Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18002
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The newest of the Mountain Horse winter boots, The Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is fashionably chic as well as functional!  This winter riding boot has been meticulously designed for a comfortable fit and superior traction on ice, snow, and in the stirrup.

Favorite Features

  • Durable, quilted PU upper boasts membrane technology making this boot 100% waterproof up to the start of the zipper
  • Ergonomically designed removable EVA insole with soft Nylex lining
  • Heat insulating (and stylish) faux fur will keep feet and toes warm
  • Built in steel shank for increased stability while walking or riding
  • Specially slim and contoured designed outsole made especially for riding
  • Super strong and durable YKK zipper to extend the life of your boots
  • Unique side elastic for an individual fit
  • Reflective inserts along the back of boot for night riding
  • Fax leather foot-part has been tested to withstand one million flexes in 14 degree F weather
  • Dirt repellent tred zones on bottom of sole enhance your grip in the stirrup
  • Heel part is fitted with shock absorbing IPS System

Sizing It Up

6-10

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is rated 4.3167 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Boots, Great Fit The zipper irritated my heels on the first day out. But after that, I wore thicker socks, and these boots have been fantastic. The shaft height is great (I'm 5'9"), they keep my legs and feet warm, and I've received several compliments on how they look.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I have never been a fan of tall boots, but my workboots (which I regularly wear riding) needed to be replaced. I decided to buy these boots for warmth and waterproof qualities, as I also do work in the barn.The biggest con I found was that the zippers were a BEAST to zip up. But once I had them on, they were so comfortable, I forgot I was wearing tall boots! I have worn them every day for a week, and have found that they zip up fine now; I believe the elasticity has more give now, and I can zipper with no problem. I also like how the soft material around the ankle makes keeping my heel down in the stirrup ultra easy! And it doesn't hurt that they are stylin' too!I do not find the boots too tall at all, and I am only 5'3" tall. Can't go wrong buying at SmartPak with their 100% satisfaction guarantee. :-)
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I'd been eyeing these boots for a long time before purchasing them and I love them! It's so nice to have warm feet while I ride.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty Warm! My second winter with these boots. They are holding up great, and they keep my feet so warm! I get tons of compliments on them.
    Date published: 2013-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD FOR RIDING When I looked at reviews it was difficult to figure out whether people were just wearing these around the barn/town, or actually in the saddle.YOU CAN RIDE IN THESE.There, I've said it. They're warm, comfortable, and attractive, but I bought them to ride in because my feet were cold.While the sole is a bit thick ie more heavily treaded than a normal field or dress boot, I did not find this to be a problem. Interestingly, I find they ride more like a dressage boot, rather than a dress or field boot. The ankle is much less flexible, more stable, which works for me. Unlike a dressage boot, however, YOU CAN ALSO WALK IN THEM. Break-in time was nonexistent and I've had no trouble with rubbing. While they aren't particularly streamlined, I am still able to wear spurs with them.
    Date published: 2012-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest toes in town I LOVE Mountain Horse products! I'm never disappointed in their quality, fit and durability. My latest acquisition, the Stella Polaris winter riding boots have kept my feet warm and dry in 27 degree weather. THe full faux fur lining from toes to top of boot is a wind-buster!! I only wore regular crew socks, not my normal smart wool winter hiking socks and my feet were toasty the whole 3 hour ride! Highly recommend if you're a winter rider. I have LONG legs (34" inseam and they come to just below my knee)
    Date published: 2012-11-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not like. Looking for a comfortable, warm, tall winter riding boot. Have tried many. This boot along with several others was immediately uncomfortable when I tried it on and walked around my living room. The fit at the ankle was very uncomfortable and the height on the leg was way too high. It would take some time to break in. On the positive side the feel and fit of the foot part was very good. I am of average height (5'6") and leg length is average. Mountain Horse boots seem to run tall and are bent a bit to fit better when you are sitting on your horse. Purchased the Blizzard below and love it.
    Date published: 2012-02-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped after being worn a few times. I wore these boots no more than six times since purchasing them this year. Last week after brushing into the wall of the inside riding ring I realized there was a 3+ inch tear down the front of my left boot. Sometimes everyday riding boots get some abuse. I would hope a pair of boots the cost almost $200 would hold up better than this. I have an older pair if Rimfrost boots that seem a lot tougher but not very comfortable which is why I purchased the Stella polaris style. I won't be buying another pair.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots I wore these boots for 4 hours both riding and teaching outdoors. My legs and toes were toasty the whole time.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too tall I liked the boots, but had to return because they were way too tall. Hit me in the middle of my knee cap. I'm 5'6" tall. Not sure if this is a brand thing or not. Ordered some boots from another company and they fit great. Mountain Horse may just have super tall boots.