Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Piper Plus Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20946

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Too fun to buy just one!

In addition to durable materials and fantastic fit, the Piper Plus Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak come in a variety of fun colors with all the fashionable details you've been looking for in a pair of schooling breeches.

Favorite Features

  • Comfortable, soft and flattering fabric mix (63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex) performs well in the saddle and has great long term shape retention
  • Contoured 2" wide waistband helps eliminate gapping
  • Flattering mid rise cut gives you the comfortable coverage you want
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf eliminates bulky closures and annoying seams for a streamlined fit 
  • Stretch synthetic full seat fabric offers fantastic grip and great durability
  • Contrast stitching and pocket trim on front pockets add some fun flair to your riding ensemble 
  • Jeans-style rear pockets completes the modern look
  • Front zip

63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

Full Seat Breeches Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Piper Plus Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak is rated 3.9804 out of 5 by 102.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Definitely for certain body types I just ordered these and 2 days later I received them actually before Christmas. However, I ordered 4 pairs and read all the reviews. I am a large with big thighs. Each pair fit me differently.. crotch to low, they fit in the front but were cut 2 inches to low in the back right at the Crack of my butt, plus it flared out so you could put your hand in there.. one of these pairs,kinda fit. However, when you walk they slide down..I out a belt on and they seem to be okay.. smartpak has the return free so no problems there. If you can fit in them they seem to be a nice breech..
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice for certain body types I've been trying to find full seat breeches for the last couple of years that are a good fit for my curves. Alas, the Piper breech was not the solution. The fabrics, style and color were very appealing when they arrived, and the sale price was great. Unfortunately, they were very low rise and nowhere near my natural waist. The last thing a plus sized rider wants is a waistband that goes around your widest part and stops there. A belt would not have worked and the crotch didn't quite get to where it should have gone. I really liked the soft, sleek fabric at the lower leg. It was comfortable and would have been nice under boots with no bunching. How about a shapely fit breech for hourglass shaped riders? Kudos to Smartpak for free and super easy return shipping! Shorter riders that are more apple shaped may find this a better fit. I would have rated them higher but they should be listed as a low rise breech.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My all-time favorite! These are my favorite breeches- I've been slowly buying them in every color. They are high quality for the price, and are the best fitting plus-size breeches out there. I go up a size in full-seat breeches, so there is a little more flexibility. Love!
    Date published: 2015-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product, Always Get Compliments I have five pair as you cannot beat the quality for the price. Makes me wonder how others can charge so much! Plus they just really fit and always wash up beautifully time and time again.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor poor quality Wore the breeches twice and the fabric is already puckering due to poor quality fibers !!! Have not even washed them yet ! Also seams are already coming apart And fabric is piling at legs !! What a disappointment from smartpak !!! I am afraid to wash them , I think they will not hold up !! Save your money !! What a waste !!
    Date published: 2015-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pair is great This pair of breeches has the same fit issues in the waist ( it's built for apple type shapes, I'm definitely an hourglass figure with a little extra sand, just all where it belongs). Lots of gapping. But the material is soft and I put a belt with it and it stopped the gapping. I'll have them tailored. All in all, I like these breeches!
    Date published: 2015-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice feel These breeches feel nice and have good stretch. The manufacture did not finish the inner waist band and the inside of the waist band hooks are on my bare skin. This is just on one pair that I bought. I won't be returning this pair because it took so long to recieve them in the first place due to returning for a different size. The waistband is also gappy. I'll have to have them tailored. But when riding, they performed well and felt nice. A little low in the crotch at first, but a belt helped. Perhaps I'll order a smaller size next time.
    Date published: 2015-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strange fit I like the different color choices , the fit is not soo great , too big in waist .. I would not buy another pair .. Stick with Pikeur instead ..
    Date published: 2015-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches but toooo big I am giving these five stars because my daughter loves her Piper full seat breeches but we had to return them because the plus size are too big. That's not a bad thing but just be aware that the regular size may fit you better. I am also giving them 5 stars because SmartPak was so kind in the return process!!!!
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Low in the backend I tried these as well as ovation slim secrets. Ovation offered a higher back, which I need when I sit in a saddle. The Smart Pak, while more attractive, showed my crack in the sitting position! (Same sizes for both brands.) I guess it depends on your body type for how they fit. Love that I was able to return for free.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fabric, nice details I really like this fabric and the wide waistband. However, I have ridden in these six times and now the stitching on the full seat is popping and breaking (there are two lines of stitching and the inside one is the one breaking). The contrast stitching is part of what makes the pipers so attractive so it's unfortunate that it is breaking already.
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these breeches! Great breeches at an affordable price. These breeches fit great, even over my post pregnancy belly. They are super comfortable. The full seat feels nice and sticky in the saddle. I usually wear a size 16 and these breeches fit perfect at a size 38.
    Date published: 2015-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great plus size Have used them 6 times now and really like them. A little snug in the knee (and my knees are actually small in overall comparison) but nice fitting. Love that it's so well designed ... front and back pockets, zipper and double front closures.Comfortable ankle as well.LOVE the full seat!!!Length may be an issue for some of you - I have short legs and they're AWESOME for me.The only thing I wish they had was a cell phone pocket on the thigh As I ride by myself often. And green horses at that. :)I'm super hopeful that they are as durable as they seem ... feels like quality.
