Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Natural Sponge

Item #10814
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Natural “wool” (no relation to actual sheep) sponges are the elite of the natural sponge world with unsurpassed absorption, softness and durability. They hold water extremely well and can be used for all washing and cleaning purposes but most importantly they are more pliable and easier to use on detailed tasks like tack cleaning than the common natural “grass” sponge.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Natural Sponge is rated 4.7778 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sponge!! I love this sponge and will use no other sponge!!!
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST sponge I recently purchased this sponge for my ottb. I absolutely love it. It's soft enough for his skin, and washes very well. I definitely recommend this product! Planing on buying a few more!
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This sponge holds a quart of water! Makes bathing my horse pleasant, quick, and fun!
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What an improvement over synthetic sponges! I've used the small natural sponge on my tack literally for years. I finally broke down and bought the large for bathing my horses. What a difference! It is so soft and conforms to the shape of their faces which is great as both tend to get scrungy during the hot summer. I love this sponge.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH IT. Love love love this sponge! I was on the fence about purchasing it due to the price after my synthetic sponge broke down and started crumbling. It may seem pricey but it is stronger, holds more water, and is extremely soft! My sensitive horse who's eyes bulged out of his head whenever he spotted my last dreaded sponge now happily allows me to bathe him with this. All my barn friends take mine when Im not looking... you wont regret it!
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sponge, Convenient size. Bought to use for tack but like as face sponge. Have to get an other for tack
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Durable I LOVE these sponges. Smaller than expected but the price/size comparison is similar to the Sponge Docks in FL where I used to pick up my natural sponges. Wouldn't use any other sponge for bathing...they are wonderful. Have not used them on tack yet. If you take care of them properly they last forever!
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's worth it! This was a splurge for me, but now that I've used it, it seems like a necessity. It is a great help in washing my horse, better than a bath scrubber, wash cloth, my hand. Xlnt quality, I think it will last a long time, since it's a real sea sponge.
    Date published: 2013-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this sponge It's well worth the price because of the way it feels, works and lasts. Sometimes there's just nothing like the real thing!
    Date published: 2013-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Absorbent Great sponge, very absorbent, easy to rinse, would love to have one slightly bigger for the body
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm impressed!! I honestly didn't know how a sponge could be worth $14, but I am amazed! So absorbent and sturdy! Easily washed out, and looks brand new again. I may buy the smaller tack sized one as well!
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Natural Sponge - face and Body Great product! I would highly recommend this over any other sponge. This is wonderful for giving your horse a nice cooling sponge, getting off the grunge and just generally for any use you would use a sponge for. A must have for all equines and their people.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from luxury sponge half of me wants to kick myself for spending this much on a tack sponge, but the other half loves cleaning tack with this wonderful sponge that retains water, cleans well, and makes the tedious chore downright luxurious.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from natural sponge I love the performance of natural sponges. I've occasionally bought the synthetic type because they're cheaper and readily available but I always regret the decision and come back to the natural ones. They hold water better than the synthetics and their nubby texture is great for scrubbing. I bought the large size which is perfect for bathing. The price is a bit high but I haven't seen them cheaper elsewhere.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Much Smaller Than Expected Although this sponge is described as "large," it's anything but large. It fits in the palm of my hand. That said, it is very absorbent and works well. It's just much smaller than expected.
    Date published: 2012-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for I was looking for a sponge to wipe my mare down after shows but it's hard to find one big enough for bathing. This one is the perfect size for the job and holds a surprising amount of water too. I was a little worried that it was going to be too stiff but the moment it hit the water, it was perfect. It seems like it will hold up well and not shred like some synthetic sponges. Even though this sponge is pricey, so far I'd say it's worth it and hope it holds up for the season.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than Synthetic I had seen someone use a natural sponge to wash their horse and had been looking for one every since. What I noticed was the size, and the sponge's capacity to move flexibly around a horse's joints when being used.....no stiffness or partial contact when moving around non flat surfaces.I also noticed that it held a lot of water and soap...usefull characteristics when you don't want to bend down and put your sponge back in the bucket for more soapy water every few seconds.I looked at three tack stores in my area, and never found one.Finally, I found one at SmartPak and ordered the large.I've used it once and found it to be a little smaller than I had hoped for, but it's not too small and it's very useful.It's still a little stiffer than I had wanted....not at all like synthetic sponges though. One reviewer stated that issue ceases after the first use, however.All in all, although I wish it was cheaper, and just a tiny bit larger, it's the best sponge I've had for bathing my horse and a sponge does make a difference in how easy and quick bathing goes.
    Date published: 2012-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love thsese sponges I purchased these sponges because the tack sponges were out of stock and I was in desperate need of sponges. I got 2 small sponges and I love them! The hold my saddle soap and water nicely and clean up a storm. They are made nicely and do not break. They came a bit stiff but as soon as I put them in water they were softer than ever.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sponge This natural sponge is very water absorbent. I especially like using this sponge on my horse's face as it is very soft. I am hoping that it lasts a long time as it was on the expensive side for a sponge.
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use holds up well for several baths. Holds a lot of soapy water. Doesn't fall apart after several uses.
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sponge I had bought a couple of sponges from walmart to use for bathing horses...they didn't last more than a month. I decided to get one of the Natural Sponges from SmartPak and it's great. Really holds water and soap for baths, it's soft, yet very durable. With our heat and drought, I pretty much bathe after every ride (with gentle mikrotek or lucky braids shampoos!) and it looks as good as the day it arrived.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sponge For me it is just the right size for my hands. Great for bathing.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good natural sponges! These are very good natural sponges, perfect size for tack and they are good quality. No spines or rough spots to rake your tack, very smooth.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Pleasure to Use This sponge holds water better & is easier on your joints to squeeze water out than a synthetic sponge. Definitely worth the few extra bucks! Will only buy natural from now on.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kinda Small Ordered the big one and it was still really small, would suggest going through a sponge seller instead. This is not a good value in spongyness. Plus I wanted a more durable sponge for washing the horses that would really clean and this one started falling apart after five baths.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size sponge I was a little worried about buying this sponge without seeing it in person as the other natural sponges I have purchased in the past have been too small for my tack cleaning tastes. This one is a perfect size. Large enough to get the job done but still easy to hold in my hand.
    Date published: 2011-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better! These sponges are much better than the other synthetic sponge. It really wicks the dirt away quicker
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really better than synthetic! After reading other positive reviews, I decided to give these a try and I'm glad I did! I am using less cleaning product for my leather tack and really like the texture of the sponge and think it will hold up better, especially going over buckles, compared to synthetic sponges. The sponge is crunchy at first, but that goes away in the first use. They are also fairly large and I cut one into three pieces that are tack sponge sized.If you go to google if sea sponges are "ok" to use, beware of google's predictive search, a little NSFW. Apparently sponges are being used for other things too, but they are harvested responsibly and in a way that lets them regrow. Give them a try!
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Love These! The small is perfect for tack cleaning, and rinses out very, very easily. I've found it works much better than the small synthetic sponges. The large is excellent for bathing and is nice and soft for wiping sensitive faces.
    Date published: 2010-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best These natural sponges are the best ever for washing horses & tack. They last forever!!!!!!! FANETTE
    Date published: 2010-05-24
    • 2015-08-29T12:50CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_814, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.