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great boot, but too tall I wear a 10.5 or 11... bought this boot (elsewhere) in 11 Wide Calf, and the foot length is a smidgen long, but I think a 10 would be too small. Like other MH boots I've tried, the calf length is very tall, much too tall for me, and I'm average height (5'6"). But since I got these elsewhere and shipping wasn't free, and since I liked everything else about the boot so much, decided to keep them, and my solution is that I just don't snap the boot or zip up the zipper all the way, I leave it an inch or two from the top, and the zipper stays up fine. I know, probably looks a little goofy, but since they are winter boots after all, it works. I put in heel lifts too. My calves are 16" and I'm glad I got the Wide Calf, probably the regular wouldn't have worked over winter breeches and socks. I still have some room in the calf, probably a 17" or maybe even wider calf could fit this boot. A very warm, functional boot, works great, feels great, and looks cute-- I get a lot of compliments, even with my goofy partially zipped zippers, LOL! I have no problems with them in English stirrups, but in Western stirrups they are a little difficult to manage, I have to bend over and help my foot into the stirrup sometimes. Would highly recommend these, especially if you have l-o-n-g legs.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good-looking boots, warm feet, but issues with fit I would love to give these boots an even higher rating, but have had issues with the fit. But first, let me start with what I love about them:* For the first time, I have warm feet while riding in the winter! Oh, what a difference these boots make! On a recent "warmish" day (near 40 degrees), I switched to my regular boots, and was reminded just how cold my feet get while riding in non-insulated boots.* I feel very fashion-forward while wearing these boots, and have received several compliments (and "where did you buy those?" inquiries) about them.* Although the exterior boot material is not leather, the material lining the inner legs provides just the right amount of "stick" against the saddle.* Fit issues notwithstanding, the boots are comfortable to wear right out of the box, with a nice, fuzzy lining that makes me feel impervious to cold!Okay, now for the not-so-good aspects:* These boots run LARGE! I normally wear a size 9.5 in regular shoes, but often go down to 8.5 in riding boots. I ordered these in size 8, and have belatedly realized that they are still too big. Compounding the problem is the "rough" stitching where the zipper is sewn into the back of the boot. Since my heel rubs against the back of the boot somewhat as I walk, I have been having trouble with getting blisters at the point of the rub.* Little gripe: For some reason, it's kind of hard to snap up the snaps. But, other than that, the boots are very easy to get on.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! They keep my feet nice and warm without the need for extra socks. A winter must!
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm boots Snug through ankle but roomy in calf. Very comfortable boots to both walk and ride in.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my boots These boots are well worth the price, my legs stay warm..
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good...... Love how warm they are, zipper is kind of an issue if you dont oil it after each use. I also have an issue with them creeping down after each ride so I have to re-adjust them after each ride but overall I am pleased with them. I haven't had the oppertunity to ride in extreme cold weather yet but they are doing well in the 40 degree days of standing in cold sand teaching and riding.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice boots These boots are well made and warm. I used to get MH winter boots in a size larger to accomodate winter socks but these run true to size. The heel area is big for me and my heel rubs some. Also, I have slim calves and these are quite large in the calf for me.
    Date published: 2011-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! Really liking these boots! I have 15" calves so ordered wide to accommodate different thicknesses of pants - wise choice. Plenty of room in the foot. My feet stay warm, and I am always the first to complain about cold feet. My only negative is that they come up a little high on the back of my knee, but I am only 5'4" with short legs, so that is more on me. Why did I wait so long to purchase a good winter boot???
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm so far. Comfortable. Good fit. Will see how they are in the really cold weather.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter boots Was so happy to find these when they were sold out everywhere else I looked. These boots fit well, are comfortable and keep your feet very warm.
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from She LOVED them!! I learned long ago to just ASK my wife what she wants, not guess. She pointed out these boots and when they were not available at our local store I immediately went to SmartPak and they not only had them, they had them in her size and they were able to "Second Day" ship them to me in time for her birthday - saved MY day and made my wife very happy!
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them! I love these boots! They keep my feet warm, their comfy, and stylish. I live in Minnesota and winter after winter I would ride with cold toes, so I thought I am going to for once spend extra money for some really warm boots and I wish I would have done it sooner. I love having warm feet! And they are so cute! I wear a size 8.5 shoe and the eight fits me good.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, excellent I love these boots, but have only been wearing them for 2 weeks. They replaced a different style of winter Mountain Horse boots and the reason was because the zip broke during their second winter. I have owned at least 4 pairs of Mountain Horse Winter boots and the boot outlasts the zip every time. I cannot a accurately rate my new Stalla Polaris until I see how the zip holds up. Ask me in 2 years!
    Date published: 2010-01-28
    • 2015-08-29T12:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_58
    • loc_en_US, sid_8002, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.