Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

One K Defender Suede Helmet

One K
- Item #21806
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The One K Defender Suede Helmet is perfect for schooling or the show ring!  Features two side, two front, one back, and two center stripe vents that keep you looking good and staying cool in any weather. 

Favorite Features

  • Polycarbonate and Advanced ABS Composite outer shell with an injection molded shell design
  • Inner lining is anti-microbial, moisture wicking, quick drying, and washable
  • Comfort padded harness with synthetic suede lining and Fastex buckle
  • Chamude® synthetic suede covered

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    One K Defender Suede Helmet is rated 4.8919 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great riding helmet Helmet looks great and fits great. Only minus is that the chinstrap leaves a black shadow (beard) on my face after wearing it for an hour or so. Hope this stops the more I wear it.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design and ventalization A perfect fitting and ascetically pleasing helmet! Love the comfort of the chin strap as well.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I spent a long time debating which helmet I wanted and thought I wanted a Charles Owen. However, when I tried them on in the store I found that the C.O's hit my ears and were not comfortable. So, I tried the One K. It is wonderful! It does not hit my ears, and the back goes down far enough that I feel protected. It is very comfortable and is light. I can't comment on how hot it is as it's the middle of winter. I do not think it will be too hot though. Additionally, the liner is removable and can be laundered--a big plus. Many helmets nowadays do not allow that.
    Date published: 2015-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet This helmet was for our daughter who is very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I absolutely love this helmet! It's super comfortable, stylish and fits my hard to fit head! The helmet feels well made and sturdy, unlike some of the lesser expensive models. I love that the liner can be removed to be washed or replaced as needed. The size does run small, as I wear a medium in this brand, but usually a small or extra small in other brands like Tipperary.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Helmet! I've had my first OneK for over a year now. Great helmets! Ordered another one and I'm still very happy with the quality and fit.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Helmet I bought this helmet s an upgrade from my plastic schooler and it was the best upgrade ever, i recently realized i needed to have better equipment for riding as i will be doing it 4 times per wee. i knew i needed more protection and augthough i felt bad because i had gotten and ovation 2 months before the one-ks. previously i had my hear set on a CO skull cap, this one was kind of small because i was in between sizes, this helmet had definetl been the best one ive had i like....... EVER.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit Purchased for my 12yr old daughter. She says its the best fitting helmet she has had. Prior to this she had the more expensive Charles Owen and I was a bit reluctant as this helmet is more reasonable priced. A few of the girls at the H/J show barn we board had this helmet already and have had nothing but great things to say about it. The helmet looks and feels just as well made and put together as the more expensive helmets. My daughter loves it and I she has recommended it to all the girls at the barn. Shopped around and Smart Pak had the best price and of course free shipping to the barn or my house. Love IT... thanks Smart Pak
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet !! Great helmet. Fits great. Love the low profile and vents.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks snazzy! Runs a tad large. I was in between a medium and large. Went for the medium, it fits perfectly! Love the look.. and it makes my oval head look good!Was fighting acne due to sweat..hoping the removable anti microbial interior will help with this issue.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great helmet I bought this helmet this summer and I'm very happy with it. The chin strap is awkward and plastic, but I've delt with it. Another thing I don't like is that the roundness of the brim and how there isn't a division of some sort. I love how light and ventilated it is and the removable inside. Overall great helmet that has nicely held up although I haven't fallen off with it.
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looks and comfort! I bought this because I wanted a nice-looking helmet for showing but could not justify the money for a Charles Owen. I was looking for nice styling with plenty of ventilation. I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable it is! Note on sizing - I ordered a small but was thinking i would be borderline with a medium. The small fits perfectly, so that might mean that it runs large?
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet! PerfectFor Florida heat! Looks goodFor shows and everyday!
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and style! I tried on a lot of helmets and none of them were fitting my oval head quite right. It was down to the Samshield and One K. I liked the look and price the the One K. The chin strap takes a little getting used to but this is a great helmet!
    Date published: 2014-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very happy! I love this helmet! Previously I had over heating issues, but this helmet eliminated the problem. I had many compliments on how it looks too.
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value and fit (for me) I cannot say enough good things about this helmet. It's lightweight, well made, very low profile, cool, and most importantly it fits me. I did not have success with the COs or even GPAs. Very very very happy that these are an option. The price makes it even better.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT HELMET Love this helmet. Great fit. Really like the removable liner. Lots of air vents to keep my head cool. Even at 100 degrees I'm comfortable riding in this helmet.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, attractive, and cool I'm thrilled with this helmet's fit, comfort, quality, and good looks. First ride wearing it was on a very hot day and my head did stay remarkably cooler than with my old helmet. Can't rate the durability yet, but it looks extremely well made and I expect it to hold up.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wishes do come true Finally, a helmet for all those round-headed people out there! Everything I tried was too oval for me until this one. Now I'm not resigned to using a schooling helmet or a helmet that doesn't fit for shows. I was afraid that the recommended size would be too snug and give me a headache, not being used to equal pressure all the way around my head, but never a problem. I also wondered if the ventilation would compare to my schooling helmet and I couldn't tell the difference. I also appreciate that the liner can be removed to wash - no stinky head for me! Yeah, the chin strap sits in a weird place, but I'll get over it. I can see myself collecting more colors...
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most awesome helmet, EVER! I received this as a long wished for gift. I have a jack-o-lantern sized head which is also very round. Finding well fitting helmets is almost impossible, but the One K helmet fits like a glove! I also appreciate the balance of the helmet. I don't feel that I must crane my neck to see where I'm going and it is lighter weight than my older helmets. An outstanding feature is the ability to remove and wash the liner. No more having a helmet that smells like a wet wildebeast. You only get one head, protect it!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this new helmet when I went on sale for national helmet Awareness Day since i needed a new show helmet and so far I love it. it compliments your head so well and it fits true to size and really stylish for a great price
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good-looking, but S/M/L sizing doesn't cut it This is a fabulous-looking helmet. I mean, REALLY good looking. Extremely flattering. But these helmets that only come in S/M/L sizes, rather than 6 7/8, 7, 7 1/8, etc. just do not fit as well. I know it's cheaper for the manufacturer to do the S/M/L sizing, but I can't get a perfect fit this way. The M is slightly tight, which is why I returned it. Having tried on many S/M/L helmets, I know the L would be slightly big. I'd rather spend a little more money to get a helmet with what I think of as "real" sizing (when I started riding, number sizing was all there was.) I think the companies that have stuck with number sizing know what they're doing. I returned this helmet in favor of the IRH Elite EQ, which is number-sized; size 7 fits me perfectly, and it's the most comfortable helmet I've ever worn. I really like the way that helmet looks and I'm happy to keep that one, but I admit the One K looks just slightly more flattering. However, the IRH has a breakaway visor, while the One K has a fixed visor. I believe breakaway visors are safer.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Helmet! This is my favorite helmet that I've ever had! It not only looks really nice, it has good ventilation and is comfortable to wear. The liner system gives you a very customized fit which was necessary for me. I have a wide head, so I had to get a larger size and a smaller liner to make it a perfect fit. I've gotten many compliments on it too.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet for show But..... It doesn't fit an oval head. I ordered a triceps instead
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love! I bought this helmet because it was on sale and I am so glad I did! It looks great, fits me well, keeps me cool and I have gotten so many compliments on it. One of my trainers even went out and got one after seeing mine. Made in the same factory as the Samshields, for half the price. Great value.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit I purchased this a few weeks ago and I'm so much more comfortable. The chin strap is in an awkward place for me, but the rest of the helmet fits wonderfully.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool helment man!! I purchased this helmet because I tend to over heat while I am riding and also based on the other reviews. I have only ridden in the helmet once but it was very comfortable and well ventilated. I also like the look of it and received immediate compliments. I chose the all black version. My only negative is the chin strap which tends to sit a little closer to the chin than my other helmet. My trainer, who also owns one, says I will get used to it and the benefit of the coolness of it would outweight the chinstrap. I wear a 6 3/4 normally and purchased the small. It fits snug but will stretch out to perfect! I also like the removable washable liner!
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable! The Medium was a bit tight even tho in my head sizerange. The large is perfect with the medium insert. Nicelooking too. I do wish Smartpak would carry the extra inserts.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    • 2015-05-27T09:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_11806, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.