Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Neoprene Splint Boots

Item #15018
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Neoprene Splint Boots support and help protect the inside of the horse's leg from being hit by the opposite or rear hoof, making them excellent for turnout or exercise.

Favorite Features

  • 3 hook-and-loop closures hold boot secure
  • Padded on the inside of the leg

Sizing It Up

Medium (horse) and Large (large horse).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Neoprene Splint Boots is rated 4.0976 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shredded in less than an hour My guy isn't rough on clothes at all. The first pair of these boots lasted 1/2 way through one ride; the second "replacement" pair lasted 3 days. The fastener stitching came undone both times. 
    Date published: 2013-10-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Bought these a month or two ago to replace another brand neoprene boot that was a little too large. These fit and stayed in place, but have already fallen apart - the neoprene has split lengthwise next to the Velcro strap. Even before that, though, the lining was separating and curling. They were inexpensive but the previous brand was as well and they had worn fine, so these problems were unexpected.
    Date published: 2013-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Splint Boots for the Money I can't really comment on durability yet since I just used them for the first time. They are nice for the money. They run huge though. I got the large size first and at first glance knew they were too big. They would fit either a Warmblood or hind legs. I exchanged them for mediums which still run a bit large--but fit my filly (who string tests 16.2, so she's not little) ok.
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase Bought these for my OTTB to wear for turn-out and the occasional light riding. Based on other reviews I ordered the medium but had to return them for the large. Honestly she would probably be the size in between but the large does the job. I haven't had them for very long, but so far they have held up pretty well especially with all the rain we have been getting. I usually brush them off with a hard brush or hose them down and hang to dry.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Product I purchased these for an arab cross mare that we are teaching to jump. The boots fit her well (I ordered a small) and are easy to put on and take off. They are easy to clean. I have been using them a few months and they are still in great shape. I use them a few times a week.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fine boots, run small Right on the quality I expect at this price point (I keep several pairs around because I want to sacrifice the boot, not my horse's leg, when he takes a misstep), but don't come large enough for my 16-hand TB's hind legs - the velcro doesn't even come close to reaching on the large! Tried the Davis splint boots in large next and they were big enough to fit - barely :-)
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy boots.... My young horse can really buck and play and my normal sheepskin boots would always fall down so I bought these and they did the trick, they stay on snug and protect her legs well. They run a little small though, and I had to buy hind boots elsewhere.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots, but ran big I have a 15.2hh paint who is quite fine boned, but does tend to wear "horse" sized items for the most part. The mediums are almost too big, I have them pulled as tight as they go and they stay put, but if they stretch even a tiny bit they will be too big. The velcro straps were also completely different lengths on the two boots, one was almost an inch longer. I just trimmed them, but still. You'd expect them to be a little closer in length. I do like these boots, and the navy color is nice, I just wish they came in a smaller size so I didn't have to "make do." I agree with a previous reviewer, having the dimensions would be very helpful!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful boots - way too small These boots are very well made - comparable to boots from another manufacturer, and half the price. But they are really small. My 16 hand eventer usually wears a "horse" or "average" size in other boots, but these didn't fit around his leg! I was so impressed with the quality of these boots, though, that I went ahead and ordered a "large". It would be very helpful to have the dimensions of these boots included in the product description.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Small I was really surprised that the large size did not fit my thoroughbred. Albeit he is large-boned for a thoroughbred, but not larger than a usual warmblood.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Splint Boots! These are great boots at a great price. They are not stiff and fit my 16.1 TB perfectly. I got mediums for the front and larges for the back. I've only had them for a week but so far so good. Just as good as the more expensive splint boots.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the money I use these often on my TB when I let him out to play and burn off energy, and keep them on during our ride; he connects behind and needs to have protection at all times, even though we don't do more than W/T/C. Good for the money, I wasn't looking for anything super fancy because he's mainly a pleasure horse. These stay on well and mold to the shape of his leg. The large is pretty big though, just right for the hind legs but too big for the front legs, and he's 16.1 hands.
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't survive the frat boy field Had high hopturnout these as a cheaper alternative to my current turnout boots. Middle strap was ripped completely off left boot after four days with my playful gelding and friends. Would reccomend for a quieter horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value These are great turnout boots. My mare is in a large turnout with low brush and some rocks and has not gotten one scratch since using these!
