Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Piper Breeches by SmartPak - Original Knee Patch

SmartPak
- Item #20947
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Too Fun to Have Just One

The Piper Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak are the perfect choice for breeches to wear in the schooling ring. With many stylish color options to choose from, these breeches can be mixed and matched to create the perfect outfit. The ergonomic design and features make these breeches comfortable to wear all day long with excellent shape retention. Once you put them on, you’ll want another pair! 

Imported

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart


Not sure which style of Piper Breeches to choose? Click here to find your perfect pair!

Favorite Features
  • 2” contoured waistband to eliminate gapping
  • Comfortable low rise hits below the belly button
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf to eliminate bulky closures
  • Synthetic knee patch for fantastic grip and durability
  • Euro seat and front zip
  • 63% Polyester, 32% Viscrose, 5% Spandex
Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: 63% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 5% Spandex
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Front zip
  • Rise: Mid-rise

Sizing

Sized from 22R-46R & 22L-36L

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Breech Material 63% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 5% Spandex
Patch Material Synthetic
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Front zip
Rise Mid-rise
Ankle Closure Sock fit
Pockets Yes, 2 front, 1 back
Special Features front zip with 2" contoured waistband that helps eliminate gapping Comfortable, natural rise hits below the belly button Ergonomically designed calf panel provides a streamlined fit underneath your boots
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The most comfortable breech you have ever worn ...
    Description:
    "The most comfortable breech you have ever worn is now available in low rise! The Piper Knit Knee Patch Low Rise Breeches with Silicone Grip by SmartPak is constructed with a 4-way stretch cotton blend knit fabric that allows for ...
    "The Piper Full Zip Colorblock Jersey will be ...
    Description:
    "The Piper Full Zip Colorblock Jersey will be your go to when you want a little more coverage at the barn. Great as a layering piece under your jacket or over your favorite color Piper Tee on a warmer day! ...
    "The Olympia Arcadia Knee Patch Breech by Ariat ...
    Description:
    "The Olympia Arcadia Knee Patch Breech by Ariat is constructed from Schoeller- prestige 4-way stretch nylon and cotton fabric and the Ariat V3 Fit technology which your breech close fitting and comfortable. An elastic 'V' panel built into the back ...
    "The Ariat Heritage Knee Patch Breech is a ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Heritage Knee Patch Breech is a traditionally styled breech for every-day schooling yet versatile enough for competitions. The comfortable cotton-blend fabric has ergonomic, four-way stretch so you stay comfortable in the saddle. Imported Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart" ...
    "The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both ...
    Description:
    "The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both comfortable and innovative! This breech introduces the new Comfort Fit System (CFS) leg bottom made to fit any length or width leg. The soft stretch leg opening offers a perfect, seamless comfort ...
    "The Pikeur Ciara Knee Patch Breech has quickly ...
    Description:
    "The Pikeur Ciara Knee Patch Breech has quickly made its name known amongst the most discerning Hunter/Jumper riders, it's no surprise it's Pikeur's most popular breech! This breech is constructed from Prestige-Micro 2000 Plus fabric which is a highly elastic ...
    "The Tuff Rider Ribb Low Rise Knee Patch ...
    Description:
    "The Tuff Rider Ribb Low Rise Knee Patch Breeches offers you easy care with a fashionable low rise fit that sits 1 ½” inches lower than regular rise breeches. The TuffRider RIBB Low Rise Breeches are made from a 4-way ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Piper Breeches by SmartPak - Original Knee Patch is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1440.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and Comfortable I love these breeches! They are stylish and comfortable. I get a lot of compliments when I wear them! I'm very picky about comfort and these breeches are just that - comfortable! They are also durable since they are a little thicker, which helps them sustain wear and tear from riding. I would definitely recommend them!
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Breeches If I had to pick between my Pipers and any other pair of breeches, I'd choose the Pipers! They're like wearing yoga pants! They're so comfy and adorable. I recommend them to everyone.
    Date published: 2017-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable, good price for the breeches. This is the 2nd pair of these breeches I have purchased. I really liked the color options when I purchased my 1st pair, and thought I would try them out. They start VERY SLICK when you wear them the 1st, and possibly the 2nd time so I suggest washing them before you ride in them the 1st time. It will get better. I bought the blue pair the 1st time, and It faded a little more then I expected even though I washed them always in cold water. Do not dry them in dryer. They seem to hold shape and are fairly tough if you go through trees or briars, but they will snag on occasion.
    Date published: 2017-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the fit, some construction issues As a short (5'0") and curvier rider, finding breeches that work on my body is REALLY difficult for me, which is why I am obsessed with my Pipers. The fabric is stretchy enough to be forgiving, which means I can actually order my waist size--I don't have to size up in order to fit my thighs, leaving my waist drowning. Still, the fabric has enough structure to be flattering. This is so rare in breeches, especially at this price point. Plus, the fitted ankles mean that I'm not dealing with bulky extra fabric under my boots. I'm in LOVE with these breeches.My only complaint is that the construction is lacking at times--for instance, my breeches, which I have only had for a couple of months, have already popped a seam. Right now the damage is cosmetic, but it could get worse. The zipper also has a habit of coming partially unzipped while I'm riding--awkward! Overall I love the fit of these breeches so much that I'm willing to overlook the minor construction issues, but this would be a 5*+ rating if the construction issues weren't present.
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best breeches ever!! I bought these almost a month ago. They hold up great and are the comfiest riding pants I have ever ridden in. They are fun and colorful and keep me warm in the winter and cool in the summer. They are super easy to wash. I love all the colors you can choose fun instead of just boring old black, tan, navy, etc breeches.
    Date published: 2017-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! I have two pairs of these (tan/black & grey/turquoise) and I love them! The only problem I have with them is there's an awkward gap between my crotch and the fabric. Because of this, I often feel the need to pull them up. But it's nothing a belt can't solve. The colors are super cute and I'm definitely going to be buying more in the future!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, flattering, affordable!!! I will definitely be buying more! So comfortable and look great on. Plus they come in every color imaginable!!!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love them, but somehow inconsistent fabric? I've had these breeches for a couple of months now (one in a dark blue with pink stitching and one in wheat/teal). They are fantastic- the fabric is heavy enough where I barely get panty lines (if at all), even with panty-line inducing underwear! I love the pockets (big enough to fit my iPhone 6s while I ride), and I've gotten a lot of compliments from others when I wear them. I've been wearing them both during the New England winter and in warmer CA weather and they're so comfortable. The only issue, however, is that for some reason, the wheat/teal pair have already started to get REALLY bad pilling all throughout the inner leg where the fabric comes in contact with the saddle. I've never had such bad pilling in any pair of breeches I've purchased. This is odd, especially since I've worn my dark blue pair just as much and that pair still looks and feels pristine.
    Date published: 2017-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches! But pilled very easily I got a pair of pipers a few months ago and love them! Great fit, super stretchy and comfortable, I also love the clasps instead of buttons and sock bottoms! The only problem I had is that after only a couple of rides they started to pill on the inner thigh. Nothing major though and it doesn't really bother me. Great breeches overall, fast shipping, and I'll definitely be buying more in the future!
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of breeches! These pants are really great! There are a touch uncomfortable for standing in for me, but the second I got in the saddle they were amazingly comfortable! One thing I will say though, is mine pilled very easily but that really doesn't bother me much. I will be buying many more pairs!
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! Bought a pair of these and the material was great, color was amazingly accurate, and I'm a super fan of the sock bottom!! Sadly, the size I ordered was a bit too big so I had to return them, but I'm definitely planning on trying another pair!
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only breeches I wear! I first got two pairs of these for Christmas 2015 and I immediately fell in love! They're so comfortable, not too thick to be hot in the summer but also not thin enough to make me freeze in the winter. I love the rise of these, but you do need a belt as they tend to slide down. The pockets are amazing, they hold my phone securely even when I get thrown off (oops!) yet they don't feel bulky when riding. I did have some concerns about the stitching coming loose on the knee patches, but there aren't any holes or fabric coming loose so I just tied the thread off and cut off the excess and it was fine. I've worn them almost every week for over a year, so some wear is expected. I have 3 pairs now (wheat/teal, hunter green/black, and anthracite/coral), and I'm so excited to add more to my collection! They're the only breeches I wear anymore!
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Very happy with these, and I'll be buying more. Perfect schooling breeches.
    Date published: 2017-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stretched out I got a pair of Pipers for Christmas and I LOVED them at first! The fabric was stretchy but held it all in, they were super comfy, and really cute! I washed them maybe three or four times, always hung up to dry, and the butt started getting saggy and wrinkly at the euro-fit seam. It was soooo sad. I am afraid to buy another pair and have it happen to them too.
    Date published: 2017-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches! I bought these because I loved the colors, and I needed a slightly thicker breech going into winter. I bought the charcoal/sapphire. I'll write out my concerns before I bought them and then how they compared once I rode in them. 1. I was worried about the waist height. I wear higher-waisted jeans and breeches because I'm in between pear and hourglass shaped and anything "low-rise" fits terribly. A few reviews said they fit funky and that a belt was a must, so I was a bit worried about that. 2. I overheat easily since getting heat stroke, and was worried about the fabric content and it pilling as other reviewers stated. 3. I was a little worried about the leg fit. I also have thick thighs, and a few of these reviews sounded as if the breeches would better fit someone with thinner legs/butt than me. 4. The price was a little higher than I'm used to paying for a pair of breeches (I usually get cotton and it's sooooo breathable), so I was hoping the quality of these would match the price. 5. This wasn't a worry, but what ultimately led me to purchase these were the double belt loops, adorable colors, and the pockets. I LOVE the idea of that feature!Once I got them, I fell in love with the color and how wonderful they looked - I almost didn't try them on for fear they wouldn't work! 1. The waist height was perfect. It was a little higher in front than in back (as I thought it may be) but they still came up high enough! No worries about accidentally bending too much lol. But these fit fine. A belt is a must, though; at least for me. I have always had issues with pants, and these did what many do - they gap in back. It's easily fixed with a belt, and it's not enough of a deal-breaker for me to want to return them. They do slip down, as other reviewers mentioned, and this is another reason why I need a belt, but again, not a deal-breaker for me 2. The fabric was soft, a little slippery, but still breathable. Not as much as my cotton ones, but still breathable yet warm enough for the colder days (our winters are around 45 - 65 degrees during the day). They have begun to pill a bit - they did the first day I wore them - although it wasn't smart of me because I was stripping my stall and the rough shovel smacked them. Not enough to really notice, though. Since then (and it's been a few months with around 5 rides), I haven't noticed any stitching coming loose or any other major pilling. 3. The leg fit is a little tight. I wear an 8/9 to a 9/10 in jeans and the 30R is a little tight. I don't notice it after a while and while I do like how snug it feels, if I get another pair (I will be) I will probably go with a 32R. Sometimes it's nice to have a looser fit. 4. Ultimately, I would have liked the price to be lower, and to have a little less pilling for something at this price, but because these have awesome colors and I love being matchy, I'll be getting more pairs lol. 5. Since they do need a belt, the double belt loops helped keep the part that gapped flush against my back to have a nice fit! But what I love even more about the pockets is that my phone never once moved out of the pocket (even with a slippery case) and that the way the pockets are stitched they NEVER interfere with how you're sitting in the saddle! Undoubtedly this is my fav feature of these. All in all, I love them hands down!
    Date published: 2017-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addicted!! I must admit - I have quite the addiction. 12 pairs of Pipers are now in my closet... love the fabric, the colors and the PRICE! Most of my pairs do have loose stitching but they colors are no longer made so I'll have to do some repairs myself.
    Date published: 2017-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a great pair of breeches I must say I love these breeches, I own 2 pairs, I have the Monaco blue/lilac and the charcoal/sapphire. Prior to purchasing these a few months ago, I wore a few different brands of breeches, and these are the best quality for a reasonable price. HOWEVER, one thing I need to say is I think they run a little big, I usually take a 26R but those are a little big, so i dropped down a size to a 24R and they fit like a glove!!!
    Date published: 2017-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't Last This breech fits pretty well and the wide array of colors makes it fun to play around with, but it doesn't last with everyday use around the barn. I wore mine about once a week- if that but i rode about 4 horses a day while wearing them and within a month the stitching on the knee patch started to come out. The stitching on other places in the breech started to come out within about 3 months. This would be great for a lesson kid or someone that doesn't ride as many horses, but for someone that rides a lot of horses, i would not recommend.
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Christmas present ! I attended the Horse expo with my daughter in Mass. We visited the smart pak booth and she had looked at these breeches and mentioned she really wanted a pair. I surprised her by remembering which ones she had seen and ordered them for Christmas. The staff on line HELPED me figure out her size , they were so nice to work with and took the time to help.
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove. So comfortable! I bought several of these breeches and I just can't get over them!
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I won't wear any other breeches! I bought several breeches months ago and was a little weary given some of the reviews, but I LOVE these breeches. I ride 3-4 horses a day 6 days a week and they have held up so well and are so comfortable! The only thing I will say is they do run a bit big. I typically wear a 26R in tredstep, ariat, Kerrits, etc. but in these I wear a 24L with a belt on. Other than that I have no complaints on these. They are the only breeches I will ride in now, I am obsessed!
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful colors I enjoy the color combinations!! The fabric is very comfortable and holds up well. I wish they were cut a little differently as most people seem to agree that they say in the crotch ☹️
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very stylish Great breeches for the price. They hold up well and look great!
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big on the waist but otherwise great For reference, I'm 5'4 with a 25 inch waist and 38 inch hips. So, very pear shaped. It's hard for me to find pants that fit my hips and thighs AND my waist. Well, these aren't them. BUT, a wide belt fixes that. They are also a bit low on the crotch, which for the most part the belt helps fix but every so often I had to pull them up. I do love the material. It is soft, stretchy a bit thick, perfect for cold (but not crazy cold) Las Vegas winters and it's the only breech that didn't show my underwear lines. The length is perfect, right at the ankle. Being short it's difficult finding breeches that are the right length. Riding in them, though, was awesome! I felt so secure in the saddle. During schooling I took a jump from a long distance and fell forward upon landing. These breeches helped me stay on. They look great. Very flattering. I recommend them even with the waist issue.
    Date published: 2017-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable!!! Very nice and comfortable. Great product!!! Very good for practicing and just being around the barn
    Date published: 2017-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So fun.. should have stuck with one.. I bought my first pair of Pipers last spring and use them exclusively to show in, so I've only worn them about 6 times or so. I really like the way they fit, the features, and the style. I decided to buy a more fun color combo to wear for schooling and got them last month. How disappointing! I rode in them twice - totaling maybe 1.5 hours of hacking all together. The knee patch stitching is already coming out. I haven't even washed them yet. I'm so sad!Maybe something about the manufacturing changed within the last year, or maybe my second pair is just a "lemon," but my first pair was sat in all day, washed multiple times, and still looks good as new. So, maybe luck of the draw.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wanted to love these I bought three pairs a few weeks ago. They look great on, but the quality just is not there. After just two rides the fabric started to pill, and the elastic started to give out in the seam by my butt. I bought the correct size and they even fit kind of loose on me, so there is no reason that this should be happening, especially this soon. I understand that these pants don't cost very much, but if you pay $80 for a pair of breeches you expect them to at least last for a year or so !
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pipers all the way! You can never go wrong with a nice pair of Pipers! Nothing beats their comfort, style and POCKETS!
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for a well made product Most of my daughter's breeches are now Piper knee patch. They fit well and wear for a long time.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price The material of these pants are super nice. I had previously bought this same pair in another color and wanted to add more to my wardrobe.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_95, tr_1345
    • loc_en_US, sid_10947, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders