Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot

Professional's Choice
- Item #16205

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boots are made with DuPont's original ballistic nylon, a material used in the manufacture of bulletproof vests.

Ballistic Overreach Boots use the ballistic nylon as the outer covering, binding at the bottom of the boot and stitching. These boots are extra tough, and able to withstand the daily abuse of riding, regardless of discipline. M (Cob), L (Horse), XL (Warmblood), XXL (Large Warmblood).

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Ultrashock lining -- provides protection and shock absorption
  • Ballistic binding -- provides high degree of durability
  • Covers back of hoof to ground -- Superior protection to critical areas of hoof
  • Double hook & loop fasteners -- stays on securely and will not come loose while riding
  • Soft, padded rolled pasterns -- reduces rubbing, keeping horse more comfortable
  • No-turn knob -- keeps boot from turning, remaining in correct position for better protection

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This The Pro Performance XC ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Pro Performance XC Boots are incredibly comprehensive boots designed for the sport horse who needs the extra support and protection the most! These boots feature an outer layer of rip-stop Pro Mesh TPU material for ...
    The Leather Protection Boots are made of tough ...
    Description:
    The Leather Protection Boots are made of tough but soft leather that conforms to the horse's leg while preventing interference. UltraShock&trade padding absorbs shock and the dense fleece lining is breathable and moisture wicking. The Leather Protection Boots are durable, ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot is rated 4.4143 out of 5 by 140.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds up well and look awesome! I really like these boots for cross country for my draft cross mare. Because they run seriously small I can't use them for a horse with anything larger than a size 3 hoof though. the XL - XXXL all have the same height which I find crazy! I Love them, just wish the XXXL would actually have a height of at least 5 inches or more.
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great for all my horses I use these on my barrel and pleasure horses, never have lameness problems from overreaching anymore. Two of my QH have eggbar shoes and I turn them out in these, haven't lost a shoe yet. I find they need the XL for full coverage. The smaller QH I use a large.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made and nicely padded boots I have used these for about 6 months and am very happy with them. They are thickly padded, fit well, stay on, and protect the heels.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great protection, not so gentle to horse's skin? The size was too small for my horse, so I had to return this product, but they sure looked very protective against accidental cross firing. However, the neck (upper part) of this product is a bit stiff for my taste. If a horse sweats or goes in water, the ballistic nylon looking material might be a bit tough on the skin (around ankle). For a lighter, shorter exercise or turn out, I think they are great.
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse started loosing his shoes frequently. After using these bell boots he hasn'lost one. They do turn however dispute a good fit
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Falling apart at 6 weeks old. I am really disappointed with these. I've been using them for 6 weeks and they're falling apart. I only have 1 horse, and I ride him 3 or 4 times a week. He is also lunged in these and turned out in them for few minutes after the ride. But in less than 30 uses they are trashed. The Velcro still works but they are fraying everywhere, not just near the heel. The Pro Choice logo fell off of one boot. I'll probably go back to using the cheap ones I've had for years that still work and even look better at this point.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bells Boots I got these bell boots and they are amazing! I use them for jumping and cross country and they hold us really well. they dont spin because of the knob in the back, and dont rub at all. They do get really dirty, but the mud and dirt just slides of with a good hose off. I truly love these, and plan to use them for a LONG time :)
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection, not extremely durable I got these bell boots at a show because my horse had just gotten some complicated shoeing done and kept pulling off shoes right and left, and he has yet to pull a shoe when wearing these (knock on wood). They run very small, I have a 16.1 h TB with pretty normal sized feet (but absolutely no heel), and use the XXL, it actually prevents him from ripping off a shoe. however, the binding at the bottom starts coming apart fairly quickly, my first pair lasted a few months before I saw signs of wear, so I bought another pair just for shows, and those started showing signs of wear in a couple months. Will be buying another pair, however, they're a staple in my barn.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect overreach boots! Every horse is different, so going through products to find what works can often be frustrating. However if your horse is like mine, and trying to figure out where his feet are (and that he has four of them) these overreach boots are awesome! My boy has knocked his front feet and pulled his shoes off too. While these will not protect against pulling shoes off, these do protect from the impact and potential trauma. Unlike traditional rubber bell boots, these overreach boots really absorb the shock and impact and protect the sensitive bulb and upper heel area. They're not meant to go all the way down to the bottom of the hoof's heel. They are easy to clean, and keep clean, as well as stay put! They also fit my boy really well. I would highly recommend trying these if your horse tends to overreach and "kick" into his front feet.
    Date published: 2013-05-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea but didn"t work for me I bought these boots about 6 months ago, and my horse wore them only for work in hand on the ground and some light riding (he is a baby, so nothing strenuous happening on the exercise front). He does not have shoes on, but still managed to completely destroy the binding at the bottom edge of the boot which started coming off about a month into using them. Just threw them away today. They have a weird fit that sits really high and barely covers the delicate bits at the front of the hoof, despite their little pad intended to stop them from turning round the foot they still turn all the time. They didn't rub and they are lovely and thick so when your horse has a habit of standing on one hoof with the other everything is well protected, just the boot won't last. I had an XXL for my warmblood that usually takes an XL in other brands, and I could barely close them. I am always going to be tempted to buy them again because they are so well padded and protective, but the fit and quality will probably stop me for this horse. The good thing about them being so high on the foot is that the horse cannot step in one boot with the other and trip like with rubber bell boots. A TB in my barn has these and they fit and stay the right way round just fine, so it must be my horse.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from overreach boots these are by far the best bell boots I hav ever seen.Fit really nice to
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from overreach boots Love these boots fit real nice and they look good to!!