    Date published: 2015-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to wear I have a better grip in the saddle, the thighs fit great, which is a huge bonus to those who have bigger thighs. fun colors. Only wish that they came in white to show in.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The fit is great for a while but I found that they stretched out a lot in the butt. Also I ride 4 days a week 2 hours a day and they durability of the breeches are not that great. I bought 2 pairs and have had them for 3 months and about 2 months in the thighs were wearing out and eventually got holes worn into them. I like them for the grip and the fit but not for durability.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Breeches This is my third pair. I love the colors, the fit and that they come in larger sizes!
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They slide down I bought a pair before, and they slid down while I was doing prep work (grooming, tacking up, etc.). They felt good when I was in the saddle, and I thought maybe I had been too generous when figuring out my measurements per the chart provided. So, when the went on sale again, I bought a size smaller. They felt good when I tried them on at home, but, when I actually starting working at the barn, they also slid down. Very disappointing. Still good in the saddle, but I don't have a groom, so... I guess I could solve it by adding some sort of constricting belt, but I've never had to do this with any other pair of breeches.Also, I wish they were higher-waisted (why would anyone want low-riding breeches?), but I knew they weren't high-waisted when I bought them, so that part's on me.
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great style Everyone in the barn is wearing them. First pair I bought was too small second pair too big but ok with a belt!!
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish & sturdy I've wanted full seat breeches for a while...but at a reasonable price. With the SmarkPak pipers, I've finally found them. I felt they ran a bit small -- I had to return for a bigger size (than what I usally wear in other brands/knee patches) but event he return was no problem.
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Already had one in another color. Fancy looking and comfortable to ride in.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Breeches Plus Size Riders I have been struggling to find full seat breeches for my plus sized figure that are both comfortable and affordable. These definitely fit the bill. The fabric is a nice quality and they look great I do agree with the other reviewers though about the fit. The waist is very large so I do need to wear a belt and I do not have a small waist.
    Date published: 2015-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have been riding in jeans and finally decided to find something more comfortable. The Piper Plus Full Seat Breeches seem to be the solution so I purchased a pair. They fit well and actually make me feel more confident and very styish. After wearing these pants a couple of times I decided to try Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches. I am now the owner of four pairs. What a great product!
    Date published: 2015-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value! Nice plus-size breeches are hard to come by, so I'm doubly pleased with these. Material is a good weight, and there is a nice range of colors. They're a little long in the inseam for me, but at this price, I'm not going to complain.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my shape After not being able to get the color I wanted, settled on the military green (olive drab/khaki). Bought based on my waist size on the size chart. Hips/Thigh were too snug (crotch was gonna drop to my knees while walking), and waist had a 3" gap. All my friends at the barn adore the knee patch version, but I suspect that since they aren't plus size, they have fewer fitting issues. Needless to say, I have returned and will settle on full-seat riding tights until the weight is off.
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not the right shape for this plus size rider I really want there to be breeches that I can buy, wear, and clean in the washing machine. I've been riding in custom breeches for several years, and they're expensive and really time-consuming to hand-wash. But riding breeches need to really FIT- and these Pipers, like everything else on the market, don't fit me. They are a nice, stretchy material- it feels like it would be cooler in summer than the heavy cotton of my custom ones. The front fits pretty well- the rise is good, they fit around my hips, and the extra length in the leg is not a problem. However, the back is pretty hopeless from the hip-line up. I have about 7" too much width at the waist (gapping doesn't even begin to describe it), and at the same time, the rise is way too low. There's no way I could ride in these. PLEASE, would somebody make breeches for really curvy women? We need a LONG rise in the back (not the front), and extra room in the HIPS, not the waist. Please? I look around at my fellow riders, and I'm not the only one that's this shape. PS thank you for including hip measurements in your sizing info. that's a huge help.
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable Extremely comfortable and stretchy, but don't lose their shape. I have had more compliments wearing these breeches, and being plus size, those tend to be hard to get in a form fitting pant.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these breeches! Just bought these and rode in them for the first time. Sizes run a bit small which is why I went up a size when I ordered and they're perfect!
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Breeches! I bought these breeches after trying the Bradley's and not liking them. These fit much more true to size than the Bradley's and have a nice stretch to them. I love the fun colors also!!
    Date published: 2015-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive and comfortable. After initially ordering 2-sizes too big, I returned them and found a better fitting size in the Charcoal/Coral color. Very flattering, nice and comfy to ride in, I just have to hike them up *very* high to not have a low-hanging crotch in the saddle. Otherwise, they start to bunch up around my hips and create unflattering lines in the 'VPL' region, even though the line is not an actual VPL. So, a belt is necessary. I fall right in between regular size and plus size, so I struggle with this specific fit issue, more often than not. I also find that plus sizes tend to accommodate apple shapes more so than pear shapes (I am a pear... so is my horse). I may try the largest size of regular Piper Full Seat and see if the overall fit/crotch length issue is better.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit wrong for me I returned these for the knee patch version. I have a pair of the full seats in wheat/teal that fit ok but the Monaco blue in the same size were too small in the hips and thigh making it hard to even pull them up all the way. I couldn't get the crotch up to my own crotch- they sagged like the rise was too long or something. I didn't want to spend all my time in them trying to hoist them up. Knee patch version seems to fit better, more stretch. If you have thicker legs and thighs, I'd try the euro seat knee patch version. Lots of stretch and they really are cute. Keeping those.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    • 2016-02-09T14:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_10946, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.