Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot

Professional's Choice
- Item #16205
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boots are made with DuPont's original ballistic nylon, a material used in the manufacture of bulletproof vests.

Ballistic Overreach Boots use the ballistic nylon as the outer covering, binding at the bottom of the boot and stitching. These boots are extra tough, and able to withstand the daily abuse of riding, regardless of discipline. M (Cob), L (Horse), XL (Warmblood), XXL (Large Warmblood).

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Ultrashock lining -- provides protection and shock absorption
  • Ballistic binding -- provides high degree of durability
  • Covers back of hoof to ground -- Superior protection to critical areas of hoof
  • Double hook & loop fasteners -- stays on securely and will not come loose while riding
  • Soft, padded rolled pasterns -- reduces rubbing, keeping horse more comfortable
  • No-turn knob -- keeps boot from turning, remaining in correct position for better protection

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Pro Performance XC Boots are incredibly comprehensive ...
    Description:
    The Pro Performance XC Boots are incredibly comprehensive boots designed for the sport horse who needs the extra support andProtection the most! These boots feature an outer layer of rip-stop Pro Mesh TPU material for the ultimate combination of impact ...
    The LeatherProtection Boots are made of tough butSoft ...
    Description:
    The LeatherProtection Boots are made of tough butSoft leather that conforms to the horse's leg while preventing interference. UltraShock padding absorbs shock and the dense fleece lining is breathable and moisture wicking. The LeatherProtection Boots are durable, fit like a ...
    TheRelentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachprotection to ...
    Description:
    TheRelentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachprotection to the next level!This superior bootcombines technology with savvydesign to provide serious overreachProtection. In addition to the toughest strike plate, cutting edge materials help reduce "rebound," the tendency for the boots to jump ...
    The unique design of the Secure-Fit Overreach Boots ...
    Description:
    The unique design of the Secure-Fit Overreach Boots providesProtection of the hoof, cornet band and bulbs of the heel, while also looking glamorous in glitter that issure to be a head-turner! Favorite Features Vinyl Boots with Ballistic binding help absorb ...
    Why We Love ThisThe Davis Bell Boots are ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe Davis Bell Boots are extremely durable and easy to take on and off. Specifically designed for overreachProtection and countoured to minimize spinning, these bell boots are the perfect option for someone who wants toProtect their horse ...
    Professional Choice Sports Medicine Boots are the best ...
    Description:
    Professional Choice Sports Medicine Boots are the best sellingProtective leg gear in the world. Professional Choice Sports Medicine Boots are made of the highest quality closed-cell, limestone-basedNeoprene that won't crack or crumble, and returns to its original shape even after ...
    The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ...
    Description:
    The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ultimateProtection with a reinforced Pro Mesh strike area. Pro Mesh material is rip-stop, durable, and will not hold water. UltraShock lining absorbs shock andProtects the vital areas of the hoof while theSoft, ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot is rated 4.4257 out of 5 by 148.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! I am very happy with these. My horse has shoes in the front & I bought them for trail riding and hunter paces so he doesn't lose his shoes. He is a standardbred with average size feet. I bought an XL after ready the reviews to get the next size up. Glad I did. Perfect fit. I wash them in my washer and hang dry with no problems. The velcro gives a very secure fit.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit Good protection I ordered a size Large for my 15.2 1100 lb. "usually size Medium", Quarter Horse mare. You will want to size up, as suggested in previous reviews. These are well made, a nice fit and if you snug them up they do not turn. Good coverage across the heel and on the sides. Worked well for my mare who was pulling her shoes off because she needed the sides of her shoes set "out" for hoof re-growth.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ordinary rubber bell boots These look neat and clean but are very rugged and durable. Easy to put on and take off. Love them! Some reviews said they ran small but I found the sizing to be accurate. Medium fit my 16H WB/TB cross.
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough material....is it tough enough? Just got these but they seem very durable, haven't turned and are light weight and easy to brush clean. They run small....I have a 17 h oldenburg but her feet aren't huge, and had to go with the XL even though I read reviews saying these ran large...dont know what they are comparing them to. She wears them 24/7 due to humid conditions here in the South. The only complaint, and I have had this with other Professional Choice boots, the velcro is not very heavy duty. I'm hoping the fact there are 2 pieces will keep the boot secure. So far, so good!
