Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Piper Breeches by SmartPak - Original Knee Patch

SmartPak
- Item #20947
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Too Fun to Have Just One

The Piper Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak are the perfect choice for breeches to wear in the schooling ring. With many stylish color options to choose from, these breeches can be mixed and matched to create the perfect outfit. The ergonomic design and features make these breeches comfortable to wear all day long with excellent shape retention. Once you put them on, you’ll want another pair! 

Imported

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart


Not sure which style of Piper Breeches to choose? Click here to find your perfect pair!

Favorite Features
  • 2” contoured waistband to eliminate gapping
  • Comfortable, natural rise hits below the belly button
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf to eliminate bulky closures
  • Synthetic knee patch for fantastic grip and durability
  • Euro seat and front zip
  • 63% Polyester, 32% Viscrose, 5% Spandex
Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: 63% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 5% Spandex
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Front zip
  • Rise: Mid-rise

Sizing

Sized from 22R-46R & 22L-36L

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Breech Material 63% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 5% Spandex
Patch Material Synthetic
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Front zip
Rise Mid-rise
Ankle Closure Sock fit
Pockets Yes, 2 front, 1 back
Special Features front zip with 2" contoured waistband that helps eliminate gapping Comfortable, natural rise hits below the belly button Ergonomically designed calf panel provides a streamlined fit underneath your boots
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Kerrits Griptek II Fullseat now with pockets ...
    Description:
    "The Kerrits Griptek II Fullseat now with pockets and a zip fly! Beloved by eventers, these pants are made for riders who want to be tight in the tack. Imported"
    "Look smart and excel your performance with the ...
    Description:
    "Look smart and excel your performance with the Tredstep Symphony No. 4 Nero Knee Patch Breech. The Nero combines Tredstep’s ExCel performance fabric with their signature Motion Fit Design to provide all the latest in breech function and style. Imported." ...
    "The Trophy Hunter gets a fun update. The ...
    Description:
    "The Trophy Hunter gets a fun update. The style and fit you know and love, now available with a tan knee patch reminiscent of years past or a trendy new black patch. Lightweight, woven 73% cotton/20% polyamide/7% Lycra® Made in ...
    "The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both ...
    Description:
    "The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both comfortable and innovative! This breech introduces the new Comfort Fit System (CFS) leg bottom made to fit any length or width leg. The soft stretch leg opening offers a perfect, seamless comfort ...
    "The Pikeur Ciara Knee Patch Breech has quickly ...
    Description:
    "The Pikeur Ciara Knee Patch Breech has quickly made its name known amongst the most discerning Hunter/Jumper riders, it's no surprise it's Pikeur's most popular breech! This breech is constructed from Prestige-Micro 2000 Plus fabric which is a highly elastic ...
    "The Tuff Rider Ribb Low Rise Knee Patch ...
    Description:
    "The Tuff Rider Ribb Low Rise Knee Patch Breeches offers you easy care with a fashionable low rise fit that sits 1 ½” inches lower than regular rise breeches. The TuffRider RIBB Low Rise Breeches are made from a 4-way ...
    "Tradition just got better - Dress to perform ...
    Description:
    "Tradition just got better - Dress to perform with confidence and style in the Tredstep Symphony Rosa Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches. Tredstep’s Classic Motion Fit design combined with TS Evolution fabric redefines traditional standards resulting in a range of ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Piper Breeches by SmartPak - Original Knee Patch is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1423.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't Last This breech fits pretty well and the wide array of colors makes it fun to play around with, but it doesn't last with everyday use around the barn. I wore mine about once a week- if that but i rode about 4 horses a day while wearing them and within a month the stitching on the knee patch started to come out. The stitching on other places in the breech started to come out within about 3 months. This would be great for a lesson kid or someone that doesn't ride as many horses, but for someone that rides a lot of horses, i would not recommend.
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Christmas present ! I attended the Horse expo with my daughter in Mass. We visited the smart pak booth and she had looked at these breeches and mentioned she really wanted a pair. I surprised her by remembering which ones she had seen and ordered them for Christmas. The staff on line HELPED me figure out her size , they were so nice to work with and took the time to help.
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove. So comfortable! I bought several of these breeches and I just can't get over them!
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I won't wear any other breeches! I bought several breeches months ago and was a little weary given some of the reviews, but I LOVE these breeches. I ride 3-4 horses a day 6 days a week and they have held up so well and are so comfortable! The only thing I will say is they do run a bit big. I typically wear a 26R in tredstep, ariat, Kerrits, etc. but in these I wear a 24L with a belt on. Other than that I have no complaints on these. They are the only breeches I will ride in now, I am obsessed!
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful colors I enjoy the color combinations!! The fabric is very comfortable and holds up well. I wish they were cut a little differently as most people seem to agree that they say in the crotch ☹️
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very stylish Great breeches for the price. They hold up well and look great!
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big on the waist but otherwise great For reference, I'm 5'4 with a 25 inch waist and 38 inch hips. So, very pear shaped. It's hard for me to find pants that fit my hips and thighs AND my waist. Well, these aren't them. BUT, a wide belt fixes that. They are also a bit low on the crotch, which for the most part the belt helps fix but every so often I had to pull them up. I do love the material. It is soft, stretchy a bit thick, perfect for cold (but not crazy cold) Las Vegas winters and it's the only breech that didn't show my underwear lines. The length is perfect, right at the ankle. Being short it's difficult finding breeches that are the right length. Riding in them, though, was awesome! I felt so secure in the saddle. During schooling I took a jump from a long distance and fell forward upon landing. These breeches helped me stay on. They look great. Very flattering. I recommend them even with the waist issue.
    Date published: 2017-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable!!! Very nice and comfortable. Great product!!! Very good for practicing and just being around the barn
    Date published: 2017-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So fun.. should have stuck with one.. I bought my first pair of Pipers last spring and use them exclusively to show in, so I've only worn them about 6 times or so. I really like the way they fit, the features, and the style. I decided to buy a more fun color combo to wear for schooling and got them last month. How disappointing! I rode in them twice - totaling maybe 1.5 hours of hacking all together. The knee patch stitching is already coming out. I haven't even washed them yet. I'm so sad!Maybe something about the manufacturing changed within the last year, or maybe my second pair is just a "lemon," but my first pair was sat in all day, washed multiple times, and still looks good as new. So, maybe luck of the draw.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wanted to love these I bought three pairs a few weeks ago. They look great on, but the quality just is not there. After just two rides the fabric started to pill, and the elastic started to give out in the seam by my butt. I bought the correct size and they even fit kind of loose on me, so there is no reason that this should be happening, especially this soon. I understand that these pants don't cost very much, but if you pay $80 for a pair of breeches you expect them to at least last for a year or so !
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pipers all the way! You can never go wrong with a nice pair of Pipers! Nothing beats their comfort, style and POCKETS!
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for a well made product Most of my daughter's breeches are now Piper knee patch. They fit well and wear for a long time.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price The material of these pants are super nice. I had previously bought this same pair in another color and wanted to add more to my wardrobe.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ❤❤❤ I love these breeches!! They are the most comfortable breeches I have ever had..
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable Fit A gift. Fits well, a little baggy on calf. Color and quality are great.
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How could you not love these pants? Super comfy, good fit, they go in the washing machine. The colors are great, although I'd prefer the piping to be a bit more muted. Unfortunately I've had the stitching come loose at the knee patches and the crotch pills, but despite that I still love these pants!
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Title? Bought these for a Christmas present for my daughter. Fit nicely.
    Date published: 2016-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pants! I bought a couple pair of these riding pants last year, and loved them so much I ordered more this year! They are still nice looking and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these breeches Great fit and lots of fun colors. Only negative is one a couple pairs of my breeches the stitching started to come out after just a couple rides. but this hasn't happened on al the breeches so it might just be a fluke. Would only buy these breeches when they are on sale because of this defect that has happened on a few of the pairs I have.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches! Very comfortable and look great! I spend the whole day in them and they hold up great.
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So. Comfy. Omg. I bought these pants about a month ago. They are so comfortable, have the right amount of stretch, and felt good while riding.
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Breeches don't fully zip Although these are some of my got to breeches they don't fully zip! There is always a little space and I definitely have the right size. Also after a couple of washes it starts to pill. These are great breeches for the price, but I would recommend spending a little more to get a nicer breech.
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breeches I've Ever Worn I'm 5'2, 114 lb. and the 30R fit me so perfectly that I worn them out of the store and for the rest of the day, and every time I wear them I get complimented on how good the look.
    Date published: 2016-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love everything but.... I bought these breeches about 2 months ago got my daughter. They arrived on time and were in perfect condition. The color was great and my daughter loved them but the only problem was they weren't true to the size. I ordered a 24R expecting like they would fit like all her other pairs of breeches but when she tried them on they had a pretty big waist nothing a belt cant fix though!!
    Date published: 2016-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love them!! I got these for my daughter and what a difference in fit from others...
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fitting Breeches Ever Just bought a pair for my daughter and will buy another for Christmas!
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute! I have two of these, after I won a discount code for them as a prize. They are a good breech, pretty comfortable, with really cute colors. I love the pocket on the back. I wish the seam along the euro seat stitching was elastic, looks very awkward when sitting sometimes. The waistband is a bit awkwardly large in comparison to the rest of the breech, but I just wear a belt and it's fine. The quality is okay. Not great for hot places, as these are very thick. These are not my favorite breeches, but they are great if you don't want to spend too much money!
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy! I have only been wearing pipers for 2 months and I already own three pair! Very flattering and extremely comfortable. If fact I often wear them as jeans. The only down side is the stitching on the knee patch becomes loose easily.
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Regular is great for short riders! I now own two pairs of these breeches and I love them! I have a pair of the maroon and grey and the taupe w/ mint. I've had one pair for over a year and they're still going strong, where my other breeches will start to wear on the inner thigh area there is very little wear on these. I love them because the regulars are perfect for short riders, there isn't any extra fabric at the bottom which is a surprise because I'm very short and regulars are usually too long for me in other brands. Everybody I know who has these absolutely loves them, the colors are super fun as well!
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Material, Odd fit I bought these breeches in a dark brown because they were on sale and everyone at my barn has a pair. I looked at a lot of reviews saying that they run small, so I got a 26l instead of a 24l. The 26l is tight around my calves and thighs, but were sooooo loose around my waist and very baggy around my knee. I really like the material, and if I ordered a 24l I think it would be fine, but the waist part is very difficult, and a belt doesn't help much.
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    • y_2017, m_2, d_16, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_95, tr_1328
    • loc_en_US, sid_10947, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders