Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

One K Defender Suede Helmet

One K
- Item #21806

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The One K Defender Suede Helmet is perfect for schooling or the show ring!  Features two side, two front, one back, and two center stripe vents that keep you looking good and staying cool in any weather. 

Favorite Features

  • Polycarbonate and Advanced ABS Composite outer shell with an injection molded shell design
  • Inner lining is anti-microbial, moisture wicking, quick drying, and washable
  • Comfort padded harness with synthetic suede lining and Fastex buckle
  • Chamude® synthetic suede covered
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 certified

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    With the thinning of the ozone layer, every ...
    Description:
    With the thinning of the ozone layer, every rider needs to be more aware of protecting their skin from the sun! The Charles Owen SP8 Helmet provides that better sun protection with a specially designed visor to shade the whole ...
    The Sierra helmet has been completely redesigned with ...
    Description:
    The Sierra helmet has been completely redesigned with an entirely new low profile and geometric visor. Engineered for riding extremes, the Troxel Low Profile Sierra Helmet's new rugged CORDURA and leather covering not only looks good, but also withstands the ...
    The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at ...
    Description:
    The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at the cutting edge of equestrian fashion. This helmet is both sleek and sporty with its low profile design. Available in a variety of colors, the GR8 Helmet is covered with a microfibre ...
    Why We Love This The Ovation Competitor Helmet ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip ...
    Why We Love This Up-to-date styling, fit and ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8® Leather Look the latest choice in equestrian protective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8® requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance.  The lining features interwoven silver ions, ...
    Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the ...
    Description:
    Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. Favorite Features Metallic ...
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    One K Defender Suede Helmet is rated 4.8364 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Coolest helmet I bought this helmet after another boarder highly recommended it. My head sweats A LOT and I was looking for something cooler. Well I found it! I can actually feel air coming through the vents and when I get done riding I don't have to wring the sweat out of my hair. I love the fit and look of the helmet and will definitely get another one for showing!
    Date published: 2015-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with it! Bought this to keep nice for shows and I'm very happy with it. Nice fit, very comfortable and well padded. It's not too bulky and lighter than I expected it to be. Seems like a great buy for the price!
    Date published: 2015-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from One K Defender helmet Love the vents. Even though it looks like the liner covers the vents inside the helmet, the air still flows through. Only slight issue I had was that the chin strap has a forward slant and wanted to slide forward over my chin. As it's breaking in, it's now staying put.
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet This is my second One K helmet. I got the second one because of the National Helmet Awareness day and it doesn't hurt to have a spare on hand. Love the fit of this helmet
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive helmet, good fit! Purchased this for my younger sister as her "upgrade" helmet - seems to fit well, attractive style. Nice that the liner can be changed out.
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely Ventilated I bought this after my ayr8 started to smell so bad and be so moist I thought it was going to start its own ecosystem. I wish I had bought this instead of my ayr8. The ventilation is great and makes my face look very slender, I will most definitely be using OneK for a long time to come.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the style I have been looking at the helmet for a year and even tried on on at a local store so when it was offered at a lower price during helmet safety day I bought! Absolutely worth the price and the medium fit is perfect!
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! The helmet fit well and is very comfortable. Unsure of durability since I have only had it a few months, but suspect it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most comfortable helmet! I bought this helmet for my 18 year old daughter. She had done research on helmets and this is the one that she chose. She was not disappointed with her choice! She claimed that this was the most comfortable helmet she had ever had for both showing and everyday riding. My daughter has been riding and showing for over 10 years. She highly recommends the One K Defender Suede Helmet for comfort, safety, and style! You will not be disappointed! * We did not rate the durability of the helmet because we have not had it very long and I hope we never have to put it to a test. (if you know what I mean!)
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful show helmet! Daughter loved this gift. Lightweight, great ventilation and awesome looks.
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet!! I searched for a long time for the perfect helmet and this was my favorite! Liked it better than even the more expensive brands! Can't say enough good things about it and I get tons of compliments on it!
