Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Nameplate - Bridle, Martingale & Girth

SmartPak Equine
- Item #11603

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Keep track of your tack!

We've selected a variety of plates to keep all of your tack organized. Included with all of our plates is the appropriate mounting hardware. Our Bridle, Martingale, & Girth Nameplate comes with 1/4" rivets.

A classic plate in satin brass or nickel silver, available in two sizes to suit your needs. Standard size fits most Horse and Warmblood Bridles, as well as Pony Halters.  Small size is suitable for most martingales.  Please refer to measurements below to select which size is best for your needs. 

Favorite Features

  • Durable
  • Includes Mounting Hardware
  • Easy to Attach
Sizing it Up

Standard measures 3"x ½" and Small measures 2 1/2" x 3/8". 

Made in USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Nameplate - Bridle, Martingale & Girth is rated 4.0455 out of 5 by 110.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful nameplate Nameplate looks great, easy to install. Wanted to install one onto a girth, and standard rivets were too small - Smartpak had longer rivets at my house in about 4 days!
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look great, but impossible to attach! I bought two for my small pony halters, and couldn't for the life of me figure out how to use the rivets to attach them. Luckily, I was able to stop by the retail location and get some professional help from SmartPak. The store ladies had to use longer rivets, as the ones that came with the nameplate were too short for the thickness of the leather on my halters. This nameplate would probably be a snap to attach on something thinner. The quality of the plates themselves is very nice- better than I expected, given the other reviews. The engraving looks very professional and so far, in the few weeks I've had them, they've held up well.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Installation I love this! I put it on my new Rockin SP Browband Headstall and it looks amazing and ties in nicely with the brass hardware! It was super easy to put on even through the thick leather.
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Corroded immediately I purchased this plate in brass last winter, and it sat in its packaging for several months before I found time to attach it. Anyway, within a week in the SF Bay Area climate (on tack kept in a good tack room and never subjected to rain/moisture), it had corroded to the point that the engraving was illegible. I have since moved to an even more humid climate (CT in summer), and the plate is now completely rusty looking instead of appearing to be brass with engraving. I'm going to have to try to find a higher-quality replacement that fits the holes I punched for it. Other halter/bridle/saddle plates I've had for decades have survived these climates without any corrosion, so I believe that some material difference in the SmartPak plate is responsible for the quick corrosion.The bridle tag I got at the same time fared better in the original climate, but also became illegibly corroded in the new climate.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice touch I bought the smaller one for my Wellfleet bridle. I put it on the side of the small strip on the crownpiece. It's a very nice touch and I had no problem installing it myself.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality These nameplates are thick enough to last and smooth enough not to catch on anything (or anyone). The engraving is pretty, too.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arrived quickly, was just as ordered, and was a good value. What more needs to be said?
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Wonderful craftsmanship. I smile every time I see it.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice this is a great product. My horse was so excited to finally have her name on her stuff! lol
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from repeat customer Sturdiest nameplates on the market, and ship fast.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from did not fit girth My girth was too thick, so the trivets did not fit. Otherwise, it worked great on my bridle(s).
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks Great on a Dressage Bridle Being that my hardware on my dressage bridle was nickel w/ a clear rhinestone brow band, I wanted a nickel plate. I decided to get the martingale plate to use on my bridle, because it is smaller and gives it a nice touch, without being too big or distracting. I give it 4 starts instead of 5 because it took forever to figure out how to put it on. The top piece of the rivet does not fit through the hole of the plate. Naturally, I thought they gave me the wrong size rivets so I had to call customer service. They had to email me directions on how to put it on. The cap just sits on the top of the plate and you have to hammer it to get it to latch close. This is something my husband had to do for me, but you have to be careful or you could scratch the plate with the hammer. Beautiful once it's on, but is difficult to put on bridle.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! I ordered a couple of these to be used as year-end awards for a regional appaloosa club. Very good quality, professionally done and the recipient was very happy with them. Would order again for myself.