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoes stay on I bought these for my OTTB because he was throwing shoes left and right. Not only are these very durable, they are the only boots I have found that actually prevent him from pulling his shoes. He has worn them for about 6 months straight. They do not rub him, or turn. That being said, they have worn a bit, but I would replace them in a heartbeat. I have a "spare" pair too, in case something would happen. At $30, they are a great value and much cheaper than replacing $300 shoes constantly!
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots I bought these to actually use during riding. They haven't turned once. These bell boots really do run small! My 16.3 TB is wearing an XL (thank you previous reviewers for the tip to go up a size or more!) They are wearing well, fairly easy to clean after rides and don't seem to rub. Great bell boot for the money. More colors would be fun!!
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bell boots Very nice bell boots, they do the job at protecting a horse's foot, and the fit is always the same
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout boots! These are great boots! Durable, breathable and easy to clean. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overreach Boots Good quality. I did have to return them several times to get the right fit as they run small. I have smaller Friesian and he needed a 2XL. The return process was easy and free!
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, but pay attention to fit! These boots have been a staple in my barns for years. They're my first choice for overreach boots, well-made and durable. I've had them on horses of all sizes and all manner of traveling. I ride nearly every athletic dressage horse with these boots on their front feet.Something to consider, though: when you go up in size for a wide foot, you are also increasing the length in the back of these boots. Depending on the angles of your horse's feet and how you keep them trimmed/shod, larger boots will almost certainly be too long. Too-long boots will be stepped on by your horse, and could cause bruising on the heel and back of pastern, and excess wear on the boot. For one 17.3h horse with hooves the size of dinner plates, I had to order XXL boots and then have them altered by a blanket repair shop to be cut and re-hemmed in the back to be shorter. It added some time and expense to the initial purchase of the boot, but was well worth it in fit.Now I have Medium boots on my 16h 4-yr-old Warmblood with average feet. They fit, but could definitely not be any smaller. A particularly rambunctious bucking spree during turnout in deep footing can dislodge the boots off her feet, but it's not very often. I considered upsizing her to a Large boot to create a more secure fit in the velcro, but the Large boots are much too long unless I have them altered.Well-fitted boots will last me about 2 years of every day workouts in various footings. By then the edges will be worn and frayed enough to consider replacing, but will still protect the heel well enough from overreach.
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! These boots are exactly what I was looking for! They are sturdy and have held up well in the muddy conditions we are experiencing right now. I like that they are breathable and are not rubbing at all.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these boots! A friend borrowed a pair of mine and lost them so she bought these for me. I love them, Professional Choice is the best! They have lasted a long time and still work/look great besides the mud on them. :)P.S. Smartpak, could you pretty, pretty please get more colors of these?
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Bell Boots Our first pair of these bell boots lasted almost four years. The velcro finally began to tear away from the seam and I am just too lazy to sew it so we bought another pair. The old ones had been used daily and not "babied" at all. These are GREAT boots for the price.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Update. After 5 pairs of these. So, they are great bell boots. Easy to throw on and off, but my horse can rip them off and destroy them VERY easily. After about a month, the back side of them will start to fray and wear from use (he's a young horse who tends to forge when he's feeling lazy). But on the advice of my trainer, on muddy days, we have tried to turn him out with them on so he doesn't throw a shoe. Well, he has yet to throw a shoe, but he has been able to completely destroy these little boots. I mean, he can rip the logo off, one of the velcro sides off, you name it! They are great and thankfully affordable enough to keep replacing, but as for durability, let's just say they are lacking.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased a size large for my TB. I probably could have used a medium was was planning on returning them but when I left my horse in his stall with them on for a minute to go to the tack room he had completely destroyed the tops! They may be made from bullet proof material but they are not any match for naughty horse teeth! Otherwise they are a great product.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Highly Recommended! I purchased my first pair about a year ago and they have held up very well. I have a 17h TB gelding that I use them on every day. He has a clubby front left so he doesn't go any where without his bell boots. I use them for his arena work, trail rides, and turnouts. The only reason I gave them a 4 for durability is that when they are on the part where the velco folds over started to develop a hole from brushing against the other boot when in use...some of that could be attributed to the fact that my horse has a clubby foot. For how big my horse is he barely wears a size 2 shoe and yet I ordered a large then had to return it for an Xlarge, so they do run a tad small. Overall I am very pleased with the product and am happy with the fact they lasted for a year of rough wear before having to purchase another set.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots So, my 15.2 thoroughbred mare has very small delicate looking feet. She tends to clip her heels, and wears size small of other brands like Davis. I got a medium in this brand, and they fit nice and snug. She's has sensitive skin and the rubber of other brands rubs her skin raw after a couple hours. Other boots I've used never last, and are constantly losing the Velcro or chunks of rubber. Decided to invest in these, and used them for the first time today for 2-3 hours of riding trails and galloping. They both stayed straight, and didn't rub her skin at all. They protected her heels very well. The trim on the bottom did begin to fray a little, but nothing too bad, a little surprising after only one use, but they're more protective than anything else I've found. I'm happy!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These I love these boots, and so does my mare. Every time I put them on her, she arches her neck and prances, like, "Look at me, I've got my boots on!"They protect her feet very nice, and never twist. Great buy.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! Love the durable material, the large fit my 16.2h TB very well!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Nice durable bell boots. Professional's choice as always delivers great quality products!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bell Boots My horse usually tears apart regular bell boots (with his teeth) , but these seem to be withstanding his best efforts. His extra wide hoof is a bit snug in them, but overall they are great so far.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Great quality,padded on top for comfort! There are easy to put on ,quick and are very durable! They stay in place!
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    • 2016-02-10T15:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_134
    • loc_en_US, sid_6205, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.