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the price I bought this helmet a few weeks ago. It's fantastic. So lightweight and comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet! This is a very nice looking helmet; it's a little higher profile than I would have liked, but the fit is outstanding. So comfortable I almost forgot it was on and it didn't move at all. Nicely ventilated, kept me pretty cool on an 89 degree day.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, attractive helmet. Fit is true to size and very comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great and is very comfortable I bought this helmet about 6 weeks ago. I love it! Not only does it fit my head comfortably, it is a very nice looking helmet.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I bought this same helmet but with bling for season. Loved it so much I bought this one for schooling. It's comfortable and doesn't make me my head look huge! Great purchase !!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the dove grey helmut. I ordered a medium as I have an older One K of the same size. This felt a tad bigger. The helmut is great. For some reason One K in its packaging refers to 3 additional pads that can be added to the interior of the helmut and none were enclosed. This it turns out is an error on One K as they no longer enclose these additional pads but have not updated their packaging. The helmut is great and other than that little hurdle I'm glad to have this to take to shows!
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Was afraid it wouldn't fit. I bought this after taking a fall with my Charles Owen AYR8 and deciding to look for something a bit more ventilated. I was afraid the OneK wouldn't fit, since a lot of people say if the CO fits you then you must have a long oval head and this won't. I think if anything this helmet might fit me better! In comparison, the Pegasus helmets do NOT fit me, they are very round. I bought from SmartPak because I knew if it didn't fit, I would be able to return for free and get something that did. I have only ridden in it once in warm weather, so I can't really attest to how much better it is sweat-wise than the CO yet, but there is certainly more airflow. This helmet is super comfortable, and a great price. Between this and CO, I would go with this one, hands down.
    Date published: 2015-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet!! This helmet was my first real expensive helmet purchase (ie. over $100), and I'm so glad I chose this one! It's cute, it's ventilation keeps my head cool, and I just love it. I get so many compliments on it, and the grey suede is just enough to stand out but without being too gaudy. Highly recommend this helmet!
    Date published: 2015-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my One K Helmet I love my new One K helmet. I have an IRH but it has never fit right. This One K, fits perfectly and I love being able to replace the liner when it gets dirty!
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it 100%! I bought this helmet last year as an upgraded show helmet from my IRH. I stared showing all rated shows so it was a much needed upgrade. I tried it on and loved it!! Very very very comfy and very secure. It thankfully runs a tad large for us riders that ride in hairnets with all of our hair inside the helmet. It has recently become really popular at the rated shows in hunters, jumpers and equitation. Love it!
    Date published: 2015-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great riding helmet Helmet looks great and fits great. Only minus is that the chinstrap leaves a black shadow (beard) on my face after wearing it for an hour or so. Hope this stops the more I wear it.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design and ventalization A perfect fitting and ascetically pleasing helmet! Love the comfort of the chin strap as well.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I spent a long time debating which helmet I wanted and thought I wanted a Charles Owen. However, when I tried them on in the store I found that the C.O's hit my ears and were not comfortable. So, I tried the One K. It is wonderful! It does not hit my ears, and the back goes down far enough that I feel protected. It is very comfortable and is light. I can't comment on how hot it is as it's the middle of winter. I do not think it will be too hot though. Additionally, the liner is removable and can be laundered--a big plus. Many helmets nowadays do not allow that.
    Date published: 2015-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet This helmet was for our daughter who is very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I absolutely love this helmet! It's super comfortable, stylish and fits my hard to fit head! The helmet feels well made and sturdy, unlike some of the lesser expensive models. I love that the liner can be removed to be washed or replaced as needed. The size does run small, as I wear a medium in this brand, but usually a small or extra small in other brands like Tipperary.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Helmet! I've had my first OneK for over a year now. Great helmets! Ordered another one and I'm still very happy with the quality and fit.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Helmet I bought this helmet s an upgrade from my plastic schooler and it was the best upgrade ever, i recently realized i needed to have better equipment for riding as i will be doing it 4 times per wee. i knew i needed more protection and augthough i felt bad because i had gotten and ovation 2 months before the one-ks. previously i had my hear set on a CO skull cap, this one was kind of small because i was in between sizes, this helmet had definetl been the best one ive had i like....... EVER.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit Purchased for my 12yr old daughter. She says its the best fitting helmet she has had. Prior to this she had the more expensive Charles Owen and I was a bit reluctant as this helmet is more reasonable priced. A few of the girls at the H/J show barn we board had this helmet already and have had nothing but great things to say about it. The helmet looks and feels just as well made and put together as the more expensive helmets. My daughter loves it and I she has recommended it to all the girls at the barn. Shopped around and Smart Pak had the best price and of course free shipping to the barn or my house. Love IT... thanks Smart Pak
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet !! Great helmet. Fits great. Love the low profile and vents.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    • 2016-02-06T14:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_54
    • loc_en_US, sid_11806, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.