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Protective, no turn, but a little small too tall These boots do protect hooves from being kicked, but they are a bit too tall behind, and the size run a bit smaller. The material is very good.
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised. I thought they looked small for my 1500# lb. 17h. Oldenburg. However, the extra large fit perfectly. They do not move at all and don't seem to pick up much sand.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bell boots out there My mare needs bell boots on 24/7 to help keep her bar shoes on, these are the best bell boots out there. High quality material, they do not leave rubs like the rubber ones do. Long lasting and high quality. Another great professional choice product!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and well fitting! I have a gigantic, 18.1hh horse, and these are so amazing. He usually destroys everything I put on him, but these have lasted so well. They may seem to be too small at first, but they aren't meant to cover the front, and they totally cover the back. My guy is really big boned and has big hooves, and these fit! They are so durable.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds up well and look awesome! I really like these boots for cross country for my draft cross mare. Because they run seriously small I can't use them for a horse with anything larger than a size 3 hoof though. the XL - XXXL all have the same height which I find crazy! I Love them, just wish the XXXL would actually have a height of at least 5 inches or more.
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great for all my horses I use these on my barrel and pleasure horses, never have lameness problems from overreaching anymore. Two of my QH have eggbar shoes and I turn them out in these, haven't lost a shoe yet. I find they need the XL for full coverage. The smaller QH I use a large.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made and nicely padded boots I have used these for about 6 months and am very happy with them. They are thickly padded, fit well, stay on, and protect the heels.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great protection, not so gentle to horse's skin? The size was too small for my horse, so I had to return this product, but they sure looked very protective against accidental cross firing. However, the neck (upper part) of this product is a bit stiff for my taste. If a horse sweats or goes in water, the ballistic nylon looking material might be a bit tough on the skin (around ankle). For a lighter, shorter exercise or turn out, I think they are great.
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse started loosing his shoes frequently. After using these bell boots he hasn'lost one. They do turn however dispute a good fit
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Falling apart at 6 weeks old. I am really disappointed with these. I've been using them for 6 weeks and they're falling apart. I only have 1 horse, and I ride him 3 or 4 times a week. He is also lunged in these and turned out in them for few minutes after the ride. But in less than 30 uses they are trashed. The Velcro still works but they are fraying everywhere, not just near the heel. The Pro Choice logo fell off of one boot. I'll probably go back to using the cheap ones I've had for years that still work and even look better at this point.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bells Boots I got these bell boots and they are amazing! I use them for jumping and cross country and they hold us really well. they dont spin because of the knob in the back, and dont rub at all. They do get really dirty, but the mud and dirt just slides of with a good hose off. I truly love these, and plan to use them for a LONG time :)
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection, not extremely durable I got these bell boots at a show because my horse had just gotten some complicated shoeing done and kept pulling off shoes right and left, and he has yet to pull a shoe when wearing these (knock on wood). They run very small, I have a 16.1 h TB with pretty normal sized feet (but absolutely no heel), and use the XXL, it actually prevents him from ripping off a shoe. however, the binding at the bottom starts coming apart fairly quickly, my first pair lasted a few months before I saw signs of wear, so I bought another pair just for shows, and those started showing signs of wear in a couple months. Will be buying another pair, however, they're a staple in my barn.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect overreach boots! Every horse is different, so going through products to find what works can often be frustrating. However if your horse is like mine, and trying to figure out where his feet are (and that he has four of them) these overreach boots are awesome! My boy has knocked his front feet and pulled his shoes off too. While these will not protect against pulling shoes off, these do protect from the impact and potential trauma. Unlike traditional rubber bell boots, these overreach boots really absorb the shock and impact and protect the sensitive bulb and upper heel area. They're not meant to go all the way down to the bottom of the hoof's heel. They are easy to clean, and keep clean, as well as stay put! They also fit my boy really well. I would highly recommend trying these if your horse tends to overreach and "kick" into his front feet.