    Date published: 2012-03-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ugh I recieved several bridle plates as a gift - I was so excited when I saw what they were, however when I got home and took another look I was horrified. The lettering was really high and completely of center. They tarnished before I ever got them on my bridles. Needless to say they went in the trash. Funny how things worked out... I was at a show the following weekend and their was an engraver there. Bridleplates.com. Oh my gosh her work was gorgeous, she was very professional, and what was really nice was she attached them for me, not with those ugly rivets but with some sort of nail. They look sooooo nice. Any way I know who Im going to from now on. Smart pak, Do what you do best and leave the engraving to the professionals.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good for on a halter. I got this for on a thin leather grooming halter. The rivets provided were not long enough to go through 2 layers of leather. They barely worked but slipped and the nameplate got ruined before I got it on. A new one was sent but still not sure if it will work and I have a halter with holes in it now. It should be listed that this is only good for one ply leather.
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from bridle plate? The standard size is not the size of a bridle plate. It's the size of a saddle plate. Plus the lettering is huge. I plan to return it regardless of if I get my money back. Sarahjoy Crain, trainer - Independent C Farms
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED I ordered these the beginning of December as gifts for clients- I still have yet to receive any engraved items! Its now January 11. Buy your engraved items elsewhere!
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle Tag Looks good on my black dressage bridle (I got the nickel tag). Definitely helps when unloading the tack on show days.
    Date published: 2012-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! We have so many horses in our barn that tack always seems to get grabbed or misplaced; not anymore! This nameplate is a good size, good quality and a good way to keep your tack labeled.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I am eagerly anticipating getting this name plate onto my bridle. It looks gorgeous in the bag, and I know it will be better on. I can't speak for durability as I just received this product, but value and looks are top notch.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice little brass plate Love the plate. It looks really great on my martingale! Although it didn't come with any directions on how to mount it but I contacted SmartPak and was able to figure it out!
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from After a few weeks, the brass turned and now I can barely even make out my name on the plate.
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed This nameplate is beautiful, but it tarnished after my first day with it on my horse's martingale. Very disappointing, especially since I purchased several and mounted them on all of my bridles and martingales!!
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed for the first time! I ordered 2 of these plates and am quite displeased with them. The quality of the plate itself is okay...I have seen nicer....however, the engraving is really off center top to bottom. And to think I paid as much to ship them as each of them cost. I won't re-order these from you guys! Not your best work Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Plate Nice plate, it fit onto my martingale well. The lettering is nice and dark. The only thing was it didn't come with instructions on how to mount it. But customer service was very helpful when I contacted them about it.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice at first...rusts with time Unfortunately they rust very quickly with no exposure to water. This is the same for all their nameplate. I have ordered several of plates for my bridles and all of them rusted within in a few months and look aweful now. So sad...if they didn;t rust so quickly they would have been great.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, but good for the money I am not in love with these bridle plates, but I would continue to buy them. One reason is that Smartpaks shipping turn over is insane. I get them practically next day. Having said that, they do not hold up as well as their other brass tags (I've only bought the brass type). They will rust over time and the lettering becomes a little fuzzy. On the positive side, the medium nameplates are rather generous in size which makes mistaking my bridle for someone elses pretty much impossible. On an Edgewood headstall it covers more than half. The smaller size which they recommend for saddles or martingales are a little more inconspicuous if you just want to label your bridle and don't have problems with people using your stuff by accident. I don't think it would fit a martingale, but I have never tried to mount it. I would not recommend helvatica in lower case because the spacing is not consistent. For example my name looked like this... Vir ginia It was very disappointed and so now I only get all caps or use a cursive font.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The attachment method STINKS! I purchased these to put on a halter and a bridle. The nameplate and engraving look just fine but the rivets that come with them stink. The rivet 'cap' sits on top of the name plate - does not fit through the hole in the nameplate - which will keep the nameplate from being flush against the leather. I'm ticked because now I have two holes in my leather halter and no nameplate - UGH!
    Date published: 2011-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Standard size too big for a bridle I bought the standard size plate for my show bridle. I think it's too big for a bridle, would be OK for a saddle. Quality seems fine, just too big. I have ordered the smaller size to try that instead.
    Date published: 2011-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good as belt namelate Bought as a nameplate for a belt, small was perfect size, would not go bigger. Nice engraving. Wish shipping came in a smaller box however, seems like a waste of packaging :/
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    • 2016-02-13T14:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_100
    • loc_en_US, sid_1603, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.