Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Oster Mane & Tail Brush

Oster
- Item #18857

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to broken or pulled hair with the gentle Oster Mane & Tail Brush! This mane and tail brush uses gentle bristles that effectively brush through hair to remove knots with extra care.

Favorite Features

  • Comfort handle and round brush head for grooming ease
  • Doesn't break or pull out hair

Imported.

 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Shampoo is an ...
    Description:
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Shampoo is an exclusive high lathering formula containing cleansing agents fortified with moisturizers and emollients. Favorite Features Rich fragrant lather provides "down to the skin" cleansing action pH balanced formula provides optimum body, shine and ...
    The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming ...
    Description:
    The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming box necessity! This special sturdy grooming product works as a universal brush. With extra long (4 cm) rubber teeth this brush performs outstanding hair removal action on both animals and textiles. Be ...
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle ...
    Description:
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle Brush is great for dusting off and removing dander.  Varnished wood back is 3/4 sized to fit comfortably in your hand. Have this brush Laser Engraved with text up to 8 letters long! ...
    Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils ...
    Description:
    Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils to prevent the dock and crest of the mane from drying out and inhibiting hair growth. Visible fullness and easier combing of the mane and tail are guaranteed due to the same ...
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an ...
    Description:
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an exclusive highly concentrated formula with unique actions that helps to maintain and achieve a longer, healthier looking mane and tail. Favorite Features Nourishes and conditions hair and skin to aid healthy hair ...
    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an ...
    Description:
    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with ...
    With wild colors and fun patterns, Beastie Brushes ...
    Description:
    With wild colors and fun patterns, Beastie Brushes are sure to brighten up your grooming routine. Champion Hill Brush Company makes hundreds of different patterns in dozens of different colors. Don't be fooled by cheap imitations, these brushes are the ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Oster Mane & Tail Brush is rated 4.7079 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane/tail comb around I already had one of these and absolutely love it! I like to keep separate grooming tools for each horse and the price here was better than I could get it locally. Both my horses have long manes, and the draft X is very coarse and thick. This comb goes thru without pulling any hairs out, for the most part, so his mane stays long and full. Same for the tail. The Arab has a thinner mane, also prone to tangles, and this works without the use of spray detanglers. Love it. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tail Brush Really gets into deep tails without pulling them out. I usually use a detangler first. Durable, easy to hold. Bristles are really hard, so just be careful to not pick yourself.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BUY OF THE YEAR This is the best product I have purchased in ages. Wish I had done it when it first came out. Untangles manes without yanking the hair out. Easy to clean and comfy for my hand. A+++
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane and tail brush This is a great brush. My horses all have long tails and it brushes thru them easily and without breaking hairs or pulling them out.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oster knows their stuff! Have always been happy w Oster products, works great!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect brush Easy to use and doesn't pull out their tail and mane. It gets through tangles so easily without breaking the hair. Well worth the price.
    Date published: 2012-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this brush I have been using it for over a year. Good grip. I particularly like it because it doesn't break the hair as other brushes can do.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from oster mane and tail brush I find that this brush works the best out of so many that I have tried
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush easy on the hands Very comfortable brush to use. Works great on long thick manes and tails and doesn't hurt my hand or wrist. One of my boarders has one, too, and loves hers as well.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster tail and mane brush Great brush! Don't know how I managed without it before--cuts grooming time in half and is so much gentler on the mane and tail!
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, so far, I think... I like that this brush is the same shape but does not have the "cushion" because those never hold up. I bought this to replace my old "cushion" brush that I had for years, I'm sure well past it's life expectancy. It's nice to have a brush that doesn't come apart or have the bristles come out when you're using it. The handle grip is very comfortable but it seems like the handle is at a weird angle compared to the brush head, but maybe it's just me. I'm a little worried that since this brush doesn't have any "give" to it, it will tear out or break more hair so I've had to remind myself to be careful with it. I'm just not sure how I feel about it yet, it seems to work well and be sturdy, but I feel like it's a little too aggressive. Maybe I just need some time to get used to it? Regardless, it sure beats having the brush come apart with every stroke!
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush My horse has a thick tail that tangles quite a bit. I have tried other brushes but this one works very well. I have not had any problems with bristle tips coming off yet after about a month of regular use. It is nice in my hand and seems to do a very good job. I'm pleased. I use it with the hair moisturizer below and it is a great combo.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush!! This is a wonderful product!! I am sooo picky about my horse's tail and do everything I can to keep from ripping it out while brushing. The bristles on this brush are spaced wide apart and specially designed to minimize breakage of the hair. It also has a substantial handle that is comfortable in your hand. You need one of these if you want a beautiful, thick tail!!
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane & Tail Brush This brush does an excellent job of brushing out the mane and tail quickly and without pulling tons of hairs out or breaking them.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane and tail brush I love this brush. My horse has a very thick mane and tail and I can get thru it easily without breakage and pulling too hard.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Comfortable This mane and tail brush is well made, sturdy and fits nicely in my hand. It does an excellent job on my horse's long, thick tail and full mane.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Cent! My horse has a thick tail and a thinner mane. While his tail is lush and eats normal grooming brushes for lunch, usually the thin grooming combs will work fine on his mane. I was looking for something more versatile for both his mane/tail. I've always known Oster to be a great brand, but the price raised my eyebrows. I had heard a few negative things about the brush, such as it's durability--I have never had any such problems. The bristles are very durable and I have not seen a single dent or bend to any of them. I love this brush. It's also very stylish and easy to used. It fits easily in my hand and makes brushing out a huge mane a ten second tidy!
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super This brush is easy on my hand/wrist and it does an excellent job combing out manes and tails quickly and without pulling lots of hairs.
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tail brush This is a very sturdy, well balanced brush for any mane/tail. Strong bristles and handle make it easy to use. Our trainer has one and when it came time to replace ours, I didn't hesitate. Well worth the price, will last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush I was looking for a second mane and tail brush, and this one is quite nice. Fits well in your hand and is sturdy enough to get through my trail horse's super thick/tangly mane.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've Used ! Tried every brush/rake/device out there....still come back to Oster.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane and Tail brush ever... bought some years ago that i still use but they are finally getting pretty beat up so i replace my old with new...
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's improved over the one I bought five years ago My 5 yrs old Oster Mane and Tail brush held up so well and I guess someone at the barn felt they needed it as mine went missing. So I ordered a new one. What a nice surprise to see Oster had redesigned it so that the new one is even more comfortable. Good thing too, as with age, my arthritis has worsened.There isn't another mane brush I would use than Oster as it works so well on the mane and tail. I use it with Mane 'n Tail Spray once a week and do not have breakage of the hairs. My Tennessee Walker has a long mane, tail and forelock that is very healthy, I believe because the products I use do no harm.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush I have read rave reviews on this brush and, being the cheapy I am, decided that I finally had to give in and order one. I will say the durability seems impeccable. I am pretty sure I'll be holding on to it for a long time. The bristles are great because they do not pull out any hairs. I have only used it a handful of times and I was being very gentle, so time will tell, but thus far, I think this is a great brush!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Mane and Tail brush I purchased this for my part friesian and have gotten quite a bit of use out of it already. I'm pretty solidly impressed with the Oster line of products, they're worth the investment for durability compared to just buying a brush from a pharmacy on the cheap.The bristles have held up well, even through my mare's abuse, as she likes to grab them in her teeth and fling the brush while standing in cross ties. My only wish was that it wasn't so easy to get the rubber tips off of the bristles, but I don't know if that's due to quality or the abuse my horse puts it through.It detangles a thick mane and tail well and acts as a really good scratcher when I find that special itchy spot on her skin. Bonus! I like the weight of it. Other people have mentioned that it's big, but I rather prefer it that way. I purchased this brush in person so I knew exactly the size of the item when I bought it, so there were no surprises. Definitely a good grooming box addition.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doen't last long I liked this mane and tail brush at first but then the bristles started breaking and becoming sharp. It now does more harm than good and can scratch the skin. It now breaks the hair rather than detangle.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dissapointed I agree with the review who said it is too big, very awkward to handle. Went thru the mane okay, tried it on the tail - did not glide - actually broke off a bristle. Not what I expected.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durability unknown since I've only had this brush for a short while. Very satisfactory so far. I like the fact that the rounded tips are molded with the bristles so they don't pull off leaving a sharp bristle.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mane and tail brush I love the Oster brush. It feels good in your hand and works great for the mane and tail. My only complaints would be that it is a little pricey and the little knobs on the bristles tend to break off eventually. I think that it is the best mane and tail brush we have found. I love it.
    Date published: 2011-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST mane brush EVER I have literally tried every brush on the market! I have a haflinger, 2 drafts and 2 friesians and live somewhere very windy - their manes knot up like crazy. Even with detangler every other brush I have tried has broken as soon as I even put it near their manes or tails and pulled out huge chunks of hair - but not this one! Its a truly exceptional brush I can get it through their thick manes and tails with minimal hair loss even WITHOUT detangler, something I never thought would ever be possible! This brush is worth every cent of the purchase price, I would still buy it even if it were twice the price! LOVE it!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    • 2016-02-13T15:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_80
    • loc_en_US, sid_8857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.