    Date published: 2013-05-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea but didn"t work for me I bought these boots about 6 months ago, and my horse wore them only for work in hand on the ground and some light riding (he is a baby, so nothing strenuous happening on the exercise front). He does not have shoes on, but still managed to completely destroy the binding at the bottom edge of the boot which started coming off about a month into using them. Just threw them away today. They have a weird fit that sits really high and barely covers the delicate bits at the front of the hoof, despite their little pad intended to stop them from turning round the foot they still turn all the time. They didn't rub and they are lovely and thick so when your horse has a habit of standing on one hoof with the other everything is well protected, just the boot won't last. I had an XXL for my warmblood that usually takes an XL in other brands, and I could barely close them. I am always going to be tempted to buy them again because they are so well padded and protective, but the fit and quality will probably stop me for this horse. The good thing about them being so high on the foot is that the horse cannot step in one boot with the other and trip like with rubber bell boots. A TB in my barn has these and they fit and stay the right way round just fine, so it must be my horse.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from overreach boots these are by far the best bell boots I hav ever seen.Fit really nice to
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from overreach boots Love these boots fit real nice and they look good to!!
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoes stay on I bought these for my OTTB because he was throwing shoes left and right. Not only are these very durable, they are the only boots I have found that actually prevent him from pulling his shoes. He has worn them for about 6 months straight. They do not rub him, or turn. That being said, they have worn a bit, but I would replace them in a heartbeat. I have a "spare" pair too, in case something would happen. At $30, they are a great value and much cheaper than replacing $300 shoes constantly!
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots I bought these to actually use during riding. They haven't turned once. These bell boots really do run small! My 16.3 TB is wearing an XL (thank you previous reviewers for the tip to go up a size or more!) They are wearing well, fairly easy to clean after rides and don't seem to rub. Great bell boot for the money. More colors would be fun!!
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bell boots Very nice bell boots, they do the job at protecting a horse's foot, and the fit is always the same
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout boots! These are great boots! Durable, breathable and easy to clean. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overreach Boots Good quality. I did have to return them several times to get the right fit as they run small. I have smaller Friesian and he needed a 2XL. The return process was easy and free!
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, but pay attention to fit! These boots have been a staple in my barns for years. They're my first choice for overreach boots, well-made and durable. I've had them on horses of all sizes and all manner of traveling. I ride nearly every athletic dressage horse with these boots on their front feet.Something to consider, though: when you go up in size for a wide foot, you are also increasing the length in the back of these boots. Depending on the angles of your horse's feet and how you keep them trimmed/shod, larger boots will almost certainly be too long. Too-long boots will be stepped on by your horse, and could cause bruising on the heel and back of pastern, and excess wear on the boot. For one 17.3h horse with hooves the size of dinner plates, I had to order XXL boots and then have them altered by a blanket repair shop to be cut and re-hemmed in the back to be shorter. It added some time and expense to the initial purchase of the boot, but was well worth it in fit.Now I have Medium boots on my 16h 4-yr-old Warmblood with average feet. They fit, but could definitely not be any smaller. A particularly rambunctious bucking spree during turnout in deep footing can dislodge the boots off her feet, but it's not very often. I considered upsizing her to a Large boot to create a more secure fit in the velcro, but the Large boots are much too long unless I have them altered.Well-fitted boots will last me about 2 years of every day workouts in various footings. By then the edges will be worn and frayed enough to consider replacing, but will still protect the heel well enough from overreach.
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! These boots are exactly what I was looking for! They are sturdy and have held up well in the muddy conditions we are experiencing right now. I like that they are breathable and are not rubbing at all.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these boots! A friend borrowed a pair of mine and lost them so she bought these for me. I love them, Professional Choice is the best! They have lasted a long time and still work/look great besides the mud on them. :)P.S. Smartpak, could you pretty, pretty please get more colors of these?
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Bell Boots Our first pair of these bell boots lasted almost four years. The velcro finally began to tear away from the seam and I am just too lazy to sew it so we bought another pair. The old ones had been used daily and not "babied" at all. These are GREAT boots for the price.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Update. After 5 pairs of these. So, they are great bell boots. Easy to throw on and off, but my horse can rip them off and destroy them VERY easily. After about a month, the back side of them will start to fray and wear from use (he's a young horse who tends to forge when he's feeling lazy). But on the advice of my trainer, on muddy days, we have tried to turn him out with them on so he doesn't throw a shoe. Well, he has yet to throw a shoe, but he has been able to completely destroy these little boots. I mean, he can rip the logo off, one of the velcro sides off, you name it! They are great and thankfully affordable enough to keep replacing, but as for durability, let's just say they are lacking.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    • 2016-05-24T17:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_142
    • loc_en_US, sid_6205, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders