Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19857
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, 1" wide noseband. Offered with plain noseband and flash or crank noseband with no flash.

Complete with 5/8" rubber lined leather reins (flash) or rubber reins (crank). Available exclusively at SmartPak.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.4158 out of 5 by 101.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Purchased this bridle for one of our clients. We have a few of these bridles in our tack room. Like this peticular bridle because you get the one sided rubber lined reins. All of our ladies like these reins. No more lipping thru the fingers or having the stops either too short or tooLong for where you want to hold the reins. The leather is soft and ready to use. Add a little oil and bridle is perfect. FYI, cob is a true cob size. Browband is a bit snug for small horse head. Other than that love it
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Makes Any Horse Look Like a Champion! I decided to purchase this bridle after reading so many good reviews about it and I'm so glad I did!! Like everyone says, the leather is buttery soft and just flops over in your hands like bridles that are several times as pricey. It's so easy to slide all the parts together and has that lovely new leather fragrance! Along with the new Sprenger bit it's going to look fabulous on Kaspar, my Friesian stallion! I can't wait!
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and ready to use I am quite please with the quality and softness of this bridle. Well worth the money. Hopefully it will prove to last a long time. (as long as the big boy doesn't get his mouth on it. Leather is so tasty!)
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, expensive look This bridle was purchased for my new gelding. The fit was perfect. I'd even say it runs a bit large, as my guy's head is anything but small and we didn't have to let out any of the buckles on the Full.It's a tie for best feature between the mono-crown piece (so thick and comfy, loved the contours) and the modern buckles. I love not having those pesky eye and hooks to heal with when I need to clean. The reins are brilliant, too!I have used this for a month, with virtually no break in time. Just today, I gave it a clean and shine. It looks and feels great. Highly recommended! Cant beat the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Butter soft right out of the package What a great value. I do not ride my dressage horses with a flash so finding a black bridle without a flash was tough. I simply leave the crank looser like a cavesson. The throat latch could be a little wider and it would be a perfect bridle.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Leather I was very surprised at the quality of this bridle. I had it recommended on the Chronicle of the Horse forums, but still was surprised to find that it is MUCH nicer than a nearly identical name-brand one I bought a year ago for double the price. The leather is beautiful. Love the rubber-lined reins. I actually bought another pair of those to go with the older, not as nice, bridle.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product looks good and price was very reasonable. I'm very happy with the product. It fits well and looks great.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality of leather is fabulous/fit is large Lovely leather quality, just wonderful! Getting the right fit is tricky. My mare is 16h TB and I purchased the horse size....she is on the tightest hole on the bridle and the noseband, thank heavens that fits. The padded leather is so nice and after regular use and cleaning/oiling, the bridle continues to hold up well and is so nice.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad bridle for the price I was going back and forth between this bridle and the Harwich. I have a new horse that none of my tack fit and I needed new jump and dressage saddles so I wanted a dressage bridle that looks nice without being 300$.. both were in my price range but I chose this because of the wider noseband and the reins seemed different (I have so many pairs of webbed reins I didn't need another). The leather is a really good quality but I oiled it lightly because the noseband was extremely stiff and kind of dull looking. My horse is a big thoroughbred and his head was too big for my cob sized dressage bridle and he fits nicely in a full size figure 8 bridle, but this bridle in a full size is quite big on him. The noseband and flash fit nicely around but lengthwise everything is on the very tightest hole and the buckles all lay on eachother near the edge of the browband making it very bulky and uncomfortable looking. I like the bridle and will keep it but I will definitely have to buy some cob sized cheek pieces to make it less bulky and hopefully fit better.... the full size is definitely for horses with BIG heads not average horse size
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality A wonderful bridle that is well constructed and of very high quality, especially for the price. Supple right out of the box, and I love the rubber grip reins.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I am pleased with the quality of this bridle. I have the standard plymoth, and have decided to upgrade to the Elite for the added benefit of the monocrown and wider noseband.The quality of the Elite is much better than the standard. I lightly oiled this bridle and then used it solidly for about a year now, and it has been holding up great. I purchased the flash noseband, and love the reins that came with it. At first I was hesitant because I assumed the reins would not break in nicely because of the rubber, but I was wrong. They're actually quite nice and I prefer them over the web/rubber coated ones that comes with the Wellfleet dressage bridle.I appreciate the updated noseband keepers, you are allowed to move them so the excess noseband slack can be neatly contained. I sized up to a full on my Morgan because the Cob wasn't working for him.Overall, pleased with the purchase.
    Date published: 2014-02-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle, but... Let me start by saying this is a lovely bridle. However, I should have listened to the reviewer who said it is not for horses with delicate heads. I have a 16hh OTTB who usually wear cob bridles. I initially ordered the cob, but upon arrival the noseband was comically small. It was not even close to fitting her. I was disappointed because it was such a nice bridle, so I exchanged it for the horse size. When it arrived, I raced to try it on my mare and found that even on the shortest hole, it was much too long for her face, though the noseband did fit! So now I am also returning the horse size. I am sad to see it go. 
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality for the price Ordered this bridle about a month ago. Leather was good quality, but the browband was too small form my horse, so I sent it back. On a personal note, I didn't care for the reins; I thought they were a little bulky. Overall, a nice bridle, just didn't work for me.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for the price! I bought this a few weeks ago for our APHA gelding and it's very nice for the price. Supple leather, nice padding and sturdy craftsmanship.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle, brow and runs small I really like the bridle, and have two of them, BUT....bothe have brow bands that were too small.  I replaced them with brow bands from old bridles, but am disappointed that the sizing was so off.
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle!!! I ordered this bridle right before a show, and knew that I had ordered it too late... surprise, it arrived in time for me to try out the day BEFORE the show. And best of all, it was perfect! The quality is amazing for the price. The leather and padding are so soft. My horse loved it, too.One small thing - not that important because most people replace browbands with blingy ones - but the browband was too small for my horse. I already had a fancy one I planned to swap it with, so worked out perfectly for me.I got the crank with no flash. I read that the crank came with rubber reins, so I did not expect much. To my surprise, the reins are that webbing with rubber woven in - I LOVE THEM!!!! I would have paid about the price of the bridle just for the reins!! Thumbs up!
    Date published: 2013-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go for it! I wanted an inexpensive but decent quality bridle to start my horse in. For the money, this bridle is great. The leather was very supple, right out of the box. Absolutely NO break-in time required. I was surprisingly pleased with the reins (some reviewers were not) but they look very pretty and the rubber helps me to maintain my grip. I have a Friesian cross and I bought the oversized bridle with flash. It is on the closest holes and I could've easily done the horse size. Runs on the large side. If you look closely at the underside of the leather in some places, you can see it isn't as dark but once on my horse, you cannot tell. I could show in it and I have gotten many compliments. It is very padded and my horse appreciates that. Great product, excellent price. I would make this purchase again! I "himmed and hawwed" - my advice, go for it.
    Date published: 2013-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super pleased I purchased this bridle with the assurance that it could be returned if I wasn't satisfied (thanks smartpak!) and I was very very pleasantly surprised with the value for the money. Leather is supple and the bridle looks beautiful. Super pleased with this purchase!
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price My horse loves this bridle and so do I. My horse loves it because it is so padded and really nice. I love it because it is great quality and can be used for everything!
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for horses with a delicate head... I really wish this bridle had worked for my mare... The quality for the price is amazing, and this bridle has some very nice features that you can usually only find in the VERY expensive bridles. I was absolutely thrilled with it out of the box, but sadly, when I put it on, I found out it is just not meant for a delicate (Morgan) head. I got the cob size, since that is what she has worn in the past, and while the cheek pieces and noseband fit well, it was much too small on the crown and browband. My sensitive mare threw a fit just wearing it, not even riding in it.Also, it was SO bulky and awkward looking on her head - it really is for a bigger head (warmblood type) and she looked ridiculous. For horses with a more delicate head, this just is not the bridle. (But my trainer has one for her warmblood that looks fabulous, so I'd highly recommend it for that type of horse)I was very pleased with SmartPak's customer service, though. I called up to see if they could guide me to a better fit, and were very helpful in finding something in my price range and style.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks very expensive. It has the same features as the expensive brands. I especially love the monocrown. I ordered the crank style so the reins are rubber with leather ends but I would prefer the other kind that comes with the flash style. Beautiful!
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This bridle came out of the box a little bit stiff, but conditioned up really nicely. I didn't like the reins with it, but that's just personal preference. The only issue I had was that the noseband was a bit too tight on my horse, but it could just be her. Lovely leather, lovely look.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice bridle this second one I've purchased, and it is a nice, quality bridel, and a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I prefer the regular Plymouth or Harwich The leather quality on this bridle did not seem as nice (soft, even) as the regular Plymouth I purchased for my pony, and I didn't like the rein style nearly as much. Since I wanted the wider noseband for his larger head, I exchanged for the Harwich and much preferred that - I would say those two bridles are much more similar in style/quality.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value I have a tight budget and really appreciate the quality I can afford with the SmartPak Plymouth dressage bridle. The leather is so soft and the design upgrade from my last Plymouth bridle is exceptional!! Thanks SmartPak for giving us such a great choice in this price range!
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I'm very pleased with this bridal - my only complaint is the noseband doesn't fit my mare. Even after punching extra holes, it is still not big enough. I wish someone made a QH size, since her head is short and wide. Otherwise, wonderful leather, great construction!
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from color fades on my grey The keepers are too big and won't stay up and the black color has stained my grey horse's face...not too happy.
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Value in a dressage bridle I ordered this for my QH. Initially I ordered the oversize since everything else I have bought (halters included) needed to be O/S to fit. Imagine my surprise when I tried this bridle on and even at the last hole it was still a bit roomier than I would have liked. Fortunately SmartPak's awesome return service took care of it for me. The F/S is just right. The quality of leather is better than I expected. It is soft right out of the box. The finishing details are not quite as nice as a more expensive bridle, but this is an excellent value. I am pleased with the overall quality - especially since I plan on using this as a schooling bridle. I can't speak for durability - I just got it today.
    Date published: 2013-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle I really love the rubberized reins. It helps to keep my hands in the correct position. The bridle has beautiful, soft leather. I would definitely recommend this bridle. It is an amazing value for the price!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle I needed a black bridle to match my saddle and had trouble finding one. I was excited by the price of this one, it looks beautiful. I've had a lot of compliments on it, and it is comfortable for my testy mare, and soft out of the box. Love the reins, they are narrow and durable. Best of all, I ordered the wrong size, made a few mistakes, had to call SP 3 times and switch up the order, but they were pleasant and helpful and polite - the last time I spoke to them about a piece I returned by mistake was 4:30 pm, I had the piece at 9:30 AM the next morning. LOVE this company
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    • 2015-08-29T13:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_98
    • loc_en_US, sid_9857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.