going through three pairs of the old bell boots in a single week. I couldn't be happier with them-- very strong and durable without being hard on the legs, and they don't turn! At all! Pleasantly surprised. Great purchase.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fell apart after hard use :( I really loved these bellboots and actually purchased two pairs in different colors. Aesthetically they are easily my favorite and I love Professional's Choice wraps and leg boots.Unfortunately I have gone through two pairs of these due to the velcro coming undone. I don't think I put them through especially hard use. They were only worn when working (not left on in the stall/pasture) as my warmblood sometimes forges and clips.Once the velcro starts to go it really goes fast and after only a few months they would start flying off in the middle of riding or longing despite being properly secured. One pair had the velcro actually peel off the boot and the other just wouldn't stay on after more than 10 minutes of trot work. :(
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stays in place These boots really stay in place. The first time I used them I went on an 8 hour trail ride through the mountains. These boots did not spin or budge even over uneven and rough terrain. My TB gelding overreaches a lot and these boots are a definite necessity for us. I wish more colors were offered as I ended up having to buy white, which looks totally gross after one use. Regardless of how durable any overreach boot is my guy is going to destroy them at some point and these are already showing some fraying at the bottom, however they still have tons of wear left. Any other boot I have used has shown significantly more damage after a similar ride. Great quality boot.
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Overreach Boots I was in the market for an overreach boot that really would provide protection, comfort and durability and purchased a pair of Professional's Choice ballistic boots. At first look I was very impressed with the quality and construction of the boot. I chose the XL size since my horse has large hooves. These boots are designed to remain in the correct position and not slip and they certainly live up to the claim. I was additionally pleased that the materials used around the top of the hoof provided padding to prevent rubs. I highly recommend this item!
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable Purchased these for my 15.2hh TB. He has always had feet problems and manages to lose his shoes all the time. Then he's lame and can't ride. But these boots are great! Unlike the regular old bell boots, they don't turn and he doesn't clip off a shoe. Ordered the horse size. Had to tightly put them on his feet. Guess TBs had smaller feet than I thought!
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    • 2015-05-28T10:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_121
    • loc_en_US, sid_6205, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.