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for turnout I turn both horses out in these boot everyday. They last forever.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Boots! My horse can be hard to buy for. Boots are either too big or too high. These boots fit him perfectly! I love them! My horse can be a little wild on the lunge line, these boots do not move and his legs are not covered in sweat after riding, lunging, or driving! I bought a medium pair for the front and large for the back. He is 15'2 morgan. I reccomend these boots to everyone. Great protection for a great price :)
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A "Definite" Best Buy Splint Boot My mare recently had surgery to remove a calcified splint (and the medial (inside) splint bone) on her right front leg. I purchased these Neoprene splint boots for her to wear post-surgery when she's turned out, but they can also be worn when riding. The Neoprene is thick and softly cushions the leg. They are easy to put on and take off, they fit extremely well, do not rub or cause the leg to overheat, and they provide excellent protection to the vulnerable inside area of the lower leg.Great price too for a great product.
    Date published: 2010-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the price While these boots don't offer a ton of protection, I used them for several years when my gelding was younger as his work boots. They aren't the easiest to put on and off because you have to loop the closures, but the protection is excellent for the price.
    Date published: 2010-07-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Place&time.. Cheap boots that are damaged externally, very easily. My horse can absolutely destroy them in turn-out within a week of putting a new pair on him. However, they're very affordable and I can trust other people to put them on correctly.However, during the course of a ride or turnout, the boot does move-they'll slip down and occasionally, rotate.Under saddle, these boots protect well against strikes. As a turn-out boot, I don't recommend it for particularly rambunctious or playful horses. The boot will move and be useless, or the horse will tear it up.
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly as described These are easy to put on the horse although I found that they will rotate if you don't fit them in just the right area. I like their ease of use.Good value. Not sure of the durability yet because I have had them such a short time.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like these boots and think they are good quality. But they do slip down when being used even though they are the appropriate size and are properly put on.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best Product is just OK, quality is not great, straps are way to long. I learned you get what you pay for.Probably would not purcase again.
    Date published: 2010-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with these! Affordable, yet good quality splint boots. Everyone needs a pair in their tack trunk!
    Date published: 2010-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reasonably Priced Protection I borrowed someone else's Neoprene Splint Boots and was impressed with how easy they were to use, so I ordered a pair for my horse. The navy boots arrived and have been used just about every day. Since I've used them less than a month, I can't comment on durability, but all other characteristics have met or exceeded my expectations. They wash easily. Very reasonbably priced product!
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Everyday Boot My stable has varied terrain: grass-covered cross country, trails, outdoor sand arena, indoor dirt arena. Regardless of the work I'm doing, I always use these neoprene boots. They are VERY sturdy, soft on tender legs, and easy to use. The velcro does not rip, even after all the abuse my "brusher" puts them through. They do run slightly large; my 17hh TB wears medium in front and large in back. Fun colors for cheap eventing themes too!
    Date published: 2009-10-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price, but fit is so-so I bought these boots as a cheap way to protect my horse while hacking and doing light dressage work. I bought a medium, as my mare has consistantly been a medium in every other brand. While the height of the boots was fine, they were extremely wide, and were too big. The straps are very, very long, and stick out even on a heavier boned horse that the boot fits. I wouldn't buy these boots unless your horse is heavier boned than average.
    Date published: 2009-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver My mare constantly hits her back fetlocks together and because of it she goes lame. We put these on her and she was perfect. She lives outside so she wears them quite often. They are great for when the horses get rough housing. They are super durable and never come off! Best part yet is that I can throw them right in the washer to get them clean. Great deal!
    Date published: 2009-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great All Purpose Boot Almost all the horses at my barn are turned out in these Neoprene Splint Boots! They hold up great and are thick enough to provide really great protection when the horses are rough housing in the fields. They are pretty versatile too, so they fit just about every horse in the barn no problem! I use the size large on my 17 hand warmblood for both his front and back legs. Another great thing is that they are really easy to put on because there are no major pressure points. Even the kids and new grooms don't have any problems learning!
    Date published: 2008-07-08
    • 2015-05-27T09:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_